Print Print This Page

Reprisals

Ontario’s Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) provides workers with rights and responsibilities. It prohibits employers from penalizing workers in reprisal for obeying the law or exercising their rights.

Under Section 50 of the OHSA, an employer cannot

  • dismiss (or threaten to dismiss) a worker
  • discipline or suspend a worker (or threaten to do so)
  • impose (or threaten to impose) any penalty upon a worker, or
  • intimidate or coerce a worker…

… because a worker has

  • followed the OHSA and regulations
  • exercised rights under the OHSA, including the right to refuse unsafe work
  • asked the employer to follow the OHSA and regulations.

A worker also cannot be penalized for

  • providing information to a Ministry of Labour inspector
  • following a Ministry of Labour inspector’s order, or
  • testifying at a hearing about OHSA enforcement
    • in court
    • before the Ontario Labour Relations Board
    • at a grievance arbitration, and
    • at a coroner’s inquest

This document is available for download in:

Workers

A worker who believes that the employer has reprised against him or her may file a complaint with the Ontario Labour Relations Board (OLRB). A unionized worker may choose to ask the union to file a grievance under the collective agreement or to seek its help in filing a complaint directly on the worker’s behalf with the OLRB.

Alternatively, a worker claiming to have been fired in an OHSA-related reprisal may consent to having a Ministry of Labour inspector refer the reprisal allegation to the OLRB, if

  • the allegation has not already been dealt with by arbitration, and
  • the worker has not filed a complaint to the OLRB.

The inspector will also provide copies of the referral to the employer, trade union (if any) and other organizations affected by the alleged reprisal. However, the Ministry of Labour will not act as the worker’s representative.

The Ministry of Labour will also investigate the health and safety concerns related to a reprisal complaint or referral.

The OLRB can look into a worker’s complaint or a referral from the Ministry of Labour and try to mediate a settlement between the workplace parties. If a settlement cannot be reached, the OLRB may hold a consultation or hearing. The OLRB may make orders to

  • remove or change any penalty the employer may have imposed
  • reinstate/rehire the worker, and/or
  • compensate the worker for related losses.

The OLRB will provide forms for filing reprisal complaints.

The Office of the Worker Adviser (OWA) or the Toronto Workers’ Health & Safety Legal Clinic can provide workers with free advice on filing complaints and representation at mediations and hearings before the OLRB.

Employers

If there is an allegation of reprisal before the OLRB, it’s up to the employer to refute it. The Office of the Employer Adviser can provide free assistance and representation at mediations and hearings before the OLRB to employers with fewer than 50 employees. Also, employers can contact the Law Society of Upper Canada, which will put them in touch with a lawyer who may provide a free initial consultation.



Ontario Labour Relations Board

The Ontario Labour Relations Board is an independent, quasi-judicial tribunal that mediates and adjudicates employment and labour relations matters under Ontario statutes. Workers who believe their employer has penalized them because they have exercised their rights and responsibilities under the OHSA can file a complaint with the OLRB. There is no fee for this. Unions may file a grievance on behalf of members under the collective agreement or help member workers complain directly to the OLRB.

Ministry of Labour

The Ontario Ministry of Labour sets, communicates and enforces workplace standards related to occupational health and safety, employment rights and responsibilities, and labour relations. When workers allege that their employer has penalized them for exercising their rights and responsibilities under the OHSA, inspectors

  • investigate the workers’ occupational health and safety concerns, and
  • if warranted, act to address the health and safety concerns.

If a worker has been fired, inspectors may — with the worker’s consent — refer the worker’s description of the alleged reprisal to the OLRB and provide copies of the referral to the employer, the trade union (if any), and to any other organization affected by the alleged reprisal.

Laws

Contact Us

Health and Safety Contact Centre

Toll-free: 1-877-202-0008
TTY: 1-855-653-9260

  • Report incidents, critical injuries or fatalities.
    If this is an emergency call 911 immediately.
  • Workplace health and safety inquiries.
  • Report unsafe work practices.

Other ways to contact us

Workers

Office of the Worker Adviser

The Office of the Worker Adviser (OWA) is an independent agency of the Ontario Ministry of Labour. The OWA provides free advice and assistance to non-union workers who have experienced reprisal under the OHSA. OWA staff can file applications to the Ontario Labour Relations Board and provide representation to workers at mediations and hearings.

