Print this page

Blitz Results: Heavy Equipment Operation 2015

Safe At Work Ontario
  • Issued: April 25, 2016
  • Content last reviewed: April 2016

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Workers continue to be at risk when operating, maintaining and working around heavy equipment on construction sites. They can be injured or killed when struck by vehicles, equipment or their loads.

In October and November 2015, Ministry of Labour inspectors conducted an enforcement blitz at construction sites across Ontario. The inspectors focused on the dangers of operating and working around heavy equipment and vehicles.

Inspectors checked that employers were taking appropriate action to assess and address these hazards and protect workers’ safety. This included checking that employers were complying with the:

The goals of the blitz were to:

  • raise awareness of key health and safety hazards related to operating and working around heavy equipment at construction sites
  • increase workplace compliance with the law and
  • prevent injuries and illness that could arise from unsafe work practices

Background

Any incident involving heavy equipment has the potential to be very serious or result in a fatality.

Between 2009 and 2014, 23 per cent of worker deaths at construction sites involved heavy equipment, including inadvertent contact with powerlines and equipment striking or tipping over a worker.

Heavy equipment is any:

  • large motorized heavy machinery or vehicle or
  • heavy non-motorized unit such as an attachment, trailer or container.

Heavy machinery is used for lifting, excavation, smoothing ground, removing dirt, raising workers and other functions. This includes excavators, loaders, bulldozers, backhoes, graders, cranes, forklifts and power-elevated work platforms.

Heavy vehicles can travel longer distances and are used for transporting earth, mixing concrete, raising workers and equipment to extended heights and other functions. They include dump, tractor, boom and concrete mixer trucks.

Attachments complement heavy equipment and are removable. They include loader buckets, excavator shears and loader forks.

Trailers are mobile containers pulled by vehicles such as trucks.

Containers are closed or semi-closed structures designed to house construction material or other things. A container can be a single unit such as storage container or a piece of equipment generally connected to a truck such as dump boxes, concrete mixers and truck cisterns.

Report summary

In October and November 2015, ministry inspectors conducted 1,128 field visits to 967 workplaces and issued 2,277 orders under the OHSA and construction regulations. This included 201 stop work orders. Some of the workplaces were visited more than once.

The three most commonly issued orders involved a failure of employers to:

  • ensure workers were protected from falls (261 orders or 11.5 per cent of total orders)
  • ensure workers used personal protective equipment when required (189 orders or 8.3 per cent of total orders)
  • establish and post written emergency procedures in a conspicuous place on a construction project (94 orders or 4.1 per cent of total orders)

Full report

Inspection blitzes are part of the province’s Safe at Work Ontario compliance strategy. They are announced to the sector by the ministry in advance, although individual workplaces are not identified in advance of inspectors’ visits. Results are posted on the ministry’s website. The blitzes raise awareness of workplace hazards and are intended to promote compliance with the OHSA and its regulations.

Inspectors’ findings may impact the frequency and level of future inspections of individual workplaces. Inspectors may also refer employers to health and safety associations for compliance assistance and health and safety-related training.

Blitz focus

Ministry inspectors visited construction projects where workers may be exposed to heavy equipment and vehicular traffic.

In particular, ministry inspectors visited construction projects:

  • valued at more than $50,000 in material and labour
  • identified as being high-priority due to potential hazards involving vehicle traffic and large equipment
  • where complaints have been received
  • where there is a poor compliance history

Inspectors focused on the following key priorities:

Equipment requirements: Inspectors checked that equipment was being operated, inspected and maintained, as per manufacturers’ instructions and any other requirements. Inspectors also checked on compliance with regulatory requirements for entering and exiting an operator’s cabin, equipment maintenance and inspection records, operator’s qualifications and training, operator’s cabin maintenance and rollover protection.

Project planning: Inspectors checked that workplace parties had planned and organized the construction site to avoid or reduce the reverse operation of vehicles.

Safe movement: Inspectors checked that proper measures and procedures were in place for safe movement of material and equipment.

Signallers: Inspectors checked that employers were ensuring signallers were competent and did not perform any other work when signalling.

High visibility clothing: Inspectors checked that high visibility clothing was being worn by signallers and workers at construction sites with vehicle traffic.

Dump truck alarms: Inspectors verified that dump trucks were equipped with automatic audible alarms when being operated in reverse.


