Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

Appendix 1
Laboratory Quality Assurance and Control

  • Issued: July 2013
  • Content last reviewed: April 2013

The principal objectives in the operation of an analytical laboratory are the production of high-quality data. Through the use of analytical measurements that are accurate, reliable, and specific for their intended purpose. A thoroughly planned and documented Quality System can accomplish this intent. This section provides an oveview of those elements which make up the Quality System that are critical to ensuring the quality of the RPMS data.

The RPMS is accredited by the Canadian Association for Laboratory Accreditation (CALA) as meeting the requirements of ISO/IEC 17025 – "General Requirements for the Competence of Testing and Calibration Laboratories". This accreditation provides formal recognition by an independent science based organization that this laboratory is competent in performing the assessment of radioactivity in various sample media.

In 2011 the RPMS underwent its fourth bi-annual site assessment by CALA. The satisfactory completion of this assessment plus satisfactory participation in proficiency testing is key elements in the accreditation process where conformance to ISO/IEC 17025:2005 is assessed. The 2011 site assessment was successfully completed by the RPMS with a limited number of corrective actions to be carried out.

In addition to being important in the accreditation process participation in inter-laboratory proficiency testing helps demonstrate the proficiency of the RPMS against external unbiased standards and shows that the accuracy of its measurements meets and exceeds required standards. The RPMS took part in two proficiency studies in 2011. The first was the US Department of Energy's (DOE) Mixed Analyte Performance Evaluation Program (MAPEP) Study 24 and the second was the US DOE MAPEP Study 25. Air filters, water, soil, and vegetation samples were provided for analysis and the results submitted by the RPMS for both of these studies were within the acceptable limits of the studies.

The Quality System encompasses all activities relating to the ORSP with an aim of producing work that is accurate and of a very high-quality. The following terms are used in association with the Quality System – Quality Management (QM), Quality Control (QC) and Quality Assurance (QA). Quality Control (QC) consists of procedures used to verify that prescribed standards of performance in the sampling and analysis activities are met. Quality Assurance (QA) is a system of activities and processes put in place to ensure that the quality control activities are being properly implemented.

Specific QC processes have been put in place to estimate the accuracy and precision of analytical results, and to investigate any sources of error introduced by laboratory practices. Statistical QC employs statistical methods for assessing conformance and controlling the measurement process.

Method QC is integrated into each analytical run to monitor sample preparation, the purity of reagents and solvents, the stability, accuracy and precision of equipment and instrumentation, and the overall performance of the analytical system. Control samples are chosen to address sources of variation and bias particular to an individual method.

Standard reference materials obtained from national and international organizations such as the National Research Council (NRC), National Institute for Science and Technology (NIST) and International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) are utilized. These materials are certified as to their content, having been rigorously prepared and subjected to thorough analysis. Control samples are used as Method QC Standards, Background and Control Standards for instrument performance, and, Method Blank Standards and Spiked Standards for method performance.

A major component of laboratory QA is the requirement that all laboratory staff rigorously follow a set of documented activities. The use of written Methods and Standard Operating Procedures (SOP's) will ensure the data produced conform to pre-defined criteria and verify that QC procedures have been correctly carried out. Another component ofQA is that analytical results be traceable both to the analyst who carried out the test and to the method employed. Written SOP's for sample reception, sample storage and distribution, maintenance of equipment logs, method calibration and standard preparation highlight some of the activities that are part of QA.

The RPMS is licensed by the Ontario Ministry of the Environment to provide radioanalytical testing services to Ontario Drinking Water Systems. This licence is granted under the Safe Drinking Water Act 2002 (SDWA) and the Drinking Water Testing Services Regulation (O.Reg 248/03) making the RPMS the only Provincial government laboratory legally authorized to analyze Ontario drinking water for radionuclides. In 2011 the RPMS successfully completed two audits (Cycle 15 and 16) by the Ministry of Environment to maintain this drinking Water Testing License.

Previous | Next

ISSN 1929-2899

Table des matières | Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Annexe 1 : Contrôle et assurance de la qualité du laboratoire

  • Diffusion : juillet 2013
  • Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2013

Le principal objectif poursuivi dans le fonctionnement d'un laboratoire d'analyses est la production de résultats de grande qualité. Pour cela, les mesures analytiques doivent être précises, fiables et adaptées au but recherché. Un système qualité minutieusement planifié et documenté peut permettre d'atteindre cet objectif. Cette section donne une vue d'ensemble des éléments du système qualité qui sont essentiels pour assurer la qualité des données des SCR

Les SCR sont accrédités par la Canadian Association for Laboratory Accreditation (CALA), car ils respectent la norme ISO/IEC 17025, Prescriptions générales concernant la compétence des laboratoires d'étalonnages et d'essais. Cette accréditation constitue la reconnaissance formelle par une organisation indépendante à vocation scientifique que ce laboratoire est compétent pour évaluer la radioactivité dans des échantillons de milieux divers.

