Print  Print This Page

Programs and Workshops

  • Content last reviewed: February 2014

All of our workshops have practical application to management-union relationships in the workplace and are based on positive labour relations principles. All programs are facilitated by professional mediators with extensive backgrounds and experience in assisting organizations in the public and private sectors. Programs are interactive, and reflect the principles of adult education.

The length of each program varies, from one to three days. With the help of Dispute Resolution Services specialists, participants can customize their programs and workshops – or choose from fixed ones.

CHOOSE FROM:

 

Customized Programs and Workshops

Topics can include:

  • conflict resolution
  • communicating for understanding
  • consensus decision-making
  • innovative approaches to workplace problem-solving
  • developing action plans
 

Joint Union-Management Training

Unions and employers interested in improving the interaction between union stewards and first-line supervisors will benefit from this one-day program. The program emphasizes key concepts of grievance administration and effective communication. Each component in the program is illustrated by case studies and exercises.

Participants will explore and better understand their workplace roles and the associated rights, responsibilities and restrictions that affect their day-to-day relationship.

 

Effective Labour-Management Committees

Unions and employers interested in establishing a labour-management committee or enhancing the effectiveness of an existing committee will benefit from this one-day program. Mediators work with participants to identify the essential features and processes of an effective labour-management committee.

Topics include:

  • developing terms of reference
  • setting agendas
  • chairing meetings
  • committee composition
  • communicating with constituents
  • developing action plans
 

Relationship Building

Unions and employers interested in repairing, restoring or improving relationships will benefit from this program. Mediators facilitate an intensive examination and analysis of the labour-management relationship. The participants jointly identify and analyze the problems hampering their relationship, explore options, create solutions and establish their action plan.

The program includes a scheduled review of the status of the action plan and the on-going commitment to an improved relationship.

 

Workplace Problem-Solving

Unions and employers interested in augmenting their dispute resolution skills with innovative approaches to workplace problem-solving will benefit from this one-day program. Mediators introduce participants to the principles, concepts, steps and skills associated with effective workplace problem-solving. Each component in the program is complemented by an exercise that reinforces the concepts presented. The program concludes with participants reflecting on and discussing general opportunities for the application of these approaches in their workplace.

A further half-day session may be scheduled during which mediators will facilitate the parties’ concrete and specific analysis of a current workplace issue using the associatedtechniques.

 

Interest-Based Bargaining

Unions and employers interested in exploring an alternative to traditional collective bargaining will be introduced to the principles, concepts, steps, and skills associated with interest-based bargaining. Each component in the program is complemented by an exercise that reinforces the concepts presented. The program concludes with a simulated bargaining session to enable participants to practise the skills and steps they have learned. Mediators are available to facilitate interest-based bargaining for unions and employers who have completed the program.

Dispute Resolution Services also holds regional conferences around Ontario several times a year. Contact us with your information to be added to our mailing list to keep you informed of future conferences.

Programs and modules are offered on a fee-for-service basis.

For more information on these programs and workshops, please contact Dispute Resolution Services at 416-326-7358 or at webdrs@ontario.ca.

Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Programmes et ateliers

  • Dernière mise à jour : février 2014

Tous nos ateliers sont axés sur l'application pratique aux relations patronales-syndicales dans le lieu de travail et se fondent sur des principes de relations de travail positives. Les programmes sont animés par des médiateurs professionnels provenant de diverses sphères d'activités et possédant une grande expérience du secteur public et du secteur privé. Les programmes sont interactifs et conçus sur le modèle des programmes d'éducation pour adultes.

La durée de chaque programme est différente. Elle varie entre un jour et trois jours. Avec l'aide de spécialistes des services de règlement des différends, les participants peuvent personnaliser leurs programmes et ateliers ou choisir les programmes offerts qui les intéressent.

Options à choix :

 

Programmes et ateliers personnalisés

Exemples de sujets abordés :

  • règlement des différends
  • communiquer pour comprendre
  • prise de décisions consensuelles
  • approches innovantes du règlement des différends au travail
  • élaboration de plans d'action
 

Formation conjointe syndicat-patronat

Les syndicats et les employeurs désireux d'améliorer l'interaction entre les délégués syndicaux et les superviseurs de première ligne seront intéressés par ce programme d'une journée. Le programme met l'accent sur les concepts d'administration des griefs et de communication efficace. Chaque module du programme est illustré par des études de cas et des exercices pratiques.

Les participants étudieront leurs obligations respectives dans le lieu de travail ainsi que les droits, responsabilités et limites qui forgent leurs relations au jour le jour.

 

Comité patronal-syndical efficace

Ce programme d'une journée intéressera les syndicats et les employeurs désireux d'établir un comité patronal-syndical ou d'améliorer l'efficacité d'un comité existant. Les médiateurs aideront les participants à définir les caractéristiques essentielles d'un comité patronal-syndical efficace.

Exemples de sujets abordés :

  • élaboration d'un mandat
  • rédaction d'un ordre du jour
  • présidence de réunions
  • composition du comité
  • communiquer avec les électeurs
  • élaboration d'un plan d'action
 

Établissement de relations

Ce programme est destiné aux syndicats et employeurs désireux de réparer, de restaurer ou d'améliorer leurs relations. Les médiateurs guident un exercice intensif d'analyse des relations patronales-syndicales. Les participants travaillent ensemble à l'identification et à l'analyse des problèmes qui nuisent à leurs bonnes relations, à l'examen des options disponibles, à la production de solutions et à l'établissement d'un plan d'action.

Le programme prévoit un examen du statut du plan d'action et de l'engagement continu à des relations améliorées.

 

Résolution de problèmes dans le lieu de travail

Les syndicats et employeurs qui souhaitent perfectionner leurs aptitudes au règlement des différends et apprendre de nouvelles approches innovantes du règlement des problèmes seront intéressés par ce programme d'une journée. Les médiateurs exposent les principes, les concepts et les aptitudes liés à la résolution efficace des problèmes dans le lieu de travail. Chaque module du programme est renforcé par des exercices de mise en pratique des concepts présentés. Le programme se termine par une période de réflexion et de discussion sur les possibilités d'application des approches abordées pendant l'atelier aux relations dans le lieu de travail.

Une autre séance d'une demi-journée peut être prévue au cours de laquelle les médiateurs guideront les participants dans une analyse concrète des problèmes existants dans les lieux de travail en appliquant les techniques connexes.

 

Négociation raisonnée

Les syndicats et employeurs souhaitant découvrir des solutions autres que les méthodes traditionnelles de négociation collective seront introduits aux principes, concepts, étapes et aptitudes liés à la négociation raisonnée. Chaque module du programme est appuyé par des exercices visant à renforcer les concepts présentés. Le programme se termine par une séance de négociation simulée qui permet aux participants de mettre en pratique les concepts appris. Les médiateurs sont présents pour animer des séances de négociation raisonnée avec les syndicats et les employeurs qui ont terminé le programme.

Les Services de règlement des différends organisent également des conférences régionales en Ontario plusieurs fois par année. Veuillez nous contacter au 416 326-7358 ou à webdrs@ontario.ca pour ajouter vos coordonnées à notre liste d'envoi pour que nous puissions vous tenir au courant des conférences futures.

Les programmes et modules sont offerts selon le principe de la rémunération des services.

Pour plus d'information sur ces programmes et ateliers, veuillez contacter les Services de règlement des différends au 416 326-7358 ou à webdrs@ontario.ca..