  • 416-212-5335 or 855-659-7744 (toll-free)
  • Web Site

Toronto Workers' Health & Safety Legal Clinic

The clinic provides free information, legal advice and representation to low-income workers who face health and safety problems at work, including those who have been penalized for raising health and safety concerns.

Employers

Office of the Employer Adviser

The Office of the Employer Adviser (OEA) is an independent agency of the Ontario Ministry of Labour. The OEA provides free education, advice and representation to employers with fewer than 50 employees in responding to allegations of reprisal brought to the OLRB.

  • 416-327-0020 or 800-387-0774 (toll-free)
  • Web Site

Law Society of Upper Canada

The Law Society of Upper Canada has several services for finding professional legal help. The society can refer callers to a lawyer who may provide a free initial consultation.

  • 416-947-3330 or 800-668-7380 (toll-free)
  • Web Site

Représailles

  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2015

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) de l’Ontario donne aux travailleurs des droits et des responsabilités. Elle interdit aux employeurs de pénaliser les travailleurs en exerçant des représailles contre eux parce qu’ils ont obéi à la loi ou exercé leurs droits.

Aux termes de l’article 50 de la LSST, l’employeur ne peut pas :

  • congédier (ou menacer de congédier) un travailleur;
  • imposer une peine disciplinaire à un travailleur ou le suspendre (ou menacer de lui imposer une telle peine ou de le suspendre);
  • prendre (ou menacer de prendre) des sanctions à l’égard d’un travailleur;
  • intimider ou contraindre un travailleur…

… parce que le travailleur a :

  • respecté la LSST et les règlements;
  • exercé des droits aux termes de la LSST, y compris le droit de refuser d’effectuer un travail dangereux;
  • demandé à l’employeur de respecter la LSST et les règlements.

Un travailleur ne peut pas non plus être pénalisé parce qu’il :

  • a fourni des renseignements à un inspecteur du ministère du Travail;
  • a suivi un ordre d’un inspecteur du ministère du Travail;
  • a témoigné lors d’une instance portant sur le respect de la LSST :
    • en cour;
    • devant la Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario;
    • lors de l’arbitrage d’un grief;
    • lors d’une enquête du coroner

Travailleurs

Un travailleur qui croit que l’employeur a usé de représailles contre lui peut déposer une plainte auprès de la Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario (CRTO). Un travailleur syndiqué peut choisir de demander au syndicat de déposer un grief aux termes de la convention collective ou de l’aider à déposer directement pour son compte une plainte auprès de la CRTO.

Un travailleur qui prétend avoir été congédié dans le cadre de représailles liées à la LSST peut consentir à ce qu’un inspecteur du ministère du Travail renvoie l’affaire à la CRTO, si les deux conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  • l’allégation n’a pas déjà été réglée par l’arbitrage;
  • le travailleur n’a pas déposé une plainte auprès de la CRTO.

L’inspecteur fournit une copie du renvoi à l’employeur, au syndicat (le cas échéant) et aux autres organismes touchés par les prétendues représailles. Cependant, le ministère du Travail n’agira pas comme représentant du travailleur.

Le ministère du Travail fera également enquête sur les questions de santé et de sécurité qui sont liées à une plainte ou à un renvoi concernant des représailles.

La CRTO peut examiner la plainte d’un travailleur ou le renvoi du ministère du Travail et tenter de régler la question par la médiation entre les parties du lieu de travail. Si un règlement ne peut être obtenu, la CRTO peut tenir une consultation ou une audience. La CRTO peut rendre une ordonnance pour :

  • supprimer ou modifier toute pénalité imposée par l’employeur;
  • réintégrer/réembaucher le travailleur;
  • indemniser le travailleur pour les pertes subies.

La CRTO fournit les formulaires nécessaires au dépôt d’une plainte concernant des représailles.

Le Bureau des conseillers des travailleurs (BCT) et la Toronto Workers’ Health & Safety Legal Clinic offrent gratuitement aux travailleurs des conseils sur le dépôt d’une plainte et des services de représentation au cours des séances de médiation et des audiences devant la CRTO.

