Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

Executive Summary

  • Issued: September 2014
  • Content last reviewed: September 2014

The Radiation Protection Monitoring Service (RPMS) remains the "watch-dog of Ontario" as it continuously monitors the environment around the province's nuclear installations. From the results obtained through the operation of the Ontario Reactor Surveillance Program (ORSP) the RPMS provides assurance to the public living and working in the vicinity of nuclear installations that their health, safety, welfare and property is not affected by emissions from nuclear facilities. The RPMS also provides radioanalytical support to the Provincial Nuclear Emergency Response Plan (PNERP) in the event of a large scale nuclear event which would require the activation of this plan.

The RPMS is the laboratory arm of the Radiation Protection Service (RPS) and operates within the Operations Division of the Ministry of Labour. It is the only Province of Ontario laboratory that is capable of measuring radioactivity in environmental samples. When it was established in the 1960's the laboratory was affiliated with the Ministry of Health. In 1978 it was transferred to the Ministry of Labour where it was originally known as the "Radiation Protection Laboratory."

The RPMS is accredited by the Canadian Association for Laboratory Accreditation (CALA) as meeting the requirements of ISO/IEC 17025:2005 for its Quality System and several of the methodologies. The RPMS is licensed by the Ministry of Environment under the Safe Drinking Water Act 2002 and the Drinking Water Testing Services Regulation (O. Reg. 248/03) to perform radioanalytical testing on drinking water samples.

The ORSP has been developed to detect radionuclide concentrations that would give an annual dose commitment of 0.1 mSv to a member of the public from either inhalation or ingestion. A network of environmental monitoring stations have been located around Ontario's three nuclear power generating installations at Bruce, Darlington and Pickering, and in the vicinity of the Chalk River Nuclear Laboratories located north of Ottawa. An additional station is in the Amherstburg area to monitor the Fermi-2 nuclear power reactor south of Detroit, Michigan. Environmental samples collected at these locations are analyzed by the RPMS for specific radionuclides. Air, drinking water and foodstuff (milk) are routinely sampled at all locations. In 2012, in support of the ORSP, the RPMS collected 1503 samples on which 2988 analyses were completed. The measured concentrations of all radionuclides monitored in 2012 were well below those concentrations that would result in a dose commitment of 0.1 mSv to the public from either inhalation or ingestion. When compared with the results from previous years, no significant changes in the measurements were observed.

The measurements show tritium (3H) is present in larger concentrations than the other radionuclides being measured. Based on a dose calculation the average incremental dose to the public from tritium in 2012 is approximately 400 times less than the desired annual dose commitment 0.1 mSv.

In conclusion, the purpose of the Ontario Reactor Surveillance Program has been achieved and the public in the vicinity of nuclear installations can be assured that their health, safety, welfare and property are not adversely affected by emissions from the nuclear facilities.

Previous | Next

ISSN 1929-2899

• Diffusion : septembre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : septembre 2014

Les Services de contrôle en matière de radioprotection (SCR) continuent de jouer un rôle de vigile en Ontario puisqu'ils surveillent continuellement l'environnement aux environs des installations nucléaires de la province. Grâce aux résultats obtenus dans le cadre du Programme ontarien de surveillance des installations nucléaires (POSIN), les SCR donnent à la population qui vit et travaille à proximité des installations nucléaires l'assurance que sa santé, sa sécurité, son bien-être et ses biens ne sont pas affectés par les émissions de ces installations. Les SCR fournissent également au Plan provincial d'intervention en cas d'urgence nucléaire (PPIUN) une prise en charge radioanalytique en cas d'incident nucléaire de grande envergure exigeant l'activation de ce plan.

Le laboratoire des SCR relève des Services de radioprotection (SR) au sein de la Division des opérations du ministère du Travail. C'est le seul laboratoire ontarien capable de mesurer la radioactivité des échantillons prélevés dans l'environnement. Au moment de sa création dans les années 1960, le laboratoire était affilié au ministère de la Santé. Il a été transféré par la suite au ministère du Travail en 1978, où il était alors nommé « Laboratoire de radioprotection ».

Il est accrédité par la Canadian Association for Laboratory Accreditation (CALA) pour la conformité de son système qualité et de ses principales méthodologies à la norme ISO/CEI 17025:2005. Le ministère de l'Environnement, en vertu de la Loi de 2002 sur la salubrité de l'eau potable et du Règl. de l'Ont. 248/03 sur la réglementation des services d'analyse de l'eau potable, (en anglais seulement) autorise les SCR à effectuer des analyses radiologiques sur les échantillons d'eau potable.

Le POSIN a été mis au point pour détecter des concentrations de radionucléides qui, si elles étaient reçues par inhalation ou ingestion par un membre du public pendant un an, produiraient un engagement de dose absorbée de 0,1 mSv. Un réseau de stations de surveillance environnementale a été mis en place autour des trois centrales nucléaires de l'Ontario (Bruce, Darlington et Pickering (ainsi qu'à proximité des Laboratoires nucléaires de Chalk River, au nord d'Ottawa. Une autre station, dans la région d'Amherstburg, surveille l'installation nucléaire Fermi 2 qui se trouve au sud de Détroit, dans le Michigan. Les SCR analysent les échantillons environnementaux prélevés à ces emplacements pour détecter la présence de radionucléides spécifiques. L'air, l'eau potable et des produits alimentaires (lait) sont régulièrement prélevés à tous ces emplacements. En 2012, dans le cadre du POSIN, les SCR ont prélevé 1503 échantillons sur lesquels 2988 analyses ont été effectuées. Les concentrations de radionucléides contrôlées en 2012, étaient nettement inférieures à celle qui correspondrait à un engagement de dose absorbée par inhalation ou ingestion de 0,1 mSv pour la population. Comparées aux résultats des années précédentes, on n'observe aucun changement significatif dans les résultats des mesures.

Les mesures montrent une présence de tritium (3H) en concentrations plus élevées que les autres radionucléides mesurés. Basée sur un calcul de dose, la dose incrémentielle moyenne de tritium sur la population en 2012 était environ 400 fois moins que l'engagement de dose absorbée cible de 0,1 mSv.

En conclusion, le Programme ontarien de surveillance des installations nucléaires a rempli sa mission et la population à proximité des installations nucléaires peut être assurée que sa santé, sa sécurité, son bien-être et ses biens ne sont pas mis en danger par les émissions de ces installations.

précédent | suivant

ISSN 1929-2902