Overview

The Prevention Council advises the Minister of Labour and the Chief Prevention Officer on a wide range of occupational health and safety issues, including:

  • prevention of workplace injuries and illnesses
  • development of the provincial occupational health and safety strategy, and
  • any significant proposed changes to funding and delivery of services under the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

Membership

Council membership reflects representation from a broad range of organizations and interests. For information on current Prevention Council members, please visit the Public Appointment Secretariat website.

Expenses

Under the Agencies and Appointments Directive and the Travel, Meal and Hospitality Expenses Directive, provincial agencies are required to post their expense information for designated individuals.

Individuals at provincial agencies can claim and be reimbursed for necessary travel, meal and hospitality expenses they incur during the course of agency work. They need to follow strict rules, outlining what can be repaid with public funds and what maximum amounts can be claimed.

All claims must include original receipts.

Download data

2015-2016 expenses (.zip)

The Governance and Operating Framework

The purpose of this document is to provide Prevention Council members and the prevention community in general with an understanding of the governance and accountability framework as it applies to them in their capacity as appointees to the Council. The goal is to achieve clarity on roles, responsibilities and expectations of Council members as we work together to strengthen Ontario's occupational health and safety system and improve health and safety in the workplace.

The authority to establish the Prevention Council is provided by the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA). Section 22.2 of the Act requires the Minister to establish the Prevention Council, appoint its members, specify the composition, set out its functions, and appoint a Chief Prevention Officer ("CPO").

The Prevention Council will review the governance framework every 18 to 24 months, excluding statutory requirements under the OHSA.

Operating Principles

The operation of the Prevention Council is guided by the following principles:

Focus on Workplace Health and Safety

The primary focus of the Prevention Council is to improve worker health and safety in the workplace – including the elements, policies and programs of the Occupational Health and Safety system concerned with prevention and enforcement.

Broad Engagement

Prevention Council members are committed to engaging, and seeking input from workplace stakeholders in a meaningful way to support the work of Council.

Reliance on Evidence-Based Research

Where appropriate and feasible, the Prevention Council's advice and recommendations are supported by the best available data and evidence-based research. It is recognized that there will be occasions when evidence-based research will not be available. In these situations the Council is committed to having an inclusive, full discussion on the issues at hand.

Collaboration

Prevention Council members, while representing different constituencies, are committed to working collaboratively in the preparation of their advice and recommendations to the Minister.

Transparency

Prevention Council members keep their stakeholders informed on the status of the Council's activities.

Appointment of Members to the Prevention Council

The OHSA stipulates that the members appointed to the Prevention Council must be representative of the key workplace partners (labour and employers) and that an equal number of members will represent each of these partners. In addition, that there is representation from non-unionized workers, the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board, and occupational health and safety experts - this group cannot be larger than one-third of the size of the Prevention Council.

The Minister will appoint 11 persons to the Prevention Council:

  • 4 employer representatives
  • 4 labour representatives
  • 1 non-union worker representative
  • 1 occupational health and safety expert
  • 1 Workplace Safety and Insurance Board representative

Representativeness

It is recognized that the diversity of the stakeholder and prevention community cannot be reflected in its entirety on the Prevention Council at any one point in time but that every effort will be made to ensure representation over time or through other activities.

The appointees to the Prevention Council are committed to representing the broad interests of the workplace partners, vulnerable workers, and include expertise from the prevention community. In addition to the selection criteria set out in the law (see OHSA Section 22.2) the following should be taken into account.

  • All members must be prepared to serve the interests of prevention irrespective of partisan or sectoral interests and mandates.
  • The members of Council should undertake to determine the views of their network, present these views to Council, keep their networks informed and work to build support within their networks for Council advice and decisions.

Prevention Council Member Selection Criteria

The Expert Advisory Panel on Occupational Health and Safety indicated that an optimal and effective Council requires high level involvement of employers, labour and other major stakeholders. This requires strong and committed members.

  • The selection of members takes into account the knowledge, experience, and attributes of candidates, including:
    • Knowledge of the prevention issues facing Ontario;
    • Understanding of the diverse nature of prevention in workplaces;
    • Recognized as a leader with a demonstrated commitment to prevention;
    • Strategic thinking and sound judgement;
    • Integrity;
    • Ability to work together with others, and collaborate effectively in consensual decision-making;
    • Effective communication skills;
    • Results-oriented.
  • The members should reflect representation from as broad a range of organizations and interests as possible from:
    • Small, medium and large organizations
    • Trade unions
    • Labour associations
    • Individuals with expertise in prevention
    • Community organizations
    • Groups representing vulnerable and injured workers
    • Non-union worker organizations
    • Academic community
    • Workplace Safety and Insurance Board

    Where these interests are not directly represented, members undertake to develop and include them in their network.