Employeurs

En cas d’allégation de représailles devant la CRTO, c’est à l’employeur qu’il incombe de la réfuter. Le Bureau des conseillers des employeurs offre gratuitement aux employeurs comptant moins de 50 employés des services d’aide et de représentation au cours des séances de médiation et des audiences devant la CRTO. Les employeurs peuvent aussi communiquer avec le Barreau du Haut-Canada, qui les mettra en contact avec un avocat pouvant offrir gratuitement une consultation initiale.


Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario

La Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario est un organisme quasi judiciaire autonome dont le mandat est d’assurer la médiation et le règlement de questions liées à l’emploi et aux relations de travail aux termes de lois de l’Ontario. Les travailleurs qui croient que leur employeur les a pénalisés parce qu’ils ont exercé leurs droits et responsabilités aux termes de la LSST peuvent déposer une plainte auprès de la CRTO. Cela est gratuit. Les syndicats peuvent déposer un grief pour le compte de leurs membres aux termes de la convention collective ou aider des travailleurs membres à déposer une plainte directement auprès de la CRTO.

  • 416 326-7500 ou 877 339-3335 (sans frais)
  • Site Web

Ministère du Travail de l’Ontario

Le ministère du Travail de l’Ontario établit, communique et fait respecter les normes en milieu de travail qui concernent la santé et la sécurité au travail, les droits et responsabilités liés à l’emploi et les relations de travail. Lorsque des travailleurs allèguent que leur employeur les a pénalisés parce qu’ils ont exercé leurs droits et responsabilités aux termes de la LSST, les inspecteurs :

  • font enquête sur les préoccupations des travailleurs concernant la santé et la sécurité au travail;
  • s’il y a lieu, prennent des mesures pour répondre à ces préoccupations.

Si un travailleur a été congédié, les inspecteurs peuvent – avec le consentement du travailleur – renvoyer à la CRTO la description faite par le travailleur des prétendues représailles et fournir une copie du renvoi à l’employeur, au syndicat (le cas échéant), et à tout autre organisme touché par les prétendues représailles.

Lois

Pour nous joindre

InfoCentre de santé et de sécurité au travail 

Sans frais : 1 877 202-0008
ATS : 1 855 653-9260

  • Pous signaler des incidents, des blessures graves ou des décès. S’il s’agit d’une urgence, composer le 911 immédiatement.
  • Questions en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail.
  • Pour signaler des pratiques de travail dangereuses.

Autres méthodes pour communiquer avec nous

Travailleurs

Bureau des conseillers des travailleurs

Le Bureau des conseillers des travailleurs (BCT) est un organisme indépendant du ministère du Travail de l’Ontario. Le BCT fournit gratuitement des conseils et de l’aide aux travailleurs non syndiqués qui ont fait l’objet de représailles aux termes de la LSST. Le personnel du BCT peut déposer une requête auprès de la Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario et représenter les travailleurs au cours des séances de médiation et des audiences.

  • 416 212-5335 ou 855 659-7744 (sans frais)
  • Site Web

Toronto Workers' Health & Safety Legal Clinic

La clinique offre gratuitement des renseignements, des conseils juridiques et des services de représentation aux travailleurs à faible revenu qui font face à des problèmes liés à la santé et à la sécurité au travail, y compris aux travailleurs qui ont été pénalisés parce qu’ils ont exprimé des préoccupations en matière de santé et de sécurité

  • 416 971-8832
  • Site Web (en anglais seulement)

Employeurs

Bureau des conseillers des employeurs

Le Bureau des conseillers des employeurs (BCE) est un organisme indépendant du ministère du Travail de l’Ontario. Le BCE fournit gratuitement de l’éducation, des conseils et des services de représentation aux employeurs comptant moins de 50 employés qui doivent répondre à des allégations de représailles portées devant la CRTO.

  • 416 327-0020 ou 800 387-0774 (sans-frais)
  • Site Web

Le Barreau du Haut-Canada

Le Barreau du Haut-Canada offre plusieurs services permettant de trouver de l’aide juridique professionnelle. Le Barreau peut donner aux personnes qui l’appellent le nom d’un avocat qui peut offrir une consultation initiale gratuite.

  • 416 947-3330 ou 800 668-7380 (sans-frais)
  • Site Web