Print Print This Page

Blitz Results: Water Management in Underground Mines 2015

Safe At Work Ontario
  • Issued: July 8, 2015
  • Content last reviewed: July 2015

Failure to properly manage water and prevent its accumulation in underground mines can lead to runs of muck (mined material saturated with water) and other unsafe conditions. This can result in workers being seriously injured or drowned.

In February and March 2015, Ministry of Labour mining inspectors and engineers visited underground mines to check on safety issues affecting management of water in mines. This included checking for hazards that could cause water to accumulate and infiltrate ore passes, ore storage bins and “raises” (vertical excavations leading from one level to another).

Inspectors checked that appropriate action was being taken by employers to assess and address these hazards to protect workers. They also checked that employers were complying with the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and its Regulations for Mines and Mining Plants.

The blitz’s goal was to:

  • raise awareness of managing water accumulation at underground mines
  • increase workplace compliance with the law and
  • prevent injuries and illnesses that could arise from unsafe work practices.

Protection of mine workers is part of the government's continued commitment to prevent workplace injuries and illness through its Safe At Work Ontario compliance strategy.

Report summary

Between 2000 and 2014, three workers died in Ontario mines after being engulfed by runs of water-saturated material.

During the February and March 2015 blitz, inspectors conducted 43 visits to 28 mining workplaces. Some of the mines were visited several times. Inspectors issued 172 orders under the OHSA, including 22 stop work orders.

As of June 8, 2015, about 85 per cent of the orders issued during the blitz were complied with.

Full report

Workplace inspection blitzes

Inspection blitzes are part of the province's Safe At Work Ontario compliance strategy. They are announced to the sector by the ministry in advance, although individual workplaces are not notified in advance. Results are posted on the ministry's website.

The blitzes raise awareness of known workplace hazards and promote compliance with the OHSA and its regulations.

Inspectors' findings may impact the frequency and level of future inspections of individual workplaces. Inspectors may also refer employers to health and safety associations for compliance assistance and training.

Blitz focus

In particular, the blitz targetted:

  • recently reopened or new mines
  • mines where previous water management hazards were observed
  • mines with a poor compliance history

Inspectors and engineers focused on:

Water accumulation: Inspectors and engineers checked that water accumulation or flow that might endanger workers was removed from the workplace. They also checked that pumping systems were capable of pumping excess water to the surface.

Bulk materials movement: Inspectors and engineers checked that workers were not endangered by the movement of materials in a stope, pass, chute or storage area, and that written procedures were in place to communicate and identify those areas to workers. They also checked that barriers to prevent inadvertent access to hazardous locations were erected and that entries or exits to workplaces, where workers could open chutes, were not at risk of being blocked by an uncontrolled run of material.

Dangerous conditions records: Inspectors and engineers checked that conditions identified as dangerous were documented, logged and signed by supervisors until the conditions were corrected or removed from the workplace.

Employer duties: Inspectors checked that employers had policies and programs in place to protect workers from water management hazards.

Safe work practices: Inspectors checked that employers had safe work practices, including assessing water management risks and responding immediately to any hazards. They also checked for policies and procedures that ensured investigations took place into all water management-related incidents. As well, they checked for policies that outlined the roles of workplace parties for ensuring good “housekeeping” practices to keep workplaces free of hazards.

Personal protective equipment and safety devices: Inspectors checked that protective equipment was being properly selected, used and maintained for tasks. They also checked on the availability, adequacy and condition of this equipment.

Worker training: Inspectors checked that workers were properly trained and supervised to prevent injuries and deaths from water management hazards. They also checked that workers knew their right to refuse unsafe work.

Inspectors took enforcement action, as appropriate, in response to any violations found under the OHSA or its regulations.

Inspection activity summary

Table 1 below is an overall summary of the enforcement blitz activity.

Table 1: Visits to mines
Field Visits 43
Workplaces Visited 28
Orders Issued 172
Stop Work Orders 22
Requirements 2
Orders and Requirements Per Workplace Visited 6.2
Orders and Requirements Per Field Visit 4.0

Order analysis

Orders were issued under the OHSA and Regulations for Mines and Mining Plants for various violations.

