Table of Contents | Print This Page

Part 2: Mutual Recognition of the Qualifications, Skills, Experience and Occupational Health and Safety Training of Construction Workers

  • Issued: June 2006

Background

Ontario and Quebec have very different trade certification and apprenticeship systems.

In Ontario, worker certification in a construction trade is either compulsory or voluntary, as set out in Appendix 1, Table 1. Ontario has also adopted the Inter-provincial Red Seal program, as stipulated in the Agreement on Internal Trade (Chapter 7). Union membership is not a prerequisite to finding employment in Ontario's construction sector although certain sites or projects are deemed to be unionized.

By contrast, in Quebec certification is compulsory in all construction trades. There are also 40 “occupations” in the construction industry, open to semi-skilled labourers. Generally, construction workers in Quebec must belong to a union, but this is usually not the case in the residential renovation sector.

2.1 General Principles

Matched Trades

2.1.1
Ontario and Quebec agree that the trades listed in Appendix 1, Table 1 are matched for the purposes of this agreement.

Certificates Recognized by Both Jurisdictions

2.1.2
Subject to section 2.6, Ontario and Quebec fully recognize the certificates listed in Appendix 2.

2.1.3
Ontario workers holding any of the Ontario certificates listed in Appendix 2 are not required to obtain further certificates of competency when working in Quebec, in the applicable trade listed in Appendix 1, Table 1.

2.1.4
Quebec workers holding any of the Quebec certificates listed in Appendix 2 are not required to obtain further certificates of competency when working in Ontario, in the applicable trade listed in Appendix 1, Table 1.

2.1.5
Ontario workers who are not certified and wish to work in Quebec may present their qualifications and work experience to the appropriate authorities in either Ontario or Quebec and become certified by fulfilling the requirements set by these authorities. Note: Ontario workers must meet the requirements set by Ontario authorities in order to work in their home province.  Ontario workers who fulfill the requirements set by Quebec authorities may only work in Quebec.

Note: Ontario workers must meet the requirements set by Ontario authorities in order to work in their home province. Ontario workers who fulfill the requirements set by Quebec authorities may only work in Quebec.

2.1.6
Quebec workers who are not certified and wish to work in Ontario may present their qualifications and work experience to the appropriate authorities in either Ontario or Quebec and become certified by fulfilling the requirements set by these authorities.

Note: Quebec workers must meet the requirements set by Quebec authorities in order to work in their home province.  Quebec workers who fulfill the requirements set by Ontario authorities may only work in Ontario.

2.1.7
Ontario and Quebec agree that the measures of access being developed for the trades listed in Appendix 1, Tables 2A, 2B and 2C will continue as a priority after the signing of this agreement.      

2.2 Access to Matched Trades for Journeypersons and Apprentices

Access to Quebec

2.2.1
Subject to section 2.6, Quebec will fully recognize, with no further requirements other than those specified in guidance material (section 4.5.1), the following certificates issued to Ontario workers by the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities (MTCU) or by another agency of the Ontario government authorized to do so:

  1. Interprovincial Red Seal Certificate or Ontario Certificate of Qualification for any of the trades listed in Appendix 1, Table 1.
  2. Ontario Certificate of Apprenticeship or Provisional Certificate for any of the trades listed in Appendix 1, Table 1 for which certification is voluntary.  For the purpose of working in Quebec, Ontario workers with a Certificate of Apprenticeship will be recognized as journeypersons. Those carrying a Provisional Certificate will be recognized as final stage apprentices.
  3. Ontario Apprentice Identification cards for any of the trades listed in Appendix 1, Table 1.

The Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) will fully recognize the hours of apprenticeship training put in by Ontario apprentices on construction sites in either Ontario or Quebec, to the extent that these hours have been validated by the MTCU, for the purpose of determining the period of apprenticeship that will apply to an Ontario worker in Quebec.

