Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

3.8 Water Monitoring Programs

  • Issued: September 2014
  • Content last reviewed: September 2014

3.8.1  General information

This program is designed to monitor for fisison and activation products that may be distributed in sources that are used to supply public drinking water. Drinking water is sampled from the water treatment plants (WTPs) within each surveillance area which are closest to the nuclear installations being monitored. Regular sampling of drinking water is an important component of an emergency preparedness program.

The WTPs in the eastern part of the Toronto Surveillance Area are used to monitor drinking water for emissions from the Pickering nuclear generating facility. This is because there are no WTPs in the Pickering Surveillance Area.

Lorne Park and Lakeview WTPs are located in Peel Region, just west of the Toronto boundary. Samples from these facilities, along with tap water samples taken at the Radiation Protection Service, form a subset of the Toronto Surveillance Area called "Toronto-west". This will be referred to in the data tables presented for this section.

Drinking water monitoring in the Bruce Surveillance area consists of two facilities; the Kincardine and Southampton WTPs.

The WTPs for all surveillance areas are listed in Tables 2a and 2b and their locations shown on the respective maps.

3.8.2  Drinking Water Monitoring Program

WTPs personnel collect a fixed volume of treated water every day and combine this to form either weekly or monthly composite samples. The weekly composites are from WTPswithin the Bruce, Darlington, Pickering and Toronto Surveillance Areas. Every four weeks an RPMS staff member collects the weekly composite samples. Monthly water sample composites are collected from WTPs in the Essex and Ottawa Surveillance Areas. At the end of each month, these samples are shipped to the RPMS via courier. Refer to Table 2 for the names of the individual WTPs.

Monthly composite tap water samples are collected at the Radiation Protection Service, Etobicoke. This is done to provide a distribution evaluation sample of drinking water in the Metropolitan Toronto area.

The composites are analysed for tritium using liquid scintillation counting. Once completed, the composites are combined with samples received during the previous three months, to form a quarterly composite. The quarterly composites are screened for gross-α and gross-β activities, and analysed for γ-emitters by gamma spectroscopy. The concentrations of the isotopes Cobalt-60, Iodine-131, Cesium-134 and Cesium-137 are reported in Bq/L.

The routine sampling of drinking water involves the cooperation and support of the WTPs which participate in the ORSP.

3.8.3  Drinking Water Monitoring Results

There were 564 weekly and 108 monthly drinking water samples collected and individually analysed for tritium content. A total of 80 quarterly composites were prepared. As previously described, these were screened for gross-α and gross-β activity, and analysed for γ-emitters by gamma spectroscopy. A total of 1152 analyses were completed on the water samples in 2012. The results of these measurements are summarized in the following tables.

The results of the tritium analysis for drinking water samples that are collected weekly at the water treatment plants in the Bruce, Darlington and Pickering (Toronto) Surveillance Areas are presented in graphical form in Appendix 4. Measurements that were reported as less than the laboratory-MDC of 5 Bq/L are shown on the graphs as 2.5 Bq/L. The graphs have been included to demonstrate the range and variability that is seen in the sampling results from location to location.

Table 4a: Drinking Water Monitoring – Tritium Analysis
Surveillance Area Number of Samples Median Value[ 1 ]
(Bq/L)
Measurements
> DSC[ 2 ]
Bruce 104 8.4 0
Darlington 258 4.4 0
Essex 36 < 5 0
Ottawa 36 < 5 0
Toronto 202 4.3 0
Toronto-West 36 4.5 0

The median concentrations of tritium in drinking water range from 4.3 Bq/L in the Toronto-west Surveillance Area to 8.4 Bq/L in the Bruce Surveillance Area. As in 2011, the upper value presented here is just under 0.10% of the DSC of 7000 Bq/L for tritium in drinking water.

There has been little change in the results from the Bruce and Pickering Surveillance Areas when compared with previous years as shown in Figure 1 "10-year Results – Tritium in Drinking Water". This figure does show there has been a steady decrease in concentration of tritium in drinking water the Darlington Surveillance Area.

The results of the γ analysis, as shown in Table 4b, were consistently less than the MDC for each nuclide throughout all regions. These results remain comparable to measurements made in previous years.

Table 4b: Drinking Water Monitoring – Gamma Analysis
Surveillance Area Number of Samples Co–60
(Bq/L)
I–131
(Bq/L)
Cs–134
(Bq/L)
Cs–137
(Bq/L)
Bruce 8 < 0.2[ 3 ] < 0.6[ 3 ] < 0.7[ 3 ] < 1.0[ 3 ]
Darlington 20 < 0.2[ 3 ] < 0.6[ 3 ] < 0.7[ 3 ] < 1.0[ 3 ]
Essex 12 < 0.2[ 3 ] < 0.6[ 3 ] < 0.7[ 3 ] < 1.0[ 3 ]
Ottawa 12 < 0.2[ 3 ] < 0.6[ 3 ] < 0.7[ 3 ] < 1.0[ 3 ]
Toronto 16 < 0.2[ 3 ] < 0.6[ 3 ] < 0.7[ 3 ] < 1.0[ 3 ]
Toronto-West 12 < 0.2[ 3 ] < 0.6[ 3 ] < 0.7[ 3 ] < 1.0[ 3 ]

In 2012, the results of the gross-α analysis were found to be consistently less than the MDC. While some gross-β activity was detected, the median value remains close to the β-MDC of 0.04 Bq/L. This is far below the gross-βscreening level action concentration of 0.5 Bq/L - established from the Ontario Drinking Water Standards. [R-5] Very little change has been seen in these concentrations when compared with those of 2011 or other years.

