Print this page

Blitz Results: Mobile Cranes and Material Hoisting 2016

Safe At Work Ontario
  • Issued: January 2017
  • Content last reviewed: January 2017

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Hazards involving mobile cranes can lead to catastrophic events involving severe injury or even death of construction workers. Members of the public can also be injured or killed depending on the circumstances.

In the past few years, there were a number of incidents resulting in serious injuries to workers, as well as some close calls.

Between April 1, 2011 and May 31, 2016, three workers died and 12 workers were seriously injured in incidents involving mobile cranes at construction sites across Ontario, according to Ministry of Labour reports. There were also 66 reported incidents involving minor injuries to workers or "close calls".

Between August 1 and September 30, 2016, Ministry of Labour (MOL) inspectors conducted an enforcement blitz at construction sites across Ontario. They focused on hazards involving mobile cranes and related material hoisting.

Inspectors checked that employers were taking appropriate action to assess and address these hazards and protect workers’ safety. This included checking that employers were complying with the:

The goals of the blitz were to:

  • raise awareness of health and safety hazards involving mobile cranes and related material hoisting
  • ensure workplace parties were complying with the law and
  • prevent injuries and illnesses that could arise from unsafe work practices.

Background

A mobile crane is a cable-controlled crane mounted on crawlers or rubber-tired carriers or a hydraulic-powered crane with a telescoping boom mounted on truck-type carriers or as self-propelled models. It is designed to be easily transported to a site and used with different types of load and cargo with little or no setup or assembly.

Cranes are exposed to the elements and subjected to heavy use for extended periods of time. This makes them prone to stress, fatigue and breakdown, especially as they near the end of their useful life.

Cranes require regular maintenance and testing to ensure they are:

  • in adequate condition
  • operated, as designed, by the manufacturer and are
  • in compliance with the OHSA and its regulations

Report summary

In August and September 2016, ministry inspectors conducted 741 field visits to 686 workplaces and issued 1,613 orders and 43 requirements. This included 118 stop work orders. Some of the workplaces were visited more than once.

The five most commonly issued orders were for violations involving:

  • Fall protection: 261 orders (16 per cent of total orders issued)
  • Personal protective equipment and clothing (other than fall protection): 134 orders (8 per cent of total orders issued) – 80 per cent of which were related to safety hats
  • Crane operation and hoisting: 90 orders (6 per cent of total orders issued)
  • Notices of project: 74 orders (5 per cent of total orders issued)
  • Emergency procedures: 67 orders (4 per cent of total orders issued)

Full Report

Inspection blitzes are part of the province’s Safe At Work Ontario compliance strategy. They are announced to the sector by the ministry in advance, although individual workplaces are not identified in advance of inspectors’ visits. Results are posted on the ministry’s website.

The blitzes raise awareness of workplace hazards and are intended to promote compliance with the OHSA and its regulations.

Inspectors’ findings may impact the frequency and level of future inspections of individual workplaces. Inspectors may also refer employers to health and safety associations for compliance assistance and health and safety-related training.

Blitz Focus

During the blitz, ministry inspectors visited construction projects that use mobile cranes across Ontario.

Inspectors focused on the following key priorities:

Suitability of ground conditions and set up of the crane: Inspectors checked that outriggers were extended to meet the load chart capacity and as per the manufacturer’s operating manual instructions. They also looked at the ground or supporting structure – whether it was adequate to take the loads applied by the crane and its load.

Proximity to overhead energized power lines: Inspectors checked that operators were maintaining the minimum distance of approach from overhead energized power lines and that a procedure was in place to maintain the minimum distance of the crane or its load from the overhead power lines.

Mobile crane maintenance and other records: Inspectors checked for records such as the operator log book and operator manual. Inspectors also checked that cranes were properly inspected and maintained.

Training: Inspectors checked that crane operators were qualified to operate a crane at a construction site, including having the proper certification where required, or in case of apprentices that they were working pursuant to a training requirement registered under the Ontario College of Trades and Apprenticeship Act, 2009.

Various other issues: Inspectors checked on a crane’s structural, mechanical and overall system integrity, safety system, setup, and proximity to people. They also checked for safe hoisting practices, including hoisting hooks equipped with safety catches and their load carrying capacity legibly cast or stamped on them on a location where the person using the hook can read it.

