Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

Arbitration: FAQ

  • Content last reviewed: November 2011
 

What does the term arbitration mean?

Arbitration is a quasi-judicial process in which a disinterested third-party (an arbitrator or arbitration board) hears evidence presented by both the union and the employer on issues in dispute, and hands down a binding decision.

Return to top

 

What is an arbitrator?

An arbitrator performs a function similar to a judge or court, such as holding hearings, evaluating the submissions and evidence of the parties, and making a binding decision resolving matters in dispute between the parties.

Return to top

 

What is the difference between rights and interest arbitration?

Rights: Grievance arbitration, also known as rights arbitration, is a mechanism to resolve disputes about the interpretation and application of a collective agreement during the term of that agreement.

Interest: A mechanism to renew or establish a new collective agreement for parties without the right to strike/lock-out, i.e. hospital/nursing home workers.

Return to top

 

How binding is the decision of an arbitrator or arbitration board?

It is final and binding. If it is not obeyed, it can be filed with the Ontario Court (General Division) which would enforced the decision. Failure to abide by an arbitration decision can be contempt of court. (See Section 48 (18) (19) of the Labour Relations Act, 1995).

Return to top

 

What does "grievance" mean when used in labour relations?

A grievance is a written complaint alleging a contravention of the collective agreement.

Return to top

 

What if an employee or a trade union feels the employer is not following the terms of the collective agreement, or if there is a disagreement about the meaning of part of the collective agreement?

In such a situation, the employee or the union may file a grievance. The grievance procedure is set out in the collective agreement itself. Normally, it involves three or four steps. At each step more senior people from both the union and the employer try to settle the grievance. The collective agreement will often provide for a time limit within which the grievance must be commenced (usually a certain number of days after the event giving rise to the grievance). If the grievance is not filed within this period, it may be dismissed. An arbitrator has the power to extend the time limit, but only if the other side's position will not be prejudiced, and if the collective agreement does not forbid such an extension (See Section 48 (16) of the Labour Relations Act, 1995).

Return to top

 

What if the union and the employer cannot settle a grievance?

The grievance must then be referred to an arbitrator or board of arbitration. The method for doing this should also be set out in the collective agreement. An arbitrator performs a function similar to a judge or court by making a binding decision resolving the matters in dispute between the parties. Occasionally, collective agreements provide that the grievances be heard and decided by one person acting as a sole arbitrator. More common, however, is the appointment of a three-person arbitration board. The union and the employer each select a member, and those two members, in turn, agree on a chair (See Section 48 of the Labour Relations Act, 1995).

Return to top

 

What if either the union or the employer refuses to appoint a representative to an arbitration board, or if agreement cannot be reached on the selection of a chair?

If the collective agreement itself does not provide for such a situation, then the Ontario Minister of Labour can be asked to make whatever appointments are necessary.

Return to top

 

What is the difference between sections 48 and 49 of the Labour Relations Act, 1995?

Section 48 provides for a ministerial appointment of an arbitrator or member of an arbitration board if the parties fail to make such an appointment under their collective agreement's grievance arbitration procedure.

Section 49 provides for a ministerial appointment of a single arbitrator in an expedited arbitration process and replaces the collective agreement's arbitration procedure for that particular grievance. The appointed arbitrator will begin to hear the matter with 21 days after receipt of the request by the minister.

Return to top

 

How do I apply to be included on the minister's list of arbitrators?

Application forms and details of criteria for inclusion on the list of arbitrators appointed by the minister will be mailed to interested parties upon request. This should be returned to the address specified on the form, together with the administration fee of $50.

Return to top

Previous

• Dernière mise à jour : octobre 2011
 

Que signifie le terme arbitrage?

L'arbitrage est une procédure quasi-judiciaire au moyen de laquelle une tierce partie neutre (un arbitre ou un conseil d'arbitrage) entend les preuves présentées par le syndicat et l'employeur portant sur les questions en litige et au sujet desquelles elle rend une décision exécutoire.

Retour en haut

 

Qu'est-ce qu'un arbitre?

Un arbitre remplit des fonctions semblables à celles d'un juge ou d'un tribunal, telles que tenir des audiences, évaluer les observations et la preuve des parties et rendre des décisions exécutoires pour régler des questions en litige entre les parties.

Retour en haut

 

Quelle est la différence entre l'arbitrage de droits et l'arbitrage de différends?