Table 4c: Drinking Water Monitoring – Gross-Alpha/Gross-Beta Analysis
Surveillance Area Number of Samples Gross-α
(Bq/L)
Gross-β
(Bq/L)
Bruce 8 < 0.04[ 4 ] 0.04
Darlington 20 < 0.04[ 4 ] 0.06
Essex 12 < 0.04[ 4 ] 0.05
Ottawa 12 < 0.04[ 4 ] < 0.04[ 4 ]
Toronto 16 < 0.04[ 4 ] 0.06
Toronto-West 12 < 0.04[ 4 ] 0.06

Previous | Next

[ 1 ] DSC – Determined using Linear Regression

[ 2 ] LaboratoryMDC Tritium-in-Drinking Water = 5 Bq/L

[ 3 ] MDC = 10% DSC for each nuclide

[ 4 ] MDC

ISSN 1929-2899

Table des matières | Imprimer Imprimer cette page

3.8  Programmes de
surveillance de la qualité de l'eau

  • Diffusion : septembre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : septembre 2014

3.8.1  Renseignements généraux

Ce programme est conçu pour surveiller les produits de fission et d'activation qui pourraient se trouver dans les eaux des sources alimentant le réseau public d'eau potable. Des échantillons d'eau potable sont prélevés dans les stations de traitement de l'eau (STE) qui se trouvent dans les zones de surveillance les plus près des installations nucléaires surveillées. L'échantillonnage régulier d'eau potable est une composante importante d'un programme de protection civile.

Les STE dans la partie est de la zone de surveillance de Toronto sont utilisées pour contrôler l'eau potable par rapport aux émissions de la centrale nucléaire de Pickering, parce qu'il n'y a pas de STE dans la zone de surveillance de Pickering.

Les STE de Lorne Park et Lakeview sont situées dans la région de Peel, juste à l'ouest de la frontière de Toronto. Des échantillons provenant de ces stations, ainsi que des échantillons d'eau du robinet prélevés aux Services de radioprotection, forment un sous-ensemble de la zone de surveillance de Toronto appelé « Toronto Ouest ». Les tableaux de données présentées dans cette section γ font référence.

La surveillance de l'eau potable dans la zone de surveillance de Bruce Surveillance se fait à partir de deux stations : les STE de Kincardine et de Southampton.

Les STE de toutes les zones de surveillance sont répertoriées dans les tableaux 2a et 2b, et leurs emplacements sont indiqués sur les cartes respectives.

3.8.2  Programme de surveillance de la qualité de l'eau potable

Le personnel de la STE prélève une quantité fixe d'eau traitée chaque jour et combine ces prélèvements pour former des échantillons composites hebdomadaires ou mensuels. Les échantillons composites hebdomadaires proviennent des STE des zones de surveillance de Bruce, Darlington, Pickering et Toronto. Toutes les quatre semaines, un membre du personnel des SCR recueille les échantillons composites hebdomadaires. Des échantillons composites mensuels d'eau sont recueillis auprès des STE des zones de surveillance d'Essex et d'Ottawa. À la fin de chaque mois, ces échantillons sont expédiés aux SCR par messager. Le tableau 2 indique les noms des STE concernées.

Des échantillons composites mensuels d'eau du robinet sont recueillis aux Services de radioprotection, à Etobicoke. Cela fournit un échantillon d'évaluation de la distribution d'eau potable dans l'agglomération urbaine de Toronto.

Les échantillons composites sont analysés pour y détecter le tritium au moyen du comptage par scintillation liquide. Ensuite, les échantillons composites sont combinés avec les échantillons reçus les trois mois précédents pour former des échantillons composites trimestriels. Les échantillons composites trimestriels sont passés au crible pour déterminer les activités α et β globales, et analysés pour détecter les émetteurs de rayons γ par spectroscopie gamma. Les concentrations des isotopes Cobalt 60, Iode 131, Césium 134 et Césium 137 sont indiquées en Bq/L.

L'échantillonnage régulier de l'eau potable exige la collaboration et le soutien du personnel des nombreuses STE qui participent au POSIN.

