Table of Contents | Print This Page

Chapter I: Roundtable Process

  • Issued: October 2014
  • Content last reviewed: October 2014

Why a roundtable?

On September 28, 2012, the government of Ontario announced the launching of a roundtable to help workers who suffer from job-related post-traumatic mental stress.

The aim of the roundtable on job-related traumatic mental stress (TMS) was to help promote healthier, more productive workplaces across Ontario. The roundtable brought together employer and labour representatives from high-risk sectors, such as police, emergency medical services and transit services, where workers may, as a result of their job, be at risk of developing a TMS injury, such as post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). (See Appendix A for a full list of the organizations from which the members were drawn.)

The roundtable focus was on:

  • Finding the best ways to promote awareness, education and training initiatives.
  • Identifying and sharing approaches and best practices to deal with TMS in theworkplace through prevention, early diagnosis and intervention.

Mental health is a significant challenge across workplaces. The Canadian Mental Health Commission has reported that, in any given year, one in five people in Canada experiences a mental health problem or illness, with a cost to the economy of well in excess of 50 billion dollars.[1] Mental illness is responsible for a significant loss of potential labour supply, higher rates of unemployment, costs associated with disability insurance programs, as well as losses in productivity due to sickness and absence from work. Mental health problems and illnesses typically account for approximately 30 per cent of short- and long-term disability claims.[2]

The Ministry of Labour (MOL) is committed to encouraging workplace parties to work together to develop strong workplace practices to promote the prevention of workplace injuries and illnesses. This includes reducing the risk of workers developing traumatic mental stress.

Roundtable objectives

The roundtable on TMS was the MOL’s first initiative of its kind.

Several objectives were outlined in the Terms of Reference document that was shared with roundtable members:

  • To raise awareness of work-related TMS, which includes post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), as a workplace issue.
  • To facilitate knowledge exchange of best practices across sectors where workers may be at risk of developing work-related TMS injuries such as post-traumatic stress disorder.
  • To identify and explore best practices at the local, national and international levels.

The roundtable met six times over the course of approximately one year. It met for the first time on November 28, 2012, and the final meeting took place on September 25, 2013.

Shaping the dialogue: Topics identified by roundtable members

At the first meeting on November 28, 2012, roundtable members identified key topics of interest to them.

The topics identified generally fell under one or more of the following overarching categories or stages:

  • Prevention of work-related TMS disorders;
  • Response following work-related traumatic incidences; and
  • Follow-up and support in the workplace for workers who have suffered a workplace traumatic event.

What was also heard at the opening roundtable meeting was that it would be important in the roundtable discussions to consider the impact WSIB processes have on workers who have experienced a traumatic event, and to consider where there may be room for improvements, as well as the role of government, such as MOL’s role in supporting prevention.[3]

Roundtable members agreed that roundtable discussions would be guided by this overarching framework with a focus on the three stages along a continuum – prevention, response, and follow-up and support. The continuum for the multi-sector discussion on TMS is illustrated here:

Prevention > Response > Follow-up and support

Key areas of interest identified by roundtable members relating to the three stages of the continuum are presented below.

Prevention

  • Primary prevention
  • Understanding the range of causes of post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Educating employees early in career
  • Need for better statistics

Response

  • Early intervention and treatment after an event
  • Early diagnosis and continuum of injury
  • Access to psychiatrists
  • Intervention following a traumatic event

Follow-up and support

  • Return to work supports/recovery
  • Recurrence upon return to work
  • Spectrum of trauma related illnesses

Cross-cutting themes

Below are some cross-cutting themes or areas of interest relating to all three stages:

  • Leadership within organizations
  • Government leadership and role of government
  • Need to change the culture of organizations
  • Diversity of approaches (situational/occupational)
  • Knowledge exchange between organizations
  • Broader impact on individuals, families, economy, organizations, society
  • WSIB supports and opportunities for improvement
  • Barriers to support (e.g. geographical, smaller workplaces)

Roundtable members agreed on a number of key questions to explore under each of the three stages in the continuum. The process was not designed to arrive at a consensus on each question but instead the intention was to generate dialogue and ideas.

