Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

Appendix 2: Dose Calculation

  • Issued: September 2014
  • Content last reviewed: September 2014

The incremental doses received by individuals and populations can be determined by calculations resulting from the measurements.

The calculation used here considers the dose received by a Hypothetically Exposed Adult (HEA) positioned at specific sampling sites. It should be noted that this calculation is a first order approximation only and is used to make simple comparisons with existing dose limits and natural background radiation.

The HEA is defined as an adult member of the public who receives the greatest induced dose from all sources. This person is assumed to remain at this location 24 hours per day, 365 days of the year. They would be continually breathing air, drinking water and consuming a specified fraction food that is affected by releases of radioactivity measured at the site. The HEA dose is not received by an actual individual and is used as a health-conservative estimate (i.e. an overestimate) of the highest possible dose to any member of the public.

Based on the results of active sampling, tritium (3H) is found in larger concentrations than the other radionuclides associated with emissions from the nuclear stations in Ontario. Subsequently, tritium contributes to the largest portion of the dose received. Primarily, these emissions come in the form of tritium oxide or tritiated water vapour (HTO). HTO enters the body by ingestion, inhalation, and dermal absorption. Ingested HTO is distributed throughout the entire body and eliminated at the same rate as body water (apart from the small fraction metabolized). Inhaled HTO dissolves in the fluids of the lung and is absorbed.

Two principle pathways will be considered in determining the dose to the HEA. These are listed in Table A-1, together with the associated sampling programs and annual consumption rates.

Table A-1: Ingestion Pathways and Consumption Rates[ 1 ]
Pathway Sampling Program Annual Consumption
Ingestion of drinking water Drinking Water Tritium 700 L
Inhalation of air Tritium-in-Air 8000 m3

The annual consumption rates vary depending on which model is used for the intake of food and drink. For the calculation presented here the values that have been used are based on the ICRP reference man and are also recommended for use by the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) for dose pathway calculations.[R-6]

For the purpose of estimating the HEA dose, the tritium concentrations are taken from sampling data collected in the Pickering, Darlington and Bruce areas. The values used for each pathway are as follows:

  • Ingestion of drinking water – the median annual concentration at water supply plants sampled in the region minus the background concentration.
  • Inhalation of air – the median annual concentration based on active sampling in the community.

Calculating the annual whole-body dose rate from ingestion of a particular food or drink is expressible as a product of three factors:

  • the radionuclide concentration in the food or drink (e.g. Bq/kg or Bq/L)
  • the dose coefficient for the radionuclide (e.g. μSv/Bq)
  • the rate at which the food or drink is consumed (e.g. kg/y)

The dose contribution from inhalation is calculated in a similar way as the product of the radionuclide concentration in the air, dose coefficient, and the volume of air that is inhaled (i.e. m3/y × Bq/m3 × μSv/Bq).

In their Annual Environmental Report, Lawrence Livermore Nuclear Laboratories (LLNL) recommends using a factor of 1.5 for inhalation-plus-dermal-absorption. This is because the skin only absorbs 50% of the tritium the lung absorbs.[R-7]

The dose coefficient for tritium oxide for ingestion, inhalation and skin absorption has a value of 1.8 × 10-5 μSv/Bq. This value is from ICRP 96.[R-8]

Using these values, the tritium dose from the ingestion of water for HEA in the Pickering Region is then-

Dwater = 700 (L/y) × 1.8×10-5 (μSv/Bq) × (4.31 – 0.12) (Bq/L)

= 5.28 ×10-2 μSv/y

The inhalation/skin absorption dose (Dinh/sa ) is determined from-

Dinh/sa = 1.5 × 8000 (m3/y) × 1.8×10-5 (μSv/Bq) × 1.6 (Bq/m3)

= 3.46 ×10-1 μSv/y

The total incremental dose from tritium (Dtotal ) is the sum of the contribution via each pathway-

Dtotal = Dwater + Dinh/sa

= 5.28 ×10-2 + 3.46 ×10-1

= 3.98 ×10-1 μSv/y

Following the same procedure, the total incremental dose for a HEA has been calculated for the Bruce and Darlington Surveillance areas. These values are compared with Health Canada's guideline for the radiological characteristics of drinking water of 0.1 mSv and the typical level of background radiation for southern Ontario and are summarized in Table A-2.