Access to Ontario

2.2.2
Subject to section 2.6, Ontario will fully recognize, with no further requirements other than those specified in guidance material (section 4.5.1), the following certificates issued to Quebec workers by the CCQ or by any other agency of the Quebec government authorized to do so:

  1. Interprovincial Red Seal Certificate, Journeyperson Competency Certificate or Certificate of Qualification for any of the trades listed in Appendix 1, Table 1.
  2. Apprentice Competency Certificate or a Quebec Apprenticeship Booklet or card for any of the trades listed in Appendix 1, Table 1

The MTCU will fully recognize the hours of apprenticeship training put in by Quebec apprentices on construction sites in either Quebec or Ontario, to the extent that these hours have been validated by the CCQ or by the MESS, for the purpose of determining the period of apprenticeship that will apply in Ontario.

2.3 Access to Activities of Trades

Background

Many Ontario workers employed in a construction trade for which certification is voluntary, have acquired extensive skills and experience in their trade without ever obtaining a formal Certificate of Qualification.  In order to achieve effective labour mobility for these workers, Ontario and Quebec have agreed to the process outlined below.  It provides a way for skilled but uncertified workers to have their experience and qualifications evaluated by the MTCU in Ontario; and, to obtain a Trade Activity Card for presentation to the CCQ upon registration to work in Quebec. 

2.3.1 
Subject to section 2.6, Ontario and Quebec agree that an Ontario worker with a Trade Activity Card may work in Quebec on behalf of an Ontario contractor and have full access to the applicable activities of trades listed in Appendix 3, in all sectors of the construction industry in Quebec. 

2.3.2
Ontario workers with no certification in a voluntary trade listed in Appendix 1, Table 1, seeking work in Quebec, must apply to the MTCU for an assessment of their competency to work in any trade activity listed in Appendix 3.

2.3.3
The application for assessment must provide evidence that the applicant’s skills and experience meet the requirements established by the Director of Apprenticeship, to work in a particular trade activity. Satisfactory evidence would include:

  1. completion of the appropriate section of a checklist “Attestation of Competencies” or,
  2. completion of required competencies in the Training Standards book; or,
  3. completion of the number of hours required for the trade activity, if appropriate, as set out in the Trades Qualification and Apprenticeship Act or the Apprenticeship and Certification Act; or,
  4. other forms of evidence acceptable to the MTCU.

2.3.4
The MTCU will evaluate the application and evidence of competency and issue a letter of confirmation to an applicant who meets the requirements to work in a particular trade activity.  

2.3.5
An Ontario worker must present the letter of confirmation from the MTCU to the Jobs Protection Office (JPO) of the Ministry of Labour (MOL), or another designated office of the MOL, in order to receive a Trade Activity Card for the trade activity specified in the letter of confirmation.

2.3.6
An Ontario worker must then present the Trade Activity Card to the CCQ and, as required by law, join one of the representative associations for workers.  

2.3.7
The CCQ will recognize the Trade Activity Card as proof of the worker’s competency to work in a specified trade activity and will issue a card identifying the representative association chosen by the worker.  Ontario workers must carry both cards with them at all times when working in Quebec.

2.3.8      
For the purpose of working in Quebec, an Ontario worker with a Trade Activity Card will be recognized as a journeyperson.

2.4 Requirements to Work in Occupations in Quebec and Trades in Ontario  

Background

In addition to the trades and specialties for which certification is compulsory in Quebec’s construction industry, Quebec also has a set of 40 defined occupations with various training requirements. 

2.4.1  
Appendix 4 lists the occupations that currently exist in Quebec’s construction industry and are regulated by the CCQ.  Also listed, for each occupation are the requirements to work in Quebec and in Ontario.

2.4.2      
In order to work in Quebec, in any of the occupations listed in Appendix 4 for which there are no MESS certification requirements, the CCQ will exempt Ontario workers from having to take the course entitled "Construction, projects, equipment and organization" and of having to hold an Occupation Competency Certificate, if they can provide proof of: 

  • 750 or more hours of work experience in the construction industry; or,
  • one or more hours of work experience in the construction industry plus proof of having completed occupational health and safety training that is equivalent to Quebec’s compulsory course.