  • The members should reflect representation from a range of economic sectors to the extent possible:
    • Industrial / utilities
    • Agriculture
    • Services
    • Construction
    • Manufacturing
    • Broader Public Sector

Where these interests are not directly represented, members undertake to develop and include them in their network.

The members undertake to represent views from all regions of Ontario.

Prevention Council Chair

The OHSA requires the members of the Prevention Council to choose the Chair by a date fixed by the Minister, failing which the Minister will choose the Chair. Unless appointed by the Minister, the Chair serves at the pleasure of the Council. The Chair may be replaced by a vote of more than two-thirds of the members. It is critical that the Chair:

  • Have the capacity to act in a neutral, even-handed manner;
  • Be a consensus-builder;
  • Be results-oriented and outcome focused.

The Chair will preside over all Council meetings, provide recommendations to the Minister regarding Prevention Council appointments, act as the principal liaison between Council members and the CPO, serve as a conduit of information from Council members to the CPO, and promote Council member dialogue.

Term of Appointments

The Prevention Council Chair and its members will be appointed for such term as may be determined by the Minister.

The Minister has the authority to retract an appointment.

Meetings

There shall be at least four meetings a year of the Prevention Council members. Fourteen days notice shall be provided of such in-person meetings. Additional meetings may be scheduled on an as needed basis.

Roles and Responsibilities

The Prevention Council has been established under the authority of the OHSA. The Council operates within the governance and accountability framework of the Ontario government.

The roles and responsibilities of the Minister, Prevention Council Chair and its members, and the CPO flow from the OHSA, from other statutes like the Public Service of Ontario Act, 2006, and from directives issued by the Management Board of Cabinet. These roles, responsibilities and accountabilities are reflected in the Memorandum of Understanding between the Minister and the Council Chair working in conjunction with the Council.

Prevention Council Role

Prevention Council members are appointed to serve the government, the prevention system, and the public in general, within a well-established framework.

The principal responsibility of the Prevention Council is to provide advice:

  • To the Minister on the appointment of a CPO;
  • To the Minister through the CPO on the prevention of workplace injuries, fatalities, and occupational diseases, for the purpose of supporting the implementation of the Integrated Occupational Health and Safety Strategy and the annual report, on any significant proposed changes to funding and delivery of services of the designated entities, and any other matter as the Minister determines.

Prevention Council Responsibility

Members also have a number of responsibilities consequent upon accepting appointment to the Prevention Council, including:

  • Attending regularly scheduled meetings in person;
  • Being prepared for and contributing to the deliberations of the Council;
  • Representing their networks;
  • Providing advice that promotes the interests of prevention in workplaces and contributes to the elimination of occupational injury and disease
  • Working collaboratively with other members to deliver the best possible advice to the CPO and the Minister.

Decision-Making

The Prevention Council brings together a group of individuals representing diverse interests, viewpoints and opinions. Given these differences, it is important that members respect each other's expertise and perspective. A respectful environment will ensure that knowledge, information and views are shared openly and that individual contributions, thoughts and opinions are valued and receive equal consideration.

While respecting different constituencies, Prevention Council must be committed to working collaboratively in the preparation of their advice and recommendations to the Minister and the CPO. The Prevention Council will strive for consensus decision-making – a group process that seeks not only the agreement of the participants but also the resolution or mitigation of minority objections. Dissenting opinions will be tabled and respected, and compromises will be sought so that consensus can be reached.

Accountability Framework

The Minister, Chair of the Prevention Council, its members and the CPO all have key roles to play in the development of an effective prevention system. The Memorandum of Understanding will describe the accountability that each has in fulfilling these roles.

Performance Evaluation

The CPO will collaborate with the Prevention Council to develop an evaluation framework to assess the performance of the Council its members as well as the support systems to allow Prevention Council to undertake its work. The framework will be described in the Memorandum of Understanding.

Conflict of Interest and Ethics

Council members must be aware of and adhere to the Ontario government conflict of interest policies that will be described in the Memorandum of Understanding to be developed between the Minister and the Chair. The CPO will undertake to provide guidance and training in these policies to members of Council.

