Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

6. Outlook for 2013

  • Issued: September 2014
  • Content last reviewed: September 2014

There are a number of improvements planned for the ORSP in 2013. The following is an outline of some of the potential projects that are planned.

  • Acquiring and replacing equipment for the network is an on-going process as pumps and meters wear out and need to be replaced. Similarly, new instrumentation for use in the laboratory must be obtained and introduced into operation.
  • A recommendation has resulted from Exercise Huron Challenge IV with regard to the RPMS’s gamma-spectroscopy system. The existing arrangement of five high-purity germanium detectors were identified as a potential bottleneck should an emergency occur which would require the analysis of a large number of samples. The current system is completely manually operated and requires the attention of a technologist to change samples and start counting. An automated gamma-spectroscopy system with a sample changer has been proposed to deal with this potential problem and is awaiting approval.
  • The apparatus used for tritium-in-air monitoring has been in use for many years and is in need of upgrading. At least four additional units are required in addition to the eight that are in use to expand the existing monitoring network and provide spare units. An investigation to look at potential replacement options is to be carried out.
  • A review of the methods used by the RPMS is to be conducted in 2013. Looking at possible improvements or even new methods to the analysis that is currently in place.
  • The possibility of co-locating field monitoring equipment with Health Canada, as well as with Ontario Power Generation (OPG) or Bruce Power, is to be looked into. A key advantage in co-location is having access to back-up power which is currently not available at most sites used by the RPMS. Also there are potential cost savings that may be realized in reduced electrical charges.
  • Investigate ways of linking the sampling network to the laboratory via either cell phone or landline. This would be of great value, as it would provide information on how the apparatus is functioning. An automated or real-time sampling system would be also be beneficial and should be explored as resources permit.

Previous | Next

ISSN 1929-2899

Table des matières | Imprimer Imprimer cette page

6.  Perspectives pour 2013

  • Diffusion : septembre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : septembre 2014

Un certain nombre d'améliorations sont planifiées pour le POSIN en 2013. Voici les grandes lignes de quelques projets prévus :

  • Acquérir de l'équipement pour remplacer les éléments du réseau, comme les pompes et les compteurs, qui sont usés, dans le cadre d'un processus permanent. De même, acquérir et mettre en service de nouveaux instruments pour le laboratoire.
  • À la suite de l’exercice Huron Challenge IV, une recommandation a été formulée en qui concerne le système de spectroscopie gamma des SCR. Il a été noté que le système actuel de cinq détecteurs Germanium de haute pureté risquait de créer un goulot d’étranglement dans une situation d’urgence qui nécessiterait l’analyse d’un grand nombre d’échantillons. Le système actuel est exploité manuellement et nécessite l’intervention d’un technicien pour changer les échantillons et commencer le comptage. Un système de spectroscopie gamma avec changeur automatique d’échantillons a été proposé pour éliminer ce problème potentiel; il est en attente d’approbation.
  • L'appareil utilisé pour la surveillance du tritium dans l'air est utilisé depuis de nombreuses années et doit être mis à niveau. Au moins quatre unités supplémentaires sont nécessaires, en plus des huit déjà en service, pour étendre le réseau de surveillance existant et disposer d'unités de rechange. Il faudra examiner les diverses solutions de rechange possible.
  • Un examen des méthodes utilisées par les SCR sera effectué en 2013. On recherchera des améliorations possibles ou même de nouvelles méthodes pour l'analyse actuellement en place.
  • On examinera la possibilité de co-localiser de l'équipement de surveillance sur le terrain avec Santé Canada ainsi qu'avec Ontario Power Generation (OPG) ou Bruce Power. Un avantage clé de la co-localisation est d'avoir accès à une alimentation de secours qui n'est pour le moment pas disponible dans la plupart des sites utilisés par les SCR. La réduction des frais d'électricité pourrait aussi permettre de réaliser des économies.
  • On étudiera aussi la possibilité de relier le réseau d'échantillonnage au laboratoire par téléphone cellulaire ou ligne terrestre. Cela serait très utile, puisque l'on disposerait ainsi d'informations sur la façon dont l'appareillage fonctionne. Un système d'échantillonnage automatisé ou en temps réel serait aussi avantageux et cette possibilité devrait être étudiée lorsque les ressources le permettront.

précédent | suivant

ISSN 1929-2902