Table of Contents | Print This Page

Step 1: Make a Difference

Note: This document does not constitute legal advice. To determine your rights and obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA or the Act) and its regulations, please contact your legal counsel or refer to the legislation.

Why the supervisor is so important

When a person is hired or promoted to the position of a supervisor, it usually means a pay raise. But it also means more responsibilities, including legal responsibilities relating to the health and safety of the workers under your supervision. It's a natural thing for a new supervisor to wonder if he or she is up to the challenge. In fact, asking yourself that question will help you figure out what additional information or instruction you might need to do your job well.

People expect a lot from a supervisor, no matter how big or small the workplace is. A healthy and safe workplace matters to everyone, and the OHSA expects supervisors to be the front-line guardians of healthy and safe workers, whether the work is performed on a construction project, in a healthcare facility, an industrial establishment or in a mine. Every good employer also expects that from you, and so do the people you supervise.

A supervisor has to play a lot of different roles, often at the same time. Think about the roles that people play at a basketball game.

From the list below, what roles do you think apply to a supervisor's work?

  • Coach
  • Trainer
  • Referee
  • Cheerleader
  • Captain
  • All of the above

All of the above. Chances are you will be called upon to play any and all of the above roles as you strive to keep your workplace healthy, safe and productive.

As a supervisor, you are a crucial part of your workplace’s Internal Responsibility System. This is a very important concept for workplace health and safety and you will learn more about this throughout this training.

The number of people in Ontario who suffer a work-related illness or injury each year would fill the seats of a dozen big hockey arenas. New and young workers in Ontario are four times more likely to get hurt during the first month on the job than at any other time. They often aren’t told about or understand the hazards of the job. They don’t know what to expect from their employer and supervisor. Sometimes they aren’t sure what questions to ask; sometimes they don’t even know who to ask. That’s where you come in. It’s a big challenge, but it’s also a big opportunity to make a difference.

Your duties as a supervisor

Under the OHSA, every supervisor is also considered to be a worker and has the same workplace duties and rights as a worker. But the OHSA also gives you specific duties related to your role as a supervisor, including

  • Telling workers about hazards and dangers and responding to their concerns
  • Showing workers how to work safely and making sure they follow the law, and the workplace health and safety policies and procedures
  • Making sure workers wear and use the right protective equipment
  • Doing everything reasonable in the circumstances to protect workers from being hurt or getting a work related illness

The OHSA requires every employer to prepare a written occupational health and safety policy for that workplace and to develop and maintain a program to implement that policy. One of your tasks as a supervisor is to put that program into action. Here is how you do it:

1. You know the OHSA and the various Regulations attached to it that apply to your workplace

A supervisor who knows and understands the OHSA and Regulations can make sure workers follow the law, and can identify ways to make the workplace safer. The various Regulations under the OHSA contain detailed requirements about how to make the workplace safe. For example, several Regulations, such as the Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) Regulation, explain what workers need in order to work safely with chemical and other hazardous materials or designated substances – things like training, warning labels on products and information sheets. There are also Regulations that specify requirements for different types of workplaces, such as construction projects, health care facilities, industrial establishments and mines.

2. You make sure workers wear and use the right protective equipment

Your employer is responsible for telling you what types of protective equipment, device or clothing they require workers to use or wear, and both of you are responsible for making sure the workers are using or wearing it. That means you need to know and understand the requirements in the Act and its regulations about equipment, devices and clothing, as well as your employer’s health and safety policy, program and work procedures.

3. You tell workers about the hazards in their work

Every workplace has hazards. Hazards include anything in the workplace that can hurt workers or make them sick. A supervisor must know and be able to explain the actual and potential dangers involved in the work he or she is supervising, and ensure that the workers do their work safely. A few Regulations even say that you have to give written instructions that tell the workers what steps and procedures must be followed to stay safe. You need to know about these Regulations if they apply to the work you are supervising. Your general duties as a supervisor also apply to the prevention of workplace violence.