Inspection activity summary

Table 1: Inspection Visits To Construction Projects
Program Activities Numbers
Field visits 741
Number of workplaces visited 686
Total orders and requirements issued 1,656
Orders 1,613
Stop work orders 118
Requirements 43
Orders and requirements per workplace visited 2.41
Orders and requirement per visit 2.23

Order analysis

Table 2: Most commonly issued types of orders under the Regulation for Construction Projects
Reason for order Number of orders Percentage of total  orders
Fall protection: missing guardrail or other fall protection or inadequate fall protection training 261 16
Personal protective equipment (other than fall protection): missing safety hats, safety shoes, safety glasses, etc. 134 8
Improper crane operation or inadequate hoisting procedures and equipment 90 6
Failure to file a Notice of Project when required by legislation 74 5
Lack of emergency procedures or failure to post the procedures in a conspicuous place on the project 67 4

Table 3: Orders by type of legislation / regulation
Legislation / Regulation Number Percentage of total orders
Regulation for Construction Projects 1,392 86.3
Occupational Health and Safety Act 213 13.2
Roll Over Protection, Noise, Industrial Establishments, Occupational Health and Safety Awareness, Diving Operations 8 0.5

A total of 1,613 orders were issued during the blitz:

43 requirements (not counted in the total number of orders) were also issued under the OHSA. Requirements are issued when the inspector needs more information in order to assess whether there is compliance or not – as compared to an order which is issued when the inspector determines that the legislation has been contravened.

Most of the orders issued under the Regulation for Construction Projects were for violations involving fall protection – in particular, an employer’s failure to provide a guardrail system:

  • as a primary means of fall protection (Section 26.1) and
  • around the open sides of a surface or floor (Section 26.3)

Some of the fall protection orders were related to training as well (subsection 26.2(1) of Regulation for Construction Projects and subsection 7(1) of the Occupational Health and Safety Awareness and Training Regulation).

Second to fall protection contraventions, are those related to personal protective equipment – excluding fall protection. 80 per cent of such orders pertained to safety headgear, the top order written during this blitz (108 times, constituting 6.7 per cent of the total orders issued). 26 other orders were issued for lack of personal protective equipment, mostly related to safety footwear, followed by safety glasses.

Of the orders involving crane safety and material handling, 90 orders (5.6 per cent of total orders) were related to the focus of this blitz. Eighty-two per cent of those orders were related to cranes and 18 per cent involved hoisting equipment and procedures.

Stop Work Orders

A stop work order is issued when a situation could post an immediate hazard/danger to a worker. Stop work orders require a specific activity to stop at a workplace.

During the blitz, 118 stop work orders were issued under the OHSA. They were accompanied by 146 other orders requiring a specific activity to take place to remedy the issue involving the stop work orders.

Of the violations related to the stop work orders:

  • 22 per cent (32 of the 146 accompanying orders) were related to fall protection
    • 28 per cent of these were related to guardrails (missing or inadequate)
    • 15 per cent of these were related to training (inadequate or missing)
  • 7 per cent (10 of the 146 accompanying orders) were related to scaffolds and scaffold platforms
  • 5 per cent (8 of the 146 accompanying orders) were related to excavations and the stability of their walls
  • 4 per cent (6 orders) were related to equipment in general
  • 2 per cent (3 orders) were related to cranes – the focus of the blitz
  • No accompanying orders were related to inadequate hoisting or material handling

Conclusion

The results of this blitz indicate employers need to be more vigilant in complying with requirements for personal protective equipment on construction sites.

The blitz also indicates employers need to comply with fall protection requirements to protect workers. The Ministry of Labour has worked to improve compliance by conducting blitzes targeting falls hazards in the construction sector in 2010, 2013, 2014 and 2016.

Next steps

The Ministry of Labour will continue to enforce safety requirements for mobile cranes and material hoisting.

Compliance help for employers

For more information on identifying, preventing and controlling these hazards, please contact the Ministry of Labour’s safety partners.

