Table of Contents | Print this page

Construction Program

Safe At Work Ontario

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Under the Occupational Health and Safety Act, “construction” is defined to include erection, alteration, repair, dismantling, demolition, structural maintenance, painting, land clearing, earth moving, grading, excavating, trenching, digging, boring, drilling, blasting or concreting, the installation of any machinery or plant, and any work or undertaking in connection with a project (excluding any work or undertaking underground in a mine). “Project” is also defined in section 1 of the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

Construction inspectors enforce the Occupational Health and Safety Act and its regulations at construction projects across the province. As part of the Safe At Work Ontario strategy, they focus on specific construction sectors where there are high injury rates, history of non-compliance, and known workplace hazards. They will also continue to confirm/verify overall compliance with the Occupational Health and Safety Act and its regulations.

Construction blitzes

Excavation hazards

Construction excavation and trenching are inherently hazardous. Most fatal cave-ins occur on small, short-duration jobs such as gas, electrical, water and sewer connections. Inspectors have identified the need to once again focus on excavation projects. This blitz ran from May 1 to May 31, 2014 and its focus was to check:

  • for improper shoring practices, improper trenching procedures and soil types;
  • equipment and traffic control; and
  • power line proximity and inadequate locates.
Table 22: Excavation hazards blitz stats
Program activities Number
Field visits 1,094
Workplaces visited 957
Orders and requirements issued 2,191
Stop work orders 186
Orders and requirements per workplace visited 2.29
Orders and requirements per field visit 2

Resources

Fall protection / hazards

Falls continue to be a major source of injury and death within the construction industry. This blitz ran from July 1, 2014 to August 31, 2014 and focused on fall-related hazards at provincially regulated construction projects, diving operations and window cleaning activities where a worker may be exposed to a fall-related hazard. The goal of this blitz was to check that workers:

  • wore fall protection equipment, when required;
  • had received adequate training in the use of fall protection equipment;
  • were protected with the use of guardrails, where required; and
  • used work platforms according to manufacturers’ instructions.
Table 23: Fall protection / hazards blitz stats
Program activities Number
Field visits 2,038
Workplaces visited 1,670
Orders and requirements issued 6,536
Stop work orders 584
Orders and requirements per workplace visited 3.86
Orders and requirements per field visit 3.17

Resources

Provincial construction enforcement initiatives

The provincial enforcement initiatives carried out by construction inspectors from April 1, 2014 to March 31, 2015 were:

  • traffic protection;
  • roofing;
  • residential housing;
  • infill housing; and
  • industrial, commercial, institutional.
Table 24: Construction health and safety program initiatives
Program activities Number
Field visits 172
Workplaces visited 157
Orders and requirements issued 327
Stop work orders 34
Orders and requirements per workplace visited 14.25
Orders and requirements per field visit 13.1

Resources

Regional construction enforcement initiatives

Central East Region

Man / material hoists

The focus of this initiative was to inspect temporary hoists in construction projects in Central East Region from November 1 to 30, 2014. Temporary hoists are installed on multi-level construction projects to transport personnel and material. During inspections and investigations, the ministry discovered installation deficiencies and maintenance and inspection deficiencies. The ministry was concerned with the state of man and material hoists operating at construction projects and the impact that poorly installed and maintained hoists have on worker and public safety.

Table 25: Man / material hoists (Central East Region)
Program activities Number
Field visits 37
Workplaces visited 28
Orders and requirements issued 53
Stop work orders 3
Orders and requirements per workplace visited 1.89
Orders and requirements per field visit 1.43

Central West Region

Tower cranes, man and material hoists, concrete pumps

This regional initiative ran from October 1 to 31, 2014 and achieved two primary goals:

  1. The initiative increased ministry inspector awareness regarding the mandate and role of the Technical Standards and Safety Association as well as the Ontario Cast-in-place Concrete Development Council.
  2. The initiative also raised stakeholder awareness of the mandate and role of the ministry, and afforded an opportunity for stakeholders and safety partners to provide current information, employer training information, and to ask questions of the ministry.

