Print  Print This Page

Heightened Enforcement Campaign on Fall-Related Hazards in the Construction Industry -
Preliminary Report

Note: Although workplace inspection blitzes by the ministry are announced to the appropriate sectors in advance, individual workplaces receive no prior warning.

Introduction

On January 18, 2010, the Ministry of Labour launched a 90-day provincial compliance and enforcement campaign to ensure that workplace parties were complying with the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and its regulations. Enforcement campaigns are a key part of Safe at Work Ontario. The campaigns are intended to raise awareness of known workplace hazards, improve workplace health and safety culture and promote compliance with the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and its regulations. The overall goal is to promote a long-lasting increase in compliance and a decrease in injury and fatality rates.

The heightened enforcement campaign on fall-related hazards targeted provincially regulated construction projects, diving operations and window cleaning activities where a worker may have been exposed to a fall-related hazard. Over the course of the campaign, ministry inspectors ensured that:

  • Workplace parties (e.g., owners, constructors, employers, supervisors and workers) were complying with the OHSA, Construction Projects Regulation (O. Reg. 213/91), Diving Operations Regulation (O. Reg. 629/94), Window Cleaning Regulation (R.R.O.1990, Reg. 859) and Roll-Over Protective Structures Regulation (R.R.O.1990, Reg. 856);
  • Adequate measures and procedures for the safe use of equipment were in place where a worker may use a fall protection system; and
  • A worker who may use a fall protection system was adequately trained in its use.

This report provides an overview of compliance trends discovered during the enforcement campaign. It also recommends practical solutions to help Ontario’s construction industry achieve compliance with the fall protection requirements under the OHSA and reduce the number of traumatic fatalities and injuries due to falls.

Background

Ontario continues to have one of the lowest lost time injury (LTI) rates in Canada’s construction industry, 1.37 LTIs per 100 employed construction workers (2008).

Table 1: Lost Time Injury Rate in the Construction Industry by Province (per 100 employed construction workers) (2000 to 2009)

Year Canada (Federal) BC AB SK MB ON PQ NB NS PEI NFLD
2000 3.60 6.40 4.30 6.80 5.70 1.70 4.40 1.90[1] 2.90 5.40 4.10
2001 3.70 5.80 4.40 6.00 5.50 1.90 4.90 2.00[1] 3.20[2] 4.20 5.70
2002 3.50 5.20 4.30 6.00 6.10 1.80 4.60 1.70[1] 3.00[2] 3.70 5.20
2003 3.30 5.20 3.90 6.10 6.10 1.60 4.50 1.90[1] 3.10[2] 3.50 4.50
2004 3.30 5.40 3.20 5.00 5.90 1.80 4.60 1.80[1] 2.70[2] 3.20 3.80
2005 3.20 5.11 3.18 5.34 6.60 1.58 4.20 1.71[1] 2.87[2] 2.21 3.41
2006 3.10 5.32 3.20 4.53 6.88 1.45 3.78 1.79[1] 2.85[2] 1.72 3.04
2007 2.00 5.19 3.10 4.50 5.91 1.38 3.33 1.78[1] 2.79[2] 1.60 2.74
2008 2.75 4.78 2.57 4.08 5.63 1.37 3.03 1.85[1] 2.49[2] 1.24 2.17

Source: Infrastructure Health and Safety Association


Table 2: Construction fall-related fatalities (2005 to 2010)

Year 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 YTD[3]
Traumatic fatalities, all causes 20 27 16 19 16 4
Traumatic fatalities, falls 10 8 5 10 10 4[4]
Percent of total 50% 30% 31% 53% 63% 100%

Source: Occupational Health and Safety Branch, Ministry of Labour

Figure 1 shows that Ontario appears to have experienced an overall decrease in traumatic fatality rates since 2006.