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Grues mobiles et levage de matériel 2016 : Résultats des inspections éclair

Sécurité au travail Ontario
  • Diffusion : janvier 2017
  • Dernière mise à jour : janvier 2017

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Les dangers liés aux grues mobiles peuvent conduire à des évènements catastrophiques causant des blessures graves, voire la mort, pour les travailleurs de la construction. Des membres du public peuvent aussi être blessés ou tués, selon les circonstances.

Ces dernières années, il y a eu un certain nombre d’incidents qui ont causé des blessures graves à des travailleurs, mais aussi des incidents qui ont été évités de justesse.

Entre le 1er avril 2011 et le 31 mai 2016, trois travailleurs ont perdu la vie et 12 ont été grièvement blessés dans des accidents impliquant des grues mobiles sur des chantiers de construction dans l’ensemble de l’Ontario, selon des rapports du ministère du Travail. Par ailleurs, 66 incidents évités de justesse ou ayant causé des blessures légères à des travailleurs ont été signalés.

Entre le 1er août et le 30 septembre 2016, les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail ont mené une campagne d’inspections éclair sur des chantiers de construction dans l’ensemble de l’Ontario. Ils se sont particulièrement intéressés aux dangers impliquant des grues mobiles et le levage de matériel.

Les inspecteurs ont vérifié que les employeurs prenaient des mesures adéquates pour évaluer et éliminer ces dangers afin d’assurer la sécurité des travailleurs. Par exemple, ils ont vérifié que les employeurs observaient :

Cette campagne d’inspections éclair visait à :

  • mieux faire connaître les questions de santé et de sécurité au travail concernant les grues mobiles et le levage de matériel;
  • assurer que les parties dans le lieu de travail observent la loi;
  • prévenir les blessures et les maladies que pourraient entraîner des pratiques de travail non sécuritaires.

Renseignements généraux

Une grue mobile est une grue contrôlée par des câbles montée sur un engin à chenilles ou un véhicule à pneus en caoutchouc ou une grue hydraulique munie d’une flèche télescopique montée sur un engin de type camion appelé camion grue. Les grues mobiles sont conçues pour être transportées facilement vers un site et utilisées avec différents types de charges et de marchandises et elles nécessitent peu ou pas d’installation ou de montage.

Les grues sont exposées aux éléments et soumises à une lourde utilisation sur de longues périodes, ce qui les rend sujettes aux chocs, à la fatigue et aux bris, particulièrement lorsque leur vie utile tire à sa fin.

Les grues requièrent un entretien et des essais réguliers pour assurer qu’elles sont :

  • dans un état adéquat;
  • utilisées aux fins auxquelles elles ont été conçues par le fabricant;
  • et conformes à la LSST et à ses règlements.

Résumé du rapport

En août et septembre 2016, des inspecteurs du ministère ont effectué 741 visites sur place dans 686 lieux de travail et donné 1 613 ordres et 43 exigences, parmi lesquels 118 ordres de cesser les travaux. Certains lieux de travail ont été visités plus d’une fois.

Les cinq ordres donnés le plus souvent concernaient des infractions dans les domaines suivants :

  • la protection contre les chutes, en l’occurrence la fourniture d’un dispositif antichute personnel adéquat ou l’aménagement d’un garde corps autour d’un plancher, d’un pont ou d’un autre type d’ouverture dans un plancher et, pour les travailleurs, une formation adéquate sur le dispositif antichute utilisé : 261 ordres (16 pour cent de l’ensemble des ordres donnés);
  • l’équipement et les vêtements de protection individuelle au besoin (autre que le dispositif antichute) : 134 ordres (8 pour cent de l’ensemble des ordres donnés) – 80 pour cent desquels étaient liés aux casques protecteurs;
  • l’utilisation d’une grue et des procédures de levage adéquates au moyen de câbles, d’élingues et de manœuvres : 90 ordres (6 pour cent de l’ensemble des ordres donnés);
  • le dépôt d’un avis de projet lorsque la loi l’exige : 74 ordres donnés (5 pour cent de l’ensemble des ordres donnés);
  • l’établissement des procédures d’urgence par le constructeur et leur affichage dans un endroit bien en vue sur le site du projet : 67 ordres (4 pour cent de l’ensemble des ordres donnés).