The ministry gained valuable industry insights and perspectives by including stakeholders and safety partners in a proactive planning approach in June, prior to the October initiative.

On September 24, 2014, attendees from Laborer’s International Union of North America Local 183, Ontario Cast-in-place Concrete Development Council and the Technical Standards and Safety Association were part of a ministry information session concerning best practices, with a specific focus directed to equipment operator training, inspection and maintenance records, and hazard awareness to all workers working around or under this equipment at a project.

Table 26: Tower cranes, man and material hoists, concrete pumps (Central West Region)
Program activities Number
Field visits 44
Workplaces visited 44
Orders and requirements issued 56
Stop work orders 0
Orders and requirements per workplace visited 1.28
Orders and requirements per field visit 1.28

Amusement devices

This was a joint initiative with the Industrial Health and Safety Program which ran from July 1 to September 30, 2014. Please refer to Amusement devices under Central West industrial regional initiatives.

Western Region

Roofing

This two-year project was a partnership with the Industrial Health and Safety Program, Prevention and other stakeholders for education and outreach activities. It involved the development of simple, easy-to-use tools for employers and ran from April 1, 2013 to March 31, 2015. Before and after-hours information sessions were held in various locations across the province. A total of 119 participants attended the sessions.

Table 27: Roofing (for two-year period) (Western Region)
Program activities Number
Field visits 892
Workplaces visited 722
Orders and requirements issued 2,672
Stop work orders 154
Orders and requirements per workplace visited 3.7
Orders and requirements per field visit 3

Northern Region

Residential / cottage development

The Northern Region conducted this initiative as a result of local intelligence from inspectors indicating that a higher profile of enforcement in residential / cottage development, including non-notifiable projects, is required. The initiative aimed to enhance worker safety, promote safer workplace practices and allow inspectors to inspect non-registered organizations, while ensuring compliance with the Occupational Health and Safety Act. The active period for this initiative was from June 1 to July 31, 2014.

Inspectors had the opportunity to educate clients within the residential and cottage development industry concerning legislated standards, promoting the Internal Responsiblity System and introducing clients to the workplace safety associations.

Table 28: Residential/cottage development (Northern Region)
Program activities Number
Field visits 77
Workplaces visited 72
Orders and requirements issued 94
Stop work orders 5
Orders and requirements per workplace visited 1.3
Orders and requirements per field visit 1.22

Previous | Next

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Programme de santé et de sécurité dans la construction

Sécurité au travail Ontario

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

En vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, la « construction » englobe l'élévation, la transformation, la réparation, le démantèlement, la démolition, l'entretien des structures, la peinture, le dégagement d'un terrain, le déblayage du sol, le nivellement, l'excavation, l'ouverture de tranchées, le creusage, le sondage, le forage, le dynamitage ou le bétonnage, l'installation des machines ou de l'outillage et les travaux ou les entreprises se rapportant à un chantier (à l'exclusion des entreprises ou travaux souterrains effectués dans une mine). Le terme « chantier » est en outre défini à l'article 1 de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Les inspecteurs de la santé et de la sécurité dans la construction appliquent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et ses règlements dans les chantiers de construction partout dans la province. Dans le cadre de la stratégie Sécurité au travail Ontario, ils prêtent une attention particulière aux secteurs de la construction qui présentent des taux élevés de blessures, des antécédents de non-conformité et certains dangers connus sur les lieux de travail. Ils continueront également à vérifier et à confirmer la conformité générale à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et à ses règlements.