4. You plan the work so that it can be done safely

The people you supervise are relying on your knowledge and experience of the work to make sure it’s done safely. The OHSA requires employers to make sure you have the necessary competence to be a supervisor. Later we will look at this responsibility in more detail.

5. You make sure workers know and follow through on their health and safety duties

It's your job to monitor the work, to remind workers of their health and safety duties if necessary, to show them how to work safely, and to enforce the employer’s workplace health and safety policies and procedures if they aren't being followed.

Doing the five things we have just reviewed will help you to carry out your duties under the OHSA.

To make sure you're doing your job right, here are a few important questions you should ask yourself:

  • Do I understand the OHSA and the Regulations that apply to the work we do?
  • Can I explain these sections of the OHSA and regulations to the workers?
  • Am I informing the workers about hazards?
  • Have I planned the work so that it can be done safely?
  • Am I making sure the workers wear or use the protective gear, clothing and devices as required by the employer?

Can you think of any other questions you should ask yourself?

Other good questions to ask yourself are:

  • Am I responding to and documenting problems that the workers are bringing to my attention?
  • Am I making sure equipment is operating properly?
  • Am I keeping an eye on the work and showing how to do it properly?
  • Am I always looking for new hazards that may come up?

Duties of the employer and the worker

As you can see, a supervisor has a lot of serious responsibilities. To carry out those responsibilities you need the help of your employer and of the people you supervise. The Occupational Health and Safety Act gives duties to employers and workers that will help you do your job.

The OHSA says it's the employer's duty to appoint a "competent person" as a supervisor. To be a competent supervisor under the OHSA, you must:

  1. Have knowledge, training and experience to organize work for your workers
  2. Be familiar with the OHSA and the regulations that apply to the work you are supervising
  3. Have knowledge of any potential or actual danger to health or safety in the workplace

Your employer must ensure that you are competent before you start supervising. This includes ensuring that you know the OHSA and the Regulations that apply to the work, and that you know about any potential or actual dangers to health and safety in the work you are supervising. If your workplace is a small one and the supervisor and employer are the same person, then that one person must comply with both employer and supervisor duties.

Here are some other things the OHSA says the employer must do:

Where there are more than five workers regularly employed in the workplace:

  • Create and review on an annual basis a health and safety policy
  • Develop a program to implement that policy
  • Post the policy in the workplace.

For all workplaces:

  • Make sure workers and supervisors know about hazards in the work they do and provide them with information, instruction and supervision to protect their health and safety.
  • Take steps to eliminate hazards in the workplace, and where elimination is not possible, to control them.
  • Make sure workers use and wear protective equipment, material and devices where required by the Regulations
  • Do everything reasonable in the circumstances to protect workers from being hurt or getting a work-related illness.

If you work in construction, it’s important to know that the constructor of the project also has duties to keep the workplace safe. This means that on a construction site, the constructor and your employer both have distinct responsibilities under the law. Sometimes the constructor is also your employer, in which case that one person must comply with both constructor and employer duties.

The OHSA also gives workers certain duties that support your role as supervisor:

  • Workers have to follow the law and workplace health and safety policies and procedures
  • Workers have to use and wear the protective equipment required by the employer
  • Workers have to act in a way that won’t hurt themselves or anyone else
  • If workers see anything that's unsafe or that goes against the Act, they have to tell you or the employer about it, so that you can take the necessary steps with your employer to solve the problem.

They have to report to you or the employer the absence of or any defect in any equipment or protective device of which they become aware.

As a supervisor, you can make a difference in your workplace, but you can't do it alone. You need your employer and the workers you supervise to do their part to keep the workplace safe. Like you, they need to be aware of their health and safety duties under the OHSA and regulations. That's the first step in creating an effective Internal Responsibility System. Prevention starts here, but it doesn't end here.

Step 1 Quiz

Before we move on to Step 2 of the program, here is a short quiz on the material we have just covered.

TRUE or FALSE?

