Print this page

Collective Bargaining Highlights – Summary – May 2017

  • Issued: October 2017
  • Content last reviewed: October 2017

Bargaining Overview

In May, 21 settlements[1] were ratified covering approximately 8,576 employees. The average annual base wage increase (AAI) was 1.8% (1.6% public sector; 2.0% private sector). Five settlements received lump sum, stipends or signing bonus payments.

The highest AAI reported was 3.5% for settlements pertaining to transportation, communications, and utilities. The agreement for City of Ottawa firefighters had the largest number of employees (approximately 1,021 employees) and received an AAI of 2.8%.[2]

Consumer Price Index in Ontario for May was 1.4% and averaging 2.0% for the year.

Table 1: Average Annual Increase by Industry – May
Industry Settlements Employees Average Annual Increase
(%)
January – April
(%)
Construction 1 700 1.7 1.8
Education and Related Services nil nil nil 1.7
Health and Social Services 9 2,707 1.3 1.4
Manufacturing 3 788 1.4 1.6
Other Services 4 1,308 1.4 2.8
Primary nil nil nil nil
Public Administration 2 1,571 2.2 1.5
Trade and Finance 1 862 2.2 3.3
Transportation, Communications, and Utilities 1 640 3.5 2.0
All Settlements 21 8,576 1.8 1.7

Collective Bargaining Outlook[3]

Major agreements scheduled to expire include municipalities, police services boards, hospitals, long-term care homes, universities, developmental services, Association of Canadian Advertisers (ACA) and The Institute of Communications Agencies (ICA), and Essar Steel Algoma Inc.

[1] Bargaining units with 150 or more employees.

[2] Including a 1.5% wage increase on January 1, 2014, as per interim award issued on June 30, 2015.

[3]Bargaining situations resulting from recent Ontario Labour Relations Board decisions or agreements that have been ratified prior to the release of the current monthly publication may not be reflected if the settlement information has not been reported to Collective Bargaining Information Services at the publication’s point in time.

For the full report or to be added to the subscription list e-mail cbis@ontario.ca.

ISSN 2371-073X

Imprimer cette page

Faits saillants des négociations collectives - Mai 2017

  • Diffusion : Octobre 2017
  • Dernière mise à jour : octobre 2017

Aperçu des négociations

En mai, 21 règlements[1] visant environ 8 576 employés ont été ratifiés. L’augmentation annuelle moyenne du salaire de base (AAM) a atteint 1,8 % (1,6 % dans le secteur public; 2,0 % dans le secteur privé). Cinq règlements prévoyaient des paiements forfaitaires, des allocations ou des primes de signature.

L’AAM la plus élevée, soit 3,5 %, était prévue par des règlements touchant le transport, les communications et les services publics. Le règlement des pompiers de la cité d’Ottawa touchait le plus grand nombre d’employés (environ 1 021) et prévoyait une AAM de 2,8 %[2].

En mai, l’Indice des prix à la consommation pour l’Ontario s’est établi à 1,4 % et la moyenne pour l’année était de 2,0 %.

Tableau 1 : Augmentation annuelle moyenne par industrie – mai
Industrie Règlements Employés Augmentation annuelle moyenne (%) Janvier – avril
(%)
Construction 1 700 1,7 1,8
Enseignement et services connexes nul nul nul 1,7
Soins de santé et assistance sociale 9 2 707 1,3 1,4
Fabrication 3 788 1,4 1,6
Autres services 4 1 308 1,4 2,8
Primaire nul nul nul nul
Administrations publiques 2 1 571 2,2 1,5
Commerce et finances 1 862 2,2 3,3
Transport, communications et services publics 1 640 3,5 2,0
Tous les règlements 21 8 576 1,8 1,7

Aperçu des négociations collectives prévues[3]

Les conventions majeures dont l’expiration est prévue touchent notamment les municipalités, les commissions de services policiers, les hôpitaux, les foyers de soins de longue durée, les universités, les services de développement, l’Association canadienne des annonceurs, l’Institute of Communications Agencies et Essar Steel Algoma Inc.

[1] Unités de négociation comptant au moins 150 employés.

[2]Y compris une augmentation de salaire de 1,5 % le 1er janvier 2014, selon la décision provisoire rendue le 30 juin 2015.

[3]Les situations de négociation résultant de décisions récentes de la Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario ou de conventions ratifiées avant la diffusion de la publication mensuelle actuelle peuvent ne pas être prises en compte si les données relatives aux règlements n’ont pas été communiquées aux Services d’information sur les négociations collectives avant le moment de la publication.

Pour obtenir le rapport complet ou pour vous inscrire à la liste d’envoi, écrivez à cbis@ontario.ca.

ISSN 2371-0616