Print This Page

Letter of Credit (for Orders to Pay Wages, Orders to Recover Fees, Orders to Repay Fees, and Orders to Repay Costs)

To have an order to pay wages or to recover fees (issued under the Employment Standards Act, 2000) or to have an order to repay fees or costs (issued under the Employment Protection for Foreign Nationals Act, 2009) reviewed by the Ontario Labour Relations Board (Board), the person against whom the order is issued generally must pay the amount of the order to the Director of Employment Standards (Director) in trust. However, as an alternative, the person against whom the order is issued may instead submit an irrevocable letter of credit in favour of the Director for the amount of the order, provided that the letter of credit is acceptable to the Director.

What is a letter of credit?

A letter of credit is a promise made by a financial institution at the request of a customer (in this context, the person against whom the order is issued) to pay a specified amount to a third party (in this context, the Director of Employment Standards). The financial institution makes the payment automatically if the third party demands payment; the financial institution does not make any enquiry about whether the third party has a right to demand payment or is justified in demanding payment.

What does the Director do with the letter of credit?

The Director will hold the letter of credit pending a decision from the Board (and under any subsequent Court proceedings) concerning the application for review of the order. If the order is rescinded, the letter of credit will not be cashed and will be returned to the person against whom the order is issued. If the order is upheld, and the person against whom the order is issued does not pay the amount of the order, the Director will demand payment from the institution that issued the letter of credit. Where an order is upheld in part and the person against whom the order is issued does not pay the amount upheld, the Director will demand payment of that amount from the institution that issued the letter of credit.

What does the Director consider to be an acceptable letter of credit?

While the Director may establish other criteria, generally speaking the Director will find a letter of credit to be acceptable if:

  • It is irrevocable;
  • It contains a condition providing for its automatic renewal following the expiry date of the letter of credit
  • It contains no other conditions, i.e., conditions other than the automatic renewal condition;
  • It permits “partial drawings”, i.e., the Director can demand and receive payment of less than the entire amount specified in the Letter of Credit. (This is in case the application for review of the order is partially successful and the Board reduces the amount of the order.)
  • It is issued by a bank or similar financial institution having an office in Ontario

If an employer believes there are good reasons why the Director should consider a letter of credit to be acceptable despite it not meeting the above criteria, those reasons should be provided to the Director in writing and the Director will consider them. (Note: the Director only has the authority to accept a letter of credit that is irrevocable.)

What happens if a letter of credit is submitted but turns out not to be acceptable?

The ESA and the EPFNA provide that if an employer wishes to apply for review of an order to pay, it must either pay the amount of the order to the Director in trust or provide the Director with an irrevocable letter of credit that is acceptable to the Director in that amount. There is no right under the Act to have the order reviewed by the Board if the employer does not pay the amount of the order or provide an acceptable, irrevocable letter of credit in that amount.

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help you understand some of the minimum rights and obligations established under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) and the Employment Protection for Foreign Nationals Act, 2009 (EPFNA). It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the ESA, EPFNA or their regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation. Although we endeavor to ensure that the information in this resource is as current and accurate as possible, errors do occasionally occur. The ESA provides minimum standards only. Some employees may have greater rights under an employment contract, collective agreement, the common law or other legislation. You may wish to obtain legal advice.

Imprimer cette page

Lettre de crédit (pour les ordonnances de versement du salaire, les ordonnances de remboursement des frais et les ordonnances de remboursement des dépenses)

Pour faire réviser une ordonnance de versement du salaire ou de remboursement des frais (prise en vertu de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi) ou une ordonnance de remboursement des frais ou des dépenses (prise en vertu de la Loi de 2009 sur la protection des étrangers dans le cadre de l'emploi) par la Commission des relations de travail de l'Ontario (la Commission), la personne visée par l'ordonnance doit généralement payer la somme due aux termes de l'ordonnance, en fiducie, au directeur des normes d'emploi. Toutefois, la personne visée par l'ordonnance a également la possibilité de soumettre une lettre de crédit irrévocable en faveur du directeur pour la somme aux termes de l'ordonnance, à condition que le directeur estime la lettre de crédit acceptable.