2.4.3 
A Quebec worker certified as a Grutier may work in Ontario as a Hoisting Equipment Operator, for hoisting capacity of 0 to 8 tons, with no further certification requirements.

2.5 Specialized Construction Work    

Definition of Specialized Construction Work

2.5.1
Construction work is considered “specialized” if it meets the following criteria:

  • the tasks involved require knowledge and technical expertise on:
    • a specific construction technique; or,
    • the installation of a particular product; or,
    • the construction-related repair or maintenance of a particular product;
  • the knowledge and technical expertise are acquired through  compulsory training offered by the manufacturer of the product, or by a trainer approved by the manufacturer; and,
  • the manufacturer’s warranty is conditional upon installation, repair or maintenance of the product being carried out by a contractor/worker who has successfully completed the manufacturer’s compulsory training program.

Process to Obtain a Specialized Construction Work Card

2.5.2
Ontario and Quebec agree that an Ontario worker may perform specialized construction work in Quebec, if that worker is employed by an Ontario contractor, has a Specialized Construction Work Card and meets the requirements set out in section 2.6.

The Specialized Construction Work Card will specify the nature of the work to be performed. 

Both provinces agree that a Specialized Construction Work Card will not be issued to a worker in cases where the work to be performed forms part of a trade for which certification is compulsory in Ontario. 

2.5.3
Ontario and Quebec agree that an Ontario worker may perform specialised construction work in Quebec without a Specialized Construction Work Card, if the tasks involved form part of either:

  • a trade listed in Appendix 1, Table 1, and the worker holds one of the certificates of qualification listed in Appendix 2; or,
  • an activity of a trade listed in Appendix 3 and the worker has an applicable Trade Activity Card.

If an Ontario worker is certified in a trade, or has a Trade Activity Card, this already provides adequate access to work in Quebec.  A separate Specialized Construction Work Card is not needed. 

2.5.4
An Ontario contractor/worker who wishes to carry out specialized construction work in Quebec must apply to the JPO for a Specialized Construction Work Card.

An Ontario contractor who wishes to carry out specialized construction work in Quebec must satisfy all requirements set out in section 3.1.

2.5.5
The application for a Specialized Construction Work Card must include the following:

  • a description of the type of work to be performed by the applicant(s) and how it meets the criteria of specialized construction work as set out in section 2.5.1;
  • identification of the special competencies and experience required to do the work;
  • proof that the applicant has successfully completed the training program required by the manufacturer; and,
  • documentation that the manufacturer’s warranty is conditional upon installation, repair or maintenance of the product being carried out by a contractor/worker who has successfully completed the manufacturer’s compulsory training program.

2.5.6
The JPO:

  • will evaluate the application and issue a Specialized Construction Work Card to an applicant who meets the requirements to perform such work; and,
  • will promptly transmit copies of the application and supporting information to the CCQ.

2.5.7
The CCQ:

  • will promptly review the application and information received from the JPO;
  • will issue a card identifying the representative association chosen, to an Ontario worker presenting a Specialized Construction Work Card, if it is satisfied that the work to be performed meets the criteria set out in section 2.5.1; or, alternatively,   
  • will promptly contact the JPO to discuss the application, if it is not satisfied that the work to be performed meets the criteria set out in section 2.5.1.

2.5.8
If the JPO and the CCQ cannot agree that the work to be performed meets the criteria set out in section 2.5.1, an Ontario contractor/worker may complain to Ontario’s Official Contact who will follow the dispute resolution process set out in section 6.1.

2.5.9
Ontario contractors/workers must carry both the Specialized Construction Work Card and the card identifying their representative association, referred to in section 2.5.7, at all times.

2.5.10
For the purpose of working in Quebec, an Ontario worker with a Specialized Construction Work Card will be recognized as a journeyperson.

