Print This Page

Contractors Bidding and Working on Construction Projects in Quebec

  • Issued: January 2008
  • ISBN: 1-4249-1919-3

PDF Version [ 140 Kb / 17 pages | Download Adobe Reader ]

This fact sheet is provided for your information and convenience only. It is not a legal document. For further information contact the Jobs Protection Office of the Ministry of Labour.

Contractors who wish to work in Quebec must be licensed as general or specialized contractors with the Régie du bâtiment du Québec (RBQ) before they can bid on a construction project. Plumbing and electrical contractors must register with and be licensed by Quebec associations specific to their trade.

The requirement to be licensed before bidding on a project applies equally to contractors who live in Quebec and contractors from other provinces. A fee must be paid with the application for a licence. The licence must be renewed annually.

Ontario contractors whose bids are unsuccessful may be eligible, under certain conditions, for a refund of the fees paid to the RBQ.

Four Steps to Obtain a Licence from the RBQ

  1. Obtain and complete an Application for a Contractor's Licence from the RBQ.
  2.  Pass three RBQ exams:
    • Construction project management
    • Site safety management,
    • Administrative management.

    The exams are available in English and may be written by one or more full-time officers of a company. Instead of writing the exams, company officers have the option to complete a relevant training program recognized by the RBQ.

    For those contractors who must complete step 2, it usually takes 4 to 6 weeks to process the application form.

    Some Ontario contractors may be exempt from writing the three exams.

    Ontario contractors can be exempted from the requirement to write exams if they prove one of the following:

    • Company registration with Tarion Warranty Corporation (formerly known as Ontario New Home Warranty Program) for at least three years (for the residential sector); or
    • Registration as a corporation with the Companies and Personal Property Security Branch of the Ministry of Government Services (MGS) for at least five years (for all construction sectors); or
    • Registration of the company name with the Companies and Personal Property Security Branch of the MGS for at least five years, regardless of whether the company is a partnership, limited partnership, or sole proprietorship.

    The RBQ has developed a special application package for Ontario contractors who do not have to write the exams and an RBQ licence can generally be issued in 24 hours if the application is complete.

  3.  Prove three or five years experience relevant to the subcategory (ies) of licence applied for. Providing copies of contracts or invoices for each selected subcategory meets this requirement. A list of subcategories for general contractors and subcontractors is included in the RBQ licence application package.
  4. There are several additional documents that an Ontario contractor must submit with the RBQ's Application for a Contractor's Licence:
    • Proof of corporate status, such as letters of patent, certificate of incorporation or partnership agreement.

      (Note: Sole proprietors are exempted from this requirement if their company name uses the owner's name.)

    • $10,000 security bond issued by an organization recognized by the RBQ.

      This bond must use the exact wording required by the RBQ (sample wording is included in the application package).

      (Note: Members of the Guarantee Plan for New Residential Buildings do not have to submit this security bond if they are applying only for licences to build new residential buildings covered by a guarantee plan.)

    • Signed and dated balance sheets, review engagement reports and/or financial statements indicating that the company has a net equity of $20,000 (for a general contractor) or $10,000 (for a specialized contractor), and a minimum working capital ratio of 1.1/1.

      The most recent year's information must be provided. Incorporated companies must provide financial statements prepared by a professional accounting corporation governed by a professional code. This information does not have to be submitted by members of the Guarantee Plan for New Residential Buildings.

    • Proof of qualification with one of the authorized managers of the Guarantee Plan for New Residential Buildings for contractors wanting to build new residential buildings covered by a guarantee plan. Further information is available from the managers.
    • Payment of the licence fee in the form of a certified cheque or money order payable to the Ministre des finances. (Licence fees are determined annually.)

    Electrical Contractors

    Ontario contractors who specialize in electrical work must apply to the Corporation of Master Electricians of Quebec (Corporation des maîtres électriciens du Québec) (CMEQ) to obtain their contractor's licence and mandatory membership in the corporation. Contractor's licence and membership must be renewed annually. Renewal fees are applicable.

    Plumbing and Heating Contractors

    Ontario contractors who specialize in plumbing, heating, heating systems, natural gas burner or oil burner systems, must apply to the Corporation of Master Pipe Mechanics of Quebec (Corporation des maîtres mécaniciens en tuyauterie du Québec) (CMMTQ) to obtain their contractor's licence and mandatory membership in the corporation. Contractor's licence and membership must be renewed annually. Renewal fees are applicable.

    Refund of RBQ Fees

    The RBQ will refund fees paid to it by an Ontario contractor if the contractor informs the RBQ that it wishes to terminate its licence within 15 days of being notified that a bid was unsuccessful. The RBQ will refund the licence fee within 15 days. (If construction work has already been performed under that licence, or if the licence is a renewal from previous years, there will be no refund.)

