• Issued: April 11, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: July 2014

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Employers must keep a record of the awareness training for workers and supervisors who work for that employer. A record of any worker or supervisor who is exempt from the training must also be maintained. [O. Reg. 297/13, Subsections 4(1) and (2)]

If a worker or supervisor completes an awareness training program, the employer must, on request, provide the worker or supervisor with written proof of completion of the training. [O. Reg. 297/13, Subsection 4(3)]

If a supervisor is exempt from taking an awareness training program for workers, the employer must, on request, provide that supervisor with written proof of the exemption. [O. Reg. 297/13, Subsection 4(4)]

If a worker or supervisor no longer performs work for an employer, but makes a request for written proof of completion or exemption within six months, the employer must provide the written proof. Of course, employers may voluntarily provide the information after the six-month period. [O. Reg. 297/13, Subsection 4(5)]

What information should be included in a record of training?

The record should include information such as the name of the individual who completed the program, the date of completion and the name or a brief description of the training course or program. The Ministry of Labour has developed a Record Keeping Template that can be used by workplace parties to keep a record of employees who have completed occupational health and safety awareness training as required under the regulation. This guidance tool is neither mandatory nor enforceable. Ministry of Labour Inspectors do not enforce the use of this guidance tool.

Do employers need to submit records to the Ministry of Labour?

No, employers are not required to submit records of completion of training to the ministry, only to retain those records.

The ministry will not keep any records for awareness training programs. However, ministry inspectors may ask to review employers’ records of awareness training during an inspection or investigation.

How long must a record of training be kept?

No period of time is specified in the regulation. However, an employer must provide a worker or supervisor with written proof of completion or exemption, if a request is made within six months of the worker or supervisor no longer performing work for the employer. Therefore, an employer must keep the record of training for at least six months after a worker or supervisor stops working for him or her to be in a position to comply with this requirement.

Can I keep the records electronically or does it have to be a paper copy?

The regulation does not specifically prescribe the format in which the records need to be kept. The records may be kept in either paper or electronic form, as long as:

  • the records can be shown to an inspector during a workplace inspection or investigation and
  • provided to a worker or supervisor on request, as required in the regulation

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-3821-7 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-3822-4 (PRINT)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Registres de formation

  • Diffusion : 11 avril 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2014

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Les employeurs doivent conserver un registre de la formation élémentaire de sensibilisation de leurs travailleurs et de leurs superviseurs. Un registre de tout travailleur et superviseur exempté de la formation doit également être tenu [Règlement de l'Ontario 297/13, paragraphes 4 (1) et (2)].

À la demande du travailleur ou du superviseur qui a terminé un programme de formation élémentaire de sensibilisation, l’employeur lui fournit une preuve écrite d’achèvement de la formation [Règlement de l'Ontario 297/13, paragraphe 4 (3)].

À la demande d'un superviseur exempté de la formation s'adressant aux travailleurs, l'employeur lui fournit une preuve écrite de la dérogation [Règlement de l'Ontario 297/13, paragraphe 4 (4)].

L’employeur fournit la preuve écrite au travailleur ou au superviseur qui la lui demande dans les six mois où il cesse d’exécuter du travail pour lui. Bien sûr, les employeurs sont libres de fournir l'information après la période de six mois [Règlement de l'Ontario 297/13, paragraphe 4 (5)].

Quelle information devrait être incluse au registre de formation?

Le registre doit comprendre des renseignements comme le nom de la personne qui a suivi et terminé le programme, la date d'achèvement du programme et le nom ou une brève description du cours de formation ou du programme. Le ministère du Travail a élaboré un modèle de tenue de registre qui peut être utilisé par les parties du lieu de travail pour conserver un registre des employés qui ont suivi une formation élémentaire de sensibilisation à la santé et à la sécurité au travail, tel que le règlement l'exige. Cet outil d'orientation n'est ni obligatoire ni exécutoire. Les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail n'appliquent pas son utilisation.

Les employeurs doivent-ils soumettre les registres au ministère du Travail?

Non. Les employeurs ne sont pas tenus de soumettre les registres de formation au ministère, seulement de les conserver.

Le ministère ne conservera aucun registre des programmes de formation élémentaire de sensibilisation. Toutefois, ses inspecteurs peuvent demander à les examiner au cours d'une inspection ou d'une enquête.

Combien de temps un registre de formation doit-il être conservé?

Le règlement ne précise aucune période de temps. Toutefois, un employeur doit fournir à un travailleur ou à un superviseur une preuve écrite d'achèvement de la formation ou de dérogation, si une demande est faite dans les six mois après lesquels il cesse d’exécuter du travail pour lui. Par conséquent, un employeur doit conserver le registre de formation pendant un minimum de six mois après qu'un travailleur ou un superviseur cesse de travailler pour lui pour être en mesure de se conformer à cette exigence.

Puis-je conserver les registres sous format électronique ou doivent-ils être imprimés?

Le règlement ne précise pas de format de conservation. Les registres peuvent être conservés sous format électronique ou imprimés, dans la mesure où les conditions suivantes sont respectées :

  • les registres peuvent être montrés à un inspecteur au cours d'une inspection du lieu de travail ou d'une enquête;
  • les registres peuvent être fournis à un travailleur ou à un superviseur à sa demande, tel que l'exige le règlement.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-3826-2 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-3825-5 (Version imprimé)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.