2.5.11
The process outlined above will be implemented for a trial period of one year after the agreement is signed, at which time it will be reviewed by the Bilateral Coordinating Committee. 

2.5.12
A Specialized Construction Work Card and a card identifying a worker’s representative association, issued during the trial period, will be valid until the expiration of the trial period.  After the trial period, both types of cards will have to be renewed annually.

2.6 Mutual Recognition of Occupational Health and Safety Training

2.6.1
Ontario and Quebec recognize that construction workers, in addition to being qualified or certified to work in a particular trade, need training in occupational health and safety.  In Quebec, such training is compulsory--workers must take a course entitled "Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction" (Health and Safety on Construction Sites).  In Ontario, instruction in occupational health and safety is available in a number of courses and is also incorporated into trade-specific certification and training programs.

2.6.2
Appendix 5 sets out Ontario trade certificates, training courses and work experience, recognized by Quebec as equivalent to its compulsory training course. 

2.6.3
Ontario recognizes that Quebec’s compulsory training course meets regulatory requirements in Ontario for occupational health and safety training, including training requirements related to the Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS); and, to fall protection in the construction industry.   

2.6.4
To implement this agreement, the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST), or another body recognized by the CSST, is mandated to:

  • evaluate requests and, where appropriate, recognize training courses in occupational health and safety; and,
  • issue certificates of completion.

The government of Quebec also undertakes to have the CSST, or another body recognized by the CSST, expeditiously respond to any request for recognition of equivalence between Quebec’s compulsory training course and other health and safety courses delivered in Ontario.

2.6.5
Ontario and Quebec agree to work together to recognize training courses in occupational health and safety that may be developed or amended by either province in the future.

Previous | Next

Table des matières |  Imprimer cette page

Partie 2 : Reconnaissance mutuelle des qualifications, des compétences, de l’expérience et de la formation en santé et sécurité du travail des travailleurs de la construction

  • Diffusion: juin 2006

L’Ontario et le Québec ont des systèmes de reconnaissance de la qualification et d’apprentissage des métiers très différents.

En Ontario, pour les métiers de la construction énumérés au tableau 1 de l’annexe 1, la qualification professionnelle peut, selon le cas, être obligatoire ou facultative. L’Ontario a mis en œuvre le programme interprovincial du Sceau rouge, tel que prévu au chapitre 7 de l’Accord sur le commerce intérieur (ACI). Bien que certains chantiers ou projets soient syndiqués, l’adhésion à un syndicat n’y constitue pas un prérequis à l’emploi dans l’industrie de la construction.

Au Québec, pour l’ensemble des métiers de la construction présentés au tableau 1 de l’annexe 1, la qualification professionnelle est obligatoire. Il y a par ailleurs 40 occupations, occupées par des travailleurs semi-spécialisés. Généralement, les travailleurs de la construction y sont syndiqués, mais ce n’est habituellement pas le cas dans le secteur de la rénovation résidentielle.

2.1  Principes généraux

Métiers appariés

2.1.1
L’Ontario et le Québec reconnaissent que les métiers énumérés au tableau 1 de l’Annexe 1 sont appariés pour les fins de cette entente.

Certificats reconnus par les deux provinces

2.1.2
Sous réserve de l’article 2.6, le Québec et l’Ontario reconnaissent pleinement les certificats énumérés à l’Annexe 2.

2.1.3
Le travailleur ontarien titulaire d’un certificat de l’Ontario prévu à l’Annexe 2 n’est pas tenu d’obtenir d’autres certificats de compétence pour travailler au Québec dans le métier correspondant prévu au tableau 1 de l’Annexe 1. 

2.1.4  
Le travailleur québécois titulaire d’un certificat du Québec prévu à l’Annexe 2 n’est pas tenu d’obtenir d’autres certificats de compétence pour travailler en Ontario dans le métier correspondant prévu au tableau 1 de l’Annexe 1.

