Table of Contents | Print Print This Page

Understanding Force

  • Issued: December 2009
  • Content last reviewed: December 2009

Force is the amount of effort exerted by the muscles. All work tasks require workers to use their muscles to exert some level of force. However, when a task requires them to exert a level of force that is too high for any particular muscle, it can damage the muscle or the related tendons, joints and other soft tissue. This damage can occur from a single movement or action that requires the muscles to generate a very high level of force. However, more commonly, the damage results when muscles generate moderate to high levels of force repeatedly, for a long duration, and/or while the body is in an awkward posture.

The activities that often involve high force requirements include:

  • Lifting, lowering, and carrying
  • Pushing or pulling and
  • Gripping and manipulating objects

Some job tasks result in high force loads on different parts of the body. For example, lifting a heavy load that is far from the body increases the load on the lower back. This can potentially damage both the spