• ISBN: 978-1-4249-9714-5
  • Issued: August 1994
  • Revised: March 2009
  • Content last reviewed: June 2009
  • See also: Heat and Radiation Hazards

3. Exposure Guidelines | Ultraviolet Radiation in the Workplace

The Ministry of Labour's Radiation Protection Service applies the threshold limit values (TLVs) recommended by the American Conference of Government Industrial Hygienists (ACGIH) for occupational exposure to UV radiation. These limits are enforced in Ontario workplaces by the ministry under section 25(2)(h) of the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

These limits are based on UV doses that normally do not produce sunburn or eye irritation (welder's flash). They take into account the varying biological effects of different wavelengths of UV radiation. The guidelines limit the “effective Actinic UV irradiance” to three millijoules per square centimetre, accumulated over an eight–hour period.

Additionally, the total irradiance of “UV–A Spectral Region (315 to 400 nm)” on the unprotected eye is limited to 1.0 milliwatt per square centimetre for periods greater than 16.7 minutes and to 1.0 joule per square centimetre for shorter periods. (See "Ultraviolet Radiation" in the ACGIH's Threshold Limit Values.)

These guidelines do not apply to UV lasers or to workers exposed to hypersensitizing substances.

Measurements of UV radiation, as well as the determinations of exposure levels, allowable exposure times and compliance with the guidelines, must be carried out by a qualified person with appropriate equipment.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

3. Lignes directrices concernant l'exposition

Le Service de radioprotection du ministère du Travail applique les valeurs seuils recommandées par l'American Conference of Government Industrial Hygienists (ACGIH) pour ce qui est de l'exposition professionnelle au rayonnement ultraviolet. Ces seuils sont mis en application dans les lieux de travail en Ontario par le ministère en vertu de l'alinéa 25 (2) h) de la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Ces seuils sont établis en fonction des doses de rayonnement ultraviolet qui ne produisent généralement pas de coup de soleil ni d'irritation oculaire (éblouissement du soudeur) et tiennent compte des effets biologiques variés de diverses longueurs d'ondes de rayonnement ultraviolet. Les directives limitent l'irradiance actinique ultraviolette à trois millijoules par centimètre carré pendant une période de huit heures.

En outre, l'irradiance totale du domaine spectral UV–A (315 à 400 nm) des yeux non protégés est limitée à 1,0 milliwatt par centimètre carré pour des périodes de plus de 16,7 minutes et à 1,0 joule par centimètre carré pour des périodes plus courtes. (Voir la section «Ultraviolet Radiation» dans Threshold Limit Values de l'ACGIH.)

Les présentes directives ne s'appliquent pas aux lasers ultraviolets ni aux travailleurs exposés à des substances hypersensibilisantes.

La mesure du rayonnement ultraviolet ainsi que l'établissement des niveaux d'exposition, des temps d'exposition permis et de la conformité aux directives doivent être effectués par une personne compétente possédant le matériel approprié.

précédent | suivant