Print This Page

Safety of Tower Cranes in Construction

Safe At Work Ontario

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

The unsafe condition of some tower cranes supplied to — and used at — Ontario workplaces continues to concern the Ministry of Labour.

Some duties of workplace parties

Employers

To protect workers, employers must ensure that all workplace parties comply with all provisions of the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. Some of the many duties of an employer who is covered by the OHSA include ensuring that:

  • equipment, material and protective devices provided by the employer are maintained in good condition [clause 25(1)(b)]
  • every precaution reasonable in the circumstances is taken for the protection of a worker [clause 25(2)(h)]
  • all vehicles, machines, tools and equipment are used in accordance with any operating manuals issued by the manufacturers [O. Reg. 213/91, subsection 93(3)]
  • copies of any operating manuals issued by the manufacturers (for vehicles, machines, tools and equipment rated at greater than 10 horsepower) are kept readily available at the project [O. Reg. 213/91, subsection 93(4)]
  • the tower crane is inspected by a competent worker to determine whether it can handle the rated capacity and to identify any hazardous conditions (The inspection shall be performed before the tower crane is first used at the project and thereafter at least once a year or more frequently as recommended by the manufacturer [O.Reg. 213/91, subsections 94(1)(2)].)
  • all engineering reports and maintenance records regarding for the tower crane are kept at the project [O. Reg. 213/91, subsections 152, 158, 159 and 163]
  • the foundation of the tower crane is designed by a professional engineer in accordance with the crane manufacturer’s specifications, and signed drawings are at the construction project [O. Reg. 213/91, subsection 157]
  • the structural elements and components are inspected before the tower crane is erected at the project [O. Reg. 213/91, subsection 158(1)]
  • the structural elements and components such as drive systems, wire ropes, hydraulic and electrical systems are inspected after the tower crane is erected and before it is used at the project [O. Reg. 213/91, subsection 159(1)]
  • safety systems – load indicators, rated capacity limiters, limit switches – are operating properly and are continuously monitored and tested per manufacturer’s instructions and the construction regulation [O. Reg. 213/91, subsections 160 and 161].

Supervisors

To protect workers, supervisors must ensure that all workplace parties comply with all provisions of the OHSA and prescribed regulations. Under the OHSA, a supervisor has duties that include (but are not limited) to:

  • ensuring that workers use the protective devices and work in compliance with measures and procedures required by the OHSA and regulations [clause 27(1)(a)]
  • taking every precaution reasonable in the circumstances for the protection of workers [clause 27(2)(c)]
  • inspecting — or designating a competent person appointed by the supervisor to inspect — machinery and equipment at least once a week (or more frequently as required) to ensure that the machinery and equipment does not endanger any worker [O. Reg 213/91, subsections 14(3) and 14(4)].

Suppliers

Every person who supplies any machine, device, tool or equipment under any rental, leasing or similar arrangement for use in or about a workplace covered by the OHSA has obligations, including ensuring that:

  • the machine, device, tool or equipment is in good condition [clause 31(1)(a)]
  • the machine, device, tool or equipment complies with the OHSA and related regulations [clause 31(1)(b)], and that
  • the machine, device, tool or equipment is maintained in good condition (if it is the person's responsibility under the rental, leasing or similar arrangement to do so) [clause 31(1)(c)].

Owners

The owner of a crane or similar hoisting device must:

  • keep a permanent record of all inspections of, tests of, repairs to, modifications to and maintenance of the crane or similar hoisting device [O. Reg. 213/91, subsection 152(1)]
  • prepare a log book for it for use at a project that shall include the record referred to in subsection 152(1) covering the period that is the greater of:
    • the immediately preceding twelve months, and
    • the period the crane or similar hoisting device is on the project [O. Reg. 213/91, subsection 152(2)]
  • keep this prepared log book with the crane or similar hoisting device [O. Reg. 213/91, subsection 152(3)], and
  • retain and make available to the constructor on request copies of all log books and records for the crane or similar hoisting device [O. Reg. 213/91, subsection 152(4)].

