Print This Page

Working at Heights Training: Construction Projects

Safe At Work Ontario

Employers in Ontario must ensure that workers on construction projects who may use certain methods of fall protection successfully complete 'working at heights' training that meets training program and provider standards established by the Chief Prevention Officer (CPO).

The Occupational Health and Safety Awareness and Training Regulation (Ontario Regulation 297/13) under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) sets out the mandatory working at heights training requirements. The working at heights training is valid for three years from the date the worker completes an approved training program delivered by an approved training provider.

In addition to these requirements, employers continue to have a duty under subsection 26.2 (1) of O. Reg. 213/91 (Construction Projects) to ensure that workers who may use a fall protection system are adequately trained on the use of the system, and are given adequate oral and written instructions by a competent person.

Regulatory Requirements for Working at Heights Training

Workers

The working at heights training requirements apply to workers who are required under O. Reg. 213/91 (Construction Projects) to use any of the following methods of fall protection:

  • a travel restraint system;
  • a fall restricting system;
  • a fall arrest system;
  • a safety net;
  • a work belt;
  • a safety belt.

Employers

Employers with workers who are required by O. Reg. 213/91 (Construction Projects) to use any of the fall protection methods listed above must do the following:

  • ensure the worker completes a working at heights training program that has been approved by the CPO as having met the Working at Heights Training Program Standard applicable at the time of the training;
  • ensure the training provider delivering the training program was approved by the CPO as having met the Working at Heights Training Provider Standard applicable at the time of training;
  • ensure the worker’s training is valid and has not expired;
  • maintain a training record for the worker that includes the worker’s name, the approved training provider’s name, the date the training was completed and the name of the approved training program; and
  • make the training record available to a Ministry of Labour inspector on request.

Transition Period

  • If a worker completed training before April 1, 2015 that met the requirements of subsection 26.2(1) of O. Reg. 213/91 (Construction Projects), that worker will have until October 1, 2017 to complete an approved working at heights training program, if the worker is enrolled in a course that is scheduled to be completed before October 1st. The employer must have written proof of the worker’s enrollment.

Resources and Tools

Approved training providers and programs

Working at heights page - applications for training programs and providers; standards; forms and general information.

This resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Formation pour le travail en hauteur : Chantiers de construction

Sécurité au travail Ontario

Les employeurs en Ontario doivent veiller à ce que les travailleurs dans les chantiers de construction qui peuvent être appelés à utiliser certains moyens de protection contre les chutes réussissent un programme de formation pour le travail en hauteur qui répond aux normes relatives au programme de formation et aux fournisseurs de services de formation établies par le directeur général de la prévention (DGP).

Le règlement sur la sensibilisation à la santé et la sécurité au travail et la formation (Règlement de l’Ontario 297/13) pris en application de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) établit les exigences obligatoires sur la formation pour le travail en hauteur. Cette formation est valide pendant trois ans à compter de la date de réussite d’un programme de formation approuvé offert par un fournisseur de services de formation agréé.

En plus de ces exigences, aux termes du paragraphe 26.2 (1) du Règl. de l’Ont. 213/91 (Construction Projects) (« chantiers de construction », en anglais seulement), les employeurs ont toujours l’obligation de faire en sorte que les travailleurs susceptibles d’utiliser un système de prévention des chutes reçoivent la formation nécessaire pour l’utilisation de ce système ainsi que les directives orales et écrites nécessaires par une personne compétente.

Exigences règlementaires concernant la formation pour le travail en hauteur

Travailleurs

Les exigences relatives à la formation s’appliquent aux travailleurs qui sont tenus aux termes du Règl. de l’Ont. 213/91 (Construction Projects) d’utiliser l’un ou l’autre des moyens suivants de protection contre les chutes :

  • système de retenue;
  • dispositif de limitation de chute;
  • dispositif antichute;
  • filet de sécurité;
  • ceinture de travail;
  • ceinture de sécurité.

Employeurs

Les employeurs qui ont des travailleurs qui sont tenus aux termes du Règl. de l’Ont. (chantier de construction – en anglais seulement) d’utiliser l’un ou l’autre des moyens de protection contre les chutes susmentionnés doivent faire ce qui suit :

  • faire en sorte que les travailleurs suivent un programme de formation pour le travail en hauteur approuvé par le DGP comme répondant à la Norme relative au programme de formation pour le travail en hauteur qui s'appliquait au moment de la formation;
  • veiller à ce que le fournisseur de services de formation qui offre le programme de formation a été agréé par le DGP comme répondant à la Norme relative aux fournisseurs de services de formation pour le travail en hauteur qui s'appliquait au moment de la formation;
  • vérifier que la formation des travailleurs est valide et n’a pas expiré;
  • conserver pour chaque travailleur un relevé de formation comprenant : nom du travailleur, nom du fournisseur de services de formation agréé, date de réussite de la formation, nom du programme de formation approuvé;
  • mettre le relevé de formation à la disposition d’un inspecteur du ministère du Travail sur demande.

Période de transition

  • Si un travailleur a terminé avant le 1er avril 2015 une formation qui répondait aux exigences du paragraphe 26.2 (1) du Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91 (chantiers de construction), ce travailleur a jusqu’au 1er octobre 2017 pour terminer un programme approuvé de formation pour le travail en hauteur, s’il est inscrit à un programme devant se terminer avant le 1er octobre. L’employeur doit avoir une preuve écrite de l’inscription du travailleur.

Ressources et outils

Fournisseurs de services de formation agréés

Travail en hauteur - demandes visant à faire approuver les programmes de formation et les fournisseurs de services de formation; normes; formulaires; et renseignements généraux

La présente ressource vise à faire connaître aux parties du lieu de travail certaines obligations que leur impose la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et ses règlements et elle ne remplace ni la LSST ni ses règlements. Il faut toujours se reporter à la version officielle de la législation.

Il incombe aux parties du lieu de travail de se conformer à la législation. La présente ressource ne constitue pas un avis juridique. Si vous avez besoin d’aide pour interpréter la législation et déterminer si elle s’applique dans des circonstances en particulier, veuillez communiquer avec votre avocat.

Même si les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail auront accès à la présente ressource, ils appliqueront la LSST et ses règlements en fonction des faits qu’ils auront constatés sur les lieux de travail. La présente ressource n’a aucune incidence sur leur pouvoir discrétionnaire.