Figure 1a: Ontario Construction Industry Fatality Rates per 100,000 workers, 2005 to 2009

Ontario Construction Industry Fatality Rates per 100,000 workers, 2005 to 2009

Figure 1b: Data Table

Year All Traumatic Fatality Rates Fall Fatality Rate
2005 5.0 2.52
2006 6.7 1.97
2007 3.9 1.21
2008 4.3 2.28
2009 3.9 2.44

Source: Occupational Health and Safety Branch, Ministry of Labour

Since 2005, Ontario’s construction industry has experienced steady improvements in critical injury rates due to falls. Overall, these rates have improved an average of 3% per year since 2005.

Figure 2a: Critical Injury Rates per 100,000 workers in Ontario’s Construction Industry, 2005 to 2009

>Figure 2a: Critical Injury Rates per 100,000 workers in Ontario’s Construction Industry, 2005 to 2009

Figure 2b: Data Table

Year All Critical Injury Rates Fall Critical Injury Rate
2005 55.0 32.3
2006 51.3 28.6
2007 47.3 25.2
2008 41.7 23.2
2009 47.7 20.5

Source: Occupational Health and Safety Branch, Ministry of Labour

Fall Protection Requirements under the OHSA

Several regulations under the OHSA prescribe safe work and training requirements to address fall-related hazards in provincially regulated workplaces.

Construction Projects Regulation (O. Reg. 213/91)

O. Reg. 213/91 prescribes the use of guardrails or fall protection systems and other safe work requirements in the event that a worker is exposed to the following fall hazards:

  1. Falling more than 3 metres;
  2. Falling more than 1.2 metres, if the work area is used as a path for a wheel-barrow or similar equipment;
  3. Falling into operating machinery;
  4. Falling into water or another liquid;
  5. Falling into or onto a hazardous substance or object; or
  6. Falling through an opening in a work surface.

In addition, the Regulation requires workers who may use a fall protection system to be adequately trained and given oral and written instructions and workers’ training records to be kept and made available to Ministry of Labour inspectors upon request. The Regulation also requires fall protection systems to comply with specified standards published by the National Standards of Canada that outline technical requirements for fall protection systems.

Diving Operations Regulation (O. Reg. 629/94)

Under O. Reg. 629/94 whenever a stage is used to lower a diver into the water and the stage may fall a distance of more than 10 feet (approximately three metres) or into or onto operating machinery or hazardous substance or object, a fall arrest system must be used. The fall arrest system must be designed in a manner that the stage will be suspended not more than five feet below the location it occupied before the fall. In addition, the stage must be constructed to prevent the occupants from falling out of the stage.

Window Cleaning Regulation (R.R.O.1990, Reg. 859)

Reg. 859 prescribes the use of a fall arrest system and other safe work requirements in the event that a worker is exposed to a fall of more than three metres. It sets out duties for owners, employers, supervisors and workers who are engaged in window cleaning activities where a suspended scaffold, boatswain’s chair or similar single-point suspension equipment is to be used. The Regulation also requires an employer to establish and maintain a safety training program for workers on the use of suspended scaffolds, boatswain’s chairs or similar single-point suspension equipment. The program must include information regarding the safe use of fall arrest systems.

Roll-Over Protective Structures Regulation (R.R.O.1990, Reg. 856)

Reg. 856 prohibits the use or operation of a machine unless it is equipped with a roll-over protective structure and restraining device[5] that meets criteria specified in the regulation. It also mandates the use of a restraining device belt during the use or operation of a machine in order to protect the operator from injury in the event of the machine tipping or rolling over. A machine is defined as a self-propelled vehicle, operated by one or more persons who ride on or in it, that is a tractor, bulldozer, scraper, front-end loader, skidder, dumper, grader or compactor other than an asphalt compactor.

Results of the Heightened Enforcement Campaign

During the heightened enforcement campaign on fall-related hazards, Ministry of Labour inspectors made 7,313 field visits to 4,455 provincially regulated construction projects (including, diving operations and window cleaning activities).

Approximately 63% (2,821) of the workplaces visited during the heightened enforcement campaign were to construction projects where fall-related hazards were identified. Ministry inspectors conducted 3,912 field visits to these sites.

