Print this page

Clarification on the definition of Regulation 834: Critical Injury

  • Issued: January 2017
  • Content last reviewed: January 2017

Clause 1(d) of Regulation 834 stipulates that an injury of a serious nature is a "critical injury" if it involves the fracture of a leg or arm but not a finger or toe. The Ministry of Labour interprets this provision as including the fracture of a wrist, hand, ankle or foot – i.e. any such fracture would constitute a critical injury if it is of a serious nature. While the fracture of a single finger or single toe does not constitute a critical injury, the ministry takes the position that the fracture of more than one finger or more than one toe does constitute a critical injury if it is an injury of a serious nature.

Clause 1(e) of Regulation 834 stipulates that an injury of a serious nature is a "critical injury" if it involves the amputation of a leg, arm, hand or foot but not a finger or toe. While the amputation of a single finger or single toe does not constitute a critical injury, the ministry takes the position that the amputation of more than one finger or more than one toe does constitute a critical injury if it is an injury of a serious nature.

A critical injury must be reported under s. 51 of the Occupational Health and Safety Act if there is a connection between the hazard that gave rise to the injury and worker health and safety.

This notice is intended to provide clarity around the application of clauses (d) and (e) of the critical injury definition. The legal definition of a critical injury set out in Regulation 834 has not changed.

Imprimer cette page

Clarification de la définition énoncée au Règlement 834 : Blessure critique

  • Diffusion : janvier 2017
  • Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2017

L’alinéa 1 d) du Règlement 834 stipule qu’une blessure de nature grave constitue une « blessure critique » si elle comporte la fracture d’une jambe ou d’un bras, mais pas d’un doigt ni d’un orteil. Le ministère du Travail interprète cette disposition comme incluant la fracture d’un poignet, d’une main, d’une cheville ou d’un pied – c’est-à-dire toute fracture qui constitue une blessure critique si elle est de nature grave. Bien que la fracture d’un seul doigt ou d’un seul orteil ne constitue pas une blessure critique, le ministère est d’avis que la fracture de plus d’un doigt ou de plus d’un orteil constitue une blessure critique s’il s’agit d’une blessure de nature grave.

L’alinéa 1 d) du Règlement 834 stipule qu’une blessure de nature grave constitue une « blessure critique » si elle comporte l’amputation d’une jambe, d’un bras, d’une main ou d’un pied, mais pas d’un doigt ni d’un orteil. Bien que l’amputation d’un seul doigt ou d’un seul orteil ne constitue pas une blessure critique, le ministère est d’avis que l’amputation de plus d’un doigt ou de plus d’un orteil constitue une blessure critique s’il s’agit d’une blessure de nature grave.

Une blessure critique doit être signalée en vertu de l’article 51 de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail s’il existe un lien entre le danger qui a donné lieu à la blessure et la santé et la sécurité du travailleur.

Le présent avis a pour objet de clarifier l’application des clauses d) et e) de la définition de blessure critique. La définition légale de blessure critique dans le Règlement 834 n’a pas changé.