2.1.5
Le travailleur ontarien qui n’est pas titulaire du certificat de qualification requis et qui désire travailler au Québec peut présenter ses compétences et ses expériences de travail aux autorités responsables en Ontario ou au Québec et obtenir un certificat s’il satisfait aux exigences de ces dernières.  

Note : Le travailleur ontarien doit satisfaire aux exigences déterminées par les autorités ontariennes afin de travailler en Ontario. Le travailleur ontarien qui rencontre seulement les exigences déterminées par les autorités québécoises ne peut pas travailler en Ontario.

2.1.6
Le travailleur québécois qui n’est pas titulaire du certificat de qualification requis et qui désire travailler en Ontario peut présenter ses compétences et ses expériences de travail aux autorités responsables au Québec ou en Ontario et obtenir un certificat s’il satisfait aux exigences de ces dernières.

Note : Le travailleur québécois doit satisfaire aux exigences déterminées par les autorités québécoises afin de travailler au Québec. Le travailleur québécois qui rencontre seulement les exigences déterminées par les autorités ontariennes ne peut pas travailler au Québec.

2.1.7
L’Ontario et le Québec s’engagent à poursuivre en priorité les travaux relatifs aux mesures d’accès qui ont été amorcés pour les métiers énumérés aux tableaux 2A, 2B et 2C de l’annexe 1.

2.2  Accès aux métiers appariés pour les compagnons et les apprentis

Accès au Québec

2.2.1 
Sous réserve de l’article 2.6, le Québec reconnaît pleinement, sans autres exigences que celles prévues dans la documentation explicative relative à l’entente (article 4.5.1), les certificats suivants délivrés à des travailleurs ontariens par le Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities (MTCU) ou tout autre organisme du gouvernement de l’Ontario mandaté à cet effet :

  • Certificat de qualification (Sceau rouge) ou certificat de qualification professionnelle de l’Ontario pour l’un des métiers énumérés au tableau 1 de l’Annexe 1.
  • Certificat d’apprentissage ou certificat de qualification professionnelle provisoire  de l’Ontario dans l’un des métiers énumérés au tableau 1 de l’Annexe 1 et pour lequel l’obtention d’un certificat est facultative. Au Québec, le travailleur ontarien titulaire d’un certificat d’apprentissage est considéré comme un compagnon. Les titulaires d’un certificat de qualification professionnelle provisoire sont considérés comme des apprentis de dernière période.
  • Carte d’identification d’apprenti de l’Ontario pour l’un des métiers énumérés au tableau 1 de l’Annexe 1.

Les heures d’apprentissage accumulées par un travailleur ontarien sur les chantiers de construction au Québec ou en Ontario sont pleinement reconnues par la Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ), dans la mesure où elles ont été validées par le Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities (MTCU), lorsqu’il s’agit de déterminer la période d’apprentissage applicable à ce travailleur au Québec.

Accès en Ontario

2.2.2  
Sous réserve de l’article 2.6, l’Ontario reconnaît pleinement, sans autres exigences que celles précisées dans la documentation explicative relative à l’entente (article 4.5.1), les certificats suivants délivrés à des travailleurs québécois par la Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) ou tout autre organisme du gouvernement du Québec mandaté à cette fin :

  • Certificat de qualification (Sceau rouge), certificat de compétence-compagnon ou certificat de qualification pour l’un des métiers énumérés au tableau 1 de l’Annexe 1.
  • Certificat de compétence-apprenti ou carnet d’apprentissage ou carte d’apprenti du Québec pour l’un des métiers inscrits au tableau 1 de l’Annexe 1.

Les heures d’apprentissage accumulées par un travailleur québécois sur les chantiers de construction au Québec ou en Ontario sont pleinement reconnues par le MTCU dans la mesure où elles ont été validées par la Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) ou par le MESS, lorsqu’il s’agit de déterminer la période d’apprentissage applicable à ce travailleur en Ontario.