Table 3: Enforcement Activity in the Construction Industry (January 18 to April 16, 2010)

  Construction Projects Where Fall Hazards Were Identified (campaign activity)
Projects Visited 2,821
Field Visits 3,912
Stop Work Orders Issued for Fall-Related Hazards[6] 784
Orders Issued for Fall-Related Hazards 3,421
Fall-Related Contraventions associated with Stop Work Orders[6] 1120
Summonses for Fall-Related Hazards 121
To Employers 4
To Supervisors 97
To Workers 20
Tickets for Fall-Related Hazards 117

Source: Occupational Health and Safety Branch, Ministry of Labour, as of May 4, 2010

More than half (56%) of the orders issued during the campaign were for violations relating to missing or improper use or maintenance of guardrails, non-suspended scaffolds and fall protection systems (see Table 4). The top 4 orders reflect a lack of appropriate supervision on construction projects, as they indicate that the elements to keep workers safe were not in effect. The OHSA and it regulations require that employers and supervisors ensure that protective devices and other measures and procedures are in place for the protection of workers. Adequate supervision means that details like guardrails and other fall protection measures are in place and workers are adequately trained in hazard awareness. Eighty percent of the summonses issued for fall-related hazards were to supervisors for lack of adequate supervision (see Table 3).

Table 4: Orders Issued for Fall-Related Hazards (campaign activity)

Order Description Orders Issued Percent of Total Orders Issued (%)
Guardrails 853 25
Non-Suspended Scaffolds 629 18
Fall Protection Systems 442 13
Worker Training and Records 296 9
Ladders 294 9
Stairs 237 7
Elevating Work Platforms 101 3
Suspended Scaffolds and Boatswains Chairs 76 2
Window Cleaning 54 1
Others[7] 439 13
All Orders Issued for Fall-Related Hazards 3,421 100

Source: Occupational Health and Safety Branch, Ministry of Labour, as of May 4, 2010

Construction Sector Results for Fall-Related Hazards

Of the 2,821 field visits conducted to construction projects where fall hazards were identified, the construction sectors that were visited the most were industrial, commercial and institutional (ICI) building construction (1,578, 40%), single family housing (1,125, 29%), and apartment and multiple housing (658, 17%) (see Table 5). These sectors accounted for 86% of the field visits conducted and approximately 94% of the total fall-related orders issued during the campaign.

Table 5: Top 3 Construction Sectors Visited (campaign activity)

Top 3 Sectors Visited Number of Field Visits Number of Fall-Related Orders Issued
ICI Building Construction 1,578 1,206
Industrial Construction 203 125
Commercial Construction 921 694
Institutional Construction 454 387
Single Family Housing 1,125 1,428
Apartment and Multiple Housing 658 576
Total for All Sectors 3,912 3,421

Source: Occupational Health and Safety Branch, Ministry of Labour, as of May 4, 2010

Table 6: Number and Percentage of Projects Visited with Orders and Fall Related Orders (Top 3 sectors only)

Construction Sector Project Premises Visited Project Premises With Fall-Related Orders Percent
ICI Building Construction 1124 508 45%
Industrial Construction 150 55 37%
Commercial Construction 657 299 45%
Institutional Construction 317 154 49%
Single Family Housing 796 491 62%
Apartments/Multifamily Housing 456 212 46%

Source: Occupational Health and Safety Branch, Ministry of Labour, as of May 4, 2010

Conclusion – Strategies to Improve Compliance

The recently concluded heightened enforcement campaign on fall-related hazards in the construction sector was one of the longest and most extensive blitzes undertaken by the Ministry of Labour. Information collected from this campaign will form an important baseline to measuring the success of strategies developed to address its findings. The ministry recognizes the need for effective and practical solutions to improve compliance with fall protection requirements and reduce the number of fall-related fatalities and injuries across Ontario.

