Print This Page

Preventing Infectious Diseases on Construction Projects

Safe At Work Ontario
  • Issued: March 2012
  • Content last reviewed: June 2020

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Protecting workers is part of the government's commitment to prevent workplace injuries and diseases through its Safe At Work Ontario Strategy.

Construction workers are often at risk from exposure to infectious diseases on construction projects due to poor sanitary conditions associated with toilets and clean-up facilities.

Poor sanitation is a major cause of disease and can be a serious occupational health risk.

Infectious disease prevention and control are to be maintained on construction projects through adequate sanitary conditions and adherence to good hygiene practices.

General duties of workplace parties

Protecting workers from infectious diseases on construction projects

It is the responsibility of all workplace parties including constructors, employers and suppliers to ensure compliance  with the provisions of the OHSA and the regulations in order to protect workers from hazards in the workplace including the protection of workers from infectious diseases due to inadequate sanitation on construction projects.

Construction employers have duties under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) to ensure that every reasonable precaution in the circumstance is taken for the protection of workers (clause 25(2) (h)) of the OHSA.

Employers must report all occupational diseases to the Ministry of Labour and the workplace's Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) as required by Subsection 52(2) of the OHSA.

Employers are also required, by clause 25(2) (a) of the OHSA, to provide information, instruction and supervision to a worker to protect the health or safety of the worker. This includes, and is not limited to, information and instruction and supervision about infectious diseases and associated hazards and health risks.

Constructors must ensure that, in accordance with section 29 of the Construction Regulation (O. Reg. 213/91), toilets, urinals and clean-up facilities are provided or arranged for workers before work starts at a project and that there is reasonable access to them.

Suppliers have a duty under section 31 of the OHSA, to provide toilets and clean-up facilities that are in good condition and that comply with section 29.1 of the Construction Regulation.

Safe work practices

Constructors

Toilets

  • Provide (or make arrangements for) water flush toilets that are connected to a sanitary sewer, or chemical flush toilets that are not connected to a sanitary sewer.
  • Ensure that minimum numbers of toilets as prescribed per number of workers regularly employed at the project are provided, and separate facilities for female workers are provided, unless the facilities are intended to be used by only one worker at a time.
  • Ensure an adequate number of urinals are provided. Subsection 29.1(6) of the Construction Regulation provides the number of urinals that can replace toilets if the facilities are only to be used by males. Ensure that facilities are serviced as often as required. (One week intervals may not be sufficient in warm weather or when larger numbers of workers are present at a project).

Clean-up facilities

  • Provide an adequate number of clean-up facilities, as prescribed and ensure that they are equipped with wash basins, with both hot and cold running water where reasonably possible, paper towels and receptacle or a hand dryer.
  • In cases where it is not reasonably possible to provide running water, it is permissible to use hand cleanser that can be used without water, paper towels (and receptacle) or a hand dryer.

Notes:

  1. Although this is a fact-specific determination to be made by an inspector at a workplace, it is the position of the Ministry of Labour that clean-up facilities complete with hot and cold water (or [ 1 ]warm water) are, as a general matter, reasonable to provide by Constructors in almost all construction projects.
  2. Where it is not reasonably possible to have a wash basin with running water at a clean-up facility, the workplace parties, namely the constructor and employer must provide the rationale as to why “it is not reasonably possible”
  3. Your attention is drawn to the requirement of s. 30 for washing facilities with clean water, soap and individual towels when workers handle or use corrosive, poisonous or other substances likely to endanger their health, namely cement, vitreous fibers or other controlled products whose material safety data sheet require washing with water and soap after the use of the product.

Toilet and Clean-up Facilities

  • Ensure that the facilities are adequately heated (if possible), ventilated, illuminated and kept in good condition at all times.
  • Ensure that facilities are regularly serviced, cleaned and sanitized.
  • Keep records of when they were serviced, cleaned and sanitized.

Employers

  • Inform, instruct and supervise workers on proper procedures when using the facilities and the importance of hand washing and sanitary conditions.
  • Ensure that workers follow proper procedures and report hazards.
  • Advise workers on the dangers to health and safety and hazards, health risks and infectious diseases associated with poor hand hygiene and poor sanitation of toilet facilities.

