Table of Contents | Print This Page

Part 4: Specific Legal and Administrative Commitments

  • Issued: June 2006

4.1  Legal Commitments

4.1.1      
Within 30 days of the signing of this agreement:

Ontario and Quebec also agree to fulfill their other commitments made under this agreement within 150 days of the signing of this agreement.

4.1.2      
Ontario and Quebec recognize that the regulations related to this agreement may be amended from time to time; and, each agrees to consult the other before introducing any such amendments.

4.2  Matters Related to Contractors

4.2.1      
The government of Quebec undertakes to have the RBQ issue a construction contractor's licence to an Ontario contractor within one (1) working day, provided the application is complete and complies with all relevant legal requirements.  With the exception of contractors in the electrical and pipefitting trades (see sections 3.1.5 and 3.1.6), Quebec confirms that this is the only licence required by an Ontario contractor before responding to a call for tender on any construction project open to Ontario contractors.

The government of Quebec also undertakes to have the CMEQ and the CMMTQ issue a contractor’s licence within 10 working days to an Ontario contractor in the electrical or pipefitting trades, respectively, provided the application is complete and complies with all relevant legal requirements.

4.2.2  
The government of Quebec undertakes to have the RBQ refund, within 15 days, all fees paid by an Ontario contractor who requests that its licence for tender be terminated, and who submits that request within 15 days of being notified of an unsuccessful bid, along with proof of the unsuccessful bid, unless previous construction work has already been performed under that licence.  

4.2.3  
In addition to obtaining a Quebec construction contractor's licence, an Ontario contractor must meet all other requirements to register with specified government departments and agencies.  

4.2.4      
The government of Quebec undertakes to have:

  • the CCQ issue an Employer Number and process applications from Ontario contractors within one (1) working day for work in the Outaouais region and five (5) working days for work in the rest of Quebec, provided that the application is complete and complies with all relevant legal requirements;   
  • the CSST process applications from Ontario contractors within ten (10) working days, provided that the application is complete and complies with all relevant legal requirements; and, 
  • the Registraire des entreprises process applications from Ontario contractors within ten (10) working days, provided that the application is complete and complies with all relevant legal requirements. 

4.2.5  
The government of Ontario undertakes to have the MGS issue an identification number to a Quebec contractor within one (1) working day, if the registration is done in person and the application is complete and complies with all relevant legal requirements.

4.2.6  
The government of Ontario undertakes to have the TSSA register a Quebec contractor in the following specialties, within 10 working days, provided that the application for registration is complete and complies with all relevant legal requirements:  gasoline handling contractors, elevating devices contractors, energy contractors, and equipment installation contractors.

4.3  Matters Related to Workers

4.3.1  
The government of Quebec undertakes to have the CCQ issue a card identifying the representative association chosen by an Ontario worker within one (1) working day provided that the worker’s application is complete and complies with all relevant legal requirements.

This card is issued under the Regulation respecting the election of a representative association by the employees of the construction industry (R-20, r.3.1 ). 

Quebec confirms that there is no charge for this card and that no other fees will be charged for it without Ontario’s prior consent. 

4.3.2      
The government of Quebec undertakes to have the CCQ process applications from workers for exemption from the requirement to have an Occupation Competency Certificate (referred to in section 2.4.2), within one (1) working day, provided that the application is complete and complies with all relevant legal requirements.

The government of Quebec also undertakes to have the CCQ and the MESS process applications to take the qualification exams, schedule the appropriate examination and issue a certificate for any of the occupations listed in Appendix 4 and for any unmatched trades, within 30 working days provided that the application is complete and complies with all relevant legal requirements.

If the CCQ or the MESS questions the professional qualifications of an Ontario worker applying for a qualification exam in a regulated trade in Quebec, the worker may involve Ontario’s Official Contact who will follow the dispute resolution process set out in section 6.1.

4.3.3  
The government of Ontario undertakes to have the MTCU register a Quebec apprentice and issue an Apprentice Identification Card within one (1) working day of application, provided that the application is complete and complies with all relevant legal requirements.  

