Print this page

Collective Bargaining Highlights – June 2017

  • Issued: October 2017
  • Content last reviewed: October 2017

Second Quarter Overview

For the second quarter of 2017, the average annual base wage increase (AAI) was 1.6% (66 settlements[1]; 98,867 employees). The average duration of negotiations was 9.6 months.

Since January 2017, there have been 32 work disruptions under Ontario jurisdiction. These disruptions involved 4,119 employees which represents an estimated loss of 0.01% of work time in Ontario.

June Bargaining Overview

In June, 19 settlements[2] were ratified covering approximately 46,403 employees. The AAI was 1.7% (1.7% public sector; 2.0% private sector). Three settlements received lump sum or signing bonus payments.

The highest AAI reported was 2.0% for settlements in the health and social services sector and in the manufacturing sector. The agreements for the Ontario government had the largest number of employees (approximately 28,000 unified unit employees of the Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSEU), and 12,300 employees of the Association of Management Administrative and Professional Crown Employees of Ontario (AMAPCEO)) and received average annual base wage increases of 1.7%[3].

Consumer Price Index in Ontario for June was 1.3% and averaging 1.8% for the year.

Table 1: Average Annual Increase by Industry – June
Industry Settlements Employees Average Annual Increase
(%)
January – June
(%)
Construction nil nil nil 1.8
Education and Related Services 1 596 1.4 1.7
Health and Social Services 8 1,952 2.0 1.4
Manufacturing 3 790 2.0 1.7
Other Services 1 400 1.3 2.6
Primary nil nil nil nil
Public Administration 6 42,403 1.7 1.6
Trade and Finance nil nil nil 3.3
Transportation, Communications, and Utilities nil nil nil 2.0
All Settlements 19 46,403 1.7 1.7

Collective Bargaining Outlook[4]

Major agreements scheduled to expire include municipalities, police services boards, hospitals, long-term care homes, universities, developmental services, College Employer Council, Cami Automotive Inc., and Essar Steel Algoma Inc..

[1]Bargaining units with 150 or more employees.

[2]Bargaining units with 150 or more employees.

[3]The agreement for the Ontario Government and OPSEU employees provided wage increases of 1.5% on July 1, 2017. The agreement for the Ontario Government and AMAPCEO employees provided: wage increases of 1.5% on October 1, 2017; and lump sum non-pensionable payments of 1.5% on October 1, 2017 and 1% on April 1, 2019 for "red-circled" employees, prorated for employees working less than full-time hours.

[4]Bargaining situations resulting from recent Ontario Labour Relations Board decisions or agreements that have been ratified prior to the release of the current monthly publication may not be reflected if the settlement information has not been reported to Collective Bargaining Information Services at the publication’s point in time.

For the full report or to be added to the subscription list e-mail cbis@ontario.ca.

ISSN 2371-073X

Imprimer cette page

Faits saillants des négociations collectives – Juin 2017

  • Diffusion : Octobre 2017
  • Dernière mise à jour : octobre 2017

Aperçu du deuxième trimestre

Pendant le deuxième trimestre de 2017, l’augmentation annuelle moyenne du salaire de base (AAM) a atteint 1,6 % (66 règlements[1] ; 98 867 employés). La durée moyenne des négociations était de 9,6 mois.

Depuis janvier 2017, l’Ontario a connu 32 interruptions de travail. Ces interruptions ont touché 4 119 employés, soit une perte estimée de 0,01 % du temps de travail en Ontario.

Aperçu des négociations de juin

En juin, 19 règlements[2] visant environ 46 403 employés ont été ratifiés. L’AAM a atteint 1,7 % (1,7 % dans le secteur public; 2,0 % dans le secteur privé). Trois règlements prévoyaient des paiements forfaitaires ou des primes de signature.

L’AAM la plus élevée, soit 2,0 %, était prévue par des règlements touchant le secteur des soins de santé et de l’assistance sociale et le secteur de la fabrication. Les conventions concernant le gouvernement de l’Ontario visaient le plus grand nombre d’employés (environ 28 000 employés de l’unité unifiée du Syndicat des employés de la fonction publique de l’Ontario (SEFPO) et 12 300 employés de l’Association des employées et employés gestionnaires, administratifs et professionnels de la couronne de l’Ontario (AEEGAPCO)), lesquels ont reçu des AAM de 1,7 %[3].

En juin, l’Indice des prix à la consommation pour l’Ontario s’est établi à 1,3 % et la moyenne pour l’année était de 1,8 %.

Tableau 1 : Augmentation annuelle moyenne par industrie – juin
Industrie Règlements Employés Augmentation annuelle moyenne (%) Janvier – juin
(%)
Construction nul nul nul 1,8
Enseignement et services connexes 1 596 1,4 1,7
Soins de santé et assistance sociale 8 1 952 2,0 1,4
Fabrication 3 790 2,0 1,7
Autres services 1 400 1,3 2,6
Primaire nul nul nul nul
Administrations publiques 6 42 403 1,7 1,6
Commerce et finances nul nul nul 3,3
Transport, communications et services publics nul nul nul 2,0
Tous les règlements 19 42 403 1,7 1,7

Aperçu des négociations collectives prévues[4]

Les conventions majeures dont l’expiration est prévue touchent notamment les municipalités, les commissions de services policiers, les hôpitaux, les foyers de soins de longue durée, les universités, les services de développement, le Conseil des employeurs des collèges, Cami Automotive Inc. et Essar Steel Algoma Inc..

[1]Unités de négociation comptant au moins 150 employés.

[2]Unités de négociation comptant au moins 150 employés.

[3]La convention concernant le gouvernement de l’Ontario et les employés du SEFPO prévoyait des augmentations de salaire de 1,5 % le 1er juillet 2017. La convention concernant le gouvernement de l’Ontario et les employés de l’AEEGAPCO prévoyait des augmentations de salaire de 1,5 % le 1er octobre 2017, ainsi que des paiements forfaitaires ne donnant pas droit à pension de 1,5 % le 1er octobre 2017 et de 1 % le 1er avril 2019 pour les employés à salaire bloqué, au prorata pour ceux qui ne travaillent pas à temps plein.

[4]Les situations de négociation résultant de décisions récentes de la Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario ou de conventions ratifiées avant la diffusion de la publication mensuelle actuelle peuvent ne pas être prises en compte si les données relatives aux règlements n’ont pas été communiquées aux Services d’information sur les négociations collectives avant le moment de la publication.

Pour obtenir le rapport complet ou pour vous inscrire à la liste d’envoi, écrivez à cbis@ontario.ca.

ISSN 2371-0616