Results of the heightened enforcement campaign indicate the following:

  • Eighty percent of the summonses issued for fall-related hazards were to supervisors indicating a lack of adequate supervision on construction projects. More than half of the orders issued for fall-related hazards were related to missing or improper use or maintenance of non-suspended scaffolds, guardrails and fall protection systems These results indicate that safe work measures and procedures needed to keep workers safe were not in place.
  • The above data also indicates that workers and supervisors are not aware or adequately trained on fall-related hazards and general safe work measures and procedures.
  • Approximately 94% of the fall-related orders issued during the campaign were to industrial, commercial and institutional building and residential construction projects (single family housing and apartment and multiple housing), indicating that there are compliance issues across construction sectors.

The Ministry of Labour will work with health and safety partners such as the Provincial Labour Management Health and Safety Committee, Workplace Safety and Insurance Board and Health and Safety Association, employer associations and unions to address the findings of the heightened enforcement campaign.

In addition, the ministry believes that greater public awareness and participation is needed to ensure employers, supervisors and workers comply with occupational health and safety requirements. This includes increasing capacity to communicate and publish occupational health and safety materials in languages other than English and French in an effort to reach workers and the public in their own languages.

[ 1 ] New Brunswick has a three-day waiting period for compensation benefits, unless the employee is off for more than 5 weeks.

[ 2 ] Nova Scotia has a two-day waiting period for compensation benefits, unless the employee is off for more than 4 weeks. For all other jurisdictions, compensations benefits are payable starting the day after the injury.

[ 3 ] Source MOL, as of May 5, 2010

[ 4 ] Preliminary information regarding one of the fatalities indicates the cause of death was due to a fall from height. Total may change subject to confirmation from the Office of the Chief Coroner.

[ 5 ] A “restraining device” means a seat belt with or without an over-the-shoulder strap under Reg. 856.

Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Campagne rehaussée d’application de la loi visant les risques de chutes dans le secteur de la construction — Rapport préliminaire

Remarque : Les inspections éclair menées par le ministère dans les lieux de travail sont annoncées d’avance aux secteurs visés, mais les lieux de travail individuels ne reçoivent pas un avis préalable.

Introduction

Le 18 janvier 2010, le ministère du Travail lançait une campagne provinciale de 90 jours sur la conformité et l’application de la loi visant à s’assurer que les parties sur les lieux de travail respectent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et ses règlements. La campagne rehaussée d’application de la loi représente un rouage important de Sécurité au travail Ontario. Elle vise à sensibiliser les travailleurs aux risques professionnels connus, à améliorer la culture de la santé et de la sécurité au travail et à promouvoir le respect de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et de ses règlements. L’objectif général est de faire la promotion d’une amélioration durable de la conformité et de la réduction des taux d’accidents avec blessures et d’accidents mortels.

La campagne rehaussée d’application de la loi visant les risques de chutes concerne les chantiers de construction sous réglementation provinciale, les activités de plongée et le nettoyage des fenêtres où le travailleur s’expose à un risque de chute. Au cours de la campagne, les inspecteurs du ministère se sont assurés que :

  • Les parties sur les lieux du travail (p. ex., propriétaires, employeurs, superviseurs et employés) respectent la LSST, le règlement relatif aux chantiers de construction (Règlement de l'Ontario 213/91), le Règlement de l’Ontario 629/94 (opérations de plongée), le nettoyage des vitres (R.R.O. 1990, Règl. de l'Ont. 859) et règlement sur les cadres de protection (R.R.O.1990, Règl. de l’Ont. 856);
  • Les mesures et les procédures adéquates pour l’usage sécuritaire de l’équipement sont en place lorsqu’un travailleur peut utiliser un dispositif de protection contre les chutes;
  • Un travailleur appelé à utiliser un dispositif de protection contre les chutes a reçu les formations nécessaires.

