Table of Contents | Print This Page

General Questions and Answers

  • Issued: April 11, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: July 2014

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Do employers have to hire training providers to deliver this training?

There is no requirement in the regulation for employers to hire external training providers to deliver awareness training programs. However, an employer may choose to do so.

Do employers have to develop their own awareness training programs?

No. Employers can choose to use the Ministry of Labour’s workbooks or e-learning modules, which are available free of charge and in multiple languages. Employers can also use training from other sources, such as their existing occupational health and safety training and/or other programs, as long as the training meets the minimum content requirements set out in the regulation.

Can workplaces continue to use existing training programs? What if an employer’s existing program is not called an “awareness training program”?

Employers have the flexibility to use existing occupational health and safety training and/or other programs, as long as those programs meet the minimum content requirements set out in the regulation. This is valid even if the existing program is called something other than an awareness training program (for example, an “orientation program”).

What resources are available to ensure existing programs cover the topics required by the regulation?

The Ministry of Labour has developed the Training Program Assessment for Supervisors and the Training Program Assessment for Workers guidance tools that can be used by workplaces to evaluate and compare their existing training programs with the minimum content required by the regulation. These guidance tools are neither mandatory nor enforceable. Ministry of Labour Inspectors do not enforce the use of these guidance tools.

Do employers have to provide other occupational health and safety training to workers and supervisors?

Basic awareness training for workers and supervisors raises general awareness about rights, responsibilities and where to get more information and help about occupational health and safety.

However, basic awareness training does not replace or diminish other Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) training obligations. For example, employers have OHSA duties to provide information and instruction to workers about workplace-specific hazards, including duties to:

  • provide information, instruction and supervision to a worker to protect the worker’s health and safety [OHSA Section 25(2)(a)] and
  • acquaint a worker or a person in authority over a worker with any hazard in the workplace and on the handling, storage, use, disposal and transport of any article, device, equipment or a biological, chemical or physical agent [OHSA Section 25(2)(d)]

Employers must also appoint a competent person as a supervisor [OHSA Section 25(2)(c)]. As explained above, a “competent” person is “qualified because of knowledge, training and experience to organize the work and its performance”. Thus, a supervisor must have received training relevant to the position in order to be appointed.

As such, there are additional workplace- and hazard-specific training requirements set out in the OHSA and regulations that would need to be provided to supervisors in addition to the basic occupational health and safety awareness training.

Do workers or supervisors have to retake the awareness training program if they change employers?

No, the regulation does not require workers or supervisors to retake awareness training programs if they change employers. However, the worker or supervisor must provide a new employer with proof that training was previously completed, and the new employer must verify that the training covered the minimum content requirements set out in the regulation.

Although not required by the regulation, an employer may choose to have every new worker or supervisor complete an awareness program, even if the worker or supervisor has already completed this training with a previous employer.

How can employers verify previous training taken by a worker or supervisor covered the minimum content set out in the regulation?

Employers are required to verify that previous training received by workers and supervisors covers the program information set out in the regulation [O. Reg. 297/13, subsections 1(2) and 2(2)]. This verification could occur in a number of ways:

  • the worker or supervisor may have proof that he or she completed one of the Ministry of Labour’s awareness training programs as these programs are designed to provide training that complies with the regulation
  • the worker or supervisor may provide information or documentation from a previous employer that would allow the new employer to assess the previous training (such as training materials) and/or
  • an employer could ask a worker about the details of the training received (date, method of training, source of training) and to explain what he or she learned in the previously completed training program and question a new worker or supervisor to satisfy himself/herself that the previous training covered the required topics. The Ministry of Labour has developed the Knowledge Check for Supervisors and the Knowledge Check for Workers guidance tools that can be used by workplace parties to verify whether a supervisor or worker has previously completed occupational health and safety awareness training and that the training meets the requirements of the regulation. These guidance tools are neither mandatory nor enforceable. Ministry of Labour Inspectors do not enforce the use of these guidance tools.

Does the training have to be completed on “work time”?