Inspections éclair dans le secteur de la construction

Dangers liés à l'excavation

Les travaux d'excavation et de creusage de tranchées sont intrinsèquement dangereux. La plupart des décès causés par un éboulement surviennent pendant de petits travaux de courte durée comme la pose de câbles électriques et de conduites de gaz, d'eau et d'égout. Les inspecteurs ont jugé qu'il était de nouveau nécessaire de mettre l'accent sur les travaux d'excavation. Cette campagne éclair s'est déroulée du 1er mai au 31 mai 2014 et avait pour but de vérifier les éléments suivants :

  • le caractère adéquat des pratiques d'étayage et des procédures de creusage de tranchées ainsi que les types de sol;
  • le matériel et le contrôle de la circulation;
  • la proximité des lignes électriques et les emplacements inadéquats.
Tableau 22 : Statistiques des inspections éclair sur les dangers liés à l'excavation
Activités du programme Nombre
Visites sur le terrain 1 094
Lieux de travail visités 957
Ordres et exigences émis 2 191
Ordres d'arrêter de travailler 186
Ordres et exigences par lieu de travail visité 2,29
Ordres et exigences par visite sur le terrain 2

Ressources

Protection contre les chutes / dangers de chute

Les chutes continuent d'être une source importante de blessures et de décès au sein du secteur de la construction. Cette campagne éclair s'est déroulée du 1er juillet au 31 août 2014 et s'est concentrée sur les dangers liés aux chutes dans les chantiers de construction de compétence provinciale ainsi que sur les opérations de plongée et les activités de lavage de vitres dans les cas où un travailleur peut être exposé à un risque de chute. L'objectif de ces inspections était de vérifier si les travailleurs :

  • portaient du matériel de protection contre les chutes, au besoin;
  • avaient suivi une formation appropriée concernant l'utilisation du matériel de protection contre les chutes;
  • étaient protégés grâce à l'utilisation de garde-corps, au besoin;
  • utilisaient les plateformes de travail conformément aux directives du fabricant.
Tableau 23 : Statistiques des inspections éclair sur la protection contre les chutes et les dangers de chute
Activités du programme Nombre
Visites sur le terrain 2 038
Lieux de travail visités 1 670
Ordres et exigences émis 6 536
Ordres d'arrêter de travailler 584
Ordres et exigences par lieu de travail visité 3,86
Ordres et exigences par visite sur le terrain 3,17

Ressources

Initiatives provinciales d'application de la loi dans le secteur de la construction

Les initiatives provinciales d'application de la loi mises en œuvre par les inspecteurs de la santé et de la sécurité dans la construction du 1er avril 2014 au 31 mars 2015 ont porté sur les éléments suivants :

  • la protection contre la circulation;
  • la couverture;
  • les immeubles résidentiels;
  • l'aménagement sur terrain intercalaire;
  • les secteurs industriel, commercial et institutionnel.
Tableau 24 : Initiatives du Programme de santé et de sécurité dans la construction
Activités du programme Nombre
Visites sur le terrain 172
Lieux de travail visités 157
Ordres et exigences émis 327
Ordres d'arrêter de travailler 34
Ordres et exigences par lieu de travail visité 14,25
Ordres et exigences par visite sur le terrain 13,1

Ressources

Initiatives régionales d'application de la loi dans le secteur de la construction

Région du Centre-Est

Ascenseurs et monte-charge

Cette initiative visait l'inspection des monte-charge temporaires sur les chantiers de construction dans la région du Centre-Est, du 1er novembre au 30 novembre 2014. Des ascenseurs et monte-charge temporaires sont installés sur des chantiers de construction à plusieurs niveaux pour transporter le personnel et les matériaux. Pendant les inspections et les enquêtes, le ministère a découvert des lacunes dans les installations, ainsi que dans l'entretien et l'inspection. Le ministère s'est inquiété de l'état des ascenseurs et des monte-charge utilisés sur les chantiers de construction et des répercussions des ascenseurs et des monte-charge mal installés et mal entretenus sur la sécurité des travailleurs et des membres du public.

