Print Print This Page

Report an Incident

  • Content last reviewed: October 2013

If workplace injuries or illnesses occur, the employer constructor, or mine or mining plant owner have the following duties to notify certain people:

  • If a person, whether a worker or not, has been critically injured or killed at the workplace, the employer and the constructor, if any, must immediately notify the Ministry of Labour Health & Safety Contact Centre, the joint health and safety committee (or health and safety representative) and the union, if there is one. This notice must be by telephone or other direct means. Within 48 hours, the employer must also notify, in writing, a director of the Ministry of Labour, giving the circumstances of the occurrence and any information that may be prescribed [section 51(1)].
  • If an accident, explosion or fire occurs, or if there is an incident of workplace violence, and a worker is disabled or requires medical attention, the employer must notify the joint health and safety committee (or health and safety representative) and the union, if any, within four days of the incident. This notice must be in writing and must contain any prescribed information [section 52(1)]. If required by an inspector, this notice must also be given to a director of the Ministry of Labour.
  • If an employer is told that a worker has an occupational illness or that a claim for an occupational illness has been filed with the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board, the employer must notify a director of the Ministry of Labour, the joint health and safety committee (or health and safety representative) and the union, if any, within four days. This notice must be in writing and must contain any prescribed information [section 52(2)]. The duty to notify applies not only to current workers but also to former ones [section 52(3)].
  • Even if no one is hurt, written notice of an accident or unexpected event that could have caused an injury at a construction site or in a mine or mining plant is required from the constructor of the project or owner of the mine or mining plant. This notice must be given to a director of the Ministry of Labour, the joint health and safety committee (or health and safety representative) and the trade union, if any, within two days and must contain any prescribed information [section 53].

Note:

Self-employed people are required to notify a director of the Ministry of Labour, in writing, if they sustain an occupational injury or illness.

See also:

Imprimer cette page

Signaler un accident

  • Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2015

En cas de blessure ou de maladie dans le lieu de travail, l'employeur, un constructeur ou un propriétaire d’une exploitation minière ont la responsabilité d'aviser certaines personnes :

  • Si une personne, qu'il s'agisse d'un travailleur ou non, décède ou subit une grave blessure dans le lieu de travail, l'employeur et le constructeur, le cas échéant, en avisent immédiatement l’InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail du ministère du Travail, le comité mixte (ou le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité) et le syndicat, le cas échéant, par téléphone ou par un autre moyen de communication directe. Dans les 48 heures qui suivent l'accident, l'employeur avise également par écrit un directeur du ministère du Travail, en précisant les circonstances de l'accident et les détails qui peuvent être prescrits [paragraphe 51 (1)].
  • En cas d'accident, d'explosion, d'incendie ou d’incident de violence survenu dans le lieu de travail, entraînant une incapacité de travailler d’une personne ou la nécessité de lui prodiguer des soins médicaux, l'employeur doit en aviser le comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité (ou le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité) et le syndicat, le cas échéant, dans les quatre jours qui suivent l'accident. L'avis est par écrit et fournit les renseignements et les détails qui peuvent être prescrits [paragraphe 52 (1)]. Si un inspecteur l'exige, l'avis doit aussi être remis à un directeur du ministère du Travail.
  • Si l'employeur apprend qu'un travailleur est atteint d'une maladie professionnelle, ou qu'il a soumis une demande à la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail à propos d'une maladie professionnelle, l'employeur avise un directeur du ministère du Travail, le comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité(ou le délégué à la santé et à la sécurité) et le syndicat, le cas échéant, dans les quatre jours qui suivent. L'avis est donné par écrit et fournit tous les renseignements et les détails que peuvent prescrire les règlements [paragraphe 52 (2]. Le devoir d'aviser ne s'applique pas seulement aux travailleurs  actuels, mais aussi aux anciens employés [paragraphe 52 (3)].
  • Même si personne n'est blessé, le constructeur du chantier ou le propriétaire d'une mine ou d'un établissement minier est tenu de signaler par écrit tout accident ou événement imprévu qui aurait pu être fatal. Cet avis s'adresse à un directeur du ministère du Travail, au comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité (ou au délégué à la santé et à la sécurité) et au syndicat, le cas échéant, dans les deux jours qui suivent, et fournit tous les renseignements et les détails que peuvent prescrire les règlements [article 53].

Les personnes travaillant à leur compte sont tenues d'aviser un directeur du ministère du Travail, par écrit, en cas de blessure ou de maladie professionnelles.

Voir aussi :