Rapport intégral

Les campagnes d’inspection éclair font partie de la stratégie provinciale de conformité Sécurité au travail Ontario. Elles sont annoncées au secteur à l’avance par le ministère, bien que les lieux de travail ne soient pas précisés avant les visites des inspecteurs. Les résultats sont affichés dans le site Web du ministère.

Les campagnes d’inspections éclair sensibilisent davantage aux dangers présents sur le lieu de travail et visent à promouvoir la conformité à la LSST et à ses règlements.

Les constatations des inspecteurs dans certains lieux de travail peuvent influencer la fréquence et la rigueur des prochaines inspections de ces lieux. Les inspecteurs peuvent également adresser les employeurs aux associations de santé et de sécurité pour obtenir l’aide nécessaire à la conformité et une formation en matière de santé et de sécurité.

Cible des inspections

Durant la campagne d’inspections éclair, des inspecteurs du ministère ont visité des projets de construction qui utilisent des grues mobiles dans l’ensemble de l’Ontario.

Les inspecteurs se sont intéressés aux priorités clés suivantes :

Conditions du sol et installation de la grue : les inspecteurs ont vérifié que les stabilisateurs étaient déployés de façon à respecter la capacité indiquée au tableau des charges et conformément aux directives énoncées dans le manuel d’utilisation du fabricant. Ils ont également examiné le sol ou la structure de soutien pour déterminer sa capacité à supporter le poids de la grue et de sa charge.

Proximité de lignes électriques aériennes sous tension : les inspecteurs ont vérifié si les grutiers maintenaient la distance minimale d’approche des lignes électriques aériennes sous tension, si la tension de ces lignes électriques avait été déterminée et si une procédure était en place pour maintenir la distance minimale entre la grue ou sa charge et les lignes électriques.

Registres d’entretien des grues mobiles et autres documents : les inspecteurs ont vérifié les documents tels que le journal du grutier et le manuel d’utilisation. Les inspecteurs ont également vérifié que les grues étaient adéquatement inspectées et entretenues.

Formation : les inspecteurs ont vérifié que les grutiers possédaient les compétences requises pour utiliser une grue sur un chantier de construction, notamment la certification adéquate au besoin ou, dans le cas d’apprentis, que ceux ci travaillaient en vertu d’une exigence de formation inscrite dans la Loi de 2009 sur l’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario et l’apprentissage qui n’avait pas fait l’objet d’une suspension.

Autres questions diverses : les inspecteurs ont vérifié l’intégrité structurale, mécanique et générale d’une grue, son système de sécurité, son installation et sa proximité des personnes. Ils ont également vérifié les pratiques de levage sécuritaires, ainsi que les crochets de levage munis de cliquets de sûreté et leur portance coulée ou estampillée lisiblement, à un endroit où les personnes qui utilisent les crochets peuvent la lire.

Résumé des activités d’inspection

Tableau 1 : Visites d’inspection de projets de construction
Activités du programme Chiffres
Visites sur place 741
Nombre de lieux de travail visités 686
Nombre total d’ordres et d’exigences 1 656
Ordres 1 613
Ordres de cesser les travaux 118
Exigences 43
Ordres et exigences par lieu de travail visité 2,41
Ordres et exigences par visite 2,23

Analyse des ordres

Tableau 2 : Types d’ordres le plus souvent donnés aux termes du règlement sur les projets de construction
Motif de l’ordre Nombre d’ordres Pourcentage du nombre total d’ordres
Protection contre les chutes : absence d’un garde corps ou autre dispositif antichute ou formation inadéquate à la protection contre les chutes 261 16
Équipement de protection individuelle (sauf dispositifs antichute) : omission du port de casques protecteurs, de chaussures de sécurité, de lunettes de sécurité, etc. 134 8
Utilisation inappropriée d’une grue ou procédures et matériel de levage inadéquats 90 6
Omission de déposer un avis de projet lorsque la loi l’exige 74 5
Absence de procédures d’urgence ou omission d’afficher les procédures d’urgence dans un endroit bien en vue sur le site du projet 67 4

Tableau 3 : Ordres selon le type de loi ou de règlement
Loi ou règlement Nombre Pourcentage du nombre total d’ordres
Règlement sur les projets de construction 1 392 86,3
Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail 213 13,2
Protection contre le capotage, bruit, établissements industriels, sensibilisation à la santé et à la sécurité au travail, opérations de plongée 8 0,5

Au total, 1 613 ordres ont été donnés durant la campagne d’inspections éclair :

Quarante-trois exigences (non prises en compte dans le nombre total d’ordres) ont également été formulées aux termes de la LSST. Les exigences sont formulées lorsque l’inspecteur requiert de plus amples renseignements pour déterminer s’il y a conformité ou non – contrairement à l’ordre, qui est délivré lorsque l’inspecteur détermine qu’il y a eu violation de la loi.

