Table of Contents | Print This Page

Part 3: Mutual Recognition of the Qualifications, Skills and Experience of Construction Contractors

  • Issued: June 2006

3.1 Requirements for Ontario Contractors to Work in Quebec

3.1.1
An Ontario construction contractor must obtain a licence from the Régie du bâtiment du Québec (RBQ) before bidding on a contract in Quebec. The licence is issued upon successful completion of a series of examinations and confirms the contractor’s professional qualifications.  It must be renewed annually.  (Contractors in the electrical or pipe fitting trades--see sections 3.1.5 and 3.1.6.

3.1.2
An Ontario contractor may obtain a licence from the RBQ without writing examinations to verify knowledge of construction project management, construction site safety management, and administrative management, if the contractor meets one of the following conditions:

  1. proves to the RBQ, with supporting documents, that he/she has been registered with the Tarion Warranty Corporation (formerly known as the Ontario New Home Warranty Program) for at least three years (3); or,
  2. establishes that he/she has been registered as a construction contractor with the Companies and Personal Property Security Branch of the Ministry of Government Services (MGS) as a corporation for at least five years (5); or,
  3. establishes that the name of the construction company, whether a partnership, limited partnership, or a sole proprietorship, has been registered with the Companies and Personal Property Security Branch of the MGS for at least five years (5).

3.1.3
Ontario contractors who do not meet any of the conditions set out in section 3.1.2 must comply with all regulatory requirements governing the issuance of licences in Quebec. However, these Ontario contractors may be eligible for partial or complete exemption from the contractor exams described in section 3.1.1 if they meet other equivalency provisions specified by the RBQ.

3.1.4
Ontario contractors who meet the conditions for RBQ registration must also comply with the other provisions of Quebec’s Regulation respecting the professional qualifications of building contractors and owner-builders (B-1.1, r.1) to obtain a licence in Quebec.

3.1.5
Ontario contractors who specialize in electrical work must be members of the Corporation of Master Electricians of Quebec (Corporation des maîtres électriciens du Québec [CMEQ]).  For these contractors, the CMEQ assumes all roles and responsibilities otherwise carried out by the RBQ in this agreement. 

3.1.6
Ontario contractors who specialize in plumbing, heating, heating systems, natural gas burner systems or oil burner systems, must be members of the Corporation of Master Pipe Mechanics of Quebec (Corporation des maîtres mécaniciens en tuyauterie du Québec [CMMTQ]).   For these contractors, the CMMTQ assumes all roles and responsibilities otherwise carried out by the RBQ in this agreement. 

3.2 Requirements for Quebec Contractors to Work in Ontario

3.2.1
Quebec contractors must comply with all regulatory requirements affecting the construction industry in Ontario, including registration with MGS and with the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB).  Residential construction contractors must also register with the Tarion Warranty Corporation.

3.2.2
Quebec contractors without a permanent place of business in Ontario must register with the Ontario Retail Sales Tax Branch of the Ministry of Finance and post a guarantee of payment of retail sales tax equal to 4% of each construction contract awarded in Ontario. 

3.2.3
Quebec contractors who wish to conduct business in Ontario in any of the following types of work must register with the TSSA

  • Gasoline handling contractors
  • Elevator contractors (installation/alteration/maintenance of elevating devices)
  • Energy contractors
  • Equipment installation (requiring welding or piping systems or other pressure equipment).

3.2.4
Quebec contractors carrying out electrical work in Ontario must register with the Electrical Safety Authority.

Previous | Next

Table des matières |  Imprimer cette page

Partie 3 : Reconnaissance mutuelle des qualifications, des compétences et de l’expérience des entrepreneurs de construction

  • Diffusion: juin 2006

3.1 Exigences à respecter par les entrepreneurs de l’Ontario pour travailler au Québec

3.1.1  
Un entrepreneur de construction ontarien doit obtenir une licence de la Régie du bâtiment du Québec (RBQ) avant de soumissionner à un appel d’offres au Québec. Cette licence est délivrée après réussite d’une série d’examens et atteste sa qualification professionnelle. Elle doit être renouvelée annuellement. (Entrepreneurs en électricité et entrepreneurs en tuyauterie--voir articles 3.1.5 et 3.1.6)