    In order to obtain a refund, a contractor must complete a reimbursement form and supply proof that the bid was unsuccessful.

    Successful Bids

    After securing a contract in Quebec, but before performing construction work, contractors with the appropriate licence must:

    1. Contact the Régistraire des enterprises du Québec to obtain an NEQ number (Numéro d'entreprise du Québec). The Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) will request this number when you register with them.

      All firms carrying out commercial activities in Quebec must have an NEQ number and renew their registration annually.

    2. Contact the Ministère du revenu du Québec to:
      • register for the Quebec sales tax (QST)
      • meet the other obligations contractors have as businesses and, where applicable, as employers.
    3. Register with the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST) [in french only] (same as WSIB).

      Obtain an employer number, produce declaration of wages, and find out the contribution rate applicable to the type of construction work performed.

      • As either prime contractors, or those responsible for all work on the construction site, notify the CSST in writing of the opening of the construction site, at least 10 days before work begins, and on the appropriate form.

    4. Register with the CCQ to:
      • obtain an employer number and fill out monthly reports on hours worked by all workers and applicable deductions; and
      • become a member of the Association des entrepreneurs en construction du Québec (AECQ), to which all construction contractors working in Quebec must belong.
    5. Register heavy equipment with the Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ), when it is brought into Quebec.
    6. Register trucks with the Commission des transports du Québec (CTQ) and a brokerage service, where required. (For road building contracts, you must register with a brokerage agency to be able to work on certain projects.)

    There are other requirements specific to certain construction activities: gas, petroleum, propane, work on high pressure equipment, and other specialties.

    Tendering of Construction Contracts

    Crown Corporations

    Ontario contractors have access to construction contracts of Crown Corporations  at or above $100,000.  The Crown Corporations covered by the Labour mobility agreement are:

    • Société des alcools du Québec
    • Société des loteries du Québec

    Electrical Utility Corporations

    Ontario contractors can bid on any Hydro-Quebec construction contracts when such contracts are open for bidding to all Quebec contractors, and are subject to the same conditions applicable to Quebec contractors.

    In addition, Ontario contractors are entitled to bid on any Hydro-Quebec construction contracts to be performed in the Outaouais administrative region, when such contracts are open for bidding to contractors in this region, and are subject to the same conditions applicable to contractors in this region. For this purpose, Ontario contractors will be considered to have their Head Office in the Outaouais administrative Region.

    Please inquire about registration requirements with the Quebec authorities or the Jobs Protection Office (JPO), which can also help with other questions about working in the construction industry in Quebec, prior to engaging in any construction projects.

    See the Resources page for a list of addresses and phone numbers for all above-mentioned organizations.

    Further Information

    For general assistance or information, contact:

    Jobs Protection Office
    347 Preston Street, 4th Floor, Suite 430
    Ottawa Ontario K1S 3J4

    613-288-3847
    Toll-free: 1-888-998-9959
    Fax: 613-727-2900
    E-mail

    Return to Top

Imprimer cette page

Entrepreneurs qui soumissionnent à des appels d'offres ou qui participent à des projets de construction au Québec

  • Diffusion: janvier 2008
  • ISBN: 1-4249-1922-3

Version PDF [144 Kb / 17 pages | Télécharger Adobe Reader ]

La présente feuille de renseignements a été conçue à titre d'information uniquement. Elle ne constitue pas un document juridique. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez entrer en contact avec le Bureau de protection des emplois ou avec le ministère du Travail.

Les entrepreneurs qui souhaitent travailler au Québec doivent détenir une licence d'entrepreneur général ou spécialisé de la Régie du bâtiment du Québec (RBQ) avant de soumissionner à un appel d'offres. En outre, les entrepreneurs en plomberie et en électricité doivent s'inscrire à la corporation québécoise compétente et posséder la licence exigée.

La nécessité de détenir une licence avant de soumissionner à un appel d'offres s'applique aussi bien aux entrepreneurs du Québec qu'à ceux des autres provinces. La demande d'une licence s'accompagne de frais, et la licence doit être renouvelée annuellement.

Les entrepreneurs ontariens dont la soumission est rejetée sont admissibles, sous certaines conditions, à un remboursement des frais payés à la RBQ.

Obtention d'une licence de la RBQ en quatre étapes

1. Remplissez le formulaire intitulé « Demande de délivrance ou de modification d'une licence d'entrepreneur » offert par la RBQ.

2. Passez les examens de la RBQ dans les domaines suivants :

  • gestion de travaux de construction;
  • gestion de la sécurité sur les chantiers de construction;
  • gestion administrative.