Qu'est-ce qu'une lettre de crédit?

Une lettre de crédit est la promesse faite par une institution financière, à la demande d'un client (en l'espèce, la personne visée par l'ordonnance), de payer un montant précis à un tiers (en l'espèce, le directeur des normes d'emploi). L'institution financière effectue le paiement automatiquement si le tiers en fait la demande; elle ne posera aucune question pour savoir si le tiers a le droit de réclamer le paiement ou s'il existe de bonnes raisons pour que ce dernier exige le paiement.

Que fait le directeur avec la lettre de crédit?

Le directeur conserve la lettre de crédit en attendant la décision de la Commission (et les décisions prises dans le cadre d'autres instances judiciaires subséquentes) au sujet de la requête en révision de l'ordonnance. Si l'ordonnance est annulée, la lettre de crédit ne sera pas encaissée et elle sera retournée à la personne visée. Si l'ordonnance est confirmée, et que la personne visée n'effectue pas le paiement prévu par l'ordonnance, le directeur exigera le paiement du montant concerné auprès de l'institution qui a émis la lettre de crédit. Si l'ordonnance est confirmée en partie seulement et que la personne visée n'effectue pas le paiement confirmé, le directeur exigera le paiement de ce montant auprès de l'institution qui a émis la lettre de crédit.

Quelles sont les conditions pour qu'une lettre de crédit soit considérée comme acceptable par le directeur?

Même si le directeur peut établir d'autres critères, en règle générale, il considérera une lettre de crédit comme acceptable si elle remplit les conditions suivantes :

  • elle est irrévocable;
  • elle contient une clause prévoyant son renouvellement automatique après sa date d'expiration;
  • elle ne contient pas d'autres conditions, c'est-à-dire des conditions autres que la condition de renouvellement automatique;
  • Eelle autorise des « prélèvements partiels », c'est-à-dire que le directeur peut demander le paiement d'une somme inférieure à la somme totale précisée dans la lettre de crédit (au cas où la requête en révision de l'ordonnance aboutit en partie et que la Commission réduit le montant de l'ordonnance.)
  • elle est émise par une banque ou une institution financière similaire qui possède un bureau ou une succursale en Ontario.

Si la personne visée par l'ordonnance juge qu'il existe de bonnes raisons pour que le directeur considère une lettre de crédit comme acceptable même si elle ne remplit pas les critères ci-dessus, il doit présenter ces raisons, par écrit, au directeur, qui les examinera. (Il est à noter que le directeur ne peut accepter qu'une lettre de crédit irrévocable.)

Que faire si une lettre de crédit soumise n'est pas considérée comme acceptable?

La LNE et la LPÉCE prévoient que si la personne visée par une ordonnance de versement du salaire, de remboursement des frais ou de remboursement des dépenses souhaite demander la révision de cette ordonnance, il doit soit verser au directeur, en fiducie, la somme due aux termes de l'ordonnance, soit lui remettre, au titre de cette somme, une lettre de crédit irrévocable que le directeur estime acceptable. Ces deux lois ne confèrent pas de droit à la révision par la Commission si la personne visée par l'ordonnance ne verse pas le montant dû aux termes de l'ordonnance ou ne remet pas de lettre de crédit acceptable et irrévocable, au titre de cette somme.

Avis de non-responsabilité : Le présent document a été élaboré pour vous aider à comprendre certains des droits minimaux et des obligations prévus par la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi (LNE) et la Loi de 2009 sur la protection des étrangers dans le cadre de l'emploi (LPÉCE). Il ne constitue en rien un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la LNE, la LPÉCE ou leurs règlements d'application. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel. Bien que nous nous efforcions de faire en sorte que l'information soit à jour et exacte, des erreurs surviennent parfois. La LNE prévoit des normes minimales seulement. Certains employés peuvent bénéficier de droits supérieurs en vertu d'un contrat d'emploi, d'une convention collective, de la common law ou d'une autre loi. Vous pouvez consulter un avocat.