The government of Ontario also undertakes to have the MTCU and the TSSA process applications to write qualification exams, schedule exams and issue a certificate for any unmatched trades or any occupations listed in Appendix 4, within 30 working days, provided that the application is complete and meets all relevant legal requirements.

If the MTCU or the TSSA questions the professional qualifications of a Quebec worker applying for a qualification exam in an Ontario trade listed in this agreement, the worker may involve Quebec’s Official Contact who will follow the dispute resolution process set out in section 6.1.

4.3.4      
The government of Quebec undertakes to have the CCQ revise its internal guideline on the issuing of exemptions for Occupation Competency Certificates to Ontario workers to reflect the terms of this agreement.

4.4 Notices of Non-Compliance

4.4.1  
Ninety days after signing this agreement, the government of Quebec undertakes to have its agencies issue notices of non-compliance, which will act as warnings, where:

  1. an Ontario worker does not hold a certificate of competency or an exemption to hold such a certificate;
  2. an Ontario employer is not registered with the CCQ
  3. an Ontario contractor does not hold a licence from the RBQ

4.4.2  
Notices of non-compliance will specify the infraction; what the worker or employer must do to comply; and, the deadline for compliance.

4.4.3  
When an infraction listed in section 4.4.1 is discovered, the inspector for the agency concerned will tell the worker or the employer on the site.  The notice of non-compliance will then be mailed to the appropriate person.

4.4.4  
Notices of non-compliance will be issued to workers and contractors doing business within the regions of Outaouais, Abitibi-Témiscamingue and Argenteuil County and would not have the effect of creating an additional right for Ontario residents.

4.4.5
Ninety days after signing this agreement, Ontario agrees to establish comparable measures that would not have the effect of creating an additional right for Quebec residents.

4.5 Access to Services  

4.5.1  
To promote understanding of the regulations and to improve services to workers and contractors, Ontario and Quebec will: 

  1. translate all current forms within 150 days of the agreement being signed;  
  2. produce guidance material, such as fact sheets, in French and English, within 150 days of the agreement coming into effect, and subsequently provide them to affected parties; 
  3. implement toll-free telephone services in French and English;
  4. regularly update all sources of information supporting this agreement, including information on their web sites, and will review all documentation annually.

Previous | Next

Table des matières |  Imprimer cette page

Partie 4 : Engagements particuliers sur le plan légal et administratif

  • Diffusion: juin 2006

4.1 Engagements sur le plan légal

4.1.1
Dans un délai de 30 jours suivant la signature de l’entente : 

L’Ontario et le Québec s’engagent à remplir tout autre engagement pris en vertu de l’entente, dans un délai de 150 jours suivant sa signature.

4.1.2
L’Ontario et le Québec reconnaissent que les règlements relatifs à la présente entente peuvent être modifiés de temps à autre; toutefois, avant d’y apporter quelque modification que ce soit, chacune des parties convient de consulter l’autre partie. 

4.2  Questions relatives aux entrepreneurs

4.2.1
Le gouvernement du Québec s’engage à faire en sorte que la RBQ délivre une licence à un entrepreneur de construction ontarien dans un délai d’un (1) jour ouvrable suivant la réception d’une demande à cet effet, pourvu que celle-ci soit complète et conforme aux exigences réglementaires. À l’exception des entrepreneurs en électricité et en tuyauterie (voir les articles 3.1.5 et 3.1.6), le gouvernement du Québec confirme en outre que la licence délivrée par la RBQ constitue la seule licence dont doit être titulaire un entrepreneur ontarien avant de répondre à un appel d’offres auquel il est admissible en vue de l’exécution de travaux de construction.            

Le gouvernement du Québec s’engage à faire en sorte que la CMEQ et la CMMTQ délivre une licence dans un délai de dix (10) jours à un entrepreneur ontarien œuvrant, selon le cas, en électricité ou en tuyauterie, pourvu que la demande soit complète et conforme aux exigences légales en vigueur. 

