Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

4. Emergency Response

  • Issued: September 2014
  • Content last reviewed: September 2014

As part of its role in emergency preparedness under the Provincial Nuclear Emergency Response Plan (PNERP), members of the Radiation Protection Monitoring Service (RPMS) participated in Exercise Huron Challenge IV (Trillium Resolve) in October 2012. This was a five day scenario-based functional exercise designed to practice interoperability, plans and procedures while responding to a natural disaster impacting the Bruce Power facility and the North-East Lake Huron region.

Exercise Huron Challenge IV (Trillium Resolve) was a complex multi-day exercise which extended over a wide area. The exercise was led by Emergency Management Ontario (EMO) working in close co-operation with Bruce Power. Approximately 50 organizations participated in the exercise. This included emergency response groups at the municipal and regional level, together with representatives from provincial and federal government ministries.

The series of events that made up the exercise were designed to allow the community of partners to gather, share, learn and train, thus ensuring that all levels of government and stakeholders were prepared to respond to a regional natural disaster affecting the local infrastructure and the Bruce Power site.

The third day of the exercise began with notification from EMO that a significant event had occurred overnight at the Bruce Nuclear generating station. As required by the PNERP, the members of the Assurance Monitoring Group (AMG) were notified to assemble at the Provincial Emergency Operations Centre (PEOC) in order to make preparations in response to the incident. The RPMS laboratory was put on alert and routine operations were suspended. As the exercise played out throughout the day updates were provided on the situation at Bruce Nuclear and the course of action being taken. A significant resource which was unveiled during this exercise was the use of the federally based e-map system. This software is capable of displaying aerial and ground based radiation survey measurements which proved to be a valuable tool in identifying potential regions of contamination. This was of great assistance in determining the areas where field sampling teams could be deployed that would be safe for them to enter and collect samples. Simulated food samples were collected and sent to the RPMS on the fourth day of the exercise, however, these were not analysed as part of the exercise.

A review conducted after the exercise, noted the following as key successes of Exercise Huron Challenge IV. The design, scenario injects, organizational support (logistics, facilities, communications, etc.) had fully supported and met the AMG’s requirements which resulted in an exercise that ran very smoothly and tested the group’s logistic capabilities. The exercise play had shown great collaboration among all members of the AMG. This exercise reinforced the importance of having constant communication and updates as an emergency evolves in order to allow the development of sound strategies as issues arise. Lastly, a strong commitment to the AMG plan and the PNERP was demonstrated by our federal colleagues, led by Health Canada, through their major deployment of technical and human resources.

Previous | Next

ISSN 1929-2899

Table des matières | Imprimer Imprimer cette page

4.  Intervention d'urgence

  • Diffusion : septembre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : septembre 2014

Dans le cadre du rôle en matière de protection civile qui incombe aux SCR en vertu du PPIUN, des membres des SCR ont participé à l’exercice Huron Challenge (Trillium Resolve) en octobre 2012. Il s’agissait d’un exercice opérationnel de cinq jours, basé sur des scénarios visant à tester l’interopérabilité, les plans et les procédures, face à une catastrophe naturelle ayant un impact sur la centrale de Bruce Power et sur la région du Nord-Est du lac Huron.

Huron Challenge IV (Trillium Resolve) était un exercice complexe qui s’est déroulé sur plusieurs jours et sur une zone étendue. Il était dirigé par Gestion des situations d’urgence Ontario (GSUO), en étroite collaboration avec Bruce Power. Environ 50 organisations y ont participé, dont des groupes d’intervention d’urgence au palier municipal et régional, ainsi que des représentants de ministères provinciaux et fédéraux.

La série d’activités qui constituaient cet exercice était conçue de manière à permettre à la communauté de partenaires de se réunir, de partager, d’apprendre et de se former, afin que tous les paliers de gouvernement et autres intervenants soient préparés à intervenir efficacement en cas de catastrophe naturelle régionale touchant l’infrastructure locale et la centrale de Bruce Power.

Au début du troisième jour de l’exercice, GSUO a annoncé qu’un incident important s’était produit pendant la nuit à la centrale nucléaire de Bruce. Comme l’exige le PPIUN, les membres du Groupe de surveillance et d’assurance de la sécurité sanitaire (GSASS) ont reçu l’instruction de se retrouver au Centre provincial des opérations d’urgence (CPOU) afin de faire les préparatifs nécessaires en réponse à l’incident. Le laboratoire des SCR a été mis en état d’alerte et ses opérations de routine ont été suspendues. Au fur et à mesure du déroulement de l’exercice tout au long de la journée, des mises à jour étaient fournies sur la situation à la centrale nucléaire Bruce ainsi que sur les mesures prises. Une ressource importante dévoilée lors de cet exercice a été l’utilisation du système fédéral de cartes électroniques. Ce logiciel permet d’afficher des mesures de rayonnement aériennes et au sol, qui se sont avérées un outil précieux dans l’identification des régions potentielles de contamination. Cet outil a été très utile pour déterminer les endroits où les équipes de prélèvement d’échantillons sur le terrain pourraient être déployées sans danger. Des échantillons d’aliments simulés ont été prélevés et envoyés au SCR le quatrième jour de l’exercice, mais ces échantillons n’ont pas été analysés dans le cadre de l’exercice.

Un examen effectué après l’exercice a relevé les principales réussites suivantes de l’exercice Huron Challenge IV. La conception, les intrants du scénario, le soutien organisationnel (logistique, installations, communications, etc.) ont été efficaces et ont satisfait aux exigences du GSASS. L’exercice s’est ainsi déroulé sans anicroche et a permis de tester les capacités logistiques du groupe. L’exercice a démontré une excellente collaboration entre tous les membres du GSASS. Il a renforcé l’importance d’avoir des communications et des mises à jour constantes tout au long de l’évolution d’une situation d’urgence afin de permettre l’élaboration de stratégies efficaces lorsque des problèmes surgissent. Enfin, nos collègues fédéraux, sous la direction de Santé Canada, par leur déploiement important de moyens techniques et humains, ont démontré leur engagement solide à l’égard du plan du GSASS et du PPIUN.

précédent | suivant

ISSN 1929-2902