Inspection activity summary

Table 1: Inspection Visits To Construction Projects
Program Activities Numbers
Field visits 1,128
Number of workplaces visited 967
Orders issued 2,321
Stop work orders 201
Requirements 44
Orders and requirements per workplace visited 2.40
Orders and requirement per visit 2.40

Order analysis

Table 2: Most commonly issued types of orders [1]
Reason for order Number of orders Percentage of total [2] orders during blitz
Fall protection: missing guardrails or other fall protection systems 261 11.5%
Personal protective equipment (excluding fall protection): missing or inadequate safety hats, safety shoes, safety glasses 189 8.3%
Written emergency procedures: non-existent or not posted written emergency procedures by constructors 94 4.1%
Notices of Project: not filed by constructors 57 2.5%
Manufacturers’ operating manuals: missing copies on the project for vehicles, machines, tools and equipment rated at more than 10 horsepower 45 2.0%

[1] contains sampling of some common order sections
[2] all orders including those under OHSA and Regulations for Construction Projects


Table 3: Orders by type of legislation / regulation
Legislation / Regulation Number Percentage of total orders and requirements
Regulations for Construction Projects 1,923 84.4%
Occupational Health and Safety Act 392 [3] 15.3%
Occupational Health and Safety Awareness and Training Regulation 3 under 1%
Roll-Over Protective Structures Regulation 2 under 1%
Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System Regulation 1 under 1%

[3] includes 44 requirements and 201 stop work orders

Most orders issued under the construction regulations involved fall protection violations – in particular, employers’ failure to provide a guardrail system as a primary means of fall protection (Section 26.1), and around the open sides of a surface or floor (Section 26.3).

Almost 70 per cent of the personal protective equipment (PPE) orders (130 orders) involved missing or inadequate safety headgear. This comprised 5.6 per cent of all orders and requirements issued. More than 30 per cent of PPE orders (59 orders) were issued for lack of PPE, mostly involving safety footwear and then safety glasses.

About four per cent of the orders (94 orders) were for violations involving emergency procedures. Half of those orders involved contractors’ failure to have written emergency procedures for construction sites and the other half involved a failure to post emergency procedures.

About 2.5 per cent of orders (57 orders) involved a failure to file a Notice of Project with the Ministry of Labour. This requirement must be fulfilled by a constructor prior to commencing work at a project.

Another two per cent of orders (45 orders) related to a requirement for constructors to have available on the construction site copies of manufacturers’ operating manuals for tools, equipment and machinery rated at greater than 10 horsepower. This type of order directly related to the heavy equipment focus of this blitz.

Conclusion

The results of this blitz indicate workplace parties need to improve compliance with fall protection, PPE, emergency procedures and other requirements under the OHSA and construction regulations.

Employers, supervisors and workers must ensure appropriate fall protection and PPE are maintained and worn, as required, to help protect workers from injury. Contractors must also develop and post emergency procedures at the construction site.

Constructors must also file a Notice of Project with the ministry prior to starting work on a project.

They must also have copies of manuals available for tools, equipment and machinery at the construction site.

A key to workplace health and safety in Ontario is the internal responsibility system. Workplace parties are encouraged to work together to identify and control hazards involving heavy equipment and its operation at construction sites.

Next steps

Ministry inspectors will continue to pay attention to the areas of concern noted in the above order analysis and conclusion sections. This includes hazards that could result in workers being struck by vehicles, equipment or their loads.

To protect workers from these hazards, the ministry is also developing a Vehicle and Mobile Equipment Action Plan to address incidents involving vehicles and motorized mobile equipment on work sites. The goal is to reduce injuries and fatalities associated with vehicles and mobile equipment in Ontario workplaces across sectors.

The Action Plan will be supported by the ministry as well as all four Safe Work Associations: Infrastructure Health and Safety Association, Public Services Health and Safety Association, Workplace Safety and Prevention Services, and Workplace Safety North, as well as the Workers Health and Safety Centre.

Compliance help for employers

For more information on identifying, preventing and controlling these hazards, please contact Ministry of Labor safety partners.

