Table of Contents | Print This Page

The Chair’s Observations

  • Issued: October 2014
  • Content last reviewed: October 2014

The importance of mental health in the workplace has recently been highlighted through the work of the Mental Health Commission of Canada and other initiatives. Recognizing the importance of the issue of traumatic mental stress (TMS) in the workplace, I was honoured to serve as Chair of the roundtable which brought together employer and labour representatives from a range of organizations in sectors where traumatic events are more likely: transit services, police services, nursing, fire services, and emergency medical services.

From the first meeting, it was apparent that the roundtable was a unique opportunity for a cross-sector dialogue on job-related traumatic mental stress. Members brought their individual perspectives and experiences to the table, and shared a common commitment to address the issue of TMS openly and honestly. This included discussing challenges, learning together from expert presentations, and brainstorming ideas for addressing this issue.

I am very pleased with what has been accomplished. This report is about the journey of the TMS roundtable members over the past year. It summarizes the process and serves as a repository of the many ideas that were generated during the discussions and includes a list of tools and resources identified by members.

It is my hope that the report will be of value to members, paving the way for continuing dialogue and consideration of initiatives to address TMS within and across the sectors represented at the roundtable and more broadly across other interested workplaces and organizations, and within government (i.e. dialogue and initiatives).

It has been both a pleasure and a tremendous learning experience to serve as Chair. I would like to thank the members for agreeing to be a part of the roundtable, and for taking ownership and shaping the roundtable process along the way. Thanks goes to the facilitation team comprised of Rick Russell and Julia Kollek, who supported this process and set the right tone for the productive discussions that took place. I would also like to thank our mental health speakers, Dr. Ash Bender and Dr. Rakesh Jetly, for the generous contribution of their time and expertise. Their presentations to the group were highly interesting and contributed to the group’s understanding of the issue. There was also value in having the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) at the table as an observer.

Finally, while the roundtable initiative has concluded, the ministry remains engaged and committed to continue to work with stakeholders on opportunities to support effective workplace practices on traumatic mental stress.

Sincerely,

Reg Pearson
Assistant Deputy Minister
Ministry of Labour

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Les observations du président

  • Diffusion : octobre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : octobre 2014

L'importance de la santé mentale en milieu de travail a récemment été mise en évidence grâce au travail de la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada et d'autres initiatives. Parce que je reconnais l'importance du problème du stress mental traumatique associé au milieu de travail, j'étais honoré d'agir en qualité de président de la table ronde qui rassemblait des employeurs et des représentants syndicaux issus de divers organismes de secteurs où des événements traumatiques sont plus susceptibles de se produire : services de transport en commun, services policiers, services infirmiers, services d'incendie et services médicaux d'urgence.

Dès la première rencontre, il est devenu évident que la table ronde représentait une occasion unique de dialogue intersectoriel sur le stress mental traumatique associé au milieu de travail. Les membres ont présenté leurs perspectives et expériences individuelles et ont partagé ouvertement et en toute honnêteté leur volonté de s'attaquer au problème du stress mental traumatique. Ils ont entre autres discuté des difficultés, ont assisté à des présentations d'experts informatives et ont effectué des séances de remue-méninges en vue d'aborder ce problème.

Je suis très satisfait de ce que nous avons accompli. Ce rapport porte sur le cheminement des membres de la table ronde sur le stress mental traumatique au cours de la dernière année. Il résume le processus, sert de registre pour les nombreuses idées qui ont été générées durant les discussions et inclut une liste d'outils et de ressources relevés par les membres.

J'espère que ce rapport s'avérera utile pour les membres et ouvrira la voie à un dialogue continu et à l'examen d'initiatives visant à aborder la question du stress mental traumatique au sein des secteurs représentés à la table ronde et entre ceux-ci, et, à plus vaste échelle, entre d'autres milieux de travail et organismes touchés par cette problématique, ainsi qu'au sein du gouvernement (p. ex., dialogue et initiatives).

Ce fut un plaisir et une incroyable expérience d'apprentissage d'agir à titre de président. J'aimerais remercier les membres d'avoir accepté de faire partie de la table ronde, et d'avoir pris en charge et façonné le processus en cours de route. Des remerciements tout particuliers vont à l'équipe d'animation composée de Rick Russell et de Julia Kollek, qui ont soutenu ce processus et donné le ton aux discussions productives qui ont eu lieu. J'aimerais également remercier nos conférenciers sur la santé mentale, Dr Ash Bender et Dr Rakesh Jetly, d'avoir généreusement donné de leur temps et fourni leur expertise. Leurs présentations se sont avérées fort intéressantes et ont permis au groupe de mieux comprendre le problème. La présence de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) à la table ronde à titre d'observateur a également été très avantageuse.

Finalement, bien que l'initiative de la table ronde soit terminée, le ministère demeure engagé et déterminé à poursuivre sa collaboration avec les intervenants pour saisir les occasions de soutenir les pratiques efficaces en milieu de travail relatives au stress mental traumatique.

Cordialement,

Reg Pearson
Sous-ministre adjoint
Ministère du Travail

précédent | suivant