Scheduled Meetings and Minutes

DateMinutes
April 20, 2016Read Minutes
February 17, 2016Read Minutes
June 11, 2015Read Minutes
April 16, 2015Read Minutes
December 4, 2014Read Minutes
September 11, 2014Read Minutes
April 10, 2014Read Minutes
February 13, 2014Read Minutes
December 11, 2013Read Minutes
September 11, 2013Read Minutes
June 13, 2013Read Minutes
April 11, 2013Read Minutes
February 13, 2013Read Minutes
December 4, 2012Read Minutes
September 28, 2012Read Minutes

Aperçu

Le Conseil de la prévention conseille le ministre du Travail et le directeur de la prévention sur diverses questions en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail, notamment sur les questions suivantes :

  • prévention des blessures au travail et des maladies professionnelles
  • élaboration d'une stratégie provinciale de santé et de sécurité au travail;
  • toute proposition de modification importante du financement et de la prestation de services en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

Composition du Conseil

La composition du Conseil est représentative d'un large éventail d'organismes et de secteurs d'activité. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les membres actuels du Conseil de la prévention, veuillez consulter le site Web du Secrétariat des nominations.

Dépenses

Conformément à la directive concernant les organismes et les nominations ainsi que la Directive sur les frais de déplacement, de repas et d’accueil, les organismes provinciaux sont tenus d’afficher leurs renseignements sur les dépenses engagées par des personnes désignées.

Les employés des organismes provinciaux peuvent réclamer le remboursement des dépenses qu’ils ont engagées pour se déplacer, se nourrir et se loger dans le cadre de leur travail au sein de l’organisme. Ils doivent suivre des règles rigoureuses qui indiquent les dépenses pouvant être remboursées avec des deniers publics et les montants maximaux qui peuvent être réclamés.

Toutes les demandes de remboursement doivent comprendre l’original des reçus.

Téléchargement de données

Liste des dépenses de 2015-2016 (.zip)

Structure de gouvernance et d'exploitation

Le but de ce document est d'offrir aux membres du Conseil de la prévention et à la communauté de la prévention en général une compréhension de la structure de gouvernance et de responsabilité, car elle s'applique à eux à titre de personnes nommées au Conseil. L'objectif est de clarifier les rôles, les responsabilités et les attentes des membres du Conseil alors que nous travaillons de concert à renforcer le système ontarien de santé et de sécurité au travail et améliorer la santé et la sécurité en milieu de travail.

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (la « Loi ») donne le pouvoir de constituer le Conseil de la prévention. L'article 22.2 de la Loi stipule que le ministre doit créer un Conseil de la prévention, en nommer les membres, en préciser la composition, en énoncer les fonctions et nommer le directeur général de la prévention (« DGP »).

Le Conseil de la prévention révisera la structure de gouvernance tous les 18 à 24 mois la structure de gouvernance, à l'exception des exigences réglementaires stipulées par la Loi.

Principes de fonctionnement

Les activités du Conseil de la prévention sont guidées par les principes ci-dessous.

Mettre l'accent sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

Le Conseil de la prévention doit d'abord s'intéresser à l'amélioration de la santé et de la sécurité des travailleurs – y compris les éléments, les politiques et les programmes du système ontarien de santé et sécurité qui traitent de prévention et d'exécution.

Engagement général

Les membres du Conseil de la prévention s’engagent à faire participer les intervenants du lieu de travail – à solliciter leur apport d'une façon pour soutenir le travail du Conseil.

Confiance accordée à la recherche fondée sur des données probantes

Dans la mesure du possible et lorsque cela s'avère approprié, les meilleures données disponibles et les résultats de travaux de recherche fondés sur des données probantes appuient les conseils et recommandations du Conseil de la prévention. Il est certain que, dans certains cas, des travaux de recherche fondés sur des données probantes ne seront pas disponibles. Dans de tels cas, le Conseil s'engage à organiser une discussion inclusive et complète sur les enjeux en question.

Collaboration

Tout en représentant différents secteurs, les membres du Conseil de la prévention s'engagent à travailler en collaboration à la préparation de leurs avis et de leurs recommandations au ministre.

Transparence

Les membres du Conseil de la prévention s'engagent à garder les intervenants du lieu de travail informés de l'état des activités du Conseil.

Nomination des membres du Conseil de la prévention

La Loi stipule que les membres nommés du Conseil de la prévention doivent représenter adéquatement les partenaires clés du lieu de travail (travailleurs et employeurs) et qu'un nombre égal de membres représentera chacun de ces partenaires. En outre, une représentation doit être accordée aux travailleurs non syndiqués, à la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) et aux experts en santé et sécurité au travail – ce groupe ne peut dépasser le tiers de la taille du Conseil de la prévention.

