Table of Contents | Print This Page

Chapter V: Resources

  • Issued: October 2014
  • Content last reviewed: October 2014

Prevention, Education, Awareness Building

Psychological Health and Safety: Action Guide for Employers, Mental Health Commission of Canada

  • This is a guide for employers to ensure the protection of their workers psychological health and safety. This report includes information on, amongst other issues, prevention from a primary, secondary, and tertiary perspective, and on building employee resiliency.

Copenhagen Psychosocial Questionnaire, National Research Centre for the Working Environment (NRCWE), Denmark

  • NRCWE has developed The Copenhagen Psychosocial Questionnaire regarding the psychosocial work environment. It is a tool developed with the aim of assessing and improving the psychosocial work environment. The tool consists of three questionnaires, each addressing different target groups.

Mental Health Works, Canadian Mental Health Association

  • Mental Health Works is a nationally available program that builds capacity within Canadian workplaces to effectively address the many issues related to mental health in the workplace. The focus is on both employer solutions and employee supports.

Stress Prevention at Work Checkpoint, International Labour Office (ILO)

  • This ILO manual includes easy-to-apply checkpoints for identifying stressors in working life and mitigating their harmful effects. It also provides guidance on linking workplace risk assessment with the process of stress prevention. It includes good practices for companies and organizations that would like to incorporate stress prevention into their overall occupational safety and health policy and management systems.

Training Resilient Soldiers (PDF), The Canadian Army Journal

  • This research seeks to understand the resiliency factors that make some individuals less prone to mental stress illnesses, in order to learn about resiliency.

Road to Mental Readiness (R2MR), Canadian Armed Forces

  • This Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) training initiative encompasses the entire package of resilience and mental health training that is embedded throughout CAF members’ career, including the deployment cycle.

Mental Injury Tools for Ontario Workers, Mental Injury Tool Group

  • This guide and resource kit provides workers with a basic understanding and a place to start to learn about workplace stress and how it may be addressed. The kit focuses on primary prevention of workplace factors that affect workers health level outcomes.

Hi, My Name is Dave, by Dave McFadden, Police Association of Ontario Magazine, #39

  • Dave McFadden shares about his personal experiences in order to encourage others to recognize some of the signs and symptoms in others and in themselves, and to seek help.

Partners for Mental Health

  • Partners for Mental Health is a national charitable organization that is spearheading a social movement on mental health. The genesis for Partners for Mental Health came from the Mental Health Commission of Canada.

Impact Report 2012-2013 (PDF), Partners of Mental Health

  • Partners for Mental Health, a non-profit organization, released the Impact Report to showcase the milestones reached from April 2012 to March 2013 and the progress made in support of the mission to generate change in support of mental health.

Psychological Health and Safety in the Workplace Standard, Led by the Canadian Standards Association (CSA Group) and the Bureau normalization du Québec (BNQ), in collaboration with the Mental Health Commission of Canada

  • The National Standard helps employers of all sizes, and in all sectors, promote good mental health and prevent psychological harm for every employee. It does this by providing the guidelines, resources and tools needed to build a mentally healthy workplace.

Local Suicide Prevention Councils

Suicide…it`s time for firefighters to talk about it! By Scott Chisholm, Thunder Bay Fire Fighter, Ontario Professional Fire Fighter Association Magazine, Summer 2013

  • The article discusses some tools for fire fighters to understand and talk about mental health and suicide.

Response Following an Event

Making the Case for Peer Support, Report to the Mental Health Commission of Canada, Mental Health Peer Support Project Committee (MHCC)

  • This report provides a description of peer support in Canada and in other countries. It makes the case for peer support, and makes recommendations to MHCC on how it could drive the development of peer support in Canada.

Homewood Health Centre`s Program for Traumatic Stress Recovery

  • Homewood Health Centre’s Program for Traumatic Stress Recovery is one of the few in-patient programs of its kind in Canada.

Mental Health First Aid Canada

  • Mental Health First Aid (MHFA) is help provided to a person developing a mental health problem or experiencing a mental health crisis. Just as physical first aid is administered to an injured person before medical treatment can be obtained, MHFA is given until appropriate treatment is found or until the crisis is resolved.

Mental Health First Aid Guidelines (Australia)

  • These guidelines are designed to help members of the public to provide first aid related to a range of developing mental disorders and mental health crisis situations including to someone who has experienced a traumatic event.

Line Managers’ Resource: A practical guide to managing and supporting people with mental health problems in the workplace (PDF), Department of Health, United Kingdom

  • This resource has been developed by Shift, the United Kingdom`s Department of Health programme to reduce the stigma and discrimination directed towards people with mental health problems. It is part of Shift’s ‘Action on Stigma’ initiative aimed at supporting employers to promote good mental health and reduce discrimination.

PTSD Coach, Department of National Defence, Government of Canada

  • PTSD Coach is a Mobile App for military personnel and their families which can help them learn about and manage symptoms that may occur after trauma.