Le présent rapport résume l’état de la situation observée pendant la campagne rehaussée d’application de la loi. Il présente aussi des solutions pratiques pour aider le secteur de la construction de l’Ontario à respecter l’ensemble des exigences en matière de prévention des chutes selon la LSST et pour réduire le nombre d’accidents avec blessures et d’accidents mortels causés par les chutes. Contexte

Contexte

L’Ontario continue de présenter l’un des taux de lésions avec interruption (LIT) de travail parmi les moins élevés dans le secteur de la construction, 1,37 LIT par 100 employés de la construction (2008).

Tableau 1 : Taux de lésions avec interruption de travail (par tranche de 100 employés) dans le secteur de la construction selon la province (2000 à 2009)

Année Canada (fédéral) C.-B. AB SK MB ON PQ N.-B. N.-É. I-.P.-E T.-N.-L.
2000 3,60 6,40 4,30 6,80 5,70 1,70 4,40 1,90[1] 2,90 5,40 4,10
2001 3,70 5,80 4,40 6,00 5,50 1,90 4,90 2,00[1] 3,20[2] 4,20 5,70
2002 3,50 5,20 4,30 6,00 6,10 1,80 4,60 1,70[1] 3,00[2] 3,70 5,20
2003 3,30 5,20 3,90 6,10 6,10 1,60 4,50 1,90[1] 3,10[2] 3,50 4,50
2004 3,30 5,40 3,20 5,00 5,90 1,80 4,60 1,80[1] 2,70[2] 3,20 3,80
2005 3,20 5,11 3,18 5,34 6,60 1,58 4,20 1,71[1] 2,87[2] 2,21 3,41
2006 3,10 5,32 3,20 4,53 6,88 1,45 3,78 1,79[1] 2,85[2] 1,72 3,04
2007 2,00 5,19 3,10 4,50 5,91 1,38 3,33 1,78[1] 2,79[2] 1,60 2,74
2008 2,75 4,78 2,57 4,08 5,63 1,37 3,03 1,85[1] 2,49[2] 1,24 2,17

Source : Infrastructure Health and Safety Association


Tableau 2 : Accidents mortels dans le secteur de la construction (2005 à 2010)

Année 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 CA[3]
Décès traumatique, toute cause 20 27 16 19 16 4
Décès traumatique, chutes 10 8 5 10 10 4[4]
Pourcentage du total 50 % 30 % 31 % 53 % 63 % 100 %

Source : Direction de la santé et de la sécurité au travail, ministère du Travail

La Figure 1 montre que l’Ontario a connu une réduction du nombre de décès traumatique depuis 2006.

Figure 1a : Taux d’accidents mortels du secteur de la construction par 100 000 travailleurs, de 2005 à 2009

Taux d’accidents mortels du secteur de la construction par 100 000 travailleurs, de 2005 à 2009

Figure 1b : Table de données

Année Tous les taux d'accidents mortels Taux d'accidents mortels - chutes
2005 5,0 2,52
2006 6,7 1,97
2007 3,9 1,21
2008 4,3 2,28
2009 3,9 2,44

Source : Direction de la santé et de la sécurité au travail, ministère du Travail

Depuis 2005, le secteur de la construction de l'Ontario connaît une amélioration continue de son taux d’accidents avec blessures graves causés par des chutes. Dans l'ensemble, le taux a connu une amélioration annuelle de 3 % depuis 2005.

Figure 2a : Taux d’accidents avec blessure grave du secteur de la construction par 100 000 travailleurs, de 2005 à 2009

Figure 2a : Taux d’accidents avec blessure grave du secteur de la construction par 100 000 travailleurs, de 2005 à 2009

Figure 2b : Table de données

Année Tous les taux de blessures graves Taux de blessures graves - chutes
2005 55,0 32,3
2006 51,3 28,6
2007 47,3 25,2
2008 41,7 23,2
2009 47,7 20,5

Source : Direction de la santé et de la sécurité au travail, ministère du Travail

Exigences de la protection contre les chutes en vertu de la LSST

Plusieurs règlements établis en application de la LSST précisent les exigences en matière de travail sécuritaire et de formation en ce qui a trait aux risques de chute pour les milieux de travail sous réglementation provinciale.