La ministre nommera onze (11) personnes au Conseil de la prévention :

  • quatre représentants des employeurs,
  • quatre représentants des travailleurs,
  • un représentant des travailleurs non syndiqués,
  • un expert en santé et sécurité au travail,
  • un représentant de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail.

Représentation

Il est reconnu que la diversité des intervenants et de la communauté de la prévention ne pourra jamais se refléter dans sa totalité au sein du Conseil de la prévention, mais tous les efforts seront déployés pour assurer une représentation au fil du temps ou par d'autres activités.

Les personnes nommées au Conseil de la prévention s’engagent à représenter les vastes intérêts des partenaires du lieu de travail et les travailleurs vulnérables. De plus, le Conseil devrait comprendre des experts provenant de la communauté de la prévention. Outre les critères de sélection énoncés dans la Loi (voir l'article 22.2 de la Loi sur la santé et sécurité au travail), on devrait prendre les éléments ci-après en considération.

  • Tous les membres doivent être préparés à servir les intérêts de la prévention, peu importe les intérêts et mandats partisans ou sectoriels.
  • Les membres du Conseil devraient entreprendre de déterminer les visions de leur réseau, présenter ces visions au Conseil, garder leurs réseaux informés et travailler pour établir, au sein de leurs réseaux, des services de soutien relativement aux avis et aux décisions du Conseil.

Critères de sélection des membres du Conseil de la prévention

Le Comité consultatif d’experts de la santé et de la sécurité au travail a indiqué qu'un conseil optimal et efficace a besoin d'un niveau d'engagement élevé de la part des employeurs, des travailleurs et des autres principaux intervenants. Les membres doivent être forts et fermement engagés.

  • La sélection des membres tient compte des connaissances, de l'expérience et des qualités des candidats, notamment des éléments suivants :
    • connaissance des enjeux de la prévention en Ontario;
    • compréhension des natures diverses de la prévention dans les milieux de travail;
    • reconnaissance à titre de chef de file avec un engagement démontré à l'égard de la prévention;
    • pensée stratégique et finesse de jugement;
    • intégrité;
    • capacité de travailler en équipe et collaboration efficace pendant une prise de décision consensuelle;
    • bonnes aptitudes à la communication;
    • axé vers les résultats.
  • Les membres devraient refléter la représentation de la plus vaste gamme possible d'organisations et d'intérêts.
    • Organisations de petite envergure
    • Syndicats
    • Associations de travailleurs
    • Personnes possédant de l'expertise en prévention
    • Organismes communautaires
    • Groupes représentant des travailleurs vulnérables et blessés
    • Organisations de travailleurs non syndiqués
    • Milieu de l’enseignement
    • Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail

    Lorsque ces secteurs d’activités ne sont pas directement représentés, les membres s’engagent à s'y intéresser et à les inclure dans leur réseau.

  • Dans la mesure du possible, les membres devraient provenir de divers secteurs économiques.
    • Industrie / services publics
    • Agriculture
    • Services
    • Construction
    • Fabrication
    • Secteur parapublic

    Lorsque ces intérêts ne sont pas directement représentés, les membres entreprendront de s'y intéresser et de les inclure dans leur réseau.

  • Les membres devraient entreprendre de représenter des perspectives de toutes les régions de l'Ontario.

Présidence du Conseil de la prévention

La Loi exige que les membres du Conseil de la prévention choisissent leur président à la date fixée par la ministre, sans quoi cette dernière procédera au choix. À moins qu'il ait été nommé par la ministre, le président agit selon le bon vouloir du Conseil. Le président peut être remplacé par un vote de plus des deux tiers des membres. Il est essentiel que le président :

  • soit apte à agir de façon neutre et impartiale;
  • possède des capacités d'établir des consensus;
  • soit axé sur les résultats.

Le président sera responsable de diriger toutes les réunions du Conseil, de faire des recommandations au ministre en regard des nominations au Conseil, d'agir comme le principal agent de liaison entre les membres du Conseil et le DGP, de faire circuler l'information des membres du Conseil vers le DGP et de promouvoir le dialogue entre les membres du Conseil.

Durée des mandats

La durée des mandats du président et des membres du Conseil de la prévention est déterminée par le ministre.

La ministre a le pouvoir de révoquer une nomination.

Réunions

Les membres du Conseil de la prévention se réuniront au moins quatre (4) fois par année. Un avis de quatorze (14) jours doit être donné avant ces réunions en personne. Il est possible d'organiser des rencontres supplémentaires au besoin.