  1. The only duty of a supervisor that’s included in the Occupational Health and Safety Act is the duty to “take every precaution reasonable in the circumstances” to protect workers.
  2. The OHSA requires the employer to appoint a "competent person" as a supervisor. By "competent" the OHSA means that a supervisor must, among other things, have the necessary knowledge, training and experience to carry out his or her health and safety duties.
  3. As a supervisor, you have the greatest responsibility for health and safety in your workplace.
  4. New and young workers need a supervisor's special attention and guidance, especially during their first few weeks on the job.
  5. If workers see something that's unsafe, the OHSA says they need to solve the problem.

Answers to Step 1 Quiz

  1. False. Section 27 of the OHSA specifies the five key supervisor duties.
  2. True.
  3. False. Because employers have the most authority in the workplace, they have the greatest responsibility for health and safety. Supervisors are next in line, then the workers.
  4. True.
  5. False. The OHSA says the workers need to report the problem to you so that you can take the necessary steps with the employer to solve the problem.

Previous | Next

ISBN: 978-1-4606-0636-0 (Print)
ISBN: 978-1-4606-0637-7 (HTML)
ISBN: 978-1-4606-0638-4 (PDF)

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Étape 1 : Faire bouger les choses

Les raisons pour lesquelles le superviseur est si important

Lorsqu’une personne est embauchée comme superviseur ou promue au poste de superviseur, une augmentation de salaire s’ensuit généralement. Cependant, cela signifie également davantage de responsabilités, notamment des responsabilités légales liées à la santé et à la sécurité des travailleurs sous votre supervision. C’est naturel pour un nouveau superviseur de se demander s’il est prêt à relever ces défis. En fait, vous poser cette question vous aidera à songer aux renseignements ou aux directives supplémentaires dont vous pourriez avoir besoin pour bien faire votre travail.

Les gens ont des attentes élevées à l’égard d’un superviseur, quelle que soit la taille du lieu de travail. Un lieu de travail sain et sécuritaire importe à tous, et la LSST s’attend à ce que les superviseurs soient les intervenants de première ligne des travailleurs en santé et en sécurité, que le travail soit effectué dans le cadre d’un projet de construction, dans un établissement de soins de santé, dans un établissement industriel ou dans une mine. Tous les bons employeurs attendent en outre la même chose de vous, tout comme les travailleurs que vous supervisez.

Un superviseur doit jouer de nombreux rôles différents, souvent en même temps. Réfléchissez aux rôles que les gens assument pendant un match de basket-ball.

Quels rôles dans la liste ci-dessous qui, selon vous, s'appliquent au travail d'un superviseur?

  • Entraîneur
  • Formateur
  • Arbitre
  • Meneur de claque
  • Capitaine
  • Toutes les réponses ci-dessus

Toutes les réponses ci-dessus. Il est probable que vous serez appelé à assumer tous les rôles susmentionnés lorsque vous vous efforcerez de veiller à la santé, à la sécurité et à la productivité de votre lieu de travail.

En tant que superviseur, vous constituez une partie essentielle du système de responsabilité interne de votre lieu de travail. Il s’agit d’un concept très important pour la santé et la sécurité du lieu de travail, et vous en apprendrez davantage à ce sujet tout au long de cette formation.

En Ontario, les personnes qui souffrent chaque année d’une maladie ou d’une blessure liée au travail pourraient remplir les sièges d’une douzaine de grands arénas. Les nouveaux et jeunes travailleurs de l’Ontario courent jusqu’à quatre fois plus de risques d’être blessés au cours de leur premier mois de travail qu’à toute autre période. Souvent, on ne leur dit rien au sujet des dangers que comporte leur travail, ou ils ne les comprennent pas bien. Ils ne savent pas à quoi s’attendre de leur employeur et de leur superviseur. Parfois, ils ne savent pas quelles questions poser. Parfois, ils ne savent même pas à qui s’adresser. C’est là que vous entrez en jeu. Il s’agit d’un défi de taille, mais il s’agit également d’une importante occasion de faire une différence.