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Imprimer cette page

Résultats des inspections éclair : conduite d’équipement lourd 2015

Sécurité au travail Ontario
  • Diffusion : 25 avril 2016
  • Dernière mise à jour : avril 2016

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Les travailleurs continuent d’être exposés à un risque lorsqu’ils conduisent de l’équipement lourd ou qu’ils effectuent des travaux d’entretien ou autres à proximité de ceux-ci sur des chantiers de construction. Ils peuvent être blessés ou tués s’ils sont happés par des véhicules, du matériel ou leurs charges.

En octobre et novembre 2015, des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail ont mené des inspections éclair sur des chantiers de construction partout en Ontario. Les inspecteurs ont ciblé les dangers de la conduite de matériel et de véhicules lourds ainsi que du travail effectué à proximité de ceux-ci.

Les inspecteurs ont vérifié que les employeurs prenaient les mesures appropriées pour évaluer et éliminer ces dangers et préserver la sécurité des travailleurs. À cette fin, ils ont notamment vérifié que les employeurs respectaient :

Cette campagne d’inspections éclair visait à :

  • mieux faire connaître les principaux dangers pour la santé et la sécurité liés liés à la conduite d’équipement lourd et au travail à proximité de celui-ci sur les chantiers de construction;
  • accroître la conformité du lieu de travail à la loi;
  • prévenir les blessures et les maladies qui peuvent être causés par des méthodes de travail non sécuritaires.

Renseignements généraux

Tout incident impliquant de l’équipement lourd peut être très grave, voire fatal.

Entre 2009 et 2014, vingt-trois pour cent des décès survenus sur des chantiers de construction impliquaient de l’équipement lourd qui, par exemple, avait été au contact accidentel de lignes électriques, avait happé des travailleurs ou s’était renversé sur eux.

L’équipement lourd englobe les éléments suivants :

  • machinerie ou véhicule lourds motorisés de grande taille;
  • unité lourde non motorisée, p. ex., un accessoire, une remorque ou un conteneur.

La machinerie lourde est utilisée pour soulever, excaver, aplanir le terrain, enlever des saletés, soulever des travailleurs et exécuter d’autres fonctions. Elle comprend les excavatrices, les chargeuses, les bouteurs (bulldozers), les pelles rétrocaveuses, les niveleuses, les grues, les lève-palettes et les plateformes de travail élévatrices.

Les véhicules lourds peuvent parcourir de plus longues distances et sont habituellement utilisés pour transporter de la terre, malaxer du béton, soulever des travailleurs et du matériel à des hauteurs considérables et exécuter d’autres fonctions. Ils comprennent les camions à benne, les tracteurs, les camions à flèche et les bétonnières.

Les accessoires sont un complément au matériel lourd et sont amovibles. Ils comprennent les bennes chargeuses, les cisailles d’excavatrice et les fourches de chargement.

Les remorques sont des conteneurs mobiles tirés par des véhicules tels que des camions.

Les conteneurs sont des structures fermées ou mi-fermées conçues pour abriter des matériaux de construction ou autres. Un conteneur peut être une unité simple telle qu’un conteneur d’entreposage ou un élément d’équipement généralement relié à un camion tel que des bennes de déchargement, des bétonnières et des camions-citernes.

Rapport sommaire

En octobre et novembre 2015, les inspecteurs du ministère ont effectué 1 128 visites dans 967 lieux de travail et donné 2 277 ordres aux termes de la LSST et du règlement concernant les projets de construction. Parmi ceux-ci, notons 201 ordres de cessation des travaux. Certains lieux de travail ont été visités plus d’une fois.

Les trois ordres donnés le plus fréquemment concernaient l’omission des employeurs de faire ce qui suit :

  • veiller à ce que les travailleurs soient protégés des chutes (261 ordres ou 11,5 pour cent du nombre total d’ordres donnés);
  • veiller à ce que les travailleurs utilisent l’équipement de protection individuelle lorsque c’est nécessaire (189 ordres ou 8,3 pour cent du nombre total d’ordres donnés);
  • établir des procédures d’urgence écrites et les afficher dans un endroit bien en vue d’un projet de construction (94 ordres ou 4,1 pour cent du nombre total d’ordres donnés).

Rapport complet

Les inspections éclair s’inscrivent dans la stratégie provinciale de conformité Sécurité au travail Ontario. Elles sont annoncées au secteur à l’avance par le ministère, bien que chaque lieu de travail ne soit pas identifié avant les visites des inspecteurs. Les résultats sont affichés dans le site Web du ministère. Les inspections éclair permettent de mieux faire connaître les dangers en milieu de travail et visent à promouvoir la conformité à la LSST et à ses règlements.

