Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

3.7 Air Monitoring Programs

  • Issued: September 2014
  • Content last reviewed: September 2014

3.7.1  General Information

There were a number of criteria used in the selection of monitoring sites for air sampling. Primary consideration was given to the distribution of the local population and distance from the nuclear installation. Final site selection was based on the availability of electric power and security concerns.

The Air Particulate and Tritium-in-Air monitoring programs run simultaneously and are in continuous operation. The apparatus used in these programs while similar is quite distinct which reflects the difference in what is being monitored.

RPMS staff maintain and carry out regularly scheduled servicing of the air monitoring equipment throughout the year. Samples are collected at regular intervals from the Bruce, Darlington and Pickering Surveillance areas by RPMS staff. By agreement, samples are collected and sent to the laboratory by federal staff in the Essex Surveillance area and municipal staff in the Ottawa Surveillance area.

3.7.2  Air Particulate Monitoring Program

This program is designed to monitor for airborne emissions of fission and activation products that are distributed as particulates throughout the air. The sampling of particulates in air is a necessary component of an emergency preparedness program.

There are a total of 21 Air Particulate Monitoring Stations in operation. No new air monitoring stations have been added since 2010. A complete listing of all the Air Particulate Monitoring Stations is given in Table 2a and 2b.

Figure 1 shows a typical Air Monitoring station. The apparatus used for Air Particulate monitoring is housed in a locked louvered metal enclosure. Figure 2 presents a close-up of the electric pump, flow controller, timer, calibrated gas meter and open-faced filter cartridge that make up this apparatus. The controller has been adjusted to operate at a flow rate of approximately 7 m3/h (cubic metres per hour). Air is drawn into the enclosure by a 4.0 L/s ventilation fan. The pump exhaust is discharged outside the enclosure.

Polyester reinforced glass microfibre filters are used to capture sub-micron particulates in the air that may have radioactive isotopes attached to them. The filters possess high collection efficiency and are changed every four weeks.

Figure 1: Typical Air Monitoring Station

Typical air monitoring station, identifying tritirum-in-air Appartus and air particulate sampler


Figure 2: Close-up of Air Particulate Sampler

Close-up of an air particulate sampler identifying the air fliter assembly, gas meter and pump motor


Figure 3: Tritium-in-Air Sampler

Cells filled with slica gel can be seen in this figure along with the timer control unit.


When the filters first arrive at the laboratory, time is allowed for the short-lived daughters of any naturally occurring radionuclides captured on the filters to decay. The filters are analyzed using high purity germanium detectors and concentration estimates are determined for the gamma emitting nuclides Beryllium-7, Cesium-137 and Iodine-131.

The isotope Beryllium-7 is formed naturally in the atmosphere from cosmic ray interactions and is not associated with the effect of nuclear power generation. Determining its presence is used as a laboratory indicator. The result of this analysis is reported in μBq/m3 (microBecquerels per cubic meter).

The filters are screened for gross beta activity using a proportional counter, as not all radionuclides are gamma emitters. Two-inch diameter discs are cut from each filter in order for them to fit on the sample holder of the proportional counter. Gross beta activity is reported in mBq/m3 (milliBecquerels per cubic meter).

3.7.3  Tritium-in-Air Monitoring Program

This program is designed to monitor for tritium, an activation product in CANDU nuclear reactors.

There are 8 Tritium-in-Air sampling units currently in operation. Table 2a and 2b lists the locations of these units.

Each sampling unit consists of a 50 W electrical pump (similar to an aquarium pump) with a timed flow rate controller, a calibrated gas meter and two cylindrical cells filled with silica gel. This assembly is contained in a separate housing that is attached to the outside of the air monitoring station (see Figure 1). A close-up image of the silica gel cells is provided in Figure 3.

Low flow rates of 0.1 L/min are achieved by cycling the pump on and off for short periods. This low flow rate is needed to prevent the silica gel from becoming saturated with moisture before the end of the measurement period. The gas meter is installed to measure the volume of air that passes through the cells.

The silica gel cells are replaced at four-week intervals. The cells are weighed before being placed in the field and after they are returned to the laboratory to determine the mass of water vapour absorbed. The silica gel is placed in a tube furnace and the water vapour is desorbed by heating. A stream of dry air removes the water vapour to where it is condensed and collected. Low-level beta counting in a liquid scintillation detector is used to determine the tritium activity in the condensate. The result of this analysis is reported as Bq/m3 (Becquerels per cubic metre).

3.7.4  Air Monitoring Results

In 2012, a total of 313 environmental samples were collected. These consisted of 225 air filters for the Air Particulate monitoring program and 88 Tritium-in-Air samples. In total, 988 analytical results were obtained for the air monitoring programs. Tables 3a and 3b provide a summary of the results from the two air monitoring programs for each surveillance area.

In 2012, the results of the Air Particulate monitoring program were very consistent with those of previous years. The concentrations of the γ-emitting nuclides were consistently below the minimum detectable concentration (MDC), with the exception of naturally occurring Be-7.