Table 2: Most frequently issued orders under OHSA and Mining Regulations during blitz
Reason for Order Number of Orders Percentage of Orders Issued During Blitz
Failure to take every precaution reasonable in circumstances for protection of workers [OHSA S. 25 (2)(h)] 23 13.22%
Stop work on any place, equipment, machine, device, article, thing, process or material until order is complied with [OHSA S. 57 (6)(a)] 22 12.64%
Failure to ensure equipment, materials and protective devices provided by employer are maintained in good condition [OHSA S. 25 (1)(b)] 18 10.34%
Constructor, licensee or employer required to submit to the ministry a compliance plan prepared in the manner and including such items as required by the order [OHSA S. 57(4)] 17 9.77%
Failure to install and maintain electrical equipment in accordance with good electrical practices [Mining Regulations S. 155(1)] 7 4.02%
Failure to provide safe means of access to a workplace by a walkway, stairway, or ladder way [Mining Regulations S. 46(1)] 7 4.02%
Failure to operate electrical equipment in accordance with good electrical practices [Mining Regulations S. 155(2)] 5 2.87%
Failure to provide safe means of access when workers are required to work, operate, maintain or service equipment [Mining Regulations S. 46(2)] 5 2.87%
Failure to keep a workplace in an underground mine free from accumulations or flow of water which might endanger a worker in the area and failure to have a drainage system to conduct excess water to a pumping system capable of pumping the water to surface for disposal [Mining Regulations S. 87(1)(a) and (b)] 5 2.87%

Prevention

In December 2013, the Minister of Labour asked Ontario’s Chief Prevention Officer to undertake a Mining Health, Safety and Prevention Review focusing specifically on the occupational health and safety needs of the underground mining sector.

The goal was to:

  • ensure Ontario mine workers return home healthy and safe at the end of every shift and
  • maintain a productive and innovative mining industry.

The Review identified several significant hazards which were studied by subject matter experts. Water management was one of the hazards examined and two recommendations to improve worker safety were part of the final report. If implemented, these two recommendations, along with the Review’s other recommendations, could significantly improve health and safety outcomes.

Conclusion and next steps

This blitz’s results confirm the ministry’s need to continue focused enforcement on water hazards in underground and surface mines.

Compliance help for employers

Please contact Ministry of Labour health and safety partners for more information on identifying, preventing and controlling water management hazards.

Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Résultats des campagnes éclair d’inspection : Gestion de l’eau dans les mines souterraines (2015)

Sécurité au travail Ontario
  • Diffusion : 8 juillet 2015
  • Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2015

La mauvaise gestion de l’eau et le manque de prévention de l’accumulation de celle-ci dans les mines souterraines peuvent causer des coulées de boue (matériaux extraits saturés d’eau) et d’autres conditions dangereuses risquant d’occasionner des blessures graves ou des noyades chez les travailleurs.

En février et mars 2015, des inspecteurs et des ingénieurs miniers du ministère du Travail ont visité des mines souterraines pour y relever tout danger lié à la gestion de l’eau. Ils ont notamment vérifié s’il y avait des risques que l’eau s’accumule et s’infiltre dans les cheminées à minerai, les silos et les galeries montantes (excavations verticales permettant de passer d’un niveau à un autre).

Les inspecteurs se sont aussi assurés que les employeurs prenaient des mesures adéquates d’évaluation et d’élimination des dangers pour protéger les travailleurs, et qu’ils respectaient la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et son Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières).

Les campagnes éclair d’inspection visaient à :

  • faire de la sensibilisation sur la gestion de l’accumulation d’eau dans les mines souterraines;
  • améliorer la conformité des lieux de travail à la loi;
  • prévenir les blessures et les maladies pouvant découler de pratiques de travail non sécuritaires.

La protection des travailleurs miniers fait partie de l’engagement continu du gouvernement à prévenir les blessures et les maladies professionnelles dans le cadre de sa stratégie Sécurité au travail Ontario.

Résumé du rapport

Entre 2000 et 2014, trois travailleurs sont morts dans des mines ontariennes après avoir été engloutis par des coulées de matériaux causées par l’accumulation d’eau.