Les conclusions des inspecteurs peuvent conditionner la fréquence et la rigueur des inspections futures des lieux de travail. Les inspecteurs peuvent également aiguiller les employeurs vers des associations de santé et de sécurité pour de l’aide en matière de conformité et de formation liées à la santé et à la sécurité.

Cible des inspections éclair

Les inspecteurs du ministère ont visité des projets de construction où les travailleurs peuvent être exposés à de l’équipement lourd et à une forte circulation de véhicules.

En particulier, les inspecteurs du ministère ont visité des projets de construction :

  • évalués à plus de 50 000 $ en équipement et en main d’œuvre;
  • identifiés comme étant à haute priorité en raison des dangers potentiels liés à la circulation de véhicules et à de l’équipement de grande taille;
  • pour lesquels des plaintes ont été reçues;
  • ayant de mauvais antécédents en matière de conformité.

Les inspecteurs ont ciblé les priorités clés suivantes :

Exigences relatives à l’équipement – Les inspecteurs ont vérifié que l’équipement était utilisé, inspecté et entretenu conformément aux directives du fabricant et à toute autre exigence. Les inspecteurs ont également vérifié la conformité aux exigences réglementaires pour ce qui concerne l’entrée et la sortie de la cabine du conducteur, les dossiers d’entretien et d’inspection de l’équipement, les compétences et la formation du conducteur, l’entretien de la cabine de conduite et la protection contre le capotage.

Planification de projets – Les inspecteurs ont vérifié que les parties sur le lieu de travail ont planifié et organisé le chantier de construction de façon à prévenir ou à réduire la conduite de véhicules en marche arrière.

Mouvement sécuritaire – Les inspecteurs ont vérifié que des mesures et des procédures appropriées étaient en place pour assurer le mouvement sécuritaire du matériel et de l’équipement.

Signaleurs – Les inspecteurs ont vérifié que les employeurs veillaient à ce que les signaleurs soient compétents et n’exécutent aucune autre tâche pendant qu’ils signalent.

Vêtements de haute visibilité – Les inspecteurs ont vérifié que, sur les chantiers de construction où circulent des véhicules, les signaleurs et les travailleurs portent des vêtements de haute visibilité.

Alarmes de camions à benne – Les inspecteurs ont vérifié que les camions à benne sont équipés d’alarmes sonores automatiques pendant leur conduite en marche arrière.


Sommaires des inspections

Table 1 : Visites de projets de construction
Activités du programme Nombre
Visites 1 128
Nombre de visites de lieux de travail 967
Ordres 2 321
Ordres de cessation des travaux 201
Exigences 44
Ordres et exigences par lieu de travail visité 2,40
Ordres et exigences par visite 2,40

Analyse des ordres

Table 2 : Types d’ordres les plus courants [1]
Motif de l’ordre Nombre Pourcentage du nombre total d’ordres et d’exigences [2]
Protection contre les chutes : absence de garde corps ou d’autres dispositifs de protection contre les chutes 261 11,5 %
Équipement de protection individuelle (sauf dispositifs de protection contre les chutes) : défaut de porter un casque ou des chaussures/lunettes de sécurité; ou casque/chaussures/lunettes de sécurité inadéquats 189 8,3 %
Procédures d’urgence écrites : inexistantes ou non affichées par les constructeurs 94 4,1 %
Préavis de projet : non fourni par les constructeurs 57 2,5 %
Modes d’emploi du fabricant : copies non fournies sur les lieux du projet pour les véhicules, les machines, les outils et l’équipement de plus de 10 horse power 45 2,0 %

[1] comporte un échantillon de parties d’ordres les plus courants
[2] tous les ordres y compris ceux donnés en vertu de la LSST et ses règlements relatifs aux chantiers de construction


Table 3 : Ordres selon le type de mesure législative / règlement
Mesure législative / Règlement Nombre Pourcentage du nombre total d’ordres et d’exigences
Règlement concernant les projets de construction 1 923 84,4 %
Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail 392 [3] 15,3 %
Règlement Sensibilisation à la santé et à la sécurité au travail et formation 3 Moins de 1 %
Règlement Structures de protection contre le capotage 2 Moins de 1 %
Règlement Système d’information sur les matériaux dangereux utilisés au travail 1 Moins de 1 %

[3] Ce chiffre inclut 44 exigences et 201 ordres de cessation des travaux.