Table A-2: Sampling Area & Total Incremental Dose Received

Table A-2: Sampling Area & Total Incremental Dose Received
Pathway Bruce Surveillance Area Pickering Surveillance Area Darlington Surveillance Area
Ingestion of drinking water 0.10 µSv/y 0.053 µSv/y 0.055 µSv/y
Inhalation of air 0.15 µSv/y 0.35 µSv/y 0.035 µSv/y
Total-Dose 0.26 µSv/y 0.40 µSv/y 0.09 µSv/y
% of Drinking Water Guideline[ 2 ] 0.26% 0.40% 0.09%
% of Background[ 3 ] 0.016% 0.025% 0.006%

Previous | Next

[ 1 ] [R-5]

[ 2 ] Drinking Water Guideline – 0.1 mSv = 100 µSv

[ 3 ] Southern Ontario Background Level – 1600 µSv [R-9]

Table des matières | Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Annexe 2 : Calcul des doses

  • Diffusion : septembre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : septembre 2014

Les doses incrémentielles reçues par des individus ou des populations peuvent être déterminées par des calculs à partir de mesures.

Les calculs utilisés ici considèrent la dose reçue par un adulte hypothétiquement exposé (AHE) qui se trouverait sur des sites d'échantillonnage particuliers. Il faut noter que ces calculs sont une approximation de premier ordre uniquement, permettant d'établir des comparaisons simples avec les doses limites établies et le rayonnement ambiant naturel.

L'adulte hypothétiquement exposé (AHE) est défini comme un membre adulte du public qui reçoit la plus grande dose induite de l'ensemble des sources. Cette personne est supposée rester au même endroit 24 heures sur 24 pendant les 365 jours de l'année. Cette personne est supposée continuellement inhaler de l'air, boire de l'eau et consommer une fraction donnée d'aliments affectés par les rejets radioactifs aux taux mesurés sur le site. La dose AHE n'est pas celle reçue par un individu réel; elle sert d'estimation à vocation sanitaire (en fait, une surestimation) de la dose maximale à laquelle un membre du public pourrait être exposé.

D'après les résultats des échantillons utiles, le tritium (3H) est présent en concentrations supérieures à celles des autres radionucléides liés aux émissions des installions nucléaires en Ontario. Par conséquent, le tritium contribue en majeure partie à la dose reçue. Ces émissions sont principalement produites sous forme d'oxyde de tritium ou de vapeur d'eau tritiée (HTO). L'HTO pénètre dans le corps par ingestion, inhalation et absorption cutanée. L'HTO ingéré est distribué dans le corps entier et éliminé à la même vitesse que l'eau du corps (mise à part la petite fraction métabolisée). L'HTO inhalé se dissout dans les fluides des poumons et est absorbé.

Deux voies de transmission de principe sont prises en compte pour déterminer la dose AHE. Elles sont indiquées dans le tableau A-1, avec les programmes d'échantillonnage et les taux de consommation annuels associés.

Tableau A-1 : Voies d'ingestion et taux de consommation[ 1 ]
Voie d’exposition Programme d’échantillonnage Consommation annuelle
Ingestion d’eau potable Eau potable – Tritium 700 L
Inhalation d’air Tritium dans l’air 8000 m3

Les taux de consommation annuelle varient en fonction du modèle utilisé pour la prise de boisson et de nourriture. Pour le calcul présenté ici, les valeurs utilisées sont basées sur l'homme de référence du CIPR; elles sont également recommandées par l'Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA) pour les calculs de voie d'exposition à la dose.[R-6]

Dans le cadre de l'estimation de la dose AHE, les concentrations de tritium sont tirées des données des échantillons recueillis dans les zones de Pickering, Darlington et Bruce. Les valeurs utilisées pour chaque voie d'exposition sont les suivantes :

  • Ingestion d'eau potable – la concentration annuelle médiane aux stations de traitement de l'eau échantillonnées de la région, moins la concentration naturelle.
  • Inhalation d'air – la concentration annuelle médiane basée sur les échantillons utiles dans la collectivité.