3.8.3  Résultats de la surveillance de l'eau potable

Au total, 564 échantillons d'eau potable hebdomadaires et 108 échantillons mensuels ont été recueillis et analysés séparément en vue de déterminer leur teneur en tritium. Au total, 80 échantillons composites trimestriels ont été préparés. Comme il est expliqué plus haut, ces échantillons ont été passés au crible pour déterminer les activités α et β globales et analysés pour détecter les émetteurs de rayons γ par spectroscopie gamma. Au total, 1152 analyses ont été effectuées sur les échantillons d'eau en 2012. Les résultats de ces analyses sont récapitulés dans les tableaux suivants.

Les résultats des analyses de détection du tritium dans les échantillons d'eau potable recueillis chaque semaine dans chacune des stations de traitement de l'eau dans les zones de surveillance de Bruce, Darlington et Pickering (Toronto) sont présentés sous forme graphiques à l'annexe 4. Les mesures rapportées qui sont inférieures à la concentration minimale décelable (CMD) en laboratoire de 5 Bq/L sont affichées sur les graphiques comme égales à 2,5 Bq/L. Les graphiques ont été inclus pour montrer la plage et la variabilité des résultats d'analyse selon le site.

Tableau 4a : Surveillance de l'eau potable – Analyse du tritium
Zone de surveillance Nombre d’échantillons Valeur médiane[ 1 ]
(Bq/L)
Mesures
> CAD[ 2 ]
Bruce 104 8,4 0
Darlington 258 4,4 0
Essex 36 < 5 0
Ottawa 36 < 5 0
Toronto 202 4,3 0
Toronto Ouest 36 4,5 0

Les concentrations médianes du tritium dans l'eau potable vont de 4,3 Bq/L dans la zone de surveillance de Toronto Ouest à 8,4 Bq/L dans la zone de surveillance de Bruce. Comme en 2011, la valeur la plus élevée présentée ici est juste inférieure à 0,1 % de la CAD de 7000 Bq/L pour le tritium dans l'eau portable. Les résultats des zones de surveillance de Bruce et Pickering ont peu changé par rapport aux années précédentes, comme le montre la figure A-1 « Résultats sur 10 ans – Tritium dans l'eau potable ». Cette figure montre une baisse continue de la concentration de tritium dans l'eau potable dans la zone de surveillance de Darlington

Les résultats de l'analyse des rayonnements γ, représentés dans le tableau 4b, étaient toujours au dessous de la concentration minimale décelable (CMD) pour chaque nucléide dans toutes les régions. Ces résultats restent comparables à ceux des années précédentes.

Tableau 4b : Surveillance de l'eau potable – Analyse des rayonnements gamma
Zone de surveillance Nombre d’échantillons Co–60
(Bq/L)
I–131
(Bq/L)
Cs–134
(Bq/L)
Cs–137
(Bq/L)
Bruce 8 < 0.2[ 3 ] < 0.6[ 3 ] < 0.7[ 3 ] < 1.0[ 3 ]
Darlington 20 < 0.2[ 3 ] < 0.6[ 3 ] < 0.7[ 3 ] < 1.0[ 3 ]
Essex 12 < 0.2[ 3 ] < 0.6[ 3 ] < 0.7[ 3 ] < 1.0[ 3 ]
Ottawa 12 < 0.2[ 3 ] < 0.6[ 3 ] < 0.7[ 3 ] < 1.0[ 3 ]
Toronto 16 < 0.2[ 3 ] < 0.6[ 3 ] < 0.7[ 3 ] < 1.0[ 3 ]
Toronto Ouest 12 < 0.2[ 3 ] < 0.6[ 3 ] < 0.7[ 3 ] < 1.0[ 3 ]

En 2012, les résultats de l'analyse de l'activité α globale étaient toujours en dessous de la concentration minimale décelable (CMD). Bien qu'une certaine activité β globale ait été détectée, la valeur médiane reste proche de la CMD β de 0,04 Bq/L, ce qui est bien au-dessous du niveau de dépistage pour l'eau potable e 0,5 Bq/L selon les Normes de qualité de l'eau potable de l'Ontario.[R-5] On observe une très faible variation de ces concentrations par rapport à celles de 2011 ou des années précédentes.

Tableau 4c : Surveillance de l'eau potable – Analyse de l'activité α/β globale
Zone de surveillance Nombre d’échantillons Activité α globale
(Bq/L)
Activité β globale
(Bq/L)
Bruce 8 < 0,04[ 4 ] 0,04
Darlington 20 < 0,04[ 4 ] 0,06
Essex 12 < 0,04[ 4 ] 0,05
Ottawa 12 < 0,04[ 4 ] < 0,04[ 4 ]
Toronto 16 < 0,04[ 4 ] 0,06
Toronto Ouest 12 < 0,04[ 4 ] 0,06

précédent | suivant

[ 1 ] Déterminé par régression linéaire

[ 2 ] CMD en laboratoire dans l’eau potable = 5 Bq/L

[ 3 ] CMD = 10 % de la CAD pour chaque nucléide

[ 4 ] CMD

ISSN 1929-2902