3.1.2
Aux fins de la délivrance de la licence de la RBQ, un entrepreneur de construction ontarien est exempté des examens écrits visant à vérifier ses connaissances de la gestion de projets de construction, de la gestion de la sécurité des chantiers et de la gestion administrative, pourvu qu’il satisfasse à l’une des conditions suivantes :

  1. prouver à la RBQ, pièces justificatives à l’appui, qu’il est inscrit depuis au moins trois (3) ans au Tarion Warranty Corporation (autrefois, le Régime de garanties des logements neufs de l’Ontario);
  2. démontrer qu’il est enregistré comme entrepreneur de construction depuis au moins cinq (5) ans à la Companies and Personal Property Security Branch du Ministère des Services gouvernementaux (MSG) de l’Ontario, à titre de personne morale;
  3. démontrer que la raison sociale de l’entreprise de construction, qu’elle soit constituée comme société en nom collectif, société en commandite ou entreprise personnelle, est enregistrée depuis au moins cinq (5) ans à la Companies and Personal Property Security Branch du Ministry of Government Services (MGS) de l’Ontario.

3.1.3      
L’entrepreneur ontarien qui ne remplit aucune des conditions énoncées à l’article 3.1.2 doit se conformer à toutes les exigences réglementaires régissant la délivrance de licences de construction au Québec. Toutefois, cet entrepreneur est admissible à une exemption partielle ou totale des examens d’entrepreneur mentionnée à l’article 3.1.1 s’il satisfait aux autres dispositions sur l’équivalence prévues par la RBQ.

3.1.4      
L’entrepreneur ontarien qui satisfait à l’une ou l’autre des conditions énoncées à l’article 3.1.2 doit également se conformer aux autres dispositions du Règlement sur la qualification professionnelle des entrepreneurs en construction et des constructeurs-propriétaires (B-1.1, r.1) pour obtenir une licence d’entrepreneur de construction au Québec.

3.1.5
L’entrepreneur ontarien spécialisé dans les travaux d’électricité doit être membre de la Corporation des maîtres électriciens du Québec (CMEQ). Pour cet entrepreneur, la CMEQ assume tous les rôles et responsabilités qui incombent autrement à la RBQ dans la présente entente.

3.1.6
L’entrepreneur ontarien spécialisé dans les travaux de plomberie, de chauffage, de systèmes de chauffage, de systèmes de brûleurs au gaz naturel ou au mazout, doit être membre de la Corporation des maîtres mécaniciens en tuyauterie du Québec (CMMTQ). Pour cet entrepreneur, la CMMTQ assume tous les rôles et responsabilités qui incombent autrement à la RBQ dans la présente entente. 

3.2 Exigences à respecter par les entrepreneurs du Québec pour travailler en Ontario

3.2.1
L’entrepreneur québécois doit se conformer aux exigences réglementaires encadrant l’industrie de la construction en Ontario, notamment en s’enregistrant auprès du Ministère des Services gouvernementaux et du Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail (WSIB). L’entrepreneur oeuvrant dans le secteur résidentiel doit également s’enregistrer auprès du Tarion Warranty Corporation.

3.2.2
L’entrepreneur québécois qui n’a pas de place d’affaires permanente en Ontario doit s’enregistrer auprès de la Direction de la taxe de vente au détail de l’Ontario du ministère des Finances et fournir une garantie de paiement de la taxe de vente équivalant à 4 % de chaque contrat de construction obtenu en Ontario.

3.2.3
L’entrepreneur québécois qui veut exercer des activités en Ontario dans l’un des domaines de travaux suivants doit s’enregistrer auprès du TSSA

  • Manutention d’essence
  • Appareils de levage (installation, modification et entretien d’appareils de levage)
  • Énergie
  • Installation d’équipement (qui requiert des travaux de soudure, de tuyauterie ou d’autres appareils sous pression).

3.2.4
L’entrepreneur québécois qui désire effectuer des travaux d’électricité en Ontario doit s’enregistrer auprès du Electrical Safety Authority [en anglais seulement].

précédent | suivant