Le calcul du taux de dose annuel dans le corps entier par ingestion d'une boisson ou d'un aliment particulier peut s'exprimer par le produit de trois facteurs :

  • la concentration de radionucléide dans l'aliment ou la boisson (en Bq/kg ou Bq/L) ;
  • le coefficient de dose pour le radionucléide (par ex. Sv/Bq) ;
  • le taux de consommation de l'aliment ou de la boisson (par ex. kg/a).

La contribution de dose par inhalation est calculée de façon similaire, comme produit de la concentration de radionucléide dans l'air, du coefficient de dose et du volume d'air inhalé (en m3/a ×Bq/m3×µSv/Bq).

Dans son rapport environnemental annuel, le Laboratoire national de Lawrence Livermore (LLNL) recommande d'utiliser un facteur de 1,5 pour l'inhalation plus l'absorption cutanée. En effet, la peau n'absorbe que 50 % du tritium par rapport aux poumons.[R-7]

Le coefficient de dose pour l'oxyde de tritium par ingestion, inhalation et absorption cutanée est de 1,8×10-5µSv/Bq. Cette valeur est tirée du rapport CIPR 96.[R-8]

En utilisant ces valeurs, la dose AHE de tritium par ingestion d’eau dans la région de Pickering est :

Dwater = 700 (L/a) × 1,8×10-5 (µSv/Bq) × (4,31 – 0,12) (Bq/L)

= 5,28 × 10-2 µSv/a

La dose par inhalation/absorption cutanée (Dinh/sa ) est :

Dinh/sa = 1,5 × 8000 (m3/a) × 1,8 × 10-5 (µSv/Bq) × 1,6 (Bq/m3)

= 3,46 × 10-1 µSv/a

La dose incrémentielle totale de (Dtotal ) est la somme des contributions via chaque voie d’exposition :

Dtotal = Dwater + Dinh/sa

= 5,28 × 10-2 + 3,46 × 10-1

= 3,98 × 10-1 µSv/a

En suivant la même procédure, la dose incrémentielle totale AHE a été calculée pour les zones de surveillance de Bruce et de Darlington. Ces valeurs sont comparées à la directive de Santé Canada en matière de caractéristiques radiologiques de l'eau potable de 0,1 mSv et au niveau normal de rayonnement ambiant naturel dans le sud de l'Ontario et sont présentées dans le tableau A-2.

Tableau A-2 : Zone d'échantillonnage et dose incrémentielle totale reçue

Tableau A-2 : Zone d'échantillonnage et dose incrémentielle totale reçue
Voie d’exposition Bruce
Zone de surveillance
Pickering
Zone de surveillance
Darlington
Zone de surveillance
Ingestion d’eau potable 0,10 µSv/a 0,053 µSv/a 0,055 µSv/a
Inhalation d’air 0,15 µSv/a 0,35 µSv/a 0,035 µSv/a
Dose totale 0,26 µSv/a 0,40 µSv/a 0,09 µSv/a
% de la directive sur l’eau potable[ 1 ] 0,26 % 0,40 % 0,09 %
% du rayonnement naturel [ 2 ] 0,016 % 0,025 % 0,006 %

précédent | suivant

[ 1 ][R-5]

[ 1 ]Directive sur l'eau potable – 0,1 mSv = 100 Sv

[ 2 ]Rayonnement naturel de sud Ontario – 1600 Sv [R-9]

ISSN 1929-2902