Pendant la campagne éclair de février et mars 2015, les inspecteurs du Ministère ont effectué 43 visites sur 28 lieux de travail. Certaines mines ont fait l’objet de plusieurs inspections. Les inspecteurs ont délivré 172 ordres en vertu de la LSST, y compris 22 ordres de cessation des travaux.

En date du 8 juin 2015, environ 85 % des ordres donnés pendant les campagnes éclair ont été respectés.

Rapport complet

Campagnes éclair d’inspection des lieux de travail

Les campagnes éclair d’inspection s’inscrivent dans la stratégie provinciale en matière de conformité intitulée Sécurité au travail Ontario. Le Ministère prévient le secteur qu’il mènera des inspections, mais ne précise pas à l’avance les lieux visés. Les résultats sont affichés sur le site Web du Ministère. Les campagnes éclair visent à attirer l’attention sur les risques connus qui sont associés aux lieux de travail et à favoriser la conformité à la LSST et à ses règlements.

Les conclusions des inspecteurs peuvent avoir des conséquences sur la fréquence et l’ampleur des inspections futures d’un lieu de travail. De plus, les employeurs peuvent être dirigés par les inspecteurs vers des associations de santé et de sécurité qui leur procureront une aide et de la formation en matière de conformité.

Cibles de la campagne éclair

La campagne éclair visait surtout les mines :

  • récemment remises en exploitation et les nouvelles mines;
  • où des dangers liés à la gestion de l’eau ont déjà été constatés;
  • dont le bilan de conformité n’est pas très bon.

Les inspecteurs et les ingénieurs ont avant tout prêté attention aux aspects suivants :

Accumulation d’eau : Les inspecteurs et les ingénieurs ont veillé à ce que les poches ou les écoulements d’eau susceptibles de menacer la sécurité des travailleurs soient éliminés du lieu de travail. Ils ont également vérifié si les systèmes de pompage étaient capables de refouler l’excédent d’eau à la surface.

Mouvement de matériaux en vrac : Les inspecteurs et les ingénieurs se sont assurés que le mouvement des matériaux dans un chantier, une cheminée, une goulotte ou une aire de stockage ne mettait pas en danger la sécurité des travailleurs, et que des procédures écrites étaient en place pour indiquer les zones à risques et en avertir le personnel. Ils ont aussi vérifié si des barrières avaient été érigées pour empêcher tout accès par inadvertance aux zones à risques, et si les entrées et les sorties du lieu de travail, où les travailleurs pourraient ouvrir une goulotte, ne risquaient pas d’être bloquées par une coulée de matériaux non maîtrisée.

Registres des conditions dangereuses : Les inspecteurs et les ingénieurs ont vérifié si les conditions jugées dangereuses étaient consignées, si les superviseurs en avaient pris connaissance, signature à l’appui, et si ces registres étaient conservés jusqu’à ce que les correctifs nécessaires soient apportés.

Devoirs de l’employeur : Les inspecteurs se sont assurés que les employeurs avaient mis en place des politiques et des programmes afin de protéger les travailleurs contre les dangers liés à la gestion de l’eau.

Pratiques de travail sécuritaires : Les inspecteurs ont vérifié si l’employeur avait mis en place des pratiques de travail sécuritaires, dont l’évaluation des risques liés à la gestion de l’eau et une intervention immédiate en cas de danger. Ils se sont en outre assurés que les employeurs avaient établi des politiques et des procédures garantissant la tenue d’enquêtes sur tous les incidents relatifs à la gestion de l’eau. En outre, ils ont vérifié s’il existait des politiques qui établissaient les rôles des parties dans l’entretien du lieu de travail afin que celui-ci demeure exempt de risques.

Équipement de protection individuel et dispositifs de sécurité : Les inspecteurs se sont assurés que l’équipement de protection avait été adéquatement choisi, utilisé et entretenu pour les tâches à effectuer. Ils ont également vérifié la disponibilité, le caractère adéquat et l’état de cet équipement.

Formation des travailleurs : Les inspecteurs ont vérifié si les travailleurs étaient suffisamment formés et supervisés pour prévenir les blessures et les décès découlant des risques liés à la gestion de l’eau. Ils ont également vérifié si les travailleurs savaient qu’ils avaient le droit de refuser d’exécuter un travail dangereux.