Vos devoirs en tant que superviseur

Qui plus est, en vertu de la LSST, chaque superviseur est considéré comme un travailleur et accomplit les mêmes devoirs et jouit des mêmes droits sur le lieu de travail qu’un travailleur. Cependant, la loi confie également au superviseur des devoirs particuliers liés à ses fonctions, notamment :

  • informer les travailleurs des risques et des dangers et répondre à leurs préoccupations;
  • montrer aux travailleurs la manière sécuritaire de faire le travail et s’assurer qu’ils respectent la loi ainsi que les politiques et les pratiques en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail;
  • veiller à ce que les travailleurs portent et utilisent le matériel de protection approprié;
  • faire tout ce qui est raisonnablement possible dans les circonstances pour protéger les travailleurs afin d’éviter qu’ils se blessent ou qu’ils développent une maladie professionnelle.

La LSST exige que chaque employeur formule par écrit sa politique en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail pour ce lieu de travail et élabore et maintienne un programme visant à la mettre en œuvre. L'une de vos tâches à titre de superviseur est de mettre en œuvre ce programme. Voici comment vous pouvez y parvenir :

1. Vous connaissez la LSST et les différents règlements qui s'y rattachent et qui s'appliquent à votre lieu de travail

Un superviseur qui connaît et comprend la LSST et ses règlements peut s'assurer que les travailleurs respectent la loi et peut déterminer des façons de rendre le lieu de travail plus sécuritaire. Les différents règlements pris en application de la LSST contiennent des exigences détaillées sur la façon de rendre le lieu de travail sécuritaire. Par exemple, plusieurs règlements, comme le règlement concernant le Système d'information sur les matières dangereuses utilisées au travail (SIMDUT), expliquent ce que les travailleurs ont besoin de faire afin de manipuler en toute sécurité des produits chimiques et autres matières dangereuses ou substances désignées, y compris la formation, les étiquettes de mise en garde sur les produits et les fiches de renseignements. Il existe en outre des règlements qui prescrivent les exigences concernant différents types de lieux de travail, comme les projets de construction, les établissements de soins de santé, les établissements industriels et les mines.

2. Vous veillez à ce que les travailleurs portent et utilisent le matériel de protection approprié

Il incombe à votre employeur de vous informer des types de matériel, d’appareils ou de vêtements de protection que les travailleurs doivent utiliser ou porter, et vous et votre employeur êtes tenus de veiller à qu’ils les utilisent ou les portent. Cela signifie que vous devez connaître et comprendre les exigences de la loi et de ses règlements concernant le matériel, les appareils et les vêtements, de même que les politiques en matière de santé et de sécurité, les programmes et les pratiques de travail de votre employeur.

3. Vous informez les travailleurs des dangers que comporte leur travail

Chaque lieu de travail comporte des dangers. Ces derniers comprennent tout ce qui, sur le lieu de travail, peut blesser les travailleurs ou les rendre malades. Un superviseur doit connaître les dangers réels et potentiels liés au travail qu’il supervise et doit pouvoir les expliquer et il doit veiller à ce que les travailleurs effectuent leur travail de manière sécuritaire. Quelques règlements stipulent même que le superviseur doit donner des directives écrites informant les travailleurs des étapes et des pratiques qui doivent être mises en oeuvre afin de demeurer en sécurité. Vous devez connaître ces règlements lorsqu’ils s’appliquent au travail que vous supervisez. Vos devoirs généraux en tant que superviseur s’appliquent en outre à la prévention de la violence au travail.

4. Vous planifiez le travail de sorte qu'il puisse être effectué de manière sécuritaire

Les gens que vous supervisez se fient à vos connaissances et à votre expérience de travail pour s’assurer qu’ils font leur travail de manière sécuritaire. La LSST exige qu’un employeur s’assure qu’une personne possède les compétences nécessaires pour être superviseur. (Nous aborderons cette responsabilité en détail un peu plus loin.)