The median value of the gross-β; measurements in each surveillance area was well below 1 mBq/m3.

Table 3a: Air Particulate Monitoring Results
Surveillance Area Number of Samples Be–7
(μBq/m3)
Cs–137
(μBq/m3)
I–131
(μBq/m3)
Gross–β
(mBq/m3)
Arthur 12 3350 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0.77
Bruce 34 3050 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0.86
Darlington 106 3100 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0.79
Essex County 5 2300 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0.94
Ottawa Valley 4 1100 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0.72
Pickering 47 3050 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0.77
Toronto-west 12 3150 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0.88

The median concentrations in the Tritium-in-Air monitoring program, shown in Table 3b, ranged from 0.03 to 1.60 Bq/m3. These concentrations are comparable to those observed in previous years. The larger value that is presented here is less than 0.2% of the DSC for tritium-in-air of 700 Bq/m3.

Table 3b: Tritium-in-Air Monitoring Results
Surveillance Area Number of Samples Median
Measurement (Bq/m3)
Measurements
> DSC[ 2 ]
Arthur 11 0.03 0
Bruce 33 0.85 0
Darlington 11 0.16 0
Pickering 33 1.6 0

Previous | Next

[ 1 ] MDC for each nuclide

[ 2 ] DSC – Derived Survey Concentration

ISSN 1929-2899

Table des matières | Imprimer Imprimer cette page

3.7  Programmes de surveillance de la qualité de l'air

  • Diffusion : septembre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : septembre 2014

3.7.1 Renseignements généraux

Un certain nombre de critères a guidé le choix des sites de prélèvement des échantillons atmosphériques, l’élément prépondérant étant la distribution et la distance de la population locale par rapport à l’installation nucléaire. La sélection finale des sites s’est basée sur l’existence d'une source de courant électrique et de problèmes de sécurité.

Les programmes de surveillance des particules atmosphériques et du tritium dans l’air fonctionnent simultanément et en continu. L'équipement utilisé dans ces programmes, même s’il est similaire, est tout à fait distinct, pour refléter la différence de ce qui est surveillé.

Le personnel des SCR procède à la vérification et l’entretien périodiques de l’équipement de surveillance de la qualité de l’air tout au long de l'année. De plus, le personnel des SCR prélève des échantillons à intervalles réguliers dans les zones de surveillance de Bruce, Darlington et Pickering. En vertu d’une entente, les échantillons sont prélevés et envoyés au laboratoire par le personnel fédéral dans la zone de surveillance d’Essex et par le personnel municipal dans la zone de surveillance d’Ottawa.

3.7.2  Programme de surveillance des particules atmosphériques

Ce programme est conçu pour surveiller les émissions dans l’atmosphère des produits de fission et d’activation qui s’y répandent sous forme de particules. L’échantillonnage des particules atmosphériques est une composante nécessaire d’un programme de protection civile.

Il y a maintenant au total 21 stations de surveillance des particules atmosphériques opérationnelles dans la province. Aucune nouvelle station n’a été ajoutée depuis 2010. Les tableaux 2a et 2b donnent la liste complète de toutes les stations de surveillance des particules atmosphériques.

La figure 1 illustre une station typique de surveillance de la qualité de l'air. L'appareil utilisé pour surveiller les particules atmosphériques est placé dans une enceinte métallique à persiennes fermée à clé. La figure 2 représente en gros plan l'électropompe, le régulateur de débit, le circuit de chronométrage, le compteur de gaz étalonné et la cartouche filtrante ouverte qui constituent cet équipement. Le régulateur a été réglé pour fonctionner à un débit d'environ 7 m3/h (mètres cubes par heure). L'air est aspiré dans l'enceinte par un ventilateur à un débit de 4,0 L/s. L'échappement de la pompe est évacué à l'extérieur de l'enceinte

Des filtres en microfibres de verre renforcées au polyester sont utilisés pour capturer les particules submicroniques en suspension dans l'air susceptibles de véhiculer des isotopes radioactifs. Les filtres sont très efficaces et sont changés toutes les quatre semaines.

Figure 1  Station typique de surveillance de la qualité de l'air

Station de surveillance de la qualité de l'air: emplacement de l'appareil de mesure du tritium et de l' échantillonneur de particules atmosphériques


Figure 2  Vue en gros plan de l'échantillonneur de particules atmosphériques

Vue en gros plan de l'Échantillonneur de particules aériennes, du filtre à air, du compteur de gaz et du moteur de la pompe.


Figure 3  Échantillonneur du tritium dans l'air

La figure montre des capsules remplies de gel de silice ainsi que l'unité de commande du chromométreur


Lorsque les filtres arrivent au laboratoire, on attend un certain temps avant de les analyser pour permettre aux radionucléides naturels de filiation à vie courte capturés sur les filtres de se désintégrer. Les filtres sont ensuite analysés à l’aide de détecteurs au germanium de haute pureté et les concentrations de nucléides émetteurs de rayons gamma Béryllium 7, Césium 137 et Iode 131 sont évaluées.