Operational Stress Injury Social Support program, Department of National Defence, Government of Canada

  • The Operational Stress Injury Social Support Program is a Department of National Defence and Veterans Affairs Canada partnership, created in 2001 by Lieutenant-Colonel Stéphane Grenier with a mandate to develop a national peer-support network and provide education and training to effect an institutional cultural change regarding the realities of operational stress injuries. The program, for example, includes a Speaker’s Bureau to impact cultural change.

Tema Conter Memorial Trust

  • PTSD related resources, fact sheets, and guides.

Guidelines for the Management of Conditions Specifically Related to Stress, World Health Organization

  • In response to numerous requests from health care providers, the World Health Organization released new clinical protocols and guidelines on treating the mental health consequences of trauma and loss.

Follow-up and Support

Innovative return-to-work program, Niagara Health system in partnership with union partners

  • The Niagara Health System in partnership with its local unions, Ontario Nurses’ Association, Service Employees International Union and Ontario Public Service Employees Unions, is undertaking what has been described as an innovative Return-to-Work and Primary Prevention Program aimed at preventing injuries and illnesses by maintaining a safe and healthy workplace, and at helping injured employees return to a productive and safe work environment.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Chapitre V : Ressources

  • Diffusion : octobre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : octobre 2014

Prévention, éducation, sensibilisation

Santé et sécurité psychologique - Guide de l'employeur, Commission de la santé mentale du Canada

  • Ce guide est destiné aux employeurs et vise à protéger la santé et la sécurité psychologique de leurs employés. Ce rapport inclut, entre autres, des renseignements sur la prévention d'un point de vue primaire, secondaire et tertiaire, et sur l'accroissement de la résilience.

Copenhagen Psychosocial Questionnaire (en anglais seulement), National Research Centre for the Working Environment (NRCWE), Danemark

  • Le NRCWE a élaboré le Copenhagen Psychosocial Questionnaire qui porte sur l'environnement psychologique en milieu de travail. Il s'agit d'un outil conçu dans le but d'évaluer et d'améliorer l'environnement psychologique en milieu de travail. L'outil est composé de trois questionnaires qui abordent chacun des groupes cibles différents.

La santé mentale au travail (en anglais seulement), Association canadienne pour la santé mentale

  • Le programme La santé mentale au travail est un programme offert au niveau national qui accroît la capacité des lieux de travail canadiens à faire face aux problèmes liés à la santé mentale en milieu de travail. L'accent est mis sur les solutions mises de l'avant par l'employeur et le soutien aux employés.

Stress Prevention at Work Checkpoint (en anglais seulement), Bureau international du travail (BIT)

  • Ce manuel du BIT comprend des points de contrôle faciles à mettre en application permettant de repérer les facteurs de stress de la vie au travail et d'atténuer leurs effets néfastes. Il sert également de guide pour faire un lien entre l'évaluation des risques liés au lieu de travail et le processus de prévention du stress. Le manuel comprend les bonnes pratiques pour les entreprises et les organismes qui aimeraient inclure la prévention du stress à leurs systèmes de gestion et leur politique globale de santé et de sécurité au travail.

Formation de soldats résilients (PDF; en anglais seulement), Le Journal de l'Armée

  • Cette étude cherche à mieux cerner les facteurs liés à la résilience qui font que certaines personnes sont moins susceptibles de développer des troubles associés au stress mental, de manière à en savoir davantage sur la résilience.

En route vers la préparation mentale (RVPM) (en anglais seulement), Forces armées canadiennes

  • Ce programme de formation des Forces armées canadiennes englobe tous les cours sur la résilience et la santé mentale qui sont intégrés dans la carrière des membres des Forces armées canadiennes, y compris ceux qui leur sont fournis dans le cadre du cycle de déploiement.

Mental Injury Tools for Ontario Workers (en anglais seulement), Mental Injury Tool Group

  • Ce guide et cette trousse de ressources fournissent aux travailleurs des connaissances de base et constituent un point de départ pour en apprendre davantage à propos du stress associé au milieu de travail et de la manière dont il peut être géré. La trousse met l'accent sur la prévention primaire des facteurs associés au lieu de travail qui affectent l'état de santé des travailleurs.

Hi, My Name is Dave, par Dave McFadden (en anglais seulement), Police Association of Ontario Magazine, 39

  • Dave McFadden partage ses expériences personnelles afin d'encourager les autres à reconnaître certains des signes et symptômes chez les autres et eux-mêmes, et à obtenir de l'aide.

Partenaires pour la santé mentale

  • Partenaires pour la santé mentale est un organisme national sans but lucratif qui vise à lancer un mouvement social à l'égard de la santé mentale. C'est la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada qui a constitué le point de départ de Partenaires pour la santé mentale.

Rapport d'impact de 2012-2013 (PDF), Partenaires pour la santé mentale

  • Partenaires pour la santé mentale, un organisme sans but lucratif, a publié le Rapport d'impact pour mettre en valeur ses principaux jalons atteints d'avril 2012 à mars 2013, et faire état des progrès réalisés envers sa mission qui est de réaliser des changements à l'égard de la santé mentale.

