Print  Print This Page

Public Sector Transition Stability Act, 1997

  • Content last reviewed: October 2009

You should understand that this pamphlet is for your convenience and information only. It is not a legal document. For official information, please refer to the statute and the appropriate regulations.

The Public Sector Transition Stability Act, 1997

The Public Sector Transition Stability Act, 1997, or Bill 136, came into force on October 29, 1997. The statute consists of two new Acts:

  1. The Public Sector Labour Relations Transition Act, 1997 (PSLRTA), which establishes a framework for resolving labour relations issues resulting from restructuring of municipalities, district school boards, hospitals, and other broader public sector employers.
  2. The Public Sector Dispute Resolution Act, 1997 (PSDRA), which reforms the interest arbitration processes which apply to police, firefighters and hospital employees.

This pamphlet provides an overview of these two new Acts.

The statute also makes related amendments to the Employment Standards Act, 2000 and the Pay Equity Act.

The Public Sector Labour Relations Transition Act, 1997

PSLRTA deals specifically with the labour relations issues arising from certain kinds of restructuring in the municipal, education, and hospital sectors. It provides a framework for establishing bargaining units, bargaining agents and collective agreements for the new employer where the employees of one or more of the former employers were unionized. PSLRTA also sets out mandatory rules governing the determination of seniority during the restructuring process. This pamphlet summarizes the major provisions of PSLRTA.

Who Does PSLRTA Apply To?

PSLRTA applies to municipalities, hospitals and district school boards, upon the happening of specified restructuring events.

How Is PSLRTA Triggered?

The provisions of PSLRTA are triggered by restructuring events specified in the legislation. These events include:

  • amalgamation or other specified types of restructuring of municipalities and/or local boards;
  • the restructuring of the City of Toronto and the Toronto Hydro-Electric Commission pursuant to the City of Toronto Act, 1997;
  • the assumption by a district school board of the jurisdiction of two or more school boards or their minority language sections;
  • the amalgamation of two or more hospital corporations, and, if ordered by the Ontario Labour Relations Board, certain other specified types of hospital restructuring.

The date upon which the restructuring event takes place is known as the "changeover date".

What Is The Impact On The Existing Workforce At The Changeover Date?

Immediately following the changeover date, employees who were represented by a union continue to be represented by the same union and covered by the same collective agreement. Where no collective agreement is in effect at the time of the changeover, the most recently expired agreement is revived. If a union had bargaining rights for a group of employees before the changeover, but the parties had not yet reached a first collective agreement, the terms and conditions of employment are frozen until a new collective agreement is reached.

Non-union employees continue to be unrepresented following the changeover. They may or may not ultimately be included in a new bargaining unit once the new units are determined. The terms and conditions of employment for non-unionized employees are not affected by the changeover.

How Are Bargaining Units Selected After Changeover?

In those workplaces where some or all of the workforce is unionized, bargaining units for the new employer may be defined by agreement between the new employer and all or a subset of the affected unions, or by order of the Ontario Labour Relations Board. If an application is made to the Board, the Board must determine what bargaining units are appropriate for the new employer's operation. Special rules apply to the determination of bargaining units for professional employees and construction employees.

How Are Bargaining Agents Selected?

Once the bargaining units have been determined, there are two ways to choose the bargaining agent(s) which will represent employees in those units. If the parties have agreed on the bargaining unit, and less than 40% of employees in that unit are non-union, the affected unions may agree on which of them will represent the unit. Where no agreement can be reached or 40% or more of the employees are non-union, the Ontario Labour Relations Board must order a vote to select a bargaining agent. Where 40% or more of the employees are non-union, the ballot must include a "no union" option. The voting must be conducted so as to ensure that one of the choices on the ballot ultimately receives more than 50% of the votes cast.

What Collective Agreements Apply?

During the selection of new bargaining units and bargaining agents and for a period of time thereafter, the old collective agreements continue to apply. If employees in a new bargaining unit were covered by more than one collective agreement at the time of the changeover, the agreements are effectively "stapled together" to create a "composite" agreement. The composite agreement can remain in place for up to one year from the date the bargaining unit was determined. During this period, the employer and the union can replace the composite agreement through one of the methods discussed herein.

As an interim measure, PSLRTA provides that the seniority and grievance provisions of one of the collective agreements to which the new bargaining agent was a party before the changeover will apply to the entire new unit. The seniority of formerly non-union employees must be recognized on the same basis as unionized employees. These provisions will apply until a new collective agreement has been reached.

How Do The Parties Reach A New Collective Agreement?

Composite agreements are only intended to remain in effect until the parties have entered into a new collective agreement. A new agreement may be reached in one of the following ways:

  • The parties may select one of the collective agreements making up the composite agreement. This agreement may be amended by the parties.
  • The parties may mutually request that the Ontario Labour Relations Board select one of the existing collective agreements making up the composite agreement.
  • Either party may give notice to bargain, thereby triggering an obligation to negotiate a new collective agreement. If collective bargaining breaks down, either party may apply to the Ontario Labour Relations Board for first contract arbitration. The Board will order binding arbitration for the new agreement if it finds that bargaining has broken down as a result of certain criteria enumerated in section 43(2) of the Labour Relations Act.