L’isotope Béryllium 7 se forme naturellement dans l’atmosphère à partir des interactions de rayons cosmiques et n’est pas associé aux effets de la production nucléaire d’électricité. La détermination de sa présence sert d’indicateur de laboratoire. Le résultat de cette analyse est indiqué en μBq/m3 (microbecquerels par mètre cube).

Les filtres sont passés au crible pour déterminer l’activité bêta globale à l’aide d’un compteur proportionnel, puisque les radionucléides ne sont pas tous émetteurs de rayons gamma. Des disques de deux pouces de diamètre sont découpés dans chaque filtre pour s’adapter au porte-échantillon du compteur proportionnel. L’activité bêta globale est indiquée en mBq/m3 (millibecquerels par mètre cube).

3.7.3  Programme de surveillance du tritium dans l'air

Ce programme est conçu pour surveiller le tritium, un produit d'activation des réacteurs nucléaires CANDU.

Il y a actuellement 8 unités d’échantillonnage du tritium dans l’air opérationnelles. Les tableaux 2a et 2b donnent la liste des emplacements de ces unités.

Chaque unité d'échantillonnage est constituée d'une électropompe de 50 W (similaire à une pompe d'aquarium) avec un régulateur de débit temporisé, d'un compteur de gaz étalonné et de deux capsules cylindriques remplies de gel de silice. L'ensemble est contenu dans une enceinte séparée qui est fixée à l'extérieur de la station de surveillance de la qualité de l'air (voir Fig. 1). La figure 3 donne une vue en gros plan des capsules de gel de silice.

Les faibles débits de 0,1 L/min sont obtenus par une succession de cycles rapides de marche et d'arrêt de la pompe. Ce faible débit est nécessaire pour éviter que le gel de silice ne soit saturé d'humidité avant la fin de la période de mesure. Le compteur de gaz est installé afin de mesurer le volume d'air qui passe à travers les capsules.

Les capsules de gel de silice sont remplacées toutes les quatre semaines. Elles sont pesées avant d'être placées sur le terrain et à leur retour au laboratoire afin de déterminer la masse de vapeur d'eau absorbée. Le gel de silice est placé dans un four tubulaire afin de désorber la vapeur d'eau par chauffage. Un courant d'air sec élimine la vapeur d'eau qui se condense et s'accumule. Le comptage de l'activité bêta de faible niveau dans un détecteur à scintillation liquide permet de déterminer l'activité du tritium dans le condensat. Le résultat de cette analyse est indiqué en Bq/m3 (becquerels par mètre cube).

3.7.4  Résultats de la surveillance atmosphérique

En 2012, 313 échantillons au total ont été prélevés dans l’environnement. Ils étaient constitués de 225 filtres à air pour le programme de surveillance des particules atmosphériques et de 84 échantillons pour le tritium dans l’air. Au total, 988 résultats analytiques ont été obtenus pour les programmes de surveillance de la qualité de l’air. Les tableaux 3a et 3b donnent une synthèse des résultats des deux programmes de surveillance de la qualité de l’air pour chaque zone de surveillance.

En 2012, les résultats du programme de surveillance des particules atmosphériques ne marquaient aucun changement notable par rapport aux années précédentes. Les concentrations des nucléides émettant des rayons γ étaient toujours au-dessous de la concentration minimale décelable (CMD), à l'exception du Be 7 naturel.

La valeur médiane des mesures de l'activité β globale dans chaque zone de surveillance était bien en dessous de 1 µBq/m3.

Tableau 3a: Résultats de la surveillance des particules atmosphériques
Zone de surveillance Nombre d'échantillons Be 7
(μBq/m3)
Cs 137
(μBq/m3)
I 131
(μBq/m3)
Activité β
globale
(mBq/m3)
Arthur 12 3350 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0,77
Bruce 34 3050 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0,86
Darlington 106 3100 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0,79
Comté d'Essex 5 2300 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0,94
Vallée de l'Outaouais 4 1100 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0,72
Pickering 47 3050 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0,77
Toronto Quest 12 3150 < 80[ 1 ] < 80[ 1 ] 0,88

Les concentrations médianes dans le programme de surveillance du tritium dans l'air, affichées dans le tableau 3b, allaient de 0,03 à 1,60 μBq/m3. Ces concentrations sont comparables à celles observées les années précédentes. La valeur la plus élevée présentée ici est inférieure à 0,2 % de la CAD de tritium dans l'air de 700 Bq/m3.

Tableau 3b: Résultats de la surveillance du tritium dans l’air
Zone de surveillance Nombre d’échantillons Mesure médiane
(Bq/m3)
Measures
> CAD[ 2 ]
Arthur 11 0,03 0
Bruce 33 0,85 0
Darlington 11 0,16 0
Pickering 33 1,6 0

précédent | suivant

[ 1 ] CMD pour chaque nucléide

[ 2 ] CAD - Concentrations d’analyse dérivées

ISSN 1929-2902