Plusieurs règlements établis en application de la LSST précisent les exigences en matière de travail sécuritaire et de formation en ce qui a trait aux risques de chute pour les milieux de travail sous réglementation provinciale.

Règlement relatif aux chantiers de construction (Règl. de l’Ont. 213/91)

  1. Chute de plus de 3 mètres;
  2. Chute de plus de 1,2 mètre, si l’espace de travail est utilisé comme chemin d’accès pour brouettes ou de l’équipement similaire;
  3. Chute dans de la machinerie en fonction;
  4. Chute dans l’eau ou un autre liquide;
  5. Chute dans une matière dangereuse ou un objet dangereux ou sur ceux-ci;
  6. Chute à travers une ouverture dans la surface de travail.

De plus, le Règlement exige que les travailleurs susceptibles d’utiliser un dispositif de protection contre les chutes reçoivent de la formation adéquate et des instructions orales et écrites et que tous les documents de formation soient conservés et fournis aux inspecteurs du ministère du Travail sur demande. Le Règlement exige aussi que les dispositifs de protection contre les chutes respectent les normes publiées par les Normes nationales du Canada décrivant les exigences techniques pour les dispositifs de protection contre les chutes.

Règlement de l'Ontario 629/94 (opérations de plongée)

Selon le Règlement de l’Ontario 629/94, lorsqu’une plate-forme est utilisée pour mettre un plongeur à l’eau et que celle-ci peut faire une chute de plus de 10 pi (environ 3 mètres), à l’intérieur ou sur de la machinerie en fonction, à l’intérieur ou sur une matière dangereuse ou un objet dangereux, un dispositif anti-chutes doit être utilisé. Le système anti-chutes doit être conçu de façon à ce que la plate-forme s’arrête à un maximum de 5 pi (environ 1,5 mètre) sous l’emplacement occupé avant la chute. De plus, la plate-forme doit être construite de façon à ce que les occupants ne puissent en tomber.

Nettoyage des vitres (R.R.O. 1990, Règl. de l'Ont. 859)

Le Règlement de l’Ontario 859 prévoit l’utilisation d’un dispositif d’arrêt de chute et des exigences de travail sécuritaire dans le cas où un travailleur est exposé à un risque de chute de 10 pi (environ 3 mètres). Il établit les responsabilités pour le propriétaire, les employeurs, superviseurs et travailleurs participant aux activités de nettoyage des fenêtres où un échafaudage volant, une chaise de calfat ou tout autre appareil de levage à bras est utilisé. Le Règlement exige aussi que l’employeur établisse et maintienne un programme de formation de sécurité sur l’utilisation des échafaudages volants, des chaises de calfat ou tout autre appareil de levage à bras. Le programme doit comprendre des renseignements au sujet des dispositifs d’arrêt de chute.

Règlement sur les cadres de protection (R.R.O.1990, Règl. de l’Ont. 856)

Le Règlement 856 interdit l’utilisation d’un appareil sauf si celui-ci est muni d’une cabine de sécurité et d’un dispositif de retenue correspondant aux critères précisés dans le Règlement. De plus, il ordonne l’utilisation de la ceinture de sécurité pendant l’utilisation ou le fonctionnement d’un appareil mécanique afin de protéger le conducteur contre des blessures dans le cas où l’appareil se renverse. Un appareil mécanique est défini comme un véhicule autopropulsé, opéré par une ou plusieurs personnes se trouvant sur le véhicule ou à l’intérieur de celui-ci, comme un tracteur, un bulldozer, une racleuse, une chargeuse frontale, une débusqueuse, un camion-benne, une niveleuse ou un compacteur autre qu’un compacteur à asphalte.

