• Issued: December 9, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: December 2014

For the Working at Heights Practical module, learners must have hands-on, practical experience and must be trained on the proper use, care and limitations of the personal protective equipment (PPE) listed below. The PPE provided must comply with or exceed equipment specific National Standards of Canada / Canadian Standards Association technical standards, as applicable. The equipment must also comply with the requirements of the Occupational Health and Safety Act and regulations as applicable.

8.1 Equipment for Demonstration of Learning Outcomes

The equipment listed below must be used for the delivery of the Working at Heights Practical module. The ratio of equipment available to learner shall be 1:3 (i.e. at least four sets of equipment for 12 learners).

  • Type A harnesses with tongue buckles (variety of sizes);
  • Type A harnesses with mating buckles (variety of sizes);
  • Single leg lanyards (with energy absorber);
  • Lifelines with snap hooks adequate for learning purposes;
  • Rope grabs;
  • Carabiners; and
  • D-bolt anchors.

8.2 Other Equipment

The equipment listed below must be used in the delivery of the Working at Heights Practical module so that learners become familiar with the look and function of this equipment. The ratio of equipment available to learner shall be at least 1:12 :

  • Non-Type A harnesses (such as ADELP harness and cross-over harness);
  • Various lanyards (such as with no energy absorbers, with various levels of energy absorbers, Y lanyard, tie-back lanyard, Type 1 self-retracting lanyard);
  • Various rope grabs;
  • Various lifelines (such as with carabiner and thimble);
  • Leg stirrups;
  • Various hooks (such as snap hook with swivel, rebar hook); and
  • Various anchors (such as cross-arm anchor connector, one-time use roof anchor, disposable concrete anchor).

8.3 Damaged Equipment

The equipment listed below must be used in the delivery of the Working at Heights Practical module so that learners are able to identify and inspect this equipment for damage. The ratio of equipment available to learner shall be at least 1:12 :

  • Type A harness (with tongue and mating buckles); and
  • Single leg lanyards (with and without energy absorbers).

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-3267-3 (HTML)

• Diffusion : 9 décembre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2014

Pour le module « Matériel pratique pour le travail en hauteur », les apprenants doivent posséder une expérience pratique et avoir reçu une formation sur l'utilisation appropriée, l'entretien et les limites du matériel de protection individuelle (MPI) énuméré ci-dessous. Le MPI fourni doit être conforme, selon le cas, aux Normes nationales du Canada ou aux normes techniques de l'Association canadienne de normalisation qui lui sont propres, ou les dépasser. Le matériel doit aussi être conforme aux exigences de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et de ses règlements, selon le cas.

8.1 Matériel pour la démonstration visant l'atteinte des résultats d'apprentissage

Le matériel énuméré ci-dessous doit être utilisé pour la prestation du module « Matériel pratique pour le travail en hauteur ». Le rapport entre le matériel disponible et les apprenants doit être de 1:3 (c.-à-d., au moins quatre ensembles de matériel pour 12 apprenants).

  • Harnais de classe A avec boucles à ardillon (tailles variées)
  • Harnais de classe A avec boucles d'accouplement (tailles variées)
  • Longes simples (avec dispositif amortisseur)
  • Cordages de sécurité avec mousquetons appropriés pour l'enseignement
  • Coulisseaux de sécurité
  • Mousquetons
  • Ancrages à boulon en D

8.2 Autre matériel

Le matériel énuméré ci-dessous doit être utilisé pour la prestation du module « Matériel pratique pour le travail en hauteur » pour que les apprenants se familiarisent avec l'apparence et le fonctionnement de ce matériel. Le rapport entre le matériel disponible et les apprenants doit être d'au moins 1:12.

  • Harnais autres que les harnais de classe A (comme les harnais ADELP et les harnais de style croisé)
  • Diverses longes (comme celles sans dispositif amortisseur, celles avec divers niveaux de dispositifs amortisseurs, les longes en Y, les longes à nœud coulant et les longes autorétractables de classe 1)
  • Divers coulisseaux de sécurité
  • Divers cordages de sécurité (comme ceux munis d'un mousqueton et d'une cosse)
  • Étriers à jambe
  • Divers crochets (comme un mousqueton muni d'un crochet pivotant pour tige d'armature)
  • Divers ancrages (comme un dispositif de raccordement pour ancrage à traverse, un ancrage de toit à usage unique et un ancrage pour béton jetable)

8.3 Matériel endommagé

Le matériel énuméré ci-dessous doit être utilisé pour la prestation du module « Matériel pratique pour le travail en hauteur » pour que l'apprenant soit en mesure de reconnaître ce matériel et de l'inspecter pour déceler la présence de dommages. Le rapport entre le matériel disponible et les apprenants doit être d'au moins 1:12.

  • Harnais de classe A (avec boucles à ardillon et boucles d'accouplement)
  • Longes simples (avec et sans dispositif amortisseur)

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-3267-3 (HTML)