Print  Print This Page

Solicitor Practice

  • Revised: December 2010
  • Content last reviewed: December 2010

The solicitor practice at the Ministry of Labour Legal Services Branch has significant expertise in the areas of occupational health and safety, employment standards, labour relations, workplace insurance and pay equity law. The solicitors provide strategic, practical and high quality legal advice and support on legislative, regulatory, operational, policy and corporate initiatives in all of the Ministry's key program areas. Our solicitors are also frequently called upon to provide legal advice in our areas of expertise to the Ministry of the Attorney General and other Ministries.

The solicitor practice group includes lawyers who are considered to be OPS-wide experts in the Occupational Health and Safety Act, the Employment Standards Act, 2000, the Labour Relations Act, 1995, the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, 1997, the Pay Equity Act and administrative law.

In addition, the solicitors provide legal advice on matters of general relevance to public law, including agency governance and accountability, procurement, contracts, freedom of information, privacy and conflict of interest. The solicitors are also responsible for the preparation of government legal documents respecting appointments to government agencies, agreements between ministries or other governments and internal corporate management material.

One of the key roles for a solicitor is to work with Ministry staff and Legislative Counsel to prepare legislation and regulations. Recently, solicitors have been involved in drafting legislation with respect to workplace violence and harassment, employment protections for foreign national live-in caregivers and job protected leave for living organ donors.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Bureau des avocats

  • Révision : décembre 2010
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2010

Le bureau des avocats de la Direction des services juridiques du ministère du Travail est doté d'avocats spécialisés dans les domaines de la santé et de la sécurité au travail, des normes d'emploi, des relations de travail, de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail et de la loi sur l'équité salariale. Les avocats prodiguent des conseils juridiques stratégiques, pratiques et de haute qualité ainsi que du soutien au sujet d'initiatives mises en place en matière législative, réglementaire, opérationnelle, stratégique et ministérielle dans tous les domaines des programmes clés du ministère. Les avocats sont fréquemment appelés à fournir des conseils juridiques dans leurs domaines de spécialité au ministère du Procureur général et à d'autres ministères.

Le groupe des avocats comprend des avocats qui sont considérés dans l'ensemble de la fonction publique de l'Ontario comme des spécialistes de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi, de la Loi de 1995 sur les relations de travail, de la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l'assurance contre les accidents du travail, de la Loi sur l'équité salariale et du droit administratif.

Par ailleurs, les avocats donnent des conseils juridiques sur des questions générales relevant du droit public, comme la gouvernance et l'obligation de rendre des comptes des organismes, l'approvisionnement, les contrats, l'accès à l'information, la protection de la vie privée et les conflits d'intérêts. Les avocats sont aussi responsables de la préparation des documents juridiques gouvernementaux relatifs aux nominations aux organismes gouvernementaux, aux accords entre ministères ou avec d'autres gouvernements et aux documents de gestion ministérielle internes.

L'une des responsabilités principales d'un avocat est de travailler avec le personnel du ministère et les conseillers législatifs à la rédaction des lois et règlements. Récemment, les avocats ont participé à la rédaction des lois concernant la violence et le harcèlement au travail, les protections pour les aides familiaux étrangers et le congé protégé pour don d'organe.

.