• Issued: November 23, 2016
  • Content last reviewed: November 2016

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

The Guidelines for Pre-Start Health and Safety Reviews have been prepared to provide information to assist workplace parties in understanding their obligations, the levels of diligence, methodology and reporting required to comply with the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA), and Section 7 of the Industrial Establishments Regulation, Revised Regulations of Ontario 1990, Regulation 851. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

You may view the Industrial Establishments Regulation on the e-Laws website. It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation or its regulations. This guideline does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation or its regulations and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While these guidelines will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This guideline does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Workplace parties need to consider the following points:

  • All requirements of the OHSA and regulations must be complied with in the workplace. Where a pre-start health and safety review (PSR) is not required or an exemption from the requirements of Section 7 applies, the employer must ensure that workers will be protected when they use any apparatus, structure, protective element or process in the workplace.
  • The section 7 table from the Industrial Establishments Regulation specifies the provisions of the regulation that apply and circumstances under which a PSR is required. There may be other compliance requirements that need to be met before any apparatus, protective element, structure and/or process is used. Even if a PSR is not required, it is still the employer’s responsibility to meet these other requirements. To avoid a costly retrofit the employer may broaden the scope of a regulated PSR to include these other requirements.
  • Integrating health and safety early – at the design stage and before the equipment is used – is a cost-effective and proactive way to prevent workplace illness or injury. The benefits are numerous, including direct savings from minimizing retrofitting; less downtime and replacement of equipment; savings in workplace insurance claims due to fewer illnesses and injuries; and, most importantly, maintaining health and safety in the workplace.
  • These guidelines do not set out how a PSR is to be carried out. The regulation allows for flexibility in that it does not specify any one report format. Where employers have existing review systems and processes to comply with health and safety requirements prior to start-up, they may use them to satisfy PSR requirements, provided that the evaluation, review and written report are done by an appropriate person as required in subsections 7(11) and (12) of the Industrial Establishments Regulation.
  • A PSR includes a written report that outlines all areas of non-compliance and the measures necessary to achieve compliance (steps, actions or engineering controls as required by subsection 7(4)).
  • The employer must ensure that the apparatus, structure, protective element or process complies with the applicable sections of the Industrial Establishments Regulation.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-7009-5 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-7008-8 (PRINT)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

• Diffusion : 23 novembre 2016
  • Dernière mise à jour : novembre 2016

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Les directives sur les examens préalables de santé et de sécurité ont été préparées en vue de fournir aux parties du lieu de travail des renseignements qui les aideront à comprendre leurs obligations, de même que les niveaux de diligence, la méthodologie et les rapports requis aux fins de conformité à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail (LSST) et à l'article 7 du Règlement 851des Règlements refondus de l'Ontario de 1990 (Établissements industriels). Elles ne visent pas à remplacer la LSST ou ses règlements d'application. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Vous pouvez consulter le Règlement 851 (Établissements industriels) sur le site Web Lois-en-Ligne. Il incombe aux parties du lieu de travail de se conformer à la loi ou à ses règlements. Les présentes directives ne sauraient constituer un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la loi ou ses règlements et son application possible dans des circonstances précises sont priées de consulter un avocat. Les présentes directives seront également mises à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, lesquels appliqueront et feront observer cependant la LSST et ses règlements selon les faits qui leur seront présentés dans le lieu de travail. Les présentes directives n'ont aucune incidence sur le pouvoir discrétionnaire des inspecteurs à cet égard.

Les parties du lieu de travail doivent tenir compte des éléments suivants :

  • Toutes les exigences de la LSST et de ses règlements doivent être respectées dans le lieu de travail. Lorsqu'il n'est pas nécessaire d'effectuer un examen préalable de santé et de sécurité ou en cas de dispense de l'application de l'article 7, l'employeur doit s'assurer que les travailleurs seront protégés lorsqu'ils utilisent tout appareil, toute structure, tout élément protecteur ou tout procédé dans le lieu de travail.
  • Le tableau de l'article 7 du Règlement 851 (Établissements industriels) précise les dispositions du règlement qui s'appliquent et les circonstances dans lesquelles il faut effectuer un examen préalable de santé et de sécurité. Il pourrait y avoir d'autres exigences de conformité à satisfaire avant que tout appareil, tout élément protecteur, toute structure et (ou) tout procédé soient utilisés. Même s'il n'est pas nécessaire d'effectuer un examen préalable de santé et de sécurité, l'employeur doit satisfaire à ces autres exigences. Pour éviter d'avoir à apporter de coûteuses améliorations, il pourrait élargir la portée d'un examen préalable de santé et de sécurité prévu par le règlement de façon à inclure les exigences en question.
  • L'intégration précoce de la santé et de la sécurité – dès la phase de conception et avant que le matériel soit utilisé – constitue un moyen économique et proactif d'éviter les maladies professionnelles ou les blessures subies au travail. Elle comporte de nombreux avantages dont des économies directes découlant d'améliorations évitées, une diminution des temps d'arrêt / remplacements de matériel, des économies pour ce qui est des demandes d'indemnité à l'égard d'une maladie professionnelle ou d'une blessure subie au travail et, plus important encore, le maintien de la santé et de la sécurité dans le lieu de travail.
  • Les présentes directives n'énoncent pas la manière d'effectuer un examen préalable de santé et de sécurité. Le règlement laisse une certaine marge de manœuvre en ce qu'il n'établit pas de format précis pour le rapport. Lorsque les employeurs disposent déjà de systèmes et de processus d'examen pour assurer le respect des exigences en matière de santé et de sécurité avant qu'un appareil soit actionné ou qu'un procédé soit employé, ils peuvent y recourir pour remplir son obligation d'effectuer un examen préalable de santé et de sécurité, à condition que l'évaluation, l'examen et la rédaction du rapport écrit soient effectués par une personne ayant les compétences appropriées, comme le stipulent les paragraphes 7 (11) et (12) du Règlement 851 (Établissements industriels).
  • Un examen préalable de santé et de sécurité comprend un rapport écrit exposant tous les points d'inobservation et les mesures à prendre pour assurer l'observation des dispositions du règlement (mesures, actions ou contrôles techniques stipulés au paragraphe 7 [4]).
  • L'employeur doit s'assurer que l'appareil, la structure, l'élément protecteur ou le procédé sont conformes aux articles applicables du Règlement 851 (Établissements industriels).

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-7012-5 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-7011-8 (Version imprimé)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.