Print This Page

How to Apply: Employment Standards Officer

1. Application

Review the job ad and job description to understand the job and duties.

To help you decide if you would like to apply for the position of Employment Standards Officer, please complete the Self-Assessment Questionnaire. This questionnaire is for your personal use and is not required to be submitted with your application.

You are required to complete an Employment Standards Officer Application form and email the final completed signed copy to EmploymentStandardsatMOL@ontario.ca by the deadline. Late submissions/emails will not be considered. Resumes and other format of information will not be considered for the process. Be sure to review the Guide to the Application Form section.

As part of the application process you are required to complete a series of mandatory qualification questions at the beginning of the form and to identify your location preference at the end of the form. If these parts of the form are not complete the application will be considered as incomplete and not included in the recruitment process. You will receive an acknowledgement once you email the completed form.

If you have applied for the position of Employment Standards Officer in the past (up to 18 months) you must reapply again to be considered.

2. Screening

All applications received on or before the closing date are screened and rated against the qualifications outlined in the job ad. Applicants whose form information and answers to the series of questions best demonstrate how they meet the qualifications to do the job will be invited to continue in the hiring process.

3. Invitation to Written Test

You will be invited to complete a written test of up to 1 hour, instructions will be provided at the time of invitation. If you are successful you will be invited to a Behavioural Interview.

4. Invitation to Behavioural Interview

You will be asked questions which will require you to provide examples from your work experience. The interview is scheduled for up to 60 minutes. This Ministry of Labour panel interview focuses on personal suitability for the job.

If you are successful you will be invited to a Comprehensive Interview.

5. Invitation to Interview 2: A Comprehensive Interview

There are 2 parts to the Comprehensive Interview which will assess your knowledge, skills and abilities:

  1. Oral Interview – Scheduled for up to 1 hour
  2. Final Written Assignment – Scheduled for up to 1 hour

If you are successful a reference check will be completed.

6. Reference Check

You will be provided with a “Reference Form” to complete and return at the Comprehensive Interview stage. You will be asked to provide references from current and past employment.

7. Employee Corporate File Reviews (OPS employees only)

If you are successful and are an OPS employee an employee corporate file review will be completed.

8. Canadian Police Information Centre Check

In accordance with the Ontario Public Service Employment Screening Checks Policy, the top candidate(s) may be required to undergo a security screening check. Please refer to the job description to determine the screening checks that are required for this position.

You will be responsible for obtaining the criminal record check at your own expense and provide it, along with your written consent, to the Transition and Security Office (TSO), HR Service Delivery Division to evaluate the results. If applicable, the TSO, with your written consent, will request and obtain any additional screening checks as indicated in the Additional Information / Address section above that were not obtained directly by you. (Note: If a Vulnerable Sector Screening/Check is required, it must also be obtained in person at your local police service.)

A record under the Criminal Code and/or other federal offence record(s) does not automatically mean you will be ineligible for the position. The screening check(s) will only be reviewed and evaluated by the TSO for the purpose of making a security clearance decision. The details of an individual's screening check(s) will be considered in specific relation to the duties and responsibilities of the position being filled. Screening check records will be maintained by the TSO and kept strictly confidential.

Please note job offers are conditional upon a successful Canadian Police Information Centre Check

9. Offer to the Successful Candidate

If you are the successful candidate, we will contact you with a verbal offer of employment. If you accept, we will send you an appointment letter that will include information such as your start date, position classification and starting salary.

NOTE: New hires undergo a mandatory and intensive three–four month training program in Mississauga/GTA.

Imprimer cette page

Comment postuler : Agent des normes d’emploi

1. Demande

Passez en revue l’offre et la description de l’emploi pour comprend le travail et les tâches.

Pour vous aider à décider si vous voulez présenter une demande pour le poste d’agente ou d’agent des normes d’emploi, veuillez remplir le questionnaire d’auto-évaluation. C’est un outil pour votre usage seulement. Ne l’envoyez pas avec votre demande.

Vous devez remplir un formulaire de demande pour une agent ou un agent des normes d’emploi et envoyer la copie finale signée à EmploymentStandardsatMOL@ontario.ca d’ici la date limite. Les demandes/courriels reçus après cette date ne seront pas étudiés. Les curriculum vitae ou d’autres formats contenant des renseignements ne seront pas étudiés dans le cadre du processus. Assurez-vous de lire la section consacrée au guide sur le formulaire de demande.