4.2.2
Le gouvernement du Québec s’engage à faire en sorte que la RBQ rembourse, dans un délai de quinze (15) jours suivant la réception d’une demande à cet effet, tous les frais qu’elle a perçus d’un entrepreneur ontarien qui demande la résiliation de sa licence, sauf si des travaux de construction ont été exécutés dans le cadre de celle-ci. Afin d’être remboursé, l’entrepreneur ontarien doit formuler sa demande dans un délai de 15 jours suivant la réception d’un avis indiquant que sa soumission n’a pas été retenue et fournir une preuve à cet égard.  

4.2.3
En plus d’obtenir une licence d’entrepreneur de construction, un entrepreneur ontarien doit respecter les exigences spécifiques de tous les autres ministères et organismes gouvernementaux.  

4.2.4
Le gouvernement du Québec s’engage à faire en sorte que: 

  • la CCQ émette un numéro d’employeur à un entrepreneur ontarien dans un délai d’un jour ouvrable suivant la réception d’une demande à cet effet pour la région de l’Outaouais et de cinq (5) jours ouvrables pour les autres régions du Québec, pourvu que celle-ci soit complète et conforme aux exigences légales en vigueur;
  • la CSST traite toute demande formulée par un entrepreneur ontarien dans un délai de dix (10) jours ouvrables suivant sa réception, pourvu que celle-ci soit complète et conforme aux exigences légales en vigueur;
  • le Registraire des entreprises traite toute demande formulée par un entrepreneur ontarien dans un délai de dix (10) jours ouvrables suivant sa réception, pourvu que celle-ci soit complète et conforme aux exigences légales en vigueur. 

4.2.5
Le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’engage à faire en sorte que le MGS délivre un numéro d’identification à un entrepreneur québécois dans un délai d’un (1) jour ouvrable suivant la réception d’une demande à cet effet, pourvu que celle-ci soit faite en personne et qu’elle soit complète et conforme aux exigences légales en vigueur. 

4.2.6
Le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’engage à faire en sorte que le TSSA effectue l’enregistrement d’un entrepreneur québécois dans un délai de dix (10) jours ouvrables suivant la réception d’une demande à cet effet, pourvu que celle-ci soit complète et conforme aux exigences légales en vigueur. Les domaines de travaux visés sont les suivants :  

  • Manutention d’essence
  • Appareils de levage (installation, modification et entretien d’appareils de levage)
  • Énergie
  • Installation d’équipement 

4.3  Questions relatives aux travailleurs 

4.3.1
Le gouvernement du Québec s’engage à faire en sorte que la CCQ délivre une carte sur laquelle est inscrite l’association représentative choisie par le travailleur ontarien dans un délai d’un (1) jour ouvrable suivant la réception d’une demande à cet effet, pourvu que celle-ci soit complète et conforme aux exigences légales en vigueur.  

Le gouvernement du Québec confirme la gratuité de la carte délivrée par la CCQ en vertu du Règlement sur le choix d’une association représentative par les salariés de l’industrie de la construction [R-20, r.3.1] et convient également qu’aucun autre frais ne pourra être associé à l’obtention de cette carte sans le consentement préalable de l’Ontario.

4.3.2      
Le gouvernement du Québec s’engage à faire en sorte que la CCQ traite toute demande d’exemption à l’obligation d’être titulaire d’un certificat de compétence-occupation (prévue à l’article 2.4.2) dans un délai d’un (1) jour ouvrable suivant sa réception, pourvu que celle-ci soit complète et conforme aux exigences légales en vigueur.  

Le gouvernement du Québec s’engage également à faire en sorte que, dans un délai de 30 jours ouvrables, la CCQ et le MESS traitent toute demande d’inscription aux examens de qualification, fixent la date des examens appropriés et délivrent un certificat pour toute occupation énumérée à l’Annexe 4 ou pour tout métier jugé non apparié, pourvu que la demande soit complète et conforme aux exigences légales en vigueur. 