2.3 Accès aux activités de métier

Contexte

De nombreux travailleurs ontariens exerçant l’un des métiers de la construction pour lequel la qualification professionnelle est facultative ont acquis des compétences et une vaste expérience sans pour autant être titulaires d’un certificat de qualification. Afin de leur assurer une réelle mobilité, l’Ontario et le Québec conviennent d’une procédure par laquelle ils peuvent faire évaluer leur expérience et leurs qualifications par le MTCU en Ontario et, le cas échéant, obtenir une carte d’activité de métier à présenter à la CCQ lors de leur inscription afin de travailler sur un chantier au Québec.

2.3.1
Sous réserve de l’article 2.6, l’Ontario et le Québec conviennent qu’un travailleur ontarien de la construction, titulaire d’une carte d’activité de métier, puisse travailler au Québec pour le compte d’un entrepreneur ontarien et exercer l’activité de métier appropriée prévue à l’Annexe 3 dans tous les secteurs de l’industrie de la construction au Québec. 

2.3.2 
Le travailleur ontarien de la construction non titulaire d’un certificat de qualification dans l’un des métiers à qualification facultative prévus au tableau 1 de l’Annexe 1, qui veut travailler au Québec dans l’une des activités de métier prévues à l’Annexe 3, doit s’adresser au MTCU pour faire évaluer sa compétence.

2.3.3 
La demande d’évaluation doit démontrer que le travailleur possède les compétences et l’expérience permettant de satisfaire les exigences établies par le Directeur d’apprentissage du MTCU pour travailler dans une activité de métier particulière. Les preuves jugées satisfaisantes sont :

  1. avoir complété avec succès la section appropriée d’une liste de contrôle « Attestation des compétences », ou
  2. avoir complété la section des compétences requises du guide des normes de formation (Training Standards Book), ou
  3. avoir travaillé le nombre d’heures prévu à la Loi sur la qualification professionnelle et l’apprentissage des gens de métier ou la Loi de 1998 sur l’apprentissage et la reconnaissance professionnelle pour l’activité de métier visée, ou
  4. toute autre forme de preuve acceptable pour le MTCU.

2.3.4 
Le MTCU évalue la demande et émet une lettre de confirmation au requérant qui satisfait aux exigences pour travailler dans une activité de métier.

2.3.5 
Le travailleur ontarien doit présenter la lettre de confirmation du MTCU au Jobs Protection Office (JPO) du Ministry of Labour de l’Ontario ou à tout autre bureau expressément désigné à cette fin par ce ministère afin de recevoir une carte d’activité de métier pour l’activité de métier indiquée dans la lettre de confirmation.

2.3.6 
Le travailleur ontarien doit ensuite présenter sa carte d’activité de métier à la CCQ et choisir l’une des associations représentatives prévues à la Loi.

2.3.7
La CCQ reconnaît la carte d’activité de métier comme une preuve de la compétence du travailleur à exécuter des travaux dans l’activité de métier indiquée et émet une carte sur laquelle est inscrite l’association représentative de son choix. Le travailleur ontarien doit avoir ces deux cartes avec lui en tout temps lorsqu’il travaille au Québec.

2.3.8
Lorsqu’il travaille au Québec, le travailleur ontarien titulaire d’une Carte d’activité de métier est considéré comme un compagnon.

2.4   Accès aux occupations du Québec et aux métiers de l’Ontario  

Contexte

Au Québec, en plus des métiers et spécialités pour lesquels la qualification professionnelle est obligatoire, on retrouve également 40 occupations comportant différentes exigences de formation.

2.4.1
L’annexe 4 présente la liste des occupations réglementées par la CCQ que l’on retrouve dans l’industrie de la construction au Québec. Sont indiquées pour chacune d’elles les exigences réglementaires à remplir pour travailler au Québec ou en Ontario.