La plupart des ordres donnés aux termes du règlement concernant les projets de construction concernaient des violations de normes de protection contre les chutes – en particulier, l’ommission de l’employeur de fournir un dispositif de garde-corps comme principale mesure de potection contre les chutes (article 26.1) et autour des côtés ouverts d’une surface ou d’un plancher (article 26.3).

Près de 70 pour cent des (130) ordres visant l’équipement de protection individuelle (EPI) concernaient l’omission du port du casque de sécurité ou le port d’un casque de sécurité inadéquat. Ceci représentait 5,6 pour cent du nombre total d’ordres et d’exigences formulés. Plus de 30 pour cent des (59) ordres visant l’EPI concernaient l’absence d’EPI, dans la plupart des cas les chaussures et les lunettes de protection.

Environ quatre pour cent des (94) ordres concernaient des violations de procédures d’urgence. La moitié de ces ordres concernaient l’omission d’entrepreneurs d’avoir en place des procédures d’urgence écrites pour les chantiers de construction et l’autre moitié, l’omission d’afficher les procédures d’urgence.

Environ 2,5 pour cent des (57) ordres concernaient l’omission de fournir un préavis de projet au ministère du Travail. Cette exigence doit être remplie par tout constructeur avant le commencement des travaux liés à un projet.

Deux pour cent des (45) ordres concernaient l’obligation des constructeurs de mettre à la disposition des personnes se trouvant sur un chantier de construction des copies du mode d’emploi du fabricant pour les outils, l’équipement et la machinerie de plus de 10 chevaux puissance. Ce type d’ordre est directement lié à l’équipement lourd ciblé lors de cette campagne d’inspections éclair.

Conclusion

Les résultats de cette campagne d’inspections éclair indiquent que les parties dans les lieux de travail doivent améliorer leur conformité aux normes concernant la protection contre les chutes, l’EPI, les procédures d’urgence et aux autres exigences que prévoient la LSST et le règlement concernant les projets de construction.

Les employeurs, les superviseurs et les travailleurs doivent veiller à ce que les dispositifs de protection contre les chutes et l’EPI soient entretenus et portés, conformément aux exigences en vigueur, pour aider à protéger les travailleurs contre les blessures. Les entrepreneurs doivent également élaborer des procédures d’urgence et les afficher sur le chantier de construction.

De plus, les constructeurs doivent présenter un préavis de projet au ministère avant d’entreprendre les travaux liés à un projet.

Ils doivent également fournir des copies des modes d’emploi pour les outils, l’équipement et la machinerie utilisés sur le chantier de construction.

L’une des clés de la santé et de la sécurité au travail en Ontario est le système de responsabilité interne. Les parties en milieu de travail sont encouragées à travailler ensemble pour identifier et maîtriser les dangers liés à l’équipement lourd et à son utilisation sur les chantiers de construction.

Prochaines étapes

Les inspecteurs du ministère continueront à s’intéresser aux sujets notés dans l’analyse des ordres qui précède et aux points cités en conclusion. Songeons, entre autres, au risque que courent les travailleurs d’être happés par des véhicules, de l’équipement ou leurs charges.

Pour protéger les travailleurs contre ces dangers, le ministère élabore également un plan d’action visant les véhicules et le matériel mobile afin d’éliminer les incidents impliquant des véhicules et du matériel mobile sur les lieux de travail. L’objectif est de réduire le nombre le blessures et de décès associés aux véhicules et au matériel mobile dans les lieux de travail de l’Ontario, et cela dans tous les secteurs.

Ce plan d’action recevra l’appui du ministère, des quatre associations pour la sécurité au travail – Infrastructure Health and Safety Association, Public Services Health and Safety Association, Workplace Safety and Prevention Services et Sécurité au travail dans le Nord – ainsi que celui du Workers Health and Safety Centre.

Aide à la conformité pour les employeurs

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’identification, la prévention et la maîtrise de ces dangers, veuillez communiquer avec les partenaires en santé et sécurité du ministère du Travail.

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.