Print This Page

2009-2010 Notices

  • Content last reviewed: September 2014

Notices: 2015-16 | 2013-14 | 2011-12 | 2009-2010

 

Amendment to Training Requirements For Certain Skill Sets and Trades (Schedule 2 in O.Reg. 572/99)

December 15, 2010

Schedule 2 to O. Reg. 572/99, Training Requirements for Certain Skill Sets and Trades, made under the Occupational Health and Safety Act has been amended, effective January 1, 2011. The reference in Item 8 to the ‘sheet metal trade’ has been replaced with a reference to two (newly formed) trade branches of ‘sheet metal worker’ and ‘residential (low-rise) sheet metal installer’. This administrative change was necessary to align with related amendments by the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities (MTCU) to the sheet metal regulation (R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 1077) under the Trades Qualification and Apprenticeship Act, also to come into effect on January 1, 2011. MTCU amended Reg. 1077 and divided the sheet metal trade into two branches: Branch 1, Sheet Metal Worker; Branch 2, Residential (Low Rise) Sheet Metal Installer. The amendments to O. Reg. 572/99 will ensure MOL’s continued ability to enforce O. Reg. 572/99 as it relates to the sheet metal trade qualifications/certifications required under the Trades Qualification and Apprenticeship Act and protect the health and safety of workers performing sheet metal work.

For general information about apprenticeship training or to find the nearest apprenticeship office, call the Employment Ontario Hotline (toll-free: 1-800-387-5656; Toronto: 416-326-5656; TTY: 1-866-533-6339 or 416-325-4084) or go to www.edu.gov.on.ca.

Return to top

 

Safety-engineered needles are now mandatory in more workplaces

July 1, 2010

Ontario has increased protection for health care workers. As of July 1, 2010, the mandatory use of safety-engineered needles is extended to additional workplaces including doctors' and dentists' offices, community health centres, family health teams and independent health facilities. Workers who provide health care services such as home care services, ambulance services, public health programs, health support services to students in schools, and healthcare/first aid services to workers or individuals in industrial and other workplaces will also now be covered by the regulation.

The use of safety-engineered needles has already been mandatory in other workplaces where health-related services are provided, including all hospitals, long-term care homes, laboratories, specimen collection centres and psychiatric facilities.

Needlestick injuries are a significant concern of nurses and other health care workers. Safety-engineered needles have been designed to eliminate or minimize the risk of needle punctures to the user.

For more information about safety-engineered needles, including educational and guidance materials, visit the Public Services Health and Safety Association website: www.osach.ca

Return to top

 

New Regulation Provides Inflation Protection For Injured Workers On Partial Disability Benefits in 2010

January 4, 2010

On January 1, 2010 a new regulation approved by the McGuinty government provided injured workers on Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) partial disability benefits with a 0.5 per cent increase in 2010. This increase applies to those who are permanently, partially disabled.

“This increase reflects the government’s commitment to protect the most vulnerable Ontarians,” said Labour Minister Peter Fonseca explaining that “the goal is to protect the purchasing power of injured workers’ benefits.”

Regulation 454/09 provides assistance to approximately 150,000 injured workers on WSIB partial disability benefits. A section of the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act (WSIA) added through the 2007 Budget Bill authorizes Ontario's Lieutenant Governor in Council to make regulations providing a temporary cost of living adjustment to workers' compensation benefits in any calendar year. This regulation has been made under that power.

Learn more about the regulation.

Return to top

 

Occupational Exposure Limits Updated

December 22, 2009

Ontario is strengthening worker protection by updating occupational exposure limits (OELs) for 36 hazardous chemical substances in Regulation 833, Control of Exposure to Biological or Chemical Agents, made under the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

Only two substances in the ministry’s 2008 and 2009 Notices of Proposal — beryllium and sulphur dioxide — remain unchanged pending further consultation and review.

The changes come into force on July 1, 2010.