Rôles et responsabilités

Le Conseil de la prévention a été créé en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. Le Conseil effectuera son travail dans le cadre de la structure de gouvernance et de responsabilité du gouvernement de l'Ontario.

Les rôles et les responsabilités de la ministre, du président et des membres du Conseil de la prévention, ainsi que ceux du DGP découlent de la Loi, d'autres lois comme la Loi de 2006 sur la fonction publique de l'Ontario et des directives émises par le Conseil de gestion du gouvernement. Ces rôles, responsabilités et obligations apparaîtront dans le protocole d'entente qui sera conclu entre la ministre et le président du Conseil travaillant de concert avec le Conseil.

Rôle du Conseil de la prévention

Les membres du Conseil de la prévention sont nommés pour défendre les intérêts du gouvernement, du système de prévention et du public en général, dans le cadre d'une structure bien établie.

La principale responsabilité du Conseil de prévention est de donner des conseils :

  • au ministre, à l'égard de la nomination d'un DGP;
  • au ministre par l'entremise du DGP, à l'égard de la prévention des blessures, décès et maladies professionnelles au travail dans le but d’appuyer la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie intégrée de santé et de sécurité de l'Ontario, de toute modification importante proposée au financement et à la prestation des services des entités désignées et de toute autre question, conformément à ce qu'aura déterminé le ministre.

Responsabilité du Conseil de la prévention

Les membres ont également certaines responsabilités résultant de l'acceptation d'une nomination au Conseil de la prévention, notamment :

  • assister régulièrement aux réunions en personne planifiées;
  • être prêt à contribuer aux délibérations du Conseil et y contribuer;
  • représenter leurs réseaux;
  • donner des conseils qui font la promotion des intérêts de la prévention dans les milieux de travail et contribuer à l'élimination des blessures et des maladies professionnelles;
  • travailler en collaboration avec d'autres membres pour formuler les meilleurs conseils possible à l'intention du DGP et du ministre.

Prise de décisions

Le Conseil de la prévention réunit un groupe de personnes représentant divers intérêts, perspectives et opinions. Étant donné ces différences, il est important que les membres respectent les expertises et les points de vue les uns des autres. Un environnement respectueux assure que les connaissances, les renseignements et les points de vue sont partagés ouvertement et que les contributions, les pensées et les opinions personnelles sont valorisées et reçoivent une considération égale.

Tout en respectant différents secteurs, le Conseil de la prévention s'engager à travailler de façon collaborative à la préparation de ses avis et recommandations au ministre et au directeur général de la prévention. Le Conseil de la prévention s'efforce de prendre des décisions par consensus – un processus de groupe qui cherche non seulement l'accord des participants, mais également la résolution ou l'atténuation des objections de la minorité. Les opinions dissidentes seront présentées et respectées, et des compromis sont recherchés pour obtenir un consensus.

Cadre de responsabilisation

Le ministre, le président du Conseil de la prévention, ses membres et le directeur général de la prévention ont tous des rôles essentiels à jouer dans la mise en œuvre d'un système de prévention efficace. Le protocole d'entente décrit les responsabilités de chacun à l'égard de ces rôles.

Évaluation du rendement

Le DGP collaborera avec le Conseil de la prévention pour mettre sur pied une structure d'évaluation du rendement des membres du Conseil et des systèmes de soutien qui permettront au Conseil d'entreprendre ses travaux. La structure sera décrite dans le protocole d'entente.

Conflit d'intérêt et déontologie

Les membres du Conseil doivent connaître les politiques à l'égard des conflits d'intérêts du gouvernement de l'Ontario qui sont décrites dans le protocole d'entente, et y adhérer. Le directeur général de la prévention offre aide et formation aux membres du Conseil à l'égard de ces politiques.

Réunions prévues

DateMinutes
le 20 avril 2016Procès-verbaux
le 17 février 2016Procès-verbaux
le 11 juin 2015Procès-verbaux
le 16 avril 2015Procès-verbaux
le 4 décembre 2014Procès-verbaux
le 11 septembre 2014Procès-verbaux
le 10 avril 2014Procès-verbaux
le 13 février 2014Procès-verbaux
le 11 decembre 2013Procès-verbaux
le 11 septembre 2013Procès-verbaux
le 13 juin 2013Procès-verbaux
le 11 avril 2013Procès-verbaux
le 13 février 2013Procès-verbaux
le 4 décembre 2012Procès-verbaux
le 28 septembre 2012Procès-verbaux