How Are Service And Seniority Treated?

PSLRTA ensures that employees' past service or seniority is protected following the changeover. Where non-union employees are included in a bargaining unit after the changeover, their past service must be recognized in determining their position on the seniority list. Similarly, where two or more bargaining units are merged following the changeover, PSLRTA generally requires calculation of seniority for all members of the bargaining unit in accordance with a common measure and on a bargaining unit-wide basis.

The Public Sector Dispute Resolution Act, 1997

PSDRA reforms the interest arbitration processes applicable to police, firefighters and hospital employees.

PSDRA provides for expedited time lines for interest arbitration, and expands the choice of dispute resolution mechanisms to include mediation-arbitration and, in some cases, final offer selection. A combination of mediation and arbitration will be generally be the preferred method of dispute resolution. The amendments also specify that interest arbitrators must consider the employer's ability to pay and other related criteria in reaching their decision.

Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Loi de 1997 visant à assurer la stabilité au cours de la transition dans le secteur public.

  • Dernière mise à jour : octobre 2009

Il ne s'agit pas d'un document juridique. Pour obtenir des renseignements officiels, il faut se reporter à la loi et aux règlements pertinents.

La Loi de 1997 visant à assurer la stabilité au cours de la transition dans le secteur public, ou projet de loi 136, est entrée en vigueur le 29 octobre 1997. La législation est constituée de deux nouvelles lois :

  1. Loi de 1997 sur les relations de travail liées à la transition dans le secteur public (LRTTSP), qui établit un cadre permettant le règlement des différends qui surgissent dans les relations de travail en raison de la restructuration des municipalités, conseils scolaires de district, des hôpitaux et d'autres organismes du secteur parapublic.
  2. Loi de 1997 sur le règlement des différends dans le secteur public (LRDSP), qui porte sur la réforme du processus d'arbitrage des différends s'appliquant au corps de police, aux pompiers et au personnel hospitalier.

Le présent dépliant offre un aperçu de ces deux nouvelles lois.

La Loi de 1997 visant à assurer la stabilité au cours de la transition dans le secteur public porte également sur des modifications à la Loi sur les normes d'emploi et à la Loi sur l'équité salariale.

Loi de 1997 sur les relations de travail liées à la transition dans le secteur public

La LRTTSP traite en particulier des conflits en matière de relations de travail attribuables à des événements précis au cours de la restructuration, dont le regroupement de municipalités. Elle offre un cadre permettant l'établissement des unités de négociation et des conventions collectives, ainsi que la désignation des agents négociateurs pour le nouvel employeur si les employés d'un ou de plusieurs anciens employeurs étaient syndiqués. La énonce également des règles obligatoires régissant la détermination de l'ancienneté pendant le processus de restructuration. Le présent dépliant résume les dispositions principales de la LRTTSP.

Application de la LRTTSP

La LRTTSP s'applique aux municipalités, aux hôpitaux et aux conseils scolaires de district au moment des événements précis entourant la restructuration.

Mise en vigueur de la LRTTSP

La mise en vigueur des dispositions de la LRTTSP est attribuable aux événements relatifs à la restructuration qui sont précisés dans la loi. Ces événements comprennent notamment les suivants :

  • la fusion ou d'autres types de restructuration spécifiques, de deux municipalités et/ou conseils locaux;
  • la restructuration de la ville de Toronto et la création de la Commission hydroélectrique de Toronto, conformément à la Loi de 1997 sur la ville de Toronto;
  • un conseil scolaire de district exerce la compétence de deux conseils scolaires ou plus ou de leurs sections de la minorité linguistique; la fusion de deux associations hospitalières ou plus et, si la Commission des relations de travail de l'Ontario en rend l'ordonnance, de certains autres types spécifiques de restructuration d'hôpitaux.

On appelle date du changement le jour où les événements relatifs à la restructuration se produisent.

Incidence sur la main-d'oeuvre actuelle à la date du changement

Suivant immédiatement la date du changement, les employés qui étaient représentés par un syndicat continuent d'être représentés par le même syndicat et sont visés par la même convention collective. Si aucune convention collective n'est en vigueur au moment de la date du changement, alors la convention collective la plus récente est remise en vigueur à la date du changement. Si un syndicat détenait le droit de négocier à l'égard d'un groupe d'employés avant la date du changement, mais que les parties n'étaient pas encore parvenues à conclure une première convention collective, les conditions du contrat de travail sont gelées jusqu'à ce qu'une nouvelle convention collective soit conclue.

Les employés non syndiqués restent sans représentation par suite du changement. Il est possible que, en bout de ligne, ils puissent être inclus dans une nouvelle unité de négociation, ou en être exclus, dès que les nouvelles unités de négociation sont formées. Les conditions du contrat de travail des employés non syndiqués ne sont pas visées par le changement.