See also:

Return to top

 

Regulation For Construction Projects

December 2, 2009

The Regulation for Construction Projects (O. Reg. 213/91) under the Occupational Health and Safety Act has been amended with changes coming into effect on January 1, 2010. Changes have been made to requirements regarding:

  • stilts
  • wooden guardrails
  • CSA standards for fall protection equipment
  • electrical utility safety rules
  • marine safety equipment and lifejackets
  • “locates” of underground services
  • engineering drawings for certain structures.

Return to top

 

Needle Safety Regulation

November 26, 2009

The Needle Safety Regulation (O. Reg. 474/07) under the Occupational Health and Safety Act has been extended to other workplaces. Effective July 1, 2010, the regulation will also apply to:

  • doctors’ and dentists’ offices, community health centres, family health teams and independent health facilities; and,
  • other workplaces where health related services are provided such as home care services, ambulance services, public health programs, health support services to students in schools, and health care/first aid services to workers or individuals in industrial and other workplaces.

Return to top

Imprimer cette page

Index des avis

  • Dernière mise à jour : février 2014

Avis: 2015-2016 | 2013-2014 | 2011-12 | 2009-10

Modifications aux exigences en matière de formation pour certains ensembles de compétences et métiers (Annexe 2 du Règlement de l'Ontario 572/99)

Le 15 décembre 2010

L'Annexe 2 du Règlement de l'Ontario 572/99, Exigences en matière de formation pour certains ensembles de compétences et métiers, pris en application de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, a été modifiée, avec effet au 1er janvier 2011. Le renvoi, au point 8, à « tôlier » a été remplacé par le renvoi à deux (nouvelles) branches du métier : « tôlier » ou « tôlière » et « poseur de tôles pour systèmes résidentiels (petits immeubles) » ou « poseuse de tôles pour systèmes résidentiels (petits immeubles) ». Ce changement d'ordre administratif était nécessaire pour s'aligner sur les modifications connexes apportées par le ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités au Règlement « Sheet metal worker » (R.R.O. 1990, Règlement 1077), pris en application de la Loi sur la qualification professionnelle et l'apprentissage des gens de métier, qui entrent également en vigueur le 1er janvier 2011. Le ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités a modifié le Règlement 1077 (en anglais) et divisé le métier de tôlier en deux branches : la branche 1, tôlier ou tôlière, et la branche 2, poseur de tôles pour systèmes résidentiels (petits immeubles) ou poseuse de tôles pour systèmes résidentiels (petits immeubles). Les modifications au Règlement de l'Ontario 572/99 assureront que le ministère du Travail continue à être habilité à mettre à exécution le Règlement de l'Ontario 572/99 en ce qui concerne la qualification professionnelle et l'apprentissage exigés en vertu de la Loi sur la qualification professionnelle et l'apprentissage des gens de métier, et à protéger la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs exécutant des activités de tôlerie.

Pour des renseignements généraux au sujet de l'apprentissage ou pour trouver le bureau d'apprentissage le plus proche, appelez la Ligne d'information Emploi Ontario (sans frais : 1 800 387-5656; Toronto : 416 326-5656; ATS : 1 866 533-6339 ou 416 325-4084), ou visitez Public Services Health & Safety Association (en anglais seulement)

Retour en haut

Les aiguilles de sécurité sont maintenant obligatoires dans un plus grand nombre de lieux de travail

Le 1er juillet 2010

L'Ontario a accru les mesures de protection pour les travailleuses et travailleurs de la santé. À compter du 1er juillet 2010, l’utilisation obligatoire des aiguilles de sécurité est étendue à des lieux de travail additionnels dont les cabinets médicaux et dentaires, les centres de santé communautaires, les équipes de santé familiale et les établissements de santé indépendants. Seront également couverts par le règlement les travailleuses et travailleurs qui offrent des soins de santé tels que les services de soins à domicile, les services ambulanciers, les programmes de santé publique, les services de soutien médical destinés aux élèves dans les écoles et les soins de santé ou premiers soins destinés aux travailleuses et travailleurs et personnes oeuvrant dans le secteur industriel et d’autres lieux de travail.