In addition to engaging in discussion, the roundtable members were also interested in hearing from mental health experts on TMS. In this regard, the roundtable was fortunate to have been able to draw on the expertise of Dr. Ash Bender and Dr. Rakesh Jetly for several of its meetings.[4]

Written report of the roundtable proceedings

The intent of the roundtable was to facilitate open and frank discussion on the issue of TMS. In this spirit, discussion groups on the various questions were not struck along any formal organizational lines, and the wide range of views and ideas that were expressed by individual members from workplaces, sectors and government during group discussions are presented in the following sections of this report, but are not attributed to specific members or organizations.

The purpose of this report is to reflect the ideas generated in the discussions that took place during the six roundtable meetings. As indicated above, the process was not intended to reach, and does not reflect, consensus. The report also does not evaluate or assess the feasibility of ideas discussed during the meetings, such as the effectiveness of peer support programs. The purpose of the report, therefore, is to capture the range of insights, experiences, and perspectives of the roundtable members.

The range of ideas generated through this open dialogue are provided for the consideration of interested individuals and organizations, and are intended to spark discussions and actions in the sectors and organizations that participated in the roundtable process, other sectors where traumatic mental stress incidences are likely to occur, as well as for consideration by government.

Previous | Next

[1] Smetanin, P., Stiff, D., Briante, C., Adair, C., Ahmad, S. & Khan, M. (2011). The life and economic impact of major mental illnesses in Canada: 2011 to 2041. RiskAnalytica, on behalf of the Mental Health Commission of Canada.

[2] Sairanen, S., Matzanke, D., & Smeall, D. (2011). The business case: Collaborating to help employees maintain their mental well-being. Healthcare Papers, 11, 78–84.

[3] The WSIB determines entitlement for individuals who have been clinically diagnosed as a result of a work-related traumatic event, subject to meeting certain criteria.

[4] Dr. Ash Bender, MD, FRCPC, is a staff psychiatrist and Clinic Head in the Work, Stress and Health Program at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health in Toronto and is an Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto. Colonel Rakesh Jetly, OMM, CD, MD, FRCPC, is a Senior Psychiatrist and Mental Health Advisor with the Canadian Forces to the CF Surgeon General. He is also an associate professor of psychiatry at Dalhousie University, Queen's University, and the University of Ottawa.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Chapitre I : Processus de table ronde

  • Diffusion : octobre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : octobre 2014

Pourquoi une table ronde?

Le 28 septembre 2012, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a annoncé la création d'une table ronde afin d'aider les travailleurs qui souffrent d'un stress mental traumatique associé au travail.

L'objectif de cette table ronde était d'aider à promouvoir des milieux de travail plus sains et plus productifs en Ontario. La table ronde rassemblait des employeurs et des représentants syndicaux des secteurs à risque élevé, notamment les services policiers, les services médicaux d'urgence et les services de transport en commun, où les travailleurs courent le risque de souffrir d'un stress mental traumatique dans le cadre de leur travail, notamment un trouble de stress post-traumatique (TSPT). (Voir l'annexe A pour consulter la liste des organismes d'où les membres de la table ronde étaient issus.)

La table ronde avait pour objectifs :

  • d'établir les meilleurs moyens de promouvoir les initiatives de sensibilisation, d'éducation et de formation;
  • de déterminer et partager les approches et les pratiques exemplaires permettant defaire face au stress mental traumatique associé au milieu de travail grâce à laprévention, ainsi qu'au diagnostic et au traitement précoces.