For existing workers and supervisors who are employees, the employer will need to consider their obligations under the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) and any collective agreement or other contract that may apply. Generally speaking, under the ESA, time spent by an existing employee in training that is required by the employer, or by law to continue in his or her employment, is counted as work time. For more information see What counts as work time?

When hiring new employees, employers could require prior completion of the awareness training. Time spent in this kind of training before an employment relationship begins is not considered work time. A person (e.g., a student, applicant, etc.) could also choose to complete a training program such as by using the Ministry of Labour workbooks or e-learning modules prior to obtaining a job with an employer.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-3821-7 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-3822-4 (PRINT)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Questions et réponses d'ordre général

  • Diffusion : 11 avril 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2014

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Les employeurs doivent-ils engager des fournisseurs de formation pour offrir la formation en question?

Le règlement n'exige pas que les employeurs engagent des fournisseurs de formation externes pour offrir les programmes de formation élémentaire de sensibilisation. Toutefois, un employeur est libre de le faire.

Les employeurs doivent-ils élaborer leurs propres programmes de formation élémentaire de sensibilisation?

Non. Les employeurs peuvent choisir d'utiliser les guides ou les modules d'apprentissage électroniques en ligne du ministère du Travail, qui sont offerts gratuitement dans plusieurs langues. Ils peuvent également utiliser une formation provenant d'autres sources, comme leurs programmes existants de formation sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et (ou) d'autres programmes, dans la mesure où la formation respecte les exigences quant au contenu minimal énoncé dans le règlement.

Les lieux de travail peuvent-ils continuer d'utiliser des programmes de formation existants? Qu'en est-il si le programme existant d'un employeur ne porte pas le nom de « programme de formation élémentaire de sensibilisation »?

Les employeurs ont le droit d'utiliser des programmes existants de formation sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et (ou) d'autres programmes, dans la mesure où la formation respecte les exigences quant au contenu minimal énoncé dans le règlement. Cette exigence s'applique même si le programme existant porte un autre nom qu'un programme de formation élémentaire de sensibilisation (par exemple, un « programme d'orientation »).

Quelles sont les ressources disponibles pour veiller à ce que les programmes existants couvrent les sujets exigés par le règlement?

Le ministère du Travail a élaboré des outils d'orientation, l'Évaluation du programme de formation à l'intention des superviseurs et d'auto-évaluation et l'Évaluation du programme de formation à l'intention des travailleurs, que les lieux de travail peuvent utiliser pour évaluer et comparer leurs programmes de formation existants avec le contenu minimal exigé par le règlement. Les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail n'appliquent pas leur utilisation.

Les employeurs doivent-ils fournir d'autres formations en santé et sécurité au travail aux travailleurs et aux superviseurs?

La formation élémentaire de sensibilisation s'adressant aux travailleurs et aux superviseurs accroît la sensibilisation générale à l'égard des droits et des responsabilités en matière de santé et sécurité au travail et indique où obtenir plus d'information et d'aide à ce sujet.

Toutefois, la formation élémentaire de sensibilisation ne remplace ni ne réduit les autres obligations de formation exigées par la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST). Ainsi, en vertu de la LSST, les employeurs ont le devoir d'offrir les renseignements et les directives sur les risques associés au lieu de travail, y compris ce qui suit :

  • fournir au travailleur les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de sa santé et de sa sécurité [LSST, alinéa 25 (2) a)];
  • informer le travailleur, ou la personne qui exerce son autorité sur celui-ci, des risques que comportent le travail et la manipulation, l’entreposage, l’utilisation, l’élimination et le transport de tout objet, appareil, matériel ou agent biologique, chimique ou physique [LSST, alinéa 25 (2) d)].

