Print This Page

Explosives Hazards in Ontario Mines

Safe At Work Ontario
  • Issued: July 9, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: July 2014

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Improper storage or handling of explosives can result in serious injuries or death to mine workers. An incident involving a storage area or surface blast can even injure members of the public and damage property outside an underground mine, open pit mine or quarry.

Workplace health and safety is an important issue for Ontario mines. Mines with safe practices involving explosives generally have fewer incidents.

The Ministry of Labour enforces and promotes awareness of the need for mines to comply with legislated requirements and use, handle and store explosives safely.

Background

Explosives are used to help break ore and rock into smaller pieces so they can be more easily removed from a mine for processing. The technology and products used for blasting have greatly improved since explosives were first used in mines in the early 17th century. However, the potential for harm is still great.

Ontario has about 40 underground mines and hundreds of surface mines and quarries that employ about 25,000 workers. Most of these mines use explosives.

A wide variety of minerals are extracted from Ontario mines, including copper, nickel, gold, salt and diamonds. Rocks and aggregates, for use in construction, are mined in surface quarries.

Responsibilities

Mining employers and supervisors are responsible for safe practices involving explosives and for ensuring that workers are able to safely use explosives. These duties are set out in the:

Safe practices must include the following:

Maintenance / inspection of explosives magazines and equipment
Magazines (buildings, locations or containers) that store explosives must be maintained in clean and orderly condition. Mobile equipment and tools must also be maintained in good and safe condition if they are used in processes involving the handling of explosive products.

Explosives inventory methods
Employers must use measures such as keeping logbooks to control inventories of explosive products underground and on the surface. They must also have procedures in place to ensure the oldest explosives are used first. In addition, inspection reports must include details on the quantities of explosives stored at the time of inspection. These measures are required because the quality of explosives can be degraded if they aren’t used in a timely fashion. This can make them potentially volatile and hazardous. Workers can also be at risk if incompatible products are improperly mixed during blasting operations.

Procedures for safe disposal of damaged explosives
Employers and their Joint Health and Safety Committees develop written procedures for the safe disposal of damaged explosives. These procedures must be communicated to workers and are needed to ensure workers don’t attempt to use damaged explosives. They are also needed so that workers assigned to dispose of them are aware of their condition. Damaged explosives can be dangerous.

Proper handling during transport and use
Employers must develop proper procedures for workers handling explosives when the explosives are being used and transported. The movement of explosives between magazines and workplaces must occur without delay. Vehicles carrying explosives must always have the right of way. Measures must be taken to ensure explosives are never left unattended and/or improperly disposed of.

Ministry reporting
Employers must notify the Ministry of Labour of the use of explosives and installation of surface explosives magazines. The employer must notify the ministry of any incident involving the mishandling of explosives. The ministry must also be notified of an uncontrolled or unexpected explosion and any defective explosive products.

Worker training
Any worker that uses or handles explosive products or who may be affected by their use must be trained in all the relevant safety procedures. Workers must successfully complete the relevant Common Core Training modules set out in Section 11 of the mining regulations. The training must ensure all workers are familiar with what explosive products look like and the procedures to be followed if any are found in incorrect places.

Compliance information

Toll-free number

Call 1-877-202-0008 any time to report critical injuries, fatalities or work refusals. Call 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday-Friday, for general questions about workplace health and safety. Always call 911 in an emergency.

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Dangers liés aux explosifs dans les mines de l’Ontario

Sécurité au travail Ontario
  • Diffusion : 9 juillet 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2014

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

L’entreposage ou la manipulation incorrects des explosifs peuvent entraîner des blessures graves, voire mortelles, chez les travailleurs miniers. Un incident dans une aire d’entreposage ou causé par l’abattage à l’explosif en surface peut même blesser des membres du public et endommager des biens situés à l’extérieur d’une mine souterraine, d’une mine à ciel ouvert ou d’une carrière.

La santé et la sécurité au travail sont une question importante dans les mines de l’Ontario. Les mines qui suivent des pratiques sécuritaires concernant les explosifs ont généralement moins d’accidents.

Le ministère du Travail fait connaître aux mines leur obligation de se conformer aux exigences de la loi en ce qui concerne l’utilisation, la manipulation et l’entreposage des explosifs en toute sécurité et fait respecter ces exigences.