Droits: Une méthode pour régler les différends en rapport avec l'interprétation et l'application d'une convention collective pendant la durée de cette convention.

Différends: Une méthode pour renouveler ou établir une nouvelle convention collective à l'intention des parties qui n'ont pas le droit de grève ou de lock-out, c'est-à-dire le personnel hospitalier et les employés des maisons de soins infirmiers.

Retour en haut

 

Dans quelle mesure la décision d'un arbitre ou d'un conseil d'arbitrage est-elle exécutoire?

La décision est définitive et exécutoire. Si les parties ne la respectent pas, la décision peut être déposée à la Cour de l'Ontario (Division générale) quil la mettra à exécution. Le défaut de se conformer à une décision arbitrale peut être qualifié d'outrage au tribunal (voir les paragraphes 48 (18) et (19) de la Loi de 1995 sur les relations de travail).

Retour en haut

 

Que signifie le terme grief utilisé dans le domaine des relations de travail?

Un grief est une plainte, par écrit, dans laquelle on allègue une violation de la convention collective.

Retour en haut

 

Que faire si un employé ou un syndicat croit que l'employeur ne se conforme pas aux dispositions de la convention collective, ou s'il y a désaccord concernant la signification d'une partie de la convention collective?

Dans ce genre de situation, l'employé ou le syndicat peut soumettre un grief. La procédure de grief est énoncée dans la convention actuelle. Normalement, la procédure comporte trois ou quatre étapes. À chacune d'elles, des représentants syndicaux et patronaux qui occupent un rang de plus en plus élevé tentent de résoudre le grief. La convention collective prévoit souvent un délai pendant lequel on doit engager le grief (en général un certain nombre de jours après l'événement qui entraîne le grief). Si le grief n'est pas soumis pendant cette période, il peut être rejeté. Un arbitre a le pouvoir de proroger le délai, mais uniquement si la position de l'autre partie ne s'en trouve pas lésée et que la convention collective n'interdit pas cette prorogation (voir le paragraphe 48 (16) de la Loi de 1995 sur les relations de travail.

Retour en haut

 

Qu'arrive-t-il si le syndicat et l'employeur ne parviennent pas à résoudre un grief?

Le grief doit être renvoyé à un arbitre ou à un conseil d'arbitrage. La procédure à cet égard devrait également être énoncée dans la convention collective. Un arbitre joue un rôle semblable à celui d'un juge ou d'un tribunal en rendant une décision exécutoire réglant les questions en litige entre les parties. À l'occasion, des conventions collectives prévoient qu'une personne agissant comme arbitre unique entende les griefs et décide. Cependant, il est plus fréquent que l'on constitue un conseil d'arbitrage composé de trois personnes. Le syndicat et l'employeur choisissent chacun une personne, et les deux personnes choisies s'entendent à leur tour pour désigner une personne à la présidence (voir les article 48 de la Loi de 1995 sur les relations de travail).

Retour en haut

 

Que faire si le syndicat ou l'employeur refuse de désigner une personne à un conseil d'arbitrage, ou que les personnes désignées ne s'entendent pas sur le choix du président?

Si la convention collective ne prévoit rien à cet égard, le ministre du Travail de l'Ontario peut, à la demande des parties, faire les désignations nécessaires.

 

Quelle est la différence entre l'article 48 et l'article 49 de la Loi de 1995 sur les relations de travail?

L'article 48 prévoit la nomination par le ministre d'un arbitre ou d'un membre d'un conseil d'arbitrage si les parties n'effectuent pas cette nomination dans le cadre de la procédure d'arbitrage des griefs prévue dans leur convention collective.

L'article 49 prévoit la nomination par le ministre d'un seul arbitre dans le cadre d'une procédure d'arbitrage accéléré et remplace la procédure d'arbitrage des griefs de la convention collective pour ce grief particulier. L'arbitre désigné tient sa première audience sur la question qui lui est soumise dans les 21 jours de la date à laquelle le ministre a reçu la demande.

 

Comment puis-je faire pour que mon nom figure sur la liste d'arbitres du ministère?

Des formulaires de demande et les précisions concernant les critères de sélection des arbitres désignés par le ministre seront postés sur demande aux parties intéressées. Les demandes doivent être renvoyées à l'adresse indiquée sur le formulaire, ainsi que le paiement des frais administratifs de 50 $.

Retour en haut

précédent