Tableau 25 : Ascenseurs et monte-charge (région du Centre-Est)
Activités du programme Nombre
Visites sur le terrain 37
Lieux de travail visités 28
Ordres et exigences émis 53
Ordres d'arrêter de travailler 3
Ordres et exigences par lieu de travail visité 1,89
Ordres et exigences par visite sur le terrain 1,43

Région du Centre-Ouest

Grues à tour, ascenseurs et monte-charge et pompes à béton

Cette initiative régionale, qui s'est déroulée du 1er octobre au 31 octobre 2014, a atteint deux principaux objectifs :

  1. L'initiative a sensibilisé davantage les inspecteurs du ministère au mandat et au rôle de la Technical Standards and Safety Association ainsi que de l'Ontario Cast-in-place Concrete Development Council.
  2. Elle a également sensibilisé davantage les intervenants au mandat et au rôle du ministère, en plus de donner la possibilité aux intervenants et aux partenaires en sécurité de fournir des données à jour et des renseignements sur la formation des employeurs et de poser des questions au ministère.
Le ministère a tiré de précieux renseignements et points de vue sur le secteur en faisant participer les intervenants et les partenaires en sécurité à une démarche de planification proactive en juin, avant l'initiative qui a eu lieu en octobre.

Le 24 septembre 2014, les participants de la section locale 183 de l'Union internationale des journaliers d'Amérique du Nord, de l'Ontario Cast-in-place Concrete Development Council et de la Technical Standards and Safety Association ont pris part à une séance d'information du ministère portant sur les pratiques exemplaires, plus précisément sur la formation des conducteurs d'équipement, les dossiers d'inspection et d'entretien et la sensibilisation aux dangers de toutes les personnes qui travaillent à proximité ou sous cet équipement sur un chantier.

Tableau 26 : Grues à tour, ascenseurs et monte-charge et pompes à béton (région du Centre-Ouest)
Activités du programme Nombre
Visites sur le terrain 44
Lieux de travail visités 44
Ordres et exigences émis 56
Ordres d'arrêter de travailler 0
Ordres et exigences par lieu de travail visité 1,28
Ordres et exigences par visite sur le terrain 1,28

Attractions

Cette initiative menée conjointement avec le Programme de santé et de sécurité dans l'industrie s'est déroulée du 1er juillet au 30 septembre 2014. Veuillez consulter Attractions sous les initiatives régionales industrielles de la région du Centre-Ouest.

Région de l'Ouest

Couverture

Ce projet de deux ans était un partenariat avec le Programme de santé et de sécurité dans l'industrie, des intervenants en prévention et d'autres intervenants pour la mise en œuvre d'activités d'information et de sensibilisation. Il a comporté la mise au point d'outils simples et faciles à utiliser pour les employeurs et s'est déroulé du 1er avril 2013 au 31 mars 2015. Des séances d'information avant et après les heures de travail ont été tenues à divers endroits de la province. Au total, 119 participants ont assisté à ces séances.

Tableau 27 : Couverture (pour une période de deux ans) (région de l'Ouest)
Activités du programme Nombre
Visites sur le terrain 892
Lieux de travail visités 722
Ordres et exigences émis 2 672
Ordres d'arrêter de travailler 154
Ordres et exigences par lieu de travail visité 3,7
Ordres et exigences par visite sur le terrain 3

Région du Nord

Aménagement résidentiel et aménagement de chalets

Cette initiative a été menée dans la région du Nord à la suite de renseignements locaux fournis par les inspecteurs indiquant qu'il faudrait faire connaître davantage l'application de la loi dans l'aménagement résidentiel et l'aménagement de chalets, y compris dans le cas des projets qui n'ont pas à être signalés, afin d'améliorer la sécurité des travailleurs, de favoriser des pratiques plus sécuritaires sur les lieux de travail et de permettre l'inspection des entreprises non inscrites, tout en assurant la conformité à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. La période active pour cette initiative a été du 1er juin au 31 juillet 2014.

Les inspecteurs ont eu la chance d'informer les clients dans le secteur de l'aménagement résidentiel et de l'aménagement de chalets relativement aux normes prévues par la loi, de faire la promotion du système de responsabilité interne et de présenter aux clients les associations de sécurité au travail.

Tableau 28 : Aménagement résidentiel et aménagement de chalets (région du Nord)
Activités du programme Nombre
Visites sur le terrain 77
Lieux de travail visités 72
Ordres et exigences émis 94
Ordres d'arrêter de travailler 5
Ordres d'arrêter de travailler 1,3
Ordres et exigences par visite sur le terrain 1,22

précédent | suivant

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.