Sélection des unités de négociation après le changement

Dans les lieux de travail où une partie ou l'ensemble de la main-d'oeuvre est syndiquée, les unités de négociation pour le nouvel employeur peuvent être définies en vertu d'une entente entre le nouvel employeur et tous les syndicats ou un sous-ensemble des syndicats visés ou par suite d'une ordonnance rendue par la Commission des relations de travail de l'Ontario. Si une requête est présentée à la Commission, celle-ci doit déterminer quelles unités de négociations sont appropriées pour les activités du nouvel employeur. Des règles particulières s'appliquent pour déterminer les unités de négociation à l'égard des employés membres d'une profession et des employés de la construction.

Sélection des agents négociateurs

Une fois que les unités de négociation ont été déterminées, deux façons permettent de choisir le ou les agents négociateurs qui représenteront les employés appartenant à ces unités. Si les parties s'entendent sur le choix de l'unité de négociation et que moins de 40 pour cent des employés appartenant à cette unité ne sont pas syndiqués, alors les syndicats concernés peuvent s'entendre sur lequel d'entre eux représentera l'unité. Si aucune entente n'a été conclue ou que 40 pour cent ou plus des employés ne sont pas syndiqués, la Commission des relations de travail de l'Ontario doit ordonner la tenue d'un scrutin afin de choisir un agent négociateur. Si 40 pour cent ou plus des employés ne sont pas syndiqués, les bulletins de vote doivent comprendre l'option aucun syndicat. L'exercice du droit de vote doit être mené de sorte que l'on veille à ce qu'un des choix figurant sur les bulletins obtienne en bout de ligne plus de 50 pour cent des votes.

Application des conventions collectives

Pendant la sélection des nouvelles unités de négociation et des nouveaux agents négociateurs, et au cours d'une période par la suite, les anciennes conventions collectives continuent de s'appliquer. Si les employés appartenant à une nouvelle unité de négociation étaient couverts par plus d'une convention collective au moment du changement, les conventions sont de fait jumelées pour créer une convention mixte. La convention mixte peut être maintenue jusqu'à concurrence d'un an à compter de la date à laquelle l'unité de négociation a été choisie. Pendant cette période, l'employeur et le syndicat peuvent remplacer la convention mixte selon l'une des méthodes mentionnées dans le présent dépliant.

À titre de mesure provisoire, la LRTTSP stipule que les dispositions sur l'ancienneté et sur les griefs de l'une des conventions collectives à laquelle le nouvel agent négociateur était partie avant la date du changement s'appliqueront à l'ensemble de la nouvelle unité. L'ancienneté des anciens employés non syndiqués doit être reconnue selon les mêmes dispositions que celles prévues pour les employés syndiqués. Ces dispositions s'appliqueront jusqu'à ce qu'une nouvelle convention collective ait été conclue.

Ratification d'une nouvelle convention par les parties

Les conventions mixtes ont uniquement pour objet de rester en vigueur jusqu'à ce que les parties aient ratifié une nouvelle convention. Une nouvelle convention peut être ratifiée selon l'une des manières qui suivent.

  • Les parties peuvent choisir l'une des conventions collectives constituant la convention mixte. Cette convention peut faire l'objet de modifications par les parties.
  • À la requête des parties et par entente mutuelle, la Commission des relations de travail de l'Ontario choisit l'une des conventions collectives existantes constituant la convention mixte.
  • L'une des parties peut donner un avis de négocier entraînant ainsi une obligation de négocier une nouvelle convention collective. Si les négociations collectives sont rompues, l'une des parties peut présenter une requête à la Commission des relations de travail de l'Ontario portant sur l'arbitrage de la première convention.
  • La Commission ordonnera le règlement de la première convention collective par voie d'arbitrage exécutoire, si elle juge que les négociations ont échoué pour l'un des motifs énumérés au paragraphe 43 (2) de la Loi de 1995 sur les relations de travail.

Années de service et ancienneté

La LRTTSP fait en sorte que les années de service antérieures ou que l'ancienneté des employés sont protégées à la suite du changement. Si des employés non syndiqués sont inclus dans une unité de négociation après le changement, alors leurs années de service antérieures doivent être reconnues quand on détermine leur position sur la liste d'ancienneté. Dans le même ordre d'idée, si deux unités de négociation ou plus sont regroupées à la suite du changement, la LRTTSP requiert généralement que l'on fasse le calcul de l'ancienneté à l'égard de tous les membres de l'unité de négociation, conformément à un accord partiel et suivant une base qui s'étend à toute l'unité.

Loi de 1997 sur le règlement des différends dans le secteur public

La LRDSP porte sur la réforme des processus d'arbitrage des différends qui s'appliquent à la police, aux pompiers et au personnel hospitalier.

La LRDSP prévoit des délais pour l'arbitrage expéditif des différends et offre plus de méthodes de règlement des différends pour inclure la médiation-arbitrage et, dans certains cas, l'arbitrage des propositions finales. Une combinaison de médiation et d'arbitrage sera en général la méthode privilégiée de règlement des différends. Les modifications précisent également que les arbitres de différends doivent tenir compte de la capacité de payer de l'employeur lorsqu'ils rendent leur décision.