Supervisors

  • Ensure on behalf of their employer that the construction projects have adequate facilities and they are adequately serviced and sanitized
  • Advise workers on the dangers to health and safety and hazards, health risks and infectious diseases associated with poor hand hygiene and poor sanitation of toilet facilities

Workers

  • Follow safe practices and good personal hygiene
  • Report any unsafe condition to their supervisor

Construction Health & Safety Program (CHSP) and stakeholder engagement

  • There is a renewed commitment among industry stakeholders in our sector to improve sanitary conditions on construction projects and to achieve better compliance with the OHSA and the Construction Regulation.
  • The Ministry has been working with the Ontario Association of Sewage Industry Services (OASIS) and the Infrastructure Health & Safety Association (IHSA) to educate and inform suppliers and contractors of their respective responsibilities under the OHSA and the Construction Regulation.

More information

More information about Infectious Diseases and the Enforcement Strategy and Compliance on construction projects can be found at the following links:

Construction site health and safety during COVID-19

Read more about Ontario's Safe At Work Ontario strategy to improve workplace safety

Ministry of Labour, Construction Safety

Call toll-free

Call 1-877-202-0008 any time to report critical injuries, fatalities or work refusals. Call 8:30 a.m. 5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday, for general inquiries about workplace health and safety.

[ 1 ] Where electrical power is not available, the use of warm water is permissible in lieu of providing hot and cold running water.

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Prévention des maladies infectieuses sur les chantiers de construction

Sécurité au travail Ontario
  • Diffusion : mars 2012
  • Dernière mise à jour : juin 2020

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

La protection des travailleurs s'inscrit dans l'engagement du gouvernement de prévenir les blessures et les maladies sur les lieux de travail grâce à sa stratégie Sécurité au travail Ontario.

Les travailleurs de la construction sont souvent soumis à des risques de maladies infectieuses sur les chantiers en raison de mauvaises conditions d'hygiène des toilettes et des lavabos.

Une mauvaise désinfection constitue une cause majeure de maladie et peut nuire de façon importante à la santé au travail.

La prévention des infections et la lutte contre ces dernières doivent être maintenues sur les chantiers de construction en veillant à de bonnes conditions sanitaires et au respect des bonnes pratiques d’hygiène.

Responsabilités générales des parties au travail

La protection des travailleurs contre les maladies infectieuses sur les chantiers de construction

Il incombe à toutes les parties sur les lieux de travail, dont les employeurs et les fournisseurs, de veiller à ce que toutes les parties sur les lieux de travail se conforment aux dispositions de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et ses règlements, dans le but de protéger les travailleurs contre des dangers en milieu de travail, notamment des maladies infectieuses résultant d'une mauvaise hygiène sur les chantiers de construction.

Les employeurs de la construction ont la responsabilité en vertu de la LSST de s'assurer que toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances qui prévalent sont prises pour la protection des travailleurs (alinéa 25 (2) h) de la LSST).

Les employeurs doivent signaler toutes les maladies professionnelles au ministère du Travail et au comité mixte de santé et de sécurité, conformément au paragraphe 52 (2) de la LSST.

Les employeurs doivent aussi, conformément au paragraphe 25 (2) a) de la LSST, fournir de l'information, des directives et de la supervision aux travailleurs dans un objectif de protection de leur santé et de leur sécurité, incluant, sans s'y limiter, de l'information, des directives et de la supervision sur les maladies infectieuses et les dangers et risques connexes pour la santé.

Les constructeurs doivent s'assurer que, conformément à l'article 29 du Règlement sur la construction (Règl. de l'Ont. 213/91), les toilettes, les urinoirs et les installations pour se laver sont mis à la disposition des travailleurs avant le début des travaux sur les chantiers de construction et qu'ils sont raisonnablement accessibles.

Les fournisseurs ont la responsabilité, en vertu de l'article 31 de la LSST, de prévoir des toilettes et des installations pour se laver en bon état et conformes au paragraphe 29.1 du règlement sur la construction.

Pratiques de travail sécuritaires

Constructeurs

Toilettes

  • Fournir (ou prévoir la fourniture) des toilettes à chasse d'eau reliées à un système d'égout séparatif, ou des toilettes chimiques à chasse qui ne sont pas reliées à un système d'égout.
  • S'assurer que le nombre minimum de toilettes requises est fourni en fonction du nombre de travailleurs régulièrement employés sur le chantier, et que des installations séparées sont prévues pour les femmes, sauf si des installations sont prévues pour une personne à la fois.
  • S'assurer que le nombre approprié d'urinoirs est fourni. L'alinéa 29.1 (6) du règlement de la construction précise le nombre d'urinoirs pouvant être utilisés au lieu des toilettes, si les installations ne servent qu'à des travailleurs masculins.
  • S'assurer que les installations sont entretenues aussi souvent que nécessaire. (Des intervalles d'une semaine ne suffisent pas toujours par temps chaud ou lorsqu'un nombre plus élevé de travailleurs sont présents au chantier.)