Pendant la campagne rehaussée d’application de la loi visant les risques de chute, les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail ont effectué 7 313 visites sur 4 455 chantiers sous réglementation provinciale (dont les activités de plongée et le nettoyage des fenêtres)

Environ 63 % (2 821) des lieux de travail visités pendant la campagne rehaussée d’application de la loi étaient des chantiers de construction où des risques de chutes avaient été cernés. Les inspecteurs ont effectué 3 912 visites sur ces chantiers.

Tableau 3: Activité d’application de la loi dans le secteur de la construction (18 janvier au 16 avril 2010)

  Chantiers de construction où des risques de chutes ont été cernés (pendant la campagne)
Chantiers visités 2 821
Visites sur le terrain 3 912
Ordres de suspension des travaux émis (comprenant les risques de chute)[6] 784
Ordres émis concernant des risques de chute 3 421
Contraventions concernant les chutes, liées aux ordres d’arrêt des travaux[6] 1120
Assignations concernant les risques de chute 121
à l’endroit des employeurs 4
à l’endroit des superviseurs 97
à l’endroit des travailleurs 20
Contraventions concernant les risques de chute 117

Source : Direction de la santé et de la sécurité au travail, ministère du Travail, en date du 4 mai 2010

Plus de la moitié (56 %) des ordres émis pendant la campagne étaient pour des infractions liées à l’absence, à la mauvaise utilisation ou à un mauvais entretien des garde-corps, des échafaudages et des dispositifs de protection contre les chutes (voir le Tableau 4). Les quatre ordres les plus courants montrent un manque de supervision sur les chantiers, ce qui indique que les dispositifs de protection des employés n’étaient pas en place. La LSST et ses règlements exigent que les employeurs et les superviseurs s’assurent que les dispositifs de protection et les autres mesures et procédures sont en place pour la protection des travailleurs. Une supervision adéquate signifie, entre autres, que les garde-corps et les autres dispositifs de protection contre les chutes sont en place et que les travailleurs ont reçu une formation adéquate en identification des risques. Quatre-vingt pourcent des assignations émises pour des risques de chutes ont été à l’endroit des superviseurs pour un manque de supervision adéquate (voir Tableau 3).

Tableau 4 : Ordres émis pour les risques de chute (campagne)

Description de l’ordre Ordres émis Pourcentage du nombre total d’ordres émis (%)
Garde-corps 853 25
Échafaudage 629 18
Dispositifs de protection contre les chutes 442 13
Worker Training and Records 296 9
Échelles 294 9
Escaliers 237 7
Charpentes surélevées 101 3
Échafaudage volant et chaise de calfat 76 2
Nettoyage des fenêtres 54 1
Autres[7] 439 13
Total des ordres émis pour des risques de chutes 3 421 100

Source :Direction de la santé et de la sécurité au travail, ministère du Travail, en date du 4 mai 2010

Résultats du secteur de la construction concernant les risques de chute

Des 2 821 visites effectuées sur les chantiers de construction où des risques de chute ont été cernés, les projets de construction visités se partagent principalement entre les secteurs de la construction suivants : secteur industriel, commercial et institutionnel (ICI) (1 578, 40 %), les logements unifamiliaux (1 125, 29 %), les immeubles d’habitation et les édifices à logements multiples (658, 17 %) (voir le Tableau 5). Ces secteurs constituent 86 % de toutes les visites sur les lieux et environ 94 % de tous les ordres relativement aux risques de chute émis dans le cadre de la campagne.

Tableau 5 : Les 3 secteurs de la construction les plus visités (pendant la campagne)

Les 3 secteurs les plus visités Nombre de visites Nombre d’ordres émis en lien avec les risques de chute
Construction d’édifice ICI 1 578 1 206
Construction industrielle 203 125
Construction commerciale 921 694
Construction institutionnelle 454 387
Logements unifamiliaux 1 125 1 428
Immeubles d’habitation et à logements multiples 658 576
Total pour tous les secteurs 3 912 3 421

Source :Direction de la santé et de la sécurité au travail, ministère du Travail, en date du 4 mai 2010