5. Vous vous assurez que les travailleurs connaissent et accomplissent leurs devoirs en matière de santé et de sécurité

Il vous incombe de surveiller le travail, de rappeler aux travailleurs leurs devoirs en matière de santé et de sécurité au besoin, de leur montrer la manière sécuritaire de travailler et d’appliquer les politiques et les pratiques de l’employeur en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail si les devoirs ne sont pas assumés adéquatement.

Assumer les cinq fonctions que nous venons tout juste d’examiner vous aidera à vous acquitter de vos devoirs en vertu de la LSST.

Afin de vous assurer que vous faites bien votre travail, voici quelques questions importantes que vous devriez vous poser :

  • Est-ce que je comprends la LSST et les règlements qui s’appliquent au travail effectué?
  • Puis-je expliquer ces articles de la LSST et de ses règlements aux travailleurs?
  • Ai-je informé les travailleurs des dangers?
  • Ai-je planifié le travail de sorte qu’il puisse être effectué de manière sécuritaire?
  • Ai-je veillé à ce que les travailleurs portent ou utilisent le matériel, les vêtements et les appareils de protection comme l’exige l’employeur?

Pouvez-vous penser à d'autres exemples de questions que vous devriez vous poser?

Voici d'autres bonnes questions à vous poser :

  • Est-ce que je règle les problèmes que les travailleurs portent à mon attention et les ai-je documentés?
  • Me suis-je assuré du fonctionnement adéquat du matériel?
  • Est-ce que je surveille le travail effectué et est-ce que je montre la manière de l'exécuter adéquatement?
  • Suis-je toujours à l'affût des nouveaux dangers qui pourraient survenir?

Devoirs de l'employeur et du travailleur

Comme vous pouvez le constater, les superviseurs assument de nombreuses responsabilités importantes. Pour s’acquitter de ces dernières, ils ont besoin de l’aide de leur employeur et des personnes qu’ils supervisent. La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail impose des devoirs aux employeurs et aux travailleurs qui aideront les superviseurs à faire leur travail.

Elle stipule que l'employeur a le devoir de nommer une « personne compétente » au poste de superviseur. Afin d'être un superviseur compétent en vertu de la LSST, vous devez :

  1. posséder les connaissances, la formation et l'expérience nécessaires pour organiser le travail de vos travailleurs
  2. bien connaître la LSST et les règlements qui s’appliquent au travail que vous supervisez
  3. être conscient de tout danger potentiel ou réel en matière de santé ou de sécurité sur le lieu de travail

Votre employeur doit s'assurer que vous êtes compétent avant que vous commenciez à superviser. Vous devez donc vous assurer que vous connaissez la LSST et les règlements qui s'appliquent au travail et être conscient des dangers potentiels ou réels en matière de santé et de sécurité que comporte le travail que vous supervisez. Si votre lieu de travail est petit et que le superviseur est l'employeur, cette personne doit donc se conformer aux devoirs de l'employeur et du superviseur.

Voici certains des autres devoirs que la LSST impose à l'employeur :

Lorsque plus de cinq travailleurs sont régulièrement employés dans le lieu de travail :

  • élaborer et examiner chaque année sa politique en matière de santé et de sécurité;
  • élaborer un programme visant à mettre en œuvre cette politique;
  • afficher la politique dans le lieu de travail

Pour tous les lieux de travail :

  • s'assurer que les travailleurs et les superviseurs connaissent les dangers liés à leur travail et fournir les renseignements, les directives et la surveillance nécessaires à la protection de leur santé et de leur sécurité;
  • prendre les précautions nécessaires pour éliminer les dangers sur le lieu de travail et, lorsqu'on ne peut pas les éliminer, pour les contrôler;
  • veiller à ce que les travailleurs utilisent et portent le matériel, les matériaux et les appareils de protection lorsque les règlements l'exigent;
  • faire tout ce qui est raisonnablement possible dans les circonstances pour protéger les travailleurs afin d'éviter qu'ils se blessent ou qu'ils développent une maladie professionnelle.