La plupart des ordres donnés aux termes du règlement sur les projets de construction concernaient des violations de normes de protection contre les chutes – en particulier, l’omission de l’employeur de fournir un garde corps :

  • comme principale mesure de protection contre les chutes (article 26.1);
  • autour des côtés ouverts d’une surface ou d’un plancher (article 26.3).

Certains ordres liés à la protection concernaient la formation également [paragraphe 26.2 (1) du règlement sur les projets de construction et paragraphe 7 (1) du règlement Sensibilisation à la santé et à la sécurité au travail et formation].

Au deuxième rang en importance après les violations de normes de protection contre les chutes viennent celles qui concernent l’équipement de protection personnelle – sauf les dispositifs antichute. Quatre vingts pour cent de ces ordres concernaient les casques protecteurs, motif le plus fréquent des ordres rédigés durant cette campagne d’inspections éclair (108 fois, soit 6,7 pour cent du nombre total d’ordres donnés). Vingt six autres ordres ont été donnés pour l’omission du port d’équipement de protection personnelle, dans la plupart des cas pour l’omission du port de chaussures de sécurité et, en second lieu, pour l’omission du port de lunettes de sécurité.

Au nombre des ordres concernant la sécurité sur les grues et la manutention de matériel, 90 ordres (5,6 pour cent du nombre total d’ordres donnés) étaient liés à la cible de cette campagne d’inspections éclair. Quatre vingt deux pour cent de ces ordres concernaient des grues et 18 pour cent, le matériel et les procédures de levage.

Ordres de cesser les travaux

Un ordre de cesser les travaux est donné lorsqu’une situation risque de poser un danger immédiat pour un travailleur. Les ordres de cesser les travaux exigent l’interruption d’une activité particulière dans un lieu de travail.

Durant la campagne, 118 ordres de cesser les travaux ont été donnés aux termes de la LSST. Ils se sont accompagnés de 146 autres ordres exigeant la tenue d’une activité particulière pour corriger le problème lié aux ordres de cesser les travaux.

Parmi les infractions liées aux ordres de cesser les travaux :

  • 22 pour cent (32 ordres connexes sur 146) concernaient la protection contre les chutes :
    • 28 pour cent concernaient des garde corps (manquants ou inadéquats),
    • 15 pour cent concernaient la formation (inadéquate ou non offerte);
  • 7 pour cent (10 ordres connexes sur 146) concernaient les échafaudages et les plateformes d’échafaudage;
  • 5 pour cent (8 ordres connexes sur 146) concernaient des sites d’excavation et la stabilité de leurs parois;
  • 4 pour cent (6 ordres) concernaient l’équipement en général;
  • 2 pour cent (3 ordres) concernaient des grues – cible de la campagne d’inspections éclair;
  • aucun ordre connexe ne concernait des procédures ou du matériel de levage inadéquats.

Conclusion

Les résultats de cette campagne d’inspections éclair révèlent que les employeurs doivent être plus vigilants en ce qui concerne l’observation des exigences relatives à l’équipement de protection personnelle.

La campagne d’inspections éclair révèle également que les employeurs doivent se conformer aux exigences relatives à la protection contre les chutes pour protéger les travailleurs. Le ministère du Travail s’est attaché à améliorer la conformité en menant des inspections éclair axées sur les dangers de chute dans le secteur de la construction en 2010, en 2013, en 2014 et en 2016.

Prochaines étapes

Le ministère du Travail continuera à appliquer les exigences de sécurité pour les grues mobiles et le levage de matériel.

Aide à la conformité pour les employeurs

Pour en savoir davantage sur la reconnaissance, la prévention et le contrôle de ces dangers, veuillez communiquer avec les partenaires du ministère du Travail en matière de sécurité.

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.