L'utilisation d’aiguilles de sécurité est déjà obligatoire dans d’autres lieux de travail où des services de santé sont fournis, dont tous les hôpitaux, les foyers de soins de longue durée, les laboratoires, les centres de prélèvement et les établissements psychiatriques.

Les piqûres d’aiguilles sont une préoccupation importante du personnel infirmier et d’autres travailleuses et travailleurs de la santé. Les aiguilles de sécurité ont été conçues pour éliminer ou limiter les risques que les utilisateurs se fassent performer la peau par une aiguille.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les aiguilles de sécurité, y compris des documents de sensibilisation et d'orientation, visitez le site web de la Services Health and Safety Association au www.osach.ca/new/SaftInfo/SEMS.shtml

Retour en haut

Un nouveau règlement offre en 2010 une protection contre l'inflation aux travailleurs blessés touchant des prestations d'invalidité partielle

4 janvier 2010

Le 1er janvier 2010, un nouveau règlement approuvé par le gouvernement McGuinty a augmenté de 0,5 p. 100, pour 2010, les prestations d'incapacité partielle que la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) verse aux travailleurs blessés. Cette hausse s’applique aux personnes qui ont une invalidité partielle permanente.

« Cette hausse reflète l'engagement qu'a pris le gouvernement de protéger les Ontariennes et Ontariens les plus vulnérables. L’objectif est de protéger le pouvoir d’achat que procurent les prestations des travailleurs blessés », a expliqué le ministre du Travail, M. Peter Fonseca.

Le règlement 454/09 vient en aide à quelque 150 000 travailleurs blessés qui touchent des prestations d'invalidité partielle de la CSPAAT. Un article ajouté à la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l’assurance contre les accidents du travail dans le cadre du projet de loi sur le budget de 2007 autorise le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil de prendre des règlements prévoyant un rajustement de vie chère aux prestations d’accident du travail pour une année civile donnée. Ce règlement a été pris en vertu de ce pouvoir.

Pour en savoir plus sur le règlement.

Retour en haut

Mise à jour des limites d’exposition professionnelle

Le 22 décembre 2009

Soucieux de renforcer la protection des travailleurs, l’Ontario a mis à jour les limites d’exposition professionnelle (LEP) pour 36 substances chimiques dangereuses se trouvant au Règlement 833, Control of Exposure to Biological or Chemical Agents, pris en application de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Seulement deux substances se trouvant dans les avis de proposition de 2008 et de 2009 du ministère, soit le béryllium et le dioxyde de soufre, demeureront inchangées jusqu’à ce qu’il y ait une consultation et un examen plus approfondis.

Les changements entreront en vigueur le 1er juillet 2010.

Voir aussi :

Retour en haut

Règlement sur les chantiers de construction

2 décembre 2009

Entreront en vigueur le 1er janvier 2010 les modifications apportées au règlement sur les chantiers de construction («Regulation for Construction Projects», Règl. de l’Ont. 213/91) pris en application de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. Ces modifications en ont été apportées aux exigences concernant:

  • les échasses
  • les garde-corps en bois
  • les normes de la CSA sur l’équipement de protection contre les chutes
  • les règles de sécurité sur les services publics d’électricité,
  • l’équipement maritime de sécurité et les gilets de sauvetage
  • la localisation des services souterrains et les documents techniques pour certaines structures.

Voir aussi :

Retour en haut

Règlement sur la sécurité des aiguilles

26 novembre 2009

Le règlement sur la sécurité des aiguilles (Règl. de l’Ont. 474/07) pris en application de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail a été étendu à d’autres lieux de travail. À compter du 1er juillet 2010, le règlement s’appliquera aussi aux endroits suivants :

  • les cabinets médicaux et dentaires, les centres de santé communautaire, les établissements de santé indépendants et les endroits où travaillent les équipes de santé familiale;
  • et d’autres lieux de travail où sont fournis des services reliés à la santé, dont les services de soins à domicile, les services ambulanciers, les services de santé publique, les services de soutien médical fournis aux étudiants dans les écoles et les services de santé et de premiers soins destinés aux travailleurs ou à d'autres personnes dans des usines et d'autres lieux de travail.

Retour en haut