Table of Contents | Print This Page

Part 6: Dispute and Complaint Resolution

  • Issued: June 2006

6.1  Resolving Disputes About Implementation of the Agreement

6.1.1  
The ministers responsible for the agreement will each designate an Official Contact to receive complaints about implementation of the agreement; in particular, disputes about the recognition of qualifications, skills and experience of contractors and workers, in all sectors of the construction industry in Ontario and Quebec.

6.1.2
Contractors and workers may complain to the Official Contact in their home province if there is any such dispute with the other government, one of its official representatives, or with a representative of any organisation covered by the agreement.

6.1.3
The Official Contacts have 48 hours to resolve the dispute or complaint. 

  1. If both Official Contacts agree the complaint is valid, then the appropriate official will act to resolve the complaint.
  2. If both Official Contacts agree that the complaint is not valid, the official who received the complaint will inform the complainant that they do not support the complaint; and, indicate that if the complainant wishes to pursue the issue, they will have to follow the normal appeal process in that province.
  3. If the Official Contacts disagree on the validity of the complaint, the matter will be referred to the respective Assistant Deputy Ministers (ADMs).

6.1.4
The respective ADMs have 72 hours to consider the complaint and make a determination on its validity. 

  1. If both ADMs agree that the complaint is either valid or not valid, the matter will be referred back to the official contacts for resolution as outlined in either 6.1.3(a) or 6.1.3(b) above, as the case may be.
  2. If the ADMs cannot agree on the validity of the complaint, the matter will be referred to a committee formed of two experts (Committee of Experts), one designated by each province. 

6.1.5
Ontario and Quebec will each maintain a list of three experts, from which each will select one to sit on the Committee of Experts.

The Committee of Experts reports to the Minister of Labour of Ontario and the Ministre du travail of Quebec.  The Committee will have 5 days to consider the complaint and determine its validity. 

  1. If both experts agree that the complaint is either valid or not valid, the matter will be referred back to the official contacts for resolution as outlined in either 6.1.3(a) or 6.1.3(b) above, as the case may be.
  2. If the Committee disagrees on the validity of the complaint, the matter will be referred to the Minister of Labour of Ontario and the Ministre du travail of Quebec within the 5 days.

6.2 Resolving Complaints of Harassment

Prevention of Harassment

6.2.1
“Harassment” occurs when a contractor or worker who has the legal right to work on a construction site is intimidated, threatened or challenged by another contractor, worker, government official or other individual, or organization covered by this agreement.

6.2.2
Ontario and Quebec will each appoint a person to coordinate activities and to distribute information aimed at preventing harassment.    

6.2.3
Quebec agrees to offer information sessions to the appropriate staff of the CCQ, the CSST, Revenu Quebec and the RBQ in the border region and in Montreal.  Information will be made available in other parts of the province as required.

6.2.4
Ontario agrees to offer information sessions to the appropriate staff of the MTCU, the WSIB, the MOF and the MOL.

6.2.5
Quebec agrees that in the border region and in Montreal, representatives of the relevant union and employer associations will be made aware of the problem of harassment and the importance of remedying it by conveying anti-harassment information to their members.

6.2.6
Ontario agrees that in the border region, representatives of the relevant union and employer associations will be made aware of the problem of harassment and the importance of remedying it by conveying anti-harassment information to their members. 

6.2.7
Ontario and Quebec agree to encourage union and employer leaders in these regions to adopt a zero-tolerance policy on harassment and to communicate this policy to their members.

Processing Complaints of Harassment

6.2.8
When workers or contractors believe that they have been victims of harassment, as defined in this agreement, they may make a complaint to the Official Contact in their home province.  Services will be offered in French and English and will remain confidential, to the extent possible.

6.2.9
The Official Contacts will work together and make best efforts to resolve a complaint within 48 hours.  The parties agree not to take reprisals against any person making a complaint.

6.2.10 
The Official Contact to whom a complaint is made will note the following:

  • the nature of the allegation,
  • the date and place where the incidents took place,
  • persons involved,
  • relevant documents or names of witnesses, and
  • the redress demanded.

6.2.11 
The Official Contact to whom a complaint is made will discuss the complaint with his/her counterpart in the other province.  If the Contacts agree the complaint is valid, the Contact for the province where the harassment occurred will send the case to the most competent organization in that province for investigation.

If the Contacts disagree on the validity of the complaint, the matter will be handled through the dispute resolution mechanism outlined in section 6.1.

Previous | Next

Table des matières |  Imprimer cette page

Partie 6 : Règlement des différends et des plaintes

  • Diffusion: juin 2006

6.1  Règlement des différends relatifs à l’application de l’entente

6.1.1
Chacun des ministres responsables de l’entente désigne une personne à titre de contact officiel qui reçoit les plaintes relatives à la mise en œuvre de l’entente, en particulier les différends relatifs à la reconnaissance des qualifications, des compétences et de l’expérience des entrepreneurs et des travailleurs dans tous les secteurs de l’industrie de la construction en Ontario et au Québec.

6.1.2
Les entrepreneurs et les travailleurs peuvent porter plainte auprès du contact officiel de leur province de domicile en cas de différend avec le gouvernement de l’autre province, l’un de ses représentants officiels ou le représentant de tout organisme visé par la présente entente.