Lorsque la CCQ ou le MESS remet en question les compétences professionnelles d’un travailleur ontarien qui demande à passer un examen de qualification pour l’obtention d’un certificat de compétence-compagnon, le travailleur visé peut faire appel au contact officiel ontarien qui recourra à la procédure de règlement des différends décrite à l’article 6.1.  

4.3.3
Le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’engage à faire en sorte que le MTCU effectue l’enregistrement d’un apprenti québécois et délivre une carte d’identification d’apprenti dans un délai d’un (1) jour ouvrable suivant la réception d’une demande à cet effet, pourvu que celle-ci soit complète et conforme aux exigences légales en vigueur.    

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’engage également à faire en sorte que, dans un délai de 30 jours ouvrables, le MTCU et le TSSA traitent toute demande d’inscription aux examens de qualification, fixent la date des examens appropriés et délivrent un certificat pour toute occupation énumérée à l’Annexe 4 ou pour tout métier jugé non apparié, pourvu que la demande soit complète et conforme aux exigences légales en vigueur. 

Lorsque le MTCU ou le TSSA remet en question les compétences professionnelles d’un travailleur québécois qui demande à passer un examen de qualification pour l’obtention d’un certificat de qualification pour l’un des métiers prévus à l’entente, le travailleur visé peut faire appel au contact officiel québécois qui recourra à la procédure de règlement des différends décrite à l’article 6.1

4.3.4
Le gouvernement du Québec s’engage à faire en sorte que la CCQ révise sa directive interne sur la délivrance, aux travailleurs ontariens, de l’exemption de l’obligation d’être titulaire d’un certificat de compétence-occupation afin de respecter les termes de cette entente.

4.4 Avis de non-conformité

4.4.1
Quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours après la signature de la présente entente, le gouvernement du Québec s’engage à faire en sorte que les organismes appropriés délivrent un avis de non-conformité à titre d’avertissement dans les cas d’infraction suivants : 

  1. un travailleur ontarien n’est titulaire d’aucun certificat de compétence ou d’aucune exemption de détenir un tel certificat;
  2. un entrepreneur ontarien n’est pas enregistré auprès de la CCQ
  3. un entrepreneur ontarien n’est pas titulaire d’une licence d’entrepreneur de la RBQ.

4.4.2
L’avis de non-conformité précise la nature de l’infraction, les mesures à prendre pour corriger la situation ainsi que le délai pour s’y conformer.

4.4.3
En présence d’une des infractions énumérées à l’article 4.4.1, l’inspecteur de l’organisme approprié avise le travailleur ou l’entrepreneur présent sur le chantier. L’avis de non-conformité est ensuite posté à la personne concernée.

4.4.4
L’avis de non-conformité est uniquement envoyé aux travailleurs et aux entrepreneurs qui exercent leurs activités dans les régions de l’Outaouais, de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue et dans le comté d’Argenteuil et ne peut avoir pour effet de créer un droit additionnel pour des résidants de l’Ontario.

4.4.5
Quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours après la signature de la présente entente, l’Ontario s’engage à mettre en place des mesures comparables qui ne peuvent avoir pour effet de créer un droit additionnel pour des résidants du Québec.

4.5 Accès aux services

4.5.1
Pour favoriser la compréhension de la réglementation et pour améliorer les services aux travailleurs et aux entrepreneurs, l’Ontario et le Québec s’engagent à : 

  1. traduire les formulaires actuels dans un délai de cent cinquante (150) jours de la signature de la présente entente;  
  2. produire des documents explicatifs, comme des fiches de renseignements, en français et en anglais, dans un délai de cent cinquante (150) jours de la signature de la présente entente et à les rendre par la suite disponibles aux organismes appropriés;
  3. mettre sur pied des services téléphoniques sans frais en français et en anglais;
  4. mettre à jour régulièrement la documentation relative à l’entente, y compris celle que l’on retrouve dans les sites Internet, et à revoir annuellement l’ensemble de la documentation.

précédent | suivant