Les inspecteurs ont pris des mesures de coercition, au besoin, pour toute violation à la LSST et à ses règlements.

Résumé des inspections

Le tableau 1 ci-dessous est un résumé général de la campagne éclair.

Tableau 1 : Visites de mines
Visites sur le terrain 43
Lieux de travail visités 28
Ordres délivrés 172
Ordres de cessation des travaux 22
Exigences 2
Ordres et exigences par lieu de travail visité 6,2
Ordres et exigences par visite sur le terrain 4,0

Analyse des ordres

Des ordres ont été donnés aux termes de la LSST et de son Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières) pour différentes infractions.

Tableau 2 : Ordres les plus fréquemment donnés aux termes de la LSST et du Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières) pendant la campagne éclair
Motif de l’ordre Nombre d’ordres Pourcentage d’ordres donnés durant la campagne éclair
Défaut de prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances pour assurer la protection du travailleur [alinéa 25 (2) h) de la LSST] 23 13,22 %
Défaut de cesser l’utilisation d’un lieu, du matériel, d’une machine, d’un appareil, d’un article, d’un objet, d’un procédé ou d’un matériau tant que l’ordre n’est pas exécuté [alinéa 57 (6) a) de la LSST] 22 12,64 %
Défaut de maintenir en bon état le matériel, les matériaux et les appareils de protection fournis par l’employeur [alinéa 25 (1) b) de la LSST] 18 10,34 %
Exigence selon laquelle le constructeur, le titulaire d’un permis ou l’employeur doit soumettre au ministre un plan d’exécution rédigé de la façon et comprenant les renseignements exigés dans l’ordre [paragraphe 57 (4) de la LSST] 17 9,77 %
Défaut d’installer ou de modifier du matériel électrique conformément aux règles de l’art [paragraphe 155 (1) du Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières)] 7 4,02 %
Défaut de prévoir un accès sécuritaire aux lieux de travail au moyen d’une passerelle, d’un escalier ou d’un compartiment d’échelles [paragraphe 46 (1) du Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières)] 7 4,02 %
Défaut de l’employeur de fournir un moyen d’accès sécuritaire aux travailleurs qui doivent utiliser, conduire, entretenir ou réparer du matériel [paragraphe 46 (2) du Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières)] 5 2,87 %
Défaut, dans une mine souterraine, de protéger les lieux de travail contre les poches ou les écoulements d’eau qui pourraient mettre en danger les travailleurs dans le secteur, et défaut de doter les lieux de travail d’un système de drainage pour évacuer tout excédent d’eau vers un système de pompage capable de refouler l’eau à la surface pour l’éliminer [alinéas 87 (1) a) et b) du Règlement 854 (Mines et installations minières)] 5 2,87 %

Prévention

En décembre 2013, le ministre du Travail a demandé au directeur général de la prévention de l’Ontario de mener un Examen de la santé et de la sécurité dans les mines et de la prévention axé sur les besoins en santé et sécurité au travail du secteur des mines souterraines.

L’objectif de l’examen était :

  • de veiller à ce que les travailleurs dans les mines de l’Ontario puissent retourner chez eux sains et saufs à la fin de chaque quart de travail;
  • de maintenir la productivité et l’innovation dans l’industrie minière.

L’examen a permis de déceler plusieurs risques importants, lesquels ont ensuite été étudiés par des experts du domaine. L’un des dangers examinés concernait la gestion de l’eau, et deux recommandations visant à améliorer la sécurité des travailleurs dans ce domaine ont été présentées dans le rapport final. La mise en oeuvre des recommandations de l’examen, notamment celles sur la gestion de l’eau, pourrait grandement améliorer la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs.

Conclusion et étapes à venir

Les résultats de la campagne éclair confirment que le Ministère doit continuer de veiller au respect des dispositions législatives touchant les dangers liés à la gestion de l’eau dans les mines souterraines et à ciel ouvert.

Aide à la conformité pour les employeurs

Veuillez communiquer avec les partenaires en santé et sécurité du ministère du Travail pour en savoir plus sur les moyens de repérer, de prévenir et de maîtriser les risques associés à la gestion de l’eau.