Les examens peuvent être administrés en français ou en anglais. De plus, un ou plusieurs dirigeants à temps plein de l'entreprise peuvent les passer. Par ailleurs, plutôt que de passer les examens écrits, les dirigeants de l'entreprise peuvent effectuer un programme de formation pertinent et reconnu par la RBQ.

Dans le cas des entrepreneurs qui doivent passer par l'étape 2, le traitement du formulaire de demande prend habituellement de quatre à six semaines.

Certains entrepreneurs ontariens peuvent être exemptés des trois examens écrits.

L'entrepreneur ontarien peut être exempté des examens écrits s'il démontre qu'il satisfait à l'une des conditions suivantes :

  • il est inscrit depuis au moins trois ans au Tarion Warranty Corporation (autrefois, le Régime de garanties des logements neufs de l'Ontario) (secteur résidentiel);
  • il est enregistré depuis au moins cinq ans à la Direction des compagnies et des sûretés mobilières du ministère des Services gouvernementaux (MSG) de l'Ontario, à titre de personne morale (tous les secteurs de construction);
  • la raison sociale de l'entreprise, qu'elle soit constituée comme société en nom collectif, société en commandite ou entreprise personnelle, est enregistrée depuis au moins cinq ans à la Direction des compagnies et des sûretés mobilières du MSG.

La RBQ a créé un dossier de demande particulier pour les entrepreneurs de l'Ontario qui sont exemptés des examens écrits. Si la demande est complète, la RBQ peut généralement émettre une licence dans les 24 heures.

3. Vous devez prouver que vous possédez de trois à cinq ans d'expérience pertinente dans la ou les sous-catégories de licence visées. Pour ce faire, présentez des copies de contrats ou de factures pour des travaux de chaque sous-catégorie. Le dossier de demande d'une licence de la RBQ comprend une liste des sous-catégories d'entrepreneur général et de sous-traitant.

4. L'entrepreneur ontarien doit inclure plusieurs autres documents dans sa demande de licence à la RBQ.

  • Une pièce établissant la personnalité morale de l'entreprise, comme des lettres patentes, un certificat de constitution ou une entente de partenariat.

    (Note : les entreprises personnelles sont exemptées de cette exigence si leur raison sociale est la même que le nom du propriétaire.)

  • Une garantie de 10 000 $ émise par un organisme reconnu par la RBQ.

    Cette garantie doit être énoncée strictement dans la formulation exigée par la RBQ (le dossier de demande présente un exemple de formulation).

    (Note : les participants au Plan de garantie des bâtiments résidentiels neufs n'ont pas besoin de soumettre cette garantie s'ils demandent uniquement une licence pour construire des bâtiments résidentiels neufs couverts par le plan.)

  • Des bilans, des rapports de mission d'examen et/ou des états financiers signés et datés indiquant que l'actif de l'entreprise excède le passif d'au moins 20 000 $ (pour les entrepreneurs généraux) ou d'au moins 10 000 $ (pour les entrepreneurs spécialisés), et que le ratio de fonds de roulement est d'au moins 1,1/1.

    Les renseignements financiers fournis doivent être ceux de la dernière année. Les entreprises constituées en personne morale doivent fournir des états financiers produits par un ordre professionnel de comptables régi par un code professionnel. Les participants au Plan de garantie des bâtiments résidentiels neufs n'ont pas besoin de soumettre ces renseignements.

  • Une preuve d'accréditation auprès de l'un des administrateurs autorisés du Plan de garantie des bâtiments résidentiels neufs, dans le cas des entrepreneurs qui veulent construire des bâtiments résidentiels neufs couverts par le plan. Pour plus de précisions, consultez l'un des administrateurs.
  • Le paiement des frais de licence par chèque visé ou mandat-poste fait à l'ordre du ministre des Finances (les frais sont fixés annuellement).

Entrepreneurs en électricité

L'entrepreneur ontarien spécialisé dans les travaux d'électricité doit s'adresser à la Corporation des maîtres électriciens du Québec (CMEQ) pour obtenir une licence et acquérir le statut obligatoire de membre de la corporation. La licence et l'inscription en tant que membre doivent être renouvelées chaque année. Des frais de renouvellement s'appliquent.

Entrepreneurs en plomberie et en chauffage

L'entrepreneur ontarien spécialisé dans les travaux de plomberie, de chauffage, de systèmes de chauffage, de systèmes de brûleurs au gaz naturel ou au mazout doit s'adresser à la Corporation des maîtres mécaniciens en tuyauterie du Québec (CMMTQ) pour obtenir une licence et acquérir le statut obligatoire de membre de la corporation. La licence et l'inscription en tant que membre doivent être renouvelées chaque année. Des frais de renouvellement s'appliquent.