Erection of a tower crane

Before a tower crane is erected at a project, a professional engineer — or a competent worker designated by a professional engineer — must inspect its structural elements and components (using methods of non-destructive testing approved by the Canadian General Standards Board) to determine their structural integrity [O. Reg. 213/91, subsection 158(1) and O. Reg. 631/94, section 5].

Points to consider for operating a tower crane safely

  • Have all of the specific hazards associated with the work in progress been analyzed?
  • Has specific training with respect to the hazards of operating a tower crane been provided (authorized crane operator, fall protection, material handling, rigging, signalling)?
  • Are rescue procedures in place?
  • Has the tower crane been properly maintained (maintenance record, log books)?
  • Has the tower crane been properly inspected before erection (non-destructive testing report, components identified and tracked to ensure all structural components inspected)?
  • Has the tower crane been properly inspected after erection (engineering reports for the foundation, shoring and bracing, structural integrity of the building, drawings and reports to be approved and signed by a professional engineer)?

Compliance information

Call toll-free

Call 1-877-202-0008 anytime to report workplace health and safety incidents or for general inquiries about health and safety at the workplace.

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Sécurité des grues à tour dans la construction

Sécurité au travail Ontario

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

L'état non sécuritaire de certaines grues à tour fournies — et utilisées — aux lieux de travail de l'Ontario reste préoccupant pour le ministère du Travail.

Échantillon des devoirs des parties au lieu de travail

Employeurs

Pour protéger les travailleurs, les employeurs doivent veiller à ce que toutes les parties au lieu de travail observent les dispositions de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et les règlements y afférents. Parmi les nombreux devoirs d'un employeur régi par la LSST, citons celles qui consistent à veiller :

  • à ce que le matériel, les matériaux et les appareils de protection fournis par l'employeur soient maintenus en bon état [alinéa 25 (1) (b)]
  • à prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur [alinéa 25 (2) (h)]
  • à ce que la totalité des véhicules, des machines, des outils et de l'équipement soit utilisé conformément aux manuels d'exploitation délivrés par les constructeurs [Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91, paragraphe 93 (3)]
  • à ce que les exemplaires de tous manuels d'exploitation délivrés par les fabricants (pour les véhicules, les machines, les outils et l'équipement d'une puissance nominale de plus de 10 chevaux-puissance) soient facilement accessibles au chantier [Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91, paragraphe 93 (4)]
  • à ce que la grue à tour soit inspectée par un travailleur compétent pour déterminer si elle peut offrir la capacité nominale et déceler tout état dangereux. (L'inspection sera effectuée avant que la grue à tour ne soit utilisée pour la première fois au chantier et, par la suite, sera effectuée au moins une fois par an, suivant les recommandations du constructeur [Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91, paragraphes 94 (1) (2)].)
  • à ce que tous les rapports d'ingénierie et d'entretien touchant la grue à tour soient conservés au chantier [Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91, paragraphes 152, 158, 159 et 163]
  • à ce que les fondations de la grue à tour soient conçues par un ingénieur suivant le cahier des charges du constructeur de la grue et à ce que les dessins signés soient conservés au chantier de construction [Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91, paragraphe 157]
  • à ce que les éléments structuraux soient inspectés avant que la grue à tour ne soit érigée au chantier [Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91, paragraphe 158(1)]
  • à ce que les éléments structuraux, comme les mécanismes d'entraînement, les câbles métalliques, les mécanismes hydrauliques et électriques, soient inspectés après que la grue à tour a été érigée et avant qu'elle ne soit utilisée au chantier [Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91, paragraphe 159 (1)]
  • à ce que les mécanismes de sécurité – indicateurs de charge, limiteurs de capacité nominale, interrupteurs à maximum – fonctionnent comme il faut et soient contrôlés suivant les instructions du fabricant et le règlement sur la construction [Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91, paragraphes 160 et 161]

Superviseurs

Pour protéger les travailleurs, les superviseurs doivent veiller à ce que toutes les parties au lieu de travail observent les dispositions de la LSST et les règlements prescrits. En vertu de la LSST, un superviseur a des devoirs qui consistent notamment (mais sans s'y limiter) à :

