Print this page

Collective Bargaining Highlights – Summary – April 2017

  • Issued: September 2017
  • Content last reviewed: September 2017

Bargaining Overview

In April, 24 settlements[1] were ratified covering approximately 43,396 employees.  The average annual base wage increase (AAI) was 1.8% (1.5% public sector; 2.9% private sector). Eight settlements received lump sum or signing bonus payments.

The highest AAI reported was 3.7% for settlements pertaining to trade and finance. The agreement for Treasury Board of Canada had the largest number of employees (approximately 20,890 program and administrative services employees) and received an AAI of 1.4%[2].

Consumer Price Index in Ontario for April was 1.9% and averaging 2.1% for the year.

Table 1: Average Annual Increase by Industry – April
Industry Settlements Employees Average Annual Increase
(%)
January – April
(%)
Construction nil nil nil 2.1
Education and Related Services nil nil nil 1.7
Health and Social Services 6 6,730 1.7 1.4
Manufacturing 2 517 1.8 1.8
Other Services 4 1,728 4.8 3.2
Primary nil nil nil nil
Public Administration 7 26,862 1.4 1.4
Trade and Finance 1 1,700 4.7 3.7
Transportation, Communications, and Utilities 4 5,859 1.7 1.9
All Settlements 24 43,396 1.8 1.7

Collective Bargaining Outlook[3]

Major agreements scheduled to expire include municipalities, police services boards, hospitals, long-term care homes, universities, developmental services, Association of Canadian Advertisers (ACA) and The Institute of Communications Agencies (ICA), Liquor Control Board of Ontario, and Essar Steel Algoma Inc.

[1] Bargaining units with 150 or more employees.

[2] Including wage adjustment on June 21, 2016. Signing bonus: $650 for all employees at the date of signing.

[3] Bargaining situations resulting from recent Ontario Labour Relations Board decisions or agreements that have been ratified prior to the release of the current monthly publication may not be reflected if the settlement information has not been reported to Collective Bargaining Information Services at the publication’s point in time.

For the full report or to be added to the subscription list e-mail cbis@ontario.ca.

ISSN 2371-073X

Imprimer cette page

Faits saillants des négociations collectives en Ontario - Avril 2017

  • Diffusion : Septembre 2017
  • Dernière mise à jour : septembre 2017

Aperçu des négociations

En avril, 24 règlements[1] visant environ 43 396 employés ont été ratifiés. L’augmentation annuelle moyenne du salaire de base (AAM) a atteint 1,8 % (1,5 % dans le secteur public; 2,9 % dans le secteur privé). Huit règlements prévoyaient des paiements forfaitaires ou des primes de signature.

L’AAM la plus élevée, soit 3,7 %, était prévue par des règlements touchant le commerce et les finances. La convention concernant le Conseil du Trésor du Canada visait le plus grand nombre d’employés (environ 20 890 employés des programmes et des services administratifs), lesquels ont reçu une AAM de 1,4 %[2].

En avril, l’Indice des prix à la consommation pour l’Ontario s’est établi à 1,9 % et la moyenne pour l’année était de 2,1 %.

Tableau 1 : Augmentation annuelle moyenne par industrie – avril
Industrie Règlements Employés Augmentation annuelle moyenne (%) Janvier – avril
(%)
Construction nul nul nul 2,1
Enseignement et services connexes nul nul nul 1,7
Soins de santé et assistance sociale 6 6 730 1,7 1,4
Fabrication 2 517 1,8 1,8
Autres services 4 1 728 4,8 3,2
Primaire nul nul nul nul
Administrations publiques 7 26 862 1,4 1,4
Commerce et finances 1 1 700 4,7 3,7
Transport, communications et services publics 4 5 859 1,7 1,9
Tous les règlements 24 43 396 1,8 1,7

Aperçu des négociations collectives prévues[3]

Les conventions majeures dont l’expiration est prévue touchent notamment les municipalités, les commissions de services policiers, les hôpitaux, les foyers de soins de longue durée, les universités, les services de développement, l’Association canadienne des annonceurs, l’Institute of Communications Agencies, la Régie des alcools de l’Ontario et Essar Steel Algoma Inc.

[1] Unités de négociation comptant au moins 150 employés.

[2] Y compris un rajustement de salaire le 21 juin 2016. Prime de signature : 650 $ pour tous les employés à la date de signature.

[3] Les situations de négociation résultant de décisions récentes de la Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario ou de conventions ratifiées avant la diffusion de la publication mensuelle actuelle peuvent ne pas être prises en compte si les données relatives aux règlements n’ont pas été communiquées aux Services d’information sur les négociations collectives avant le moment de la publication.

Pour obtenir le rapport complet ou pour vous inscrire à la liste d’envoi, écrivez à cbis@ontario.ca.

ISSN 2371-0616