Installations pour se laver

  • Fournir un nombre suffisant d’installations pour se laver et s'assurer que ce sont des cuvettes munies de robinets d'eau courante chaude et froide lorsque c'est raisonnablement possible, et qu'il y a des essuie-tout dans un contenant ou un sèche-mains.
  • S'il n'est pas raisonnablement possible de fournir de l'eau courante, il est permis d'utiliser un nettoyeur pour les mains qui ne nécessite pas d'eau, des essuie-tout (dans un contenant) ou un sèche-mains.

Remarques :

  1. Bien que la décision sur ce point doive être confirmée par un inspecteur des lieux de travail, le ministère du Travail, de la Formation et du Développement des compétences estime que des installations pour se laver complètes à eau chaude et froide (ou [ 1 ]eau tiède) sont en général des installations que peut raisonnablement fournir un constructeur sur presque tous les chantiers de construction.
  2. Lorsqu’il n’est pas raisonnablement possible de fournir un lavabo à eau courante dans une installation pour se laver, les parties au travail, soit le construction et l’employeur, doivent expliquer la raison pour laquelle il « n’est pas raisonnablement possible » de le faire.
  3. Nous attirons votre attention sur l’exigence de l’article 30 concernant l’accès à des installations pour se laver qui sont alimentées en eau propre, en savon et en serviettes individuelles pour les travailleurs qui manipulent ou utilisent des substances corrosives et toxiques qui sont susceptibles de mettre leur santé en danger, comme du ciment, des fibres vitreuses ou d’autres produits contrôlés dont la fiche de données de sécurité exige le lavage des mains avec de l’eau et du savon après l’utilisation du produit.

Toilettes et installations pour se laver

  • S'assurer que les installations sont convenablement chauffées (si possible), ventilées, éclairées et gardées en bon état en tout temps.
  • S'assurer que les installations sont régulièrement entretenues, nettoyées et désinfectées.
  • Tenir un registre du moment de leur entretien, de leur nettoyage et de leur désinfection.

Employeurs

  • Informer et superviser les travailleurs sur les marches à suivre qui conviennent lors de l'utilisation des installations sanitaires et sur l'importance de l'hygiène et du lavage des mains.
  • S'assurer que les travailleurs suivent les marches à suivre appropriées et qu'ils signalent les dangers.
  • Informer les travailleurs des dangers pour la santé et la sécurité et des risques de maladies infectieuses associés à la mauvaise hygiène des mains et au mauvais entretien des installations sanitaires.

Superviseurs

  • S'assurer au nom de l'employeur que les chantiers de construction disposent d'installations adéquates bien entretenues et désinfectées.
  • Informer les travailleurs des dangers pour la santé et la sécurité et des risques de maladies infectieuses associés à la mauvaise hygiène des mains et au mauvais entretien des installations sanitaires.

Travailleurs

  • Observer des pratiques sûres et une bonne hygiène personnelle.
  • Signaler toute situation non sécuritaire à son superviseur.

Programme de santé et de sécurité dans la construction et engagement des intervenants

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les maladies infectieuses et la Stratégie d'application de la loi et des règlements et de la conformité sur les chantiers de construction, consultez les liens suivants :

Santé et sécurité sur les chantiers de construction durant l’éclosion de la COVID-19

Renseignez-vous sur la stratégie Sécurité au travail Ontario pour améliorer la sécurité sur les lieux de travail

Ministère du travail, sécurité et construction

Appels sans frais

Appelez au 1 877 202-0008 en tout temps pour signaler des blessures graves, des décès ou des refus de travailler. Communiquez avec nous, 8 h 30 à 17 h, du lundi au vendredi, pour les demandes d'ordre général sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. En cas d'urgence, faites le 911.

[ 1 ] Lorsqu'il n'y a pas d'alimentation électrique, l'utilisation de l'eau tiède est permise pour remplacer l'eau courante chaude et froide.

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.