En 2011, CALA a procédé à sa 4e évaluation biannuelle sur place du laboratoire des SCR. Le succès de cette évaluation et la participation satisfaisante à une vérification de la compétence sont des éléments essentiels de l'accréditation selon la norme ISO/IEC 17025:2005. L'évaluation sur place de 2011 des SCR s'est déroulée avec succès et n'a exigé qu'un nombre limité de mesures correctives.

En plus de l'importance que cela revêt pour l'accréditation, la participation à des programmes de comparaison entre laboratoires confirme la compétence des SCR par rapport à des normes externes impartiales et prouve que la précision de ses mesures satisfait et même dépasse les normes requises. Les SCR ont participé à deux études de compétence en 2011 : les études 24 et 25 du ministère de l'énergie (DOE) des états-Unis, dans le cadre de son programme Mixed Analyte Performance Evaluation Program (MAPEP). Des filtres à air et des échantillons d'eau, de sol et de végétaux ont été fournis aux fins d'analyse, et les résultats obtenus par les SCR se trouvaient dans les limites acceptables des deux études.

Le système qualité englobe toutes les activités liées au POSIN dans le but de produire des résultats précis de très grande qualité. Les termes suivants sont utilisés en association avec le système qualité : gestion de la qualité (GM), contrôle de la qualité (CQ) et assurance de la qualité (AQ). Le contrôle de la qualité (CQ) consiste en une série de procédures permettant de vérifier que les normes de performances prescrites pour les activités d'échantillonnage et d'analyse sont satisfaites. L'assurance de la qualité (AQ) est un ensemble d'activités et de processus mis en place pour s'assurer que les activités de contrôle de la qualité sont correctement mises en œuvre.

Des processus CQ spécifiques ont été mis en place pour évaluer l'exactitude et la précision des résultats analytiques et étudier toute source d'erreur introduite par des pratiques du laboratoire. Le CQ statistique utilise des méthodes statistiques pour évaluer la conformité et contrôler le processus de mesure.

Le CQ de méthode est intégré à chaque série analytique pour contrôler la préparation des échantillons, la pureté des réactifs et des solvants, la stabilité, l'exactitude et la précision de l'équipement et des instruments, ainsi que les performances globales du système analytique. Des échantillons de contrôle sont choisis pour traiter les sources de variation et de biais relatives à une méthode particulière.

Le laboratoire utilise des matériaux de référence étalon obtenus auprès de sources nationales et internationales. comme le Conseil national de recherches Canada (CRNC), le National Institute for Science and Technology (NIST) et l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA). Ces matériaux sont certifiés quant à leur contenu, comme ayant été rigoureusement préparés et soumis à une analyse complète. Les échantillons de contrôle sont utilisés comme échantillons de CQ de méthode, échantillons de référence et de contrôle pour les performances d'instrument, et comme échantillons d'essai à blanc de méthode et échantillons enrichis pour les performances de méthode.

Un composant majeur de l'AQ du laboratoire est l'obligation pour le personnel de suivre rigoureusement un ensemble d'activités documentées. L'utilisation de méthodes et de procédures opérationnelles standard écrites assure que les données produites sont conformes aux critères prédéfinis et que les procédures CQ sont correctement appliquées. Un autre volet de l'AQ est la traçabilité des résultats analytiques, afin de permettre de retrouver à la fois l'analyste ayant procédé à l'essai et la méthode employée. Des procédures opérationnelles standard écrites pour la réception, le stockage et la répartition des échantillons, la maintenance des registres de l'équipement, l'étalonnage des méthodes de mesure et la préparation-étalon sont quelques exemples des activités d'AQ.

Les SCR détiennent un permis du ministère de l'Environnement de l'Ontario qui les autorise à fournir des services d'analyse radiologique pour les réseaux d'eau potable de l'Ontario. Ce permis, accordé en vertu de la Loi de 2002 sur la salubrité de l'eau potable et du Règl. de l'Ont. 248/03 (en englais seulement) sur les services d'analyse de l'eau potable, fait des SCR le seul laboratoire du gouvernement provincial légalement habilité à analyser les radionucléides dans l'eau potable de l'Ontario. En 2011, les SCR ont fait l'objet de deux inspections (cycles 15 et 16) du ministère de l'Environnement qui se sont conclues par le maintien du permis d'analyser l'eau potable.

précédent | suivant

ISSN 1929-2902