Tableau 6 : Nombre et pourcentage de chantiers visités et selon les ordres et les ordres liés aux risques de chute émis (3 secteurs les plus visités seulement)

Secteur de la construction Lieux visités Lieux visités pour lesquels un ordre a été donné Lieux visités avec un ordre lié aux chutes en pourcentage
Construction d’édifice ICI 1124 740 45 %
Construction industrielle 150 92 37 %
Construction commerciale 657 440 45 %
Construction institutionnelle 317 208 49 %
Logements unifamiliaux 796 604 62 %
Immeubles d’habitation et à logements multiples 456 283 46 %

Source : Direction de la santé et de la sécurité au travail, ministère du Travail, en date du 4 mai 2010

Conclusion – Stratégies d’amélioration de la conformité

La campagne rehaussée d’application de la loi qui a récemment pris fin et qui ciblait les risques de chutes dans le secteur de la construction était parmi les plus longues et exhaustives entreprises par le ministère du Travail. Les renseignements recueillis durant campagne seront d’importantes données de référence pour mesurer le succès des stratégies élaborées pour donner suite aux conclusions. Le ministère reconnaît qu’il faut trouver des solutions pratiques et efficaces pour améliorer le respect des exigences sur la protection contre les chutes et réduire le nombre de décès et de blessures liés aux chutes en Ontario.

Les résultats de la campagne indiquent ce qui suit :

  • Quatre-vingt pourcent des assignations émises pour des risques de chutes l’ont été à l’endroit des superviseurs, ce qui indique un manque de supervision adéquate sur les chantiers de construction. Plus de la moitié des ordres donnés pour des risques de chutes visaient l’absence d’échafaudage, de garde-corps et de systèmes de protection contre les chutes ou une mauvaise utilisation ou un mauvais entretien de ceux-ci. Ces résultats indiquent que les mesures et les procédures de sécurité qui visent à protéger les travailleurs n’étaient pas en place.
  • Les données ci-dessus indiquent aussi que les travailleurs et les superviseurs ne connaissent pas les risques de chute et les mesures et procédures générales de sécurité ou n’ont pas reçu une formation adéquate à ce sujet.
  • Environ 94 % des ordres donnés durant la campagne concernaient les édifices industriels, commerciaux et institutionnels et les chantiers de construction résidentielle (logements unifamiliaux et immeubles d’habitations et à logements multiples), ce qui indique qu’il y a des problèmes de conformité dans tous les secteurs de la construction.

Le ministère du Travail collaborera avec ses partenaires de santé et sécurité tels que le comité provincial chargé de la gestion de la santé et la sécurité au travail, la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail, les associations d’employeurs et les syndicats pour trouver des solutions aux résultats issus de la campagne.

De plus, le ministère estime qu’une meilleure sensibilisation du public et une plus grande participation de sa part sont nécessaires pour faire en sorte que les employeurs, les superviseurs et les travailleurs se conforment aux exigences en santé et sécurité au travail. Cela comprend une capacité accrue de communiquer et publier de la documentation en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail dans des langues autres que l’anglais et le français pour communiquer avec les travailleurs et le public dans leur langue maternelle.

[ 1 ]Le Nouveau-Brunswick a une période de 3 jours d’attente pour ce qui est de l’indemnisation, sauf si le travailleur s’absente pendant plus que 5 semaines.

[ 2 ]La Nouvelle-Écosse a une période de 2 jours d’attente pour ce qui est de l’indemnisation, sauf si le travailleur s’absente pendant plus de 4 semaines.

[ 3 ]Source : Ministère du Travail, en date du 5 mai 2010

[ 4 ]Les renseignements préliminaires concernant le taux d’accidents mortels indiquent une chute parmi les causes du décès. Le total est appelé à changer selon la confirmation du Bureau du coroner en chef.

[ 5 ]Aux fins du Règlement 856, un « dispositif de retenue » est une ceinture de sécurité avec ou sans une sangle d’épaule.