Norme sur la Santé et sécurité psychologiques en milieu de travail soutenue par le Groupe CSA et le Bureau de normalisation du Québec, en collaboration avec la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada

  • Cette norme nationale aide les employeurs de toutes les tailles et de tous les secteurs à promouvoir une bonne santé mentale et à prévenir les préjudices psychologiques pour chaque employé. Pour y parvenir, la norme fournit les lignes directrices, les ressources et les outils nécessaires pour créer un milieu de travail psychologiquement sain.

Conseils locaux de prévention du suicide

  • Les conseils locaux de prévention du suicide peuvent offrir des ressources pertinentes, notamment des ressources relatives au traitement. Consulter le site Web du Waterloo Region Suicide Prevention Council à titre d'exemple.

Suicide…it's time for firefighters to talk about it! (en anglais seulement) par Scott Chisholm, pompier de Thunder Bay, Ontario Professional Fire Fighter Association Magazine, été 2013

  • L'article présente des outils destinés à aider les pompiers à comprendre la santé mentale et le suicide, et à en parler.

Intervention à la suite d'un événement

Faire avancer la cause du soutien par les pairs, Rapport présenté au comité du projet de soutien par les pairs en matière de santé mentale de la commission de la santé mentale du Canada (CSMC)

  • Ce rapport fournit une description du soutien par les pairs au Canada et dans d'autres pays. Il fait valoir le soutien par les pairs et fait des recommandations à la CSMC sur la façon dont elle pourrait favoriser le développement du soutien par les pairs au Canada.

Homewood Health Centre's Program for Traumatic Stress Recovery (en anglais seulement)

  • Le programme de rétablissement à la suite d'un stress traumatique du Homewood Health Centre est l'un des rares programmes d'hospitalisation des patients du genre au Canada.

Premiers Soins en Santé mentale Canada

  • Les Premiers soins en santé mentale constituent l’aide procurée aux personnes en voie de développer un problème de santé mentale ou traversant une crise liée à la santé mentale. Tout comme les premiers soins physiques apportés aux personnes blessées physiquement, ces soins sont prodigués jusqu’à ce qu’un traitement approprié soit appliqué ou jusqu’à ce que la crise soit passée.

Mental Health First Aid Guidelines (Australie)

  • Ces lignes directrices sont conçues pour aider les membres du public à offrir des premiers soins pour une vaste gamme de troubles mentaux en développement et de crises liées à la santé mentale, notamment les soins offerts à une personne ayant vécu un événement traumatisant.

Line Managers’ Resource: A practical guide to managing and supporting people with mental health problems in the workplace (PDF; en anglais seulement), ministère de la Santé, Royaume-Uni

  • Cette ressource a été mise au point par Shift, le programme du ministère de la Santé du Royaume-Uni, pour combattre la stigmatisation et la discrimination dont les personnes souffrant de troubles de santé mentale sont victimes. Ce guide fait partie de l'initiative « Action on Stigma » de Shift visant à offrir du soutien aux employeurs afin qu'ils puissent promouvoir une bonne santé mentale et réduire la discrimination.

Coach ESPT, ministère de la Défense nationale, gouvernement du Canada

  • Coach ESPT est une application mobile destinée au personnel militaire et à leurs familles qui peut les aider à mieux connaître et à gérer les symptômes qui peuvent survenir à la suite d'un traumatisme.

Programme Soutien social – Blessures de stress opérationnel (SSBSO), ministère de la Défense nationale, gouvernement du Canada

  • Le programme SSBSO est un partenariat entre le ministère de la Défense nationale et Anciens combattants Canada. Il a été créé en 2001 par le lieutenant-colonel Stéphane Grenier avec pour mandat de créer un réseau national de soutien par les pairs et de fournir des outils éducatifs et de la formation de manière à engendrer un changement culturel institutionnel à l'égard des réalités entourant les blessures liées au stress opérationnel. Par exemple, le programme comprend un Bureau des conférenciers visant à favoriser les changements culturels.

Tema Conter Memorial Trust (en anglais seulement)

  • Ressources, fiches de renseignements et guides portant sur le TSPT.

Guidelines for the Management of Conditions Specifically Related to Stress (en anglais seulement), Organisation mondiale de la santé

  • En réponse à de nombreuses demandes de la part des fournisseurs de soins de santé, l'Organisation mondiale de la santé a publié de nouveaux protocoles cliniques et de nouvelles lignes directrices sur le traitement des conséquences des traumatismes et des pertes sur la santé mentale.

Suivi et soutien

Programme innovateur de retour au travail, Système de santé de Niagara en collaboration avec les syndicats partenaires (en anglais seulement)

  • Le Système de santé de Niagara, en collaboration avec les syndicats locaux, l'Association des infirmières de l'Ontario, le Service Employees International Union et le Syndicat des employées et employés de la fonction publique de l’Ontario, lance ce qui a été décrit comme un programme innovateur de retour au travail et un programme de prévention primaire visant à prévenir les blessures et les maladies en maintenant un lieu de travail sécuritaire et sain, ainsi qu'à aider les employés blessés à réintégrer leurs fonctions dans un milieu de travail productif et sécuritaire.

précédent | suivant