Les employeurs doivent également nommer une personne compétente lorsqu’il pourvoit un poste de superviseur [LSST, alinéa 25 (2) c)]. Tel que précisé ci-dessus, une personne compétente est « qualifiée parce qu'elle possède, à cause de ses connaissances, de sa formation et de son expérience, les qualités nécessaires pour organiser et faire exécuter un travail »; par conséquent, un superviseur doit avoir reçu une formation pertinente pour être nommé à un tel poste. À ce titre, la LSST et ses règlements énoncent des exigences supplémentaires relatives à la formation sur le lieu de travail et les risques particuliers qui doit être offerte aux superviseurs, en plus de la formation élémentaire de sensibilisation à la santé et à la sécurité au travail.

Les travailleurs ou les superviseurs doivent-ils suivre à nouveau le programme de formation élémentaire de sensibilisation s'ils changent d'employeur?

Non, le règlement n'exige pas que les travailleurs ou les superviseurs suivent à nouveau le programme de formation élémentaire de sensibilisation s'ils changent d'employeur. Toutefois, le travailleur ou le superviseur doit fournir au nouvel employeur une preuve d’achèvement de la formation en question et le nouvel employeur doit vérifier que la formation répond aux exigences du règlement.

Bien que le règlement ne l'exige pas, un employeur peut décider de faire suivre à un nouveau travailleur ou superviseur un programme de sensibilisation, même si ce dernier a déjà suivi cette formation avec un employeur précédent.

Comment les employeurs peuvent-ils vérifier si la formation antérieure suivie par un travailleur ou un superviseur couvre le contenu minimal énoncé dans le règlement?

Les employeurs sont tenus de vérifier que la formation antérieure que les travailleurs et superviseurs ont reçue couvre l'enseignement théorique énoncé dans le règlement [Règlement de l'Ontario 297/13, paragraphes 1 (2) et 2 (2)]. Cette vérification peut se faire de différentes manières :

  • le travailleur ou le superviseur peut détenir une preuve qu'il a terminé l'un des programmes de formation élémentaire de sensibilisation du ministère du Travail, étant donné que ces programmes sont conçus pour fournir une formation conforme à la réglementation;
  • le travailleur ou le superviseur peut fournir des renseignements ou des documents émis par un employeur antérieur qui permettraient au nouvel employeur d'évaluer la formation antérieure (comme le matériel de formation);
  • un employeur peut demander à un travailleur les détails de la formation reçue (date, méthode, source de la formation) et une explication de ce qu'il a appris dans le cadre du programme de formation antérieur suivi. Il peut également poser à un nouveau travailleur ou superviseur des questions pour s'assurer que la formation antérieure couvrait l'enseignement théorique exigé. Le ministère du Travail a élaboré des outils d'orientation, Vérification des connaissances des superviseurs et Vérification des connaissances des travailleurs, que les parties du lieu de travail peuvent utiliser pour vérifier qu'un superviseur ou un travailleur a déjà suivi une formation élémentaire de sensibilisation à la santé et à la sécurité au travail et que cette formation répond aux exigences de la loi. Ces outils d'orientation ne sont ni obligatoires ni exécutoires. Les inspecteurs du ministère du Travail n'appliquent pas leur utilisation.

La formation doit-elle être suivie pendant les « heures de travail »?

Pour les travailleurs et superviseurs qui ont déjà un emploi, l'employeur devra tenir compte de leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi et de toute convention collective ou autre contrat pouvant s'appliquer. De façon générale, en vertu de la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi, le temps consacré par un employé existant à de la formation exigée par l'employeur ou par la loi pour qu'il puisse continuer d'occuper son emploi est considéré comme étant du temps de travail. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter Qu’est-ce qui est compris dans le temps de travail?

Lorsqu'ils engagent de nouveaux employés, les employeurs peuvent exiger que ceux-ci aient déjà suivi et terminé la formation élémentaire de sensibilisation. Le temps consacré à ce type de formation avant une relation d'emploi n'est pas considéré comme étant du temps de travail. Une personne (p. ex., un étudiant, un candidat, etc.) peut également choisir de suivre et terminer un programme de formation, notamment à l'aide des guides ou des modules d'apprentissage électroniques en ligne du Ministère du Travail avant d'obtenir un emploi.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-3826-2 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-3825-5 (Version imprimé)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.