Print This Page

What Vehicle Body Repair Shops Need to Know

Safe At Work Ontario
  • Issued: November 2009
  • Revised: May 2011
  • Content last reviewed: May 2011

This Fact Sheet has been prepared to assist workplace parties in understanding their obligations under the OHSA and the regulations. Reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation. For complete information, please refer to the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

The Ministry of Labour’s proactive inspections for sector-specific hazards are designed to raise awareness and increase compliance with health and safety legislation and reduce workplace injuries and disease. Workplaces that operate as vehicle body repair facilities expose workers to potentially serious physical hazards and occupational illness.

For six months, beginning in September, Ministry of Labour Health and Safety Inspectors will visit about 500 vehicle body repair workplaces where orders under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) were issued during the first phase of this initiative (September – March 2010). These sites are in York, Durham and Peel Regions, Dufferin and Simcoe Counties and Toronto.

Compliance: priority areas

Inspectors will take enforcement action as appropriate for any contraventions found under the OHSA and its regulations, but will pay particular attention to the following priority areas when inspecting these premises:

  • Designated substances: Shops using products containing isocyanates in the paint-mixing process will be inspected for compliance with the assessment and control program requirements of the Designated Substances Regulation.
  • Hazardous chemicals: Controlled products such as solvents, thinners, flammable liquids, and paints are used and stored in these work locations. Information and instruction for workers in the Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System as well as training in the proper use and storage of personal protective equipment will be reviewed by the inspector.
  • Flammable liquid storage: The quantity and type of flammable liquids will be reviewed to determine whether storage and dispensing meet the requirements under the Regulation for Industrial Establishments.
  • Lifting devices: Fixed and portable lifting devices may be present and used by workers to hoist vehicles. Inspectors will check to ensure that this equipment is used properly, maintained and inspected.
  • Worker training: Employers must provide workers with information, instruction and supervision to ensure their health and safety is protected.
  • Apprenticeship: Inspectors will check workers’ apprenticeship certification.

Ministry of Labour Health and Safety Inspectors across the province will be looking for the same hazards in the course of their regular inspection activity.

More information

Contact the Ministry of Labour in Central Region:
Central Region includes York, Durham and Peel Regions, Dufferin and Simcoe Counties and the City of Toronto.

Toronto West and Toronto North
5001 Yonge Street, Suite 1600
North York, ON M7A 0A3

Mississauga and York West
1290 Central Parkway West, Suite 400
Mississauga, ON L5C 4R3

York Central
6711 Mississauga Road, Suite 700
Scarborough, ON L5N 2W3

Toronto East and Durham
2275 Midland Avenue, Unit #1
Scarborough, ON M1P 3E7

York East
1110 Stellar Drive, Unit # 102
Mississauga, ON L3Y 7B7

Call Centre - 1-877-202-0008

Imprimer cette page

Ce que les ateliers de réparation de carrosseries doivent savoir

Safe At Work Ontario
  • Diffusion : novembre 2010
  • Révision : mai 2011
  • Dernière mise à jour : mai 2011

Cette feuille de renseignements a été préparée pour aider les parties d’un lieu de travail à comprendre leurs obligations en vertu de la LSST et ses règlements. Il faut toujours se reporter à la version officielle des mesures législatives. Pour obtenir des renseignements intégraux, veuillez consulter la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Les inspections proactives du ministère du Travail qui ciblent les dangers propres aux différents secteurs d’activités visent à sensibiliser les lieux de travail et à augmenter la conformité à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, ainsi qu’à réduire les blessures et maladies professionnelles. Les lieux de travail qui exercent les activités d’ateliers de réparation de carrosseries d’automobiles exposent les travailleurs à de graves dangers physiques et maladies professionnelles.

À compter de septembre et sur une période de six mois, les inspecteurs de la santé et de la sécurité du ministère du Travail visiteront environ 500 ateliers de réparation de carrosseries d’automobiles pour lesquels des ordres ont été donnés en vertu de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) durant la première phase de cette initiative (septembre à mars 2010). Ces ateliers sont situés dans les régions de York, Durham et Peel, dans les comtés de Dufferin et Simcoe et à Toronto.

Conformité : domaines prioritaires

Les inspecteurs prendront des mesures d’exécution adéquates pour toute contravention à la LSST et ses règlements, mais prêteront une attention particulière aux domaines prioritaires suivants pendant leurs inspections :

  • Substances désignées : Dans les ateliers qui utilisent des produits contenant des isocyanates pendant le processus de mélange de la peinture, les programmes d’évaluation et de contrôle seront examinés pour vérifier leur conformité au règlement sur le Règlement sur les substances désignées.
  • Produits chimiques dangereux : Des produits contrôlés comme des solvants, des diluants, des liquides inflammables et des peintures sont utilisés et entreposés dans ces lieux de travail. Les inspecteurs examineront les renseignements et instructions à l’attention des travailleurs contenus dans le Système d'information sur les matières dangereuses utilisées au travail, ainsi que la formation dispensée sur l’utilisation adéquate et l’entreposage sécuritaire de l’équipement de protection individuelle.
  • Entreposage des liquides inflammables : La quantité et le type de liquides inflammables seront vérifiés afin de déterminer si les méthodes d’entreposage et d’utilisation sont conformes aux exigences contenues dans le règlement sur les établissements industriels.
  • Appareils de levage : Des appareils de levage fixes et portatifs peuvent être utilisés dans le lieu de travail pour permettre aux travailleurs de soulever des véhicules. Les inspecteurs vérifieront si ce matériel est convenablement utilisé, maintenu et inspecté.
  • Formation des travailleurs : Les employeurs doivent fournir aux travailleurs des renseignements, des instructions et de la supervision pour assurer la protection de leur santé et sécurité.
  • Apprentissage : Les inspecteurs vérifieront les certificats d’apprentissage des travailleurs.

Les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail à l’échelle de la province, évalueront les mêmes dangers au cours de leurs inspections régulières.

Renseignements complémentaires

Bureaux du ministère du Travail dans la région du Centre :
La région du Centre comprend les régions de York, Durham et Peel, les comtés de Dufferin et Simcoe et la ville de Toronto.

Toronto Ouest et Toronto Nord
5001, rue Yonge, bureau 1600
North York ON M7A 0A3

Mississauga et York Ouest
1290 Central Parkway West, Suite 400
Mississauga ON L5C 4R3

York Centre
6711 Mississauga Road, bureau 700
Mississauga ON L5N 2W3

Toronto Est et Durham
2275, av. Midland, bureau 1
Scarborough ON M1P 3E7

York Est
1110 Stellar Drive, Unit # 102
Newmarket ON L3Y 7B7

Centre d’appel – 1 877 202-0008