6.1.3
Les contacts officiels ont 48 heures pour tenter de régler le différend ou la plainte. 

  1. Si les deux contacts officiels conviennent que la plainte est valide, le contact officiel approprié prend les mesures nécessaires afin de régler la plainte.
  2. Si les deux contacts officiels conviennent que la plainte n’est pas valide, le contact officiel qui a reçu la plainte informe le plaignant de la décision de ne pas y donner suite. Le contact officiel informe le plaignant que, dans l’éventualité où il déciderait de poursuivre sa démarche, il devrait suivre la procédure d’appel régulière établie dans l’autre province.
  3. Si les contacts officiels ne s’entendent pas sur la validité de la plainte, le dossier est soumis à leurs sous-ministres adjoints respectifs.

6.1.4
Les sous-ministres adjoints ont alors soixante-douze (72) heures pour étudier la plainte et pour décider de sa validité.   

  1. Si les deux sous-ministres adjoints s’entendent que la plainte est soit valide, soit non valide, le dossier est retourné aux contacts officiels qui doivent régler la plainte conformément aux articles 6.1.3(a) ou 6.1.3(b) ci-dessus, selon le cas.
  2. Si les deux sous-ministres adjoints ne s’entendent pas sur la validité de la plainte, le dossier est soumis à un comité formé de deux experts (comité d’experts), soit un expert désigné par chacune des provinces.

6.1.5
L’Ontario et le Québec tiennent chacun une liste de trois noms, à partir de laquelle ils choisiront la personne devant siéger au comité d’experts, le cas échéant.  

Le comité d’experts fait rapport aux ministres du Travail de l’Ontario et du Québec. Il dispose de 5 jours pour étudier la plainte et en déterminer la validité.   

  1. Si le comité s’entend à l’effet que la plainte est soit valide, soit non valide, le dossier est retourné aux contacts officiels qui devront régler la plainte conformément aux articles 6.1.3(a) ou 6.1.3(b) ci-dessus, selon le cas.
  2. Si le comité ne parvient pas à s’entendre sur la validité de la plainte, le dossier sera soumis aux ministres du Travail de chaque province dans un délai de cinq (5) jours.

6.2 Règlement des plaintes de harcèlement 

Prévention du harcèlement

6.2.1
Le « harcèlement » survient lorsqu’un entrepreneur ou un travailleur qui a le droit de travailler sur un chantier est intimidé, menacé ou contesté par un entrepreneur, un travailleur ou un représentant de tout gouvernement ou organisme visé par la présente entente. 

6.2.2
Le Québec et l’Ontario nommeront chacun une personne dont les fonctions seront de coordonner les activités visant à prévenir le harcèlement et de distribuer l’information à cet égard.

6.2.3
Le Québec consent à offrir des séances d’information au personnel concerné de la CCQ, de la CSST, de Revenu Québec et de la RBQ dans la région frontalière et à Montréal. L’information pertinente sera par ailleurs rendue disponible dans les autres régions au besoin.

6.2.4
L’Ontario consent à offrir des séances d’information au personnel concerné du MTCU, du Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB), du Ministry of Finance (MOF) et du MOL.

6.2.5
Le Québec consent à ce que, dans la région frontalière et à Montréal, les représentants des syndicats et des associations d’employeurs concernés soient sensibilisés au phénomène du harcèlement et à l’importance d’informer leurs membres afin d’y remédier. 

6.2.6
L’Ontario consent à ce que, dans la région frontalière, les représentants des syndicats et des associations d’employeurs concernés soient sensibilisés au phénomène du harcèlement et à l’importance d’informer leurs membres afin d’y remédier.

6.2.7
L’Ontario et le Québec conviennent d’encourager les dirigeants des organisations syndicales et patronales de ces régions à adopter une politique de tolérance zéro en matière de harcèlement et à communiquer cette politique à leurs membres.  

Traitement des plaintes de harcèlement

6.2.8
Lorsqu’un travailleur ou un entrepreneur croit être victime de harcèlement, tel que défini à la présente entente, il peut formuler une plainte auprès du « Contact officiel » de sa province. Ces services, offerts en français et en anglais, restent confidentiels, dans la mesure du possible.

6.2.9
Les Contacts officiels  déploient les efforts nécessaires afin de régler la plainte dans un délai de quarante-huit (48) heures suivant sa réception. Les parties conviennent de ne pas exercer de représailles à l’endroit de toute personne ayant formulé une plainte.

6.2.10
Le Contact officiel  qui reçoit une plainte de harcèlement doit noter les éléments suivants :  

  • la nature de l’allégation,
  • la date et le lieu de l’incident,
  • les personnes impliquées,
  • les documents pertinents ou le nom des témoins,
  • la réparation demandée. 

6.2.11
Lorsqu’il reçoit une plainte de harcèlement, le Contact officiel en discute avec son homologue. Si, à l’issu de cet échange, il y a entente sur la validité de la plainte, le Contact officiel  représentant la province où se sont déroulés les évènements transmet le dossier à l’organisme le plus compétent pour mener l’enquête. 

Si les Contacts officiels  ne parviennent pas à s’entendre sur la validité d’une plainte, la question est traitée dans le cadre de la procédure de règlement des différends prévue à l’article 6.1.

précédent | suivant