2.4.2
Afin de travailler au Québec dans une occupation énumérée à l’annexe 4 et pour laquelle il n’existe pas de qualification professionnelle du MESS, un travailleur ontarien sera exempté par la CCQ du cours intitulé Chantiers, équipements et organismes » ainsi que de l’obligation d’être titulaire d’un certificat de compétence-occupation de la CCQ s’il établit que :

  • il possède 750 heures ou plus d’expérience de travail dans l’industrie de la construction; ou,
  • il possède une (1) heure ou plus d’expérience de travail dans l’industrie de la construction et il a complété une formation en santé et sécurité du travail reconnue équivalente au cours obligatoire du Québec.

2.4.3
Un travailleur québécois qualifié comme grutier peut travailler en Ontario comme opérateur d’appareils de levage (pour les appareils de levage de 0 à 8 tonnes), sans autres exigences de qualification.

2.5 Travaux de construction spécialisés

Définition des travaux de construction spécialisés

2.5.1
Les travaux de construction sont considérés « spécialisés » s’ils respectent les critères suivants :

  • les tâches visées requièrent des connaissances et une expertise technique associées à :
    • une méthode de construction spécifique; ou
    • l’installation d’un produit particulier; ou
    • l’entretien et la réparation d’un tel produit;
  • ces connaissances et cette expertise technique sont acquises dans le cadre d’un programme de formation obligatoire dispensé par le fabricant du produit ou par un formateur approuvé par celui-ci; et
  • la garantie du fabricant est conditionnelle à ce que l’installation, la réparation ou l’entretien du produit soit effectué par un entrepreneur ou un travailleur ayant complété avec succès ce programme de formation obligatoire.

Procédure d’obtention d’une carte  pour les travaux de construction spécialisés

2.5.2
L’Ontario et le Québec conviennent qu’un travailleur ontarien peut effectuer des travaux de construction spécialisés au Québec s’il est à l’emploi d’un entrepreneur ontarien, est titulaire d’une carte de travaux spécialisés et rencontre les exigences prévues à la section 2.6.

La carte de travaux spécialisés indique la nature des travaux à être effectués.

Aucune carte de travaux spécialisés ne sera émise pour l’exécution de travaux relatifs à des métiers pour lesquels la qualification est obligatoire en Ontario.

2.5.3
L’Ontario et le Québec conviennent qu’un travailleur ontarien peut exécuter des travaux de construction spécialisés au Québec sans être titulaire d’une carte de travaux spécialisés si les tâches exercées font partie soit :

  • D’un métier énuméré au tableau 1 de l’annexe 1 et que le travailleur est titulaire de l’un des certificats de qualification pour ce métier, prévu à l’Annexe 2;
  • D’une activité de métier énumérée à l’Annexe 3 et que le travailleur est titulaire de la carte d’activité de métier appropriée.

Un travailleur ontarien, titulaire d’une carte d’activité de métier ou de l’un des certificats de qualification énumérés à l’Annexe 2, a accès aux chantiers de construction québécois. Dans ces cas, une carte de travaux spécialisés n’est pas requise.

2.5.4
Unentrepreneur ou un travailleur ontarien qui veut exécuter des travaux de construction spécialisés au Québec doit faire une demande de carte de travaux spécialisés au JPO du Ministry of Labour de l’Ontario ou à tout autre bureau expressément désigné à cette fin par ce ministère.

Un entrepreneur ontarien qui veut exécuter des travaux de construction spécialisés doit satisfaire aux exigences prévues à la section 3.1.

2.5.5
La demande de carte de travaux spécialisés doit comprendre les éléments suivants :
  • une description du type de travaux à exécuter, spécifiant en quoi ils répondent aux critères de travaux de construction spécialisés, tels qu’énumérés à l’article 2.5.1;
  • l’identification des compétences spécifiques et de l’expérience requises pour exécuter le travail;
  • une preuve que le demandeur a complété avec succès le programme de formation exigé par le fabricant;
  • la documentation indiquant que la garantie du fabricant est conditionnelle à ce que l’installation, la réparation ou l’entretien du produit soit effectué par un entrepreneur ou un travailleur ayant complété avec succès le programme de formation exigé par le fabricant.