Si vous travaillez dans le domaine de la construction, il est important de savoir que le constructeur du projet accomplit également des devoirs afin de veiller à la sécurité du lieu de travail. Par conséquent, sur un chantier de construction, le constructeur et l’employeur assument tous deux des responsabilités distinctes en vertu de la loi. Parfois, le constructeur est également l’employeur; dans ce cas, cette personne doit se conformer aux devoirs du constructeur et de l’employeur.

La LSST impose en outre aux travailleurs des devoirs qui appuient le rôle de superviseur :

  • Les travailleurs doivent respecter la loi ainsi que les politiques et pratiques relatives à la santé et à la sécurité sur le lieu de travail
  • Les travailleurs doivent utiliser et porter le matériel de protection exigé par l’employeur
  • Les travailleurs doivent travailler et agir de façon à ne pas se blesser ou à ne pas blesser une autre personne
  • Si les travailleurs sont témoins d’une situation dangereuse ou qui enfreint la loi, ils doivent le dire au superviseur ou à l’employeur afin que le superviseur puisse prendre les mesures nécessaires avec l’employeur pour résoudre le problème

Ils doivent signaler, au superviseur ou à l’employeur, l’absence de matériel ou d’appareil de protection ou, si ceux-ci existent, les défectuosités dont ils ont connaissance.

À titre de superviseur, vous pouvez faire une différence dans votre lieu de travail, mais vous ne pouvez pas y parvenir seul. Il faut que votre employeur et les travailleurs que vous supervisez se mettent de la partie pour veiller à la sécurité du lieu de travail. Comme vous, ils doivent connaître leurs devoirs en matière de santé et de sécurité en vertu de la LSST et de ses règlements. Il s’agit de la première étape de la création d’un système de responsabilité interne efficace. La prévention commence ici, mais ne s’arrête pas là.

Étape 1 – Questionnaire

Avant de passer à l'étape 2, voici un petit questionnaire vrai ou faux sur la matière que nous venons de voir.

VRAI ou FAUX?

  1. Le seul devoir d'un superviseur qui est énoncé dans la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail est celui de « prendre toutes les précautions raisonnables dans les circonstances » pour protéger les travailleurs.
  2. La LSST exige à l'employeur de nommer une « personne compétente » au poste de superviseur. Par « compétente », la loi veut dire qu'un superviseur doit, entre autres, posséder les connaissances, la formation et l'expérience nécessaires pour s'acquitter de ses devoirs en matière de santé et de sécurité.
  3. En tant que superviseur, vous assumez la plus grande part de responsabilité en matière de santé et de sécurité sur votre lieu de travail.
  4. Un superviseur doit prêter une attention particulière aux travailleurs nouveaux et jeunes et leur donner des directives particulières, surtout durant leurs premières semaines de travail.
  5. Si les travailleurs sont témoins d'une situation dangereuse, la LSST stipule qu'ils doivent résoudre le problème.

Réponses du Jeu-Questionnaire – Étape 1

  1. Faux. L'article 27 de la LSST précise les cinq principaux devoirs d'un superviseur.
  2. Vrai.
  3. Faux. Étant donné que les employeurs possèdent le plus grand pouvoir sur le lieu de travail, ils assument la plus grande part de responsabilités en matière de santé et de sécurité, suivis des superviseurs, puis des travailleurs.
  4. Vrai.
  5. Faux. La LSST stipule que les travailleurs doivent signaler le problème au superviseur afin que celui-ci puisse prendre les mesures nécessaires avec l'employeur pour résoudre le problème.

précédent | suivant

ISBN: 978-1-4606-0640-7 (version imprimée)
ISBN: 978-1-4606-0641-4 (version HTML)
ISBN: 978-1-4606-0642-1 (version PDF)