La santé mentale constitue un enjeu de taille dans tous les milieux de travail. La Commission de la santé mentale du Canada a indiqué qu'au cours d'une année, une personne sur cinq au Canada se retrouve aux prises avec un trouble de santé mentale ou une maladie mentale, ce qui coûte à l'économie bien au-delà de 50 milliards de dollars[1]. Les maladies mentales sont responsables d'une perte de main-d'oeuvre potentielle significative, de taux de chômage plus élevés, des coûts associés aux programmes d'assurance invalidité, ainsi que des pertes de productivité liées à la maladie et à l'absence du travail. Les troubles de santé mentale et les maladies mentales représentent généralement 30 pour cent des demandes d'indemnisation pour invalidité à court et à long terme[2].

Le ministère du Travail (MTR) est déterminé à encourager les parties en milieu de travail à travailler de concert pour mettre en oeuvre de solides pratiques favorisant la prévention des blessures et des maladies professionnelles, et ainsi réduire les risques que les travailleurs souffrent d'un stress mental traumatique.

Objectifs de la table ronde

La table ronde sur le stress mental traumatique constitue la première initiative du genre mise de l'avant par le MTR.

Plusieurs objectifs ont été énoncés dans le cadre de référence distribué aux membres de la table ronde :

  • Accroître la sensibilisation à l'égard du stress mental traumatique associé au milieu de travail, notamment le trouble de stress post-traumatique (TSPT), à titre d'enjeu en milieu de travail.
  • Faciliter l'échange des connaissances en matière de pratiques exemplaires dans les différents secteurs où les travailleurs risquent de souffrir d'un stress mental traumatique associé au milieu de travail, comme un trouble de stress post-traumatique (TSPT).
  • Déterminer et étudier les pratiques exemplaires à l'échelle locale, nationale et internationale.

La table ronde s'est réunie à six reprises sur une période d'environ un an. Les membres se sont réunis pour la première fois le 28 novembre 2012 et pour la dernière fois, le 25 septembre 2013.

Façonner le dialogue : Sujets déterminés par les membres de la table ronde

À la première réunion, qui s’est tenue le 28 novembre 2012, les membres de la table ronde ont déterminé les principaux sujets qui présentaient un intérêt pour eux.

Ces sujets s'inscrivaient dans une ou plusieurs des grandes catégories ou étapes suivantes :

  • Prévention des troubles de stress mental traumatique associés au milieu de travail;
  • Intervention à la suite d'un événement traumatisant associé au milieu de travail;
  • Suivi et soutien en milieu de travail pour les travailleurs qui ont vécu un événement traumatisant dans le cadre de leur travail.

Les membres ont aussi soulevé, durant la première rencontre de la table ronde, qu'il serait important de tenir compte, dans le cadre des discussions, des retombées découlant des processus de la CSPAAT pour les travailleurs qui ont vécu un événement traumatisant, et de prendre en considération les aspects où il y a place à l'amélioration ainsi que le rôle du gouvernement, notamment le rôle du MTR envers le soutien de la prévention[3].

Les membres ont accepté que les discussions de la table ronde soient guidées par ce cadre de travail général avec une attention particulière sur les trois étapes du processus : la prévention, l'intervention et le suivi et le soutien. Le processus utilisé pour les discussions multisectorielles sur le stress mental traumatique est illustré ici :

Prévention > Intervention > Suivi et soutien

Les principaux champs d'intérêt déterminés par les membres de la table ronde en lien avec les trois étapes du processus sont présentés ci-dessous :

Prévention

  • Prévention primaire
  • Comprendre les différentes causes du TSPT
  • Sensibilisation des employés en début de carrière
  • Besoin de meilleures statistiques

Intervention

  • Intervention et traitement précoces après un événement
  • Diagnostic précoce et étapes du trouble
  • Accès à des psychiatres
  • Intervention à la suite d'un événement traumatisant

Suivi et soutien

  • Soutien pour le retour au travail / rétablissement
  • Récurrence à la suite du retour au travail
  • Éventail des maladies associées à un traumatisme

Thèmes de portée générale

La liste ci-dessous présente les thèmes ou les champs d'intérêt de portée générale qui touchent les trois étapes