Remboursement des frais payés à la RBQ

La RBQ remboursera les frais qui lui auront été payés par l'entrepreneur ontarien si ce dernier l'avise qu'il souhaite résilier sa licence dans les 15 jours suivant la réception d'un avis indiquant que sa soumission n'a pas été retenue. La RBQ remboursera les frais dans un délai de 15 jours. (Aucun remboursement n'est versé si des travaux de construction ont été exécutés dans le cadre de cette licence, ou s'il s'agit d'une licence renouvelée.)

Pour être remboursé, l'entrepreneur doit remplir le formulaire exigé et fournir une preuve indiquant que sa soumission n'a pas été retenue.

Soumissions retenues

Après avoir obtenu un contrat au Québec, mais avant d'entreprendre le travail de construction, l'entrepreneur détenant la licence exigée doit faire ce qui suit.

  1. Communiquer avec le Registraire des entreprises du Québec afin d'obtenir un Numéro d'entreprise du Québec (NEQ). La Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) exigera ce numéro lorsque vous vous y inscrirez.

    Toute entreprise qui mène des activités commerciales au Québec doit avoir un NEQ et renouveler son inscription chaque année.

  2. Communiquer avec le Ministère du revenu du Québec afin de :
    • s'inscrire au fichier de la taxe de vente du Québec (TVQ);
    • satisfaire aux autres obligations applicables aux entreprises et, le cas échéant, aux employeurs.
  3. S'inscrire à la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST) (équivalent québécois de la CSPAAT).

    Obtenir un numéro d'employeur, produire une déclaration des salaires et connaître le taux de cotisation applicable au type de construction exécuté.

    • L'entrepreneur principal ou le maître d'œuvre du chantier de construction doit transmettre à la CSST un avis écrit d'ouverture du chantier au moins 10 jours avant le début des activités, et ce, à l'aide du formulaire prévu à cet effet.
  4. S'inscrire à la CCQ pour :
    • obtenir un numéro d'employeur et présenter des rapports mensuels sur les heures travaillées par tous les travailleurs et sur les déductions applicables;
    • devenir membre de l'Association des entrepreneurs en construction du Québec (AECQ), dont tous les entrepreneurs en construction travaillant au Québec doivent faire partie.
  5. Enregistrer la machinerie lourde à la Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec (SAAQ) lorsqu'elle est transportée au Québec.
  6. Enregistrer les camions à la Commission des transports du Québec (CTQ) et à un service de courtage, s'il y a lieu. (Dans le cas des contrats de construction routière, vous devez vous enregistrer à un organisme de courtage pour pouvoir participer à certains projets.)

D'autres exigences particulières s'appliquent à certains travaux de construction : travaux dans les domaines du gaz, du pétrole et du propane, travaux avec des appareils à haute pression et autres spécialités.

ACCÈS AUX CONTRATS DE CONSTRUCTION DE CERTAINES ENTITÉS PUBLIQUES

Sociétés d’État

Les entrepreneurs de l’Ontario ont accès aux contrats de construction d’une valeur de 100 000 $ ou plus des sociétés d’État suivantes :

  • Société des alcools du Québec
  • Société des loteries du Québec

Sociétés publiques d’électricité

Les entrepreneurs ontariens sont admissibles aux contrats de construction d’Hydro-Québec, lorsque ces contrats sont offerts aux entrepreneurs de l’ensemble du Québec, et ce, aux mêmes conditions applicables à ces derniers.

De plus, les entrepreneurs ontariens sont admissibles aux contrats de construction d’Hydro-Québec à exécuter dans la région administrative de l’Outaouais, lorsque ces contrats sont offerts aux entrepreneurs de cette région, et ce, aux mêmes conditions applicables à ces derniers.  Ceux-ci seront considérés comme des entrepreneurs dont la principale place d’affaires est située dans la région administrative de l’Outaouais.

Avant de vous engager dans un projet de construction au Québec, informez-vous concernant les exigences en matière d'inscription auprès des organismes québécois responsables ou du Bureau de protection des emplois (BPE), qui peut aussi répondre à d'autres questions sur l'industrie québécoise de la construction.

Les coordonnées des organismes dont il est question ci-dessus sont jointes en annexe à cette feuille de renseignements.

Pour plus de renseignements

Pour obtenir de l'aide ou des renseignements d'ordre général, communiquez avec :

Bureau de protection des emplois, ministère du Travail
347 Rue Preston, 4e étage, bureau 430
Ottawa ON K1S 3J4

613 288-3847
Sans frais : 1 888 998-9959
Télécopieur : 613-727-2900
Courriel : oqconstruction@mol.gov.on.ca

Return to Top