Joint Health and Safety Committees

  • Content last reviewed: July 2016

Joint health and safety committees (JHSCs) and multi-workplace joint health and safety committees (MJHSCs) represent workers and employers at Ontario workplaces. An MJHSC is a single JHSC, established and maintained for more than one workplace, each of which would normally require its own JHSC.

Some members of a JHSC must receive training called 'certification' to perform their duties effectively.

Important Dates

As of March 1, 2016, JHSC members who have completed only Part 1 training under the 1996 Standard will have to complete Part 2 training under the new Standards in order to be certified, and will be required to take Refresher training to maintain their certification.

Any members who have not submitted records for training completed under the 1996 standards must now complete training under the new standards in order to be fully certified.

JHSC members who have completed training before March 1st 2016 and submitted Part 2 confirmation forms by April 30th 2016 may contact the Ministry of Labour if they have not yet received their certified member cards.

Multi-workplace JHSCs

The Ministry of Labour has launched a review of Minister’s Orders that permit multi-workplace joint health and safety committees.

Guides

Guide for JHSCs and Health and Safety Representatives:

Contact Us

If you have questions or need to update your contact information on our Certification Database, please call 1-877-202-0008.

Comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité

  • Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2016

Les comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité (CMSS) et les comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité visant plusieurs lieux de travail représentent les travailleurs et les employeurs dans les lieux de travail en Ontario. Un comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité visant plusieurs lieux de travail est un comité unique qui a été créé et qui œuvre pour plus d’un lieu de travail qui devrait normalement avoir son propre CMSS.

Certains membres d’un CMSS doivent suivre une formation à « l’agrément » pour remplir efficacement leurs fonctions.

Dates importantes

À compter du 1er mars 2016, les membres des CMSS qui ont suivi uniquement la partie 1 de la formation aux normes de 1996 devront suivre la partie 2 de la formation aux nouvelles normes pour recevoir leur agrément; pour conserver l’agrément, les membres seront tenus de suivre un stage de mise à niveau.

Les membres qui n’ont pas présenté leur dossier de formation aux normes de 1996 devront désormais suivre la formation aux nouvelles normes pour demeurer membres agréés de plein droit.

Les membres des CMSS qui ont suivi leur formation avant le 1er mars 2016 et présenté leur formulaire de confirmation de la partie 2 avant le 1er avril 2016 communiqueront avec le ministère du Travail s’ils n’ont pas encore reçu leur carte de membre agréé.

Comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité dans des lieux de travail multiples

Le ministère du Travail a lancé un examen des arrêtés du ministre qui autorisent les comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité dans des lieux de travail multiples.

Guides

Guide à l’intention des comités mixtes sur la santé et la sécurité et des délégués à la santé et à la sécurité :

Pour nous joindre

Si vous avez des questions ou si vous devez modifier vos coordonnées dans notre base de données sur l'agrément, composez le 1-877-202-0008.