  • Leadership au sein des organismes
  • Leadership de la part du gouvernement et rôle du gouvernement
  • Besoin de changer la culture des organismes
  • Diversité des approches (situationnelle/professionnelle)
  • Échange de connaissances entre les organismes
  • Incidence plus vaste sur les particuliers, les familles, l'économie, les organismes, la société
  • Soutien de la CSPAAT et possibilités d'amélioration
  • Obstacles au soutien (p. ex., situation géographique, lieux de travail plus petits)

Les membres de la table ronde se sont entendus sur un certain nombre de questions clés à étudier en fonction de chacune des étapes du processus. L'exercice ne visait pas à arriver à un consensus pour chaque question, mais plutôt à susciter un dialogue et à générer des idées.

En plus de s'engager dans des discussions, les membres de la table ronde étaient particulièrement intéressés d'entendre ce que les experts en santé mentale avaient à dire sur le stress mental traumatique. À cet égard, les membres de la table ronde ont pu bénéficier de l'expertise du Dr Ash Bender et du Dr Rakesh Jetly qui ont participé à plusieurs de leurs réunions[4].

Compte rendu écrit de la table ronde

Le but de la table ronde était de faciliter des discussions ouvertes et franches sur les problèmes liés au stress mental traumatique. Dans cet esprit, les groupes de discussion sur les différents sujets n'avaient aucune ligne directrice organisationnelle formelle à respecter, et les différentes vues et idées exprimées par les membres individuels issus des milieux de travail, des secteurs et du gouvernement durant les discussions de groupe sont présentées dans les prochaines sections du présent rapport, mais ne sont pas attribuées à des membres ou organismes spécifiques.

L'objectif de ce rapport est d'examiner les idées générées durant les discussions tenues durant les six réunions de la table ronde. Comme indiqué ci-dessus, le processus ne visait pas à atteindre ou à présenter un consensus. Le rapport n'évalue pas non plus la faisabilité des idées discutées durant les réunions, notamment l'efficacité des programmes de soutien par les pairs. L'objectif du rapport est donc de rendre compte du large éventail de points de vue, d'expériences et de perspectives présentés par les membres de la table ronde.

Les différentes idées générées dans le cadre de ce dialogue ouvert sont fournies aux fins d'examen par les personnes et les organismes intéressés, et ont pour objectif de susciter des discussions et de pousser les secteurs et les organismes qui ont participé au processus de table ronde ainsi que les autres secteurs où des événements pouvant causer un stress mental traumatique sont susceptibles de se produire à agir; ces idées sont également fournies aux fins d'examen par le gouvernement.

précédent | suivant

[1] Smetanin, P., Stiff, D., Briante, C., Adair, C., Ahmad, S. et Khan, M., The life and economic impact of major mental illnesses in Canada: 2011 to 2041, Risk Analytica, on behalf of the Mental Health Commission of Canada (2011).

[2] Sairanen, S., Matzanke, D., et Smeall, D., The business case: Collaborating to help employees maintain their mental well-being, Healthcare Papers, no 11, pp. 78 à 84, (2011).

[3] La CSPAAT détermine l'admissibilité des personnes qui ont reçu un diagnostic clinique à la suite d'un événement traumatisant associé au milieu de travail, sous réserve de certains critères.

[4] Le Dr Ash Bender, M.D., FRCPC, est psychiatre et chef de clinique du Work, Stress and Health Program (programme sur le travail, le stress et la santé) au Centre for Addiction and Mental Health de Toronto et est professeur adjoint à l'Université de Toronto. Le colonel Rakesh Jetly, O.M.M., C.D., M.D., FRCPC, est psychiatre principal et conseiller en santé mentale auprès du médecin général des Forces canadiennes. Il est également professeur agrégé de psychiatrie à l'Université de Dalhousie, à l'Université de Queen et à l'Université d'Ottawa.