Dans le cadre du processus de demande, vous devez répondre à une série de questions de qualification obligatoires (début du formulaire) et indiquer le lieu où vous souhaitez travailler (fin du formulaire). Si ces parties du formulaire ne sont pas remplies, la demande sera considérée incomplète et ne sera pas incluse dans le processus de recrutement. Vous recevrez un accusé de réception de votre demande par courriel.

Si vous avez déjà postulé un poste d’agent des normes d’emploi dans les 18 derniers mois, vous devez envoyer une nouvelle demande.

2. Sélection

Toutes les demandes reçues avant ou à la date de clôture seront triées et évaluées conformément aux exigences énoncées dans l’offre d’emploi. Les candidats dont le formulaire, les renseignements et les réponses démontrent le mieux pourquoi ils remplissent les exigences du poste seront invités à poursuivre le processus d’embauche.

3. Invitation à un examen écrit

Vous serez invité à subir un examen écrit d’une durée maximum d’une heure. Des instructions seront fournies avec l’invitation. Si vous réussissez l’examen, vous serez invité à une entrevue axée sur le comportement.

4. Invitation à une entrevue axée sur le comportement

Vous devrez répondre à des questions en donnant des exemples tirés de votre expérience de travail. L’entrevue devrait durer 60 minutes au plus. Menée par un comité de représentants du ministère du Travail, l’entrevue mettra l’accent sur votre aptitude personnelle pour l’emploi en question.

Les candidats qui réussissent cette entrevue seront convoqués à une entrevue globale.

5. Invitation à une entrevue 2 : Entrevue globale

L’entrevue globale comporte deux volets qui permettront d’évaluer vos connaissances, compétences et aptitudes :

  1. Entrevue orale – Durée prévue d’une heure
  2. Dernier examen écrit – Durée prévue d’une heure au plus

Si vous réussissez cette entrevue, nous vérifierons vos références.

6. Vérification des références

On vous remettra un Formulaire de références à remplir et à remettre au moment de l’entrevue globale. Les vérifications porteront sur votre poste actuel et sur vos emplois antérieurs.

7. Examen du dossier d'emploi de l'employé (employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario seulement)

Nous examinerons les dossiers des employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario qui réussissent les tests.

8. Vérification auprès du Centre d'information de la police canadienne

Conformément à la Politique relative aux vérifications de sécurité du personnel de la fonction publique de l’Ontario, les candidats qui obtiennent les meilleurs résultats peuvent avoir à subir une vérification de sécurité. Veuillez consulter la description du poste pour connaître la nature de ces vérifications.

Vous devrez faire effectuer une vérification du casier judiciaire à vos propres frais et la fournir, avec votre consentement écrit, au Bureau de la transition et de la sécurité (BTS) de la Division des services relatifs aux ressources humaines, qui s’occupera de l’évaluation des résultats. Le cas échéant, le BTS, avec votre consentement écrit, demandera et obtiendra des vérifications supplémentaires, conformément à ce qui est indiqué dans la section Renseignements supplémentaires/Coordonnées ci-dessus, si elles ne sont pas obtenues directement par vous. (Nota : S’il faut effectuer une vérification de l’habilitation à travailler auprès de personnes vulnérables, vous devez le faire en personne auprès de votre service de police local.)

Un dossier en vertu du Code criminel ou tout autre registre d’infraction fédérale ne vous disqualifie pas automatiquement. Les vérifications ne seront révisées par le BTS que dans le but de prendre une décision quant à la cote de sécurité. Les détails de la vérification du dossier d’une personne seront pris en compte dans le contexte précis des fonctions et responsabilités attachées au poste à pourvoir. Les résultats de la vérification seront conservés par le BTS de façon strictement confidentielle.

Veuillez noter que les offres d’emploi sont conditionnelles à une vérification réussie auprès du Centre d'information de la police canadienne.

9. Offre à la candidate retenue ou au candidat retenu.

Les personnes retenues recevront une offre d’emploi verbale. Si l’offre est acceptée, nous envoyons une lettre de nomination qui comprendra des renseignements sur la date d’entrée en fonction, la catégorie de poste et le salaire à l’embauchage.

NOTA : Les nouveaux employés doivent suivre un programme obligatoire intensif de formation de trois à quatre mois qui se déroulera à Mississauga, dans la RGT.