  • veiller à ce que les travailleurs utilisent les dispositifs de protection et observent les mesures et les méthodes requises par la LSST et les règlements [alinéa 27 (1) (a)]
  • prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur [alinéa 27 (2) (c)]
  • inspecter — ou à désigner une personne compétente nommée par le superviseur pour inspecter — les machines et l'équipement au moins une fois par semaine (ou plus souvent si nécessaire) pour s'assurer que les machines et que l'équipement ne mettent la vie d'aucun travailleur en danger [Règl. de l’Ont. 213/91, paragraphes 14 (3) et 14 (4)]

Fournisseurs

Toute personne qui fournit toute machine, tout dispositif, tout outil ou tout équipement en vertu de toute disposition de location, de location-bail ou de caractère analogue aux fins d'utilisation à un lieu de travail régi par la LSST ou à l'égard de celui-ci a des obligations, consistant notamment à veiller à ce que :

  • les machines, les appareils, les outils et le matériel soient en bon état [alinéa 31 (1) (a)]
  • les machines, les appareils, les outils et le matériel soient conformes à LSST et aux règlements connexes [alinéa 31 (1) (b)], et que
  • les machines, les appareils, les outils et le matériel soient maintenus en bon état (si cette responsabilité lui est dévolue aux termes du contrat de location ou de bail ou de l'accord similaire) [alinéa 31 (1) (c)]

Propriétaires

Le propriétaire d'une grue ou d'un dispositif de levage analogue doit :

  • tenir un relevé permanent de la totalité des inspections, des contrôles, des réparations, des modifications et de l'entretien de la grue ou de dispositif de levage analogue [Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91, paragraphe 152 (1)]
  • préparer pour celui-ci un livre de bord dans un chantier, qui comprend le relevé mentionné au paragraphe 152 (1) et visant la plus grande des périodes ci-dessous :
    • la période de douze mois immédiatement antérieure
    • la période de présence au chantier de la grue ou d'un dispositif de levage analogue [Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91, paragraphe 152 (2)]
  • conserver ce livre de bord avec la grue ou un dispositif de levage analogue [Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91, paragraphe 152 (3)], et
  • conserver et mettre à la disposition du constructeur, sur demande, des exemplaires de tous les livres de bord et relevés de la grue et du dispositif de levage analogue [Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91, paragraphe 152 (4)]

Érection d'une grue à tour

Avant l'érection d'une grue à tour à un chantier, un ingénieur — ou un travailleur compétent désigné par un ingénieur — doit en inspecter les éléments structuraux et les composantes (suivant des méthodes de contrôle non destructeur approuvées par l'Office des normes générales du Canada) pour en déterminer l'intégrité de construction [Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91, paragraphe 158(1) et Règl. de l'Ont. 631/94, article 5].

Points à examiner pour l'exploitation sécuritaire d'une grue à tour

  • A-t-on analysé tous les risques particuliers liés au travail en cours?
  • A-t-on fourni une formation particulière sur les risques inhérents à l'utilisation d'une grue à tour (grutier accrédité, protection contre les chutes, manutention des matériaux, amarrage, signalisation)?
  • Des méthodes de sauvetage sont-elles en place?
  • A-t-on bien entretenu la grue à tour (relevé d'entretien, livres de bord)?
  • La grue à tour a-t-elle été bien inspectée avant l'érection (rapport de contrôle non destructeur, éléments identifiés et surveillés pour s'assurer de l'inspection de tous les éléments structuraux)?
  • A-t-on bien inspecté la grue à tour après l'érection (rapports d'ingénierie pour les fondations, étayage et entretoisement, intégrité de construction du bâtiment, dessins et rapport à faire approuver et signer par un ingénieur)?

Renseignements sur la conformité

Appels sans frais d'interurbain

Téléphonez à tout moment au 1 877 202-0008 pour signaler les incidents de santé et de sécurité au travail ou obtenir des renseignements généraux sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.