2.5.6
Le JPO :

  • évalue la demande et délivre une carte de travaux spécialisés au demandeur qui respecte les exigences requises pour exécuter ces travaux;
  • transmet promptement copie de la demande et des pièces justificatives à la CCQ.

2.5.7
La CCQ :

  • révise promptement la demande et les pièces justificatives reçues du JPO;
  • sur présentation d’une carte de travaux spécialisés, délivre la carte indiquant le nom de l’association représentative que le travailleur ontarien a choisie si elle juge que les travaux à exécuter répondent aux critères énumérés à l’article 2.5.1; ou sinon
  • communique promptement avec le JPO si elle juge que les travaux à exécuter ne répondent pas aux critères énumérés à l’article 2.5.1.

2.5.8
Si le JPO et la CCQ n’arrivent pas à s’entendre à l’effet que les travaux répondent aux critères énoncés à l’article 2.5.1, l’entrepreneur ou le travailleur ontariens peuvent déposer une plainte auprès du contact officiel en Ontario, qui suivra la procédure de résolution des différends décrite à l’article 6.1.

2.5.9
L’entrepreneur et les travailleurs ontariens doivent avoir avec eux en tout temps leur carte de travaux spécialisés et la carte délivrée par la CCQ prévue à l’article 2.5.7.

2.5.10 
Lorsqu’il travaille au Québec, le travailleur ontarien titulaire d’une Carte de travaux spécialisés est considéré comme un compagnon.

2.5.11 
La procédure décrite ci-dessus sera mise à l’essai pendant une période d’un an à compter de la signature de l’entente, à la suite de laquelle elle devra être révisée par le Comité bipartite de coordination.

2.5.12 
Les cartes de travaux spécialisés et la carte prévue à l’article 2.5.7 sont valides pour une durée d’un an. Celles émises durant la période d’essai sont valides jusqu’à la fin de cette période, après quoi elles devront être renouvelées chaque année.

2.6 Reconnaissance mutuelle de la formation en santé et sécurité au travail

2.6.1  
L’Ontario et le Québec reconnaissent que, en plus de devoir être qualifiés ou titulaires d’un certificat pour exercer leur métier, les travailleurs de la construction ont besoin de formation en santé et sécurité du travail.  Au Québec, cette formation est obligatoire--les travailleurs doivent suivre un cours intitulé « Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction ». En Ontario, la formation sur la santé et la sécurité du travail se retrouve dans un certain nombre de cours et est également intégrée aux programmes de formation et de qualification professionnelle  propres à chaque métier.

  • L’Annexe 5 énumère les certificats de métiers, les cours de formation et l’expérience de travail requise en Ontario que le Québec reconnaît comme équivalents à son cours de formation obligatoire. 
  • L’Ontario reconnaît que le cours de formation obligatoire au Québec répond aux exigences réglementaires de l’Ontario en matière de formation en santé et sécurité du travail, y compris les exigences de formation concernant le Système d'information sur les matières dangereuses utilisées au travail (SIMDUT) et la protection contre les chutes dans l’industrie de la construction.

2.6.4
Dans la mise en œuvre de la présente entente, la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST), ou un autre organisme reconnu par la CSST, est mandatée :

  • pour évaluer et, le cas échéant, reconnaître les cours de formation en santé et sécurité du travail;
  • pour délivrer les attestations appropriées.

Le gouvernement du Québec s’engage à faire en sorte que la CSST, ou un autre organisme reconnu par celle-ci, traite avec célérité toute demande de reconnaissance d’équivalence possible entre le cours « Santé et sécurité générale sur les chantiers de construction », obligatoire au Québec, et d’autres cours de formation en santé et sécurité du travail, donnés en Ontario.

2.6.5
L’Ontario et le Québec conviennent de travailler ensemble à la reconnaissance d’équivalence des programmes de formation et de reconnaissance des compétences qui seront développés ou modifiés dans le futur dans l’une ou l’autre des provinces afin d’accroître les compétences des travailleurs de la construction en matière de santé et sécurité du travail.

précédent | suivant