Renseignements généraux

Les explosifs sont utilisés pour fragmenter le minerai ou la roche en plus petits morceaux qui peuvent être plus facilement transportés hors de la mine aux fins de traitement. La technologie et les produits qui servent à l’abattage à l’explosif se sont beaucoup améliorés depuis les premières utilisations des explosifs dans les mines au début du 17e siècle. Cependant, les risques de blessures demeurent élevés.

L’Ontario compte environ 40 mines souterraines et des centaines de mines à ciel ouvert et de carrières qui emploient quelque 25 000 travailleurs. La plupart de ces mines utilisent des explosifs.

Une grande variété de minéraux sont extraits des mines de l’Ontario, notamment le cuivre, le nickel, l’or, le sel et le diamant. Les roches et les agrégats qui servent aux travaux de construction sont extraits de carrières à ciel ouvert.

Responsabilités

Les employeurs et les superviseurs dans les mines sont responsables des pratiques sécuritaires relativement aux explosifs et doivent faire en sorte que les travailleurs puissent utiliser les explosifs en toute sécurité. Leurs devoirs à cet égard sont prévus dans :

Les pratiques sécuritaires doivent inclure ce qui suit :

Entretien/inspection des dépôts d’explosifs et du matériel
Les dépôts d’explosifs (bâtiments, endroits ou contenants) où sont entreposés des explosifs doivent être gardés propres et en bon ordre. Le matériel mobile et les outils doivent aussi être gardés en bon état et maintenus dans un état sécuritaire s’ils sont utilisés pour manipuler des produits explosifs.

Méthodes d’inventaire des explosifs
Les employeurs doivent prendre diverses mesures, notamment tenir un journal pour contrôler le stock de produits explosifs sous terre et en surface. Ils doivent aussi avoir en place des procédures afin que les explosifs utilisés en premier soient ceux qui se trouvent depuis le plus longtemps dans un dépôt. En outre, les rapports d’inspection doivent préciser la quantité d’explosifs entreposés au moment de l’inspection. Ces mesures sont nécessaires, car la qualité des explosifs peut se dégrader s’ils ne sont pas utilisés suffisamment rapidement. Cela peut les rendre instables et dangereux. Les travailleurs peuvent aussi courir des risques si des produits incompatibles sont mélangés au cours des opérations d’abattage à l’explosif.

Procédures d’élimination sécuritaire des explosifs endommagés
Les employeurs, en consultation avec leur comité mixte sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, doivent élaborer des procédures écrites pour l’élimination sécuritaire des explosifs endommagés. Ces procédures doivent être communiquées aux travailleurs, et sont nécessaires afin que les travailleurs ne tentent pas d’utiliser des explosifs endommagés. Elles sont également nécessaires afin que les travailleurs affectés à l’élimination de ces explosifs soient au courant de leur état. Les explosifs endommagés peuvent être dangereux.

Manipulation sécuritaire pendant le transport et l’utilisation
Les employeurs doivent élaborer les procédures que doivent suivre les travailleurs qui manipulent des explosifs en vue de leur transport et de leur utilisation. Le déplacement d’explosifs entre un dépôt et le lieu de travail doit se faire sans délai. Les véhicules qui transportent des explosifs doivent toujours avoir le droit de passage. Des mesures doivent être prises afin que les explosifs ne soient jamais laissés sans surveillance ou éliminés de la mauvaise façon.

Rapport au ministère
Les employeurs doivent informer le ministère du Travail de l’utilisation d’explosifs et de l’installation de dépôts d’explosifs de surface. L’employeur doit aussi informer le ministère de tout incident lié à la manipulation incorrecte d’explosifs. Le ministère doit également être informé de toute explosion incontrôlée ou inattendue ainsi que de tout produit explosif défectueux.

Formation des travailleurs
Un travailleur qui utilise ou manipule des produits explosifs ou qui est susceptible d’être touché par leur utilisation doit recevoir de la formation concernant les procédures à suivre en matière de sécurité. Les travailleurs doivent terminer avec succès les modules de formation de base prévus à l’article 11 du règlement sur les mines. La formation doit permettre aux travailleurs de reconnaître les produits explosifs et de connaître les procédures à suivre s’ils en trouvent au mauvais endroit.

Renseignements sur la conformité

Numéro sans frais

Composer le 1 877 202-0008 n’importe quand pour signaler une blessure grave, un accident mortel ou un refus de travailler. Pour obtenir des renseignements généraux sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, composer ce numéro de 8 h 30 à 17 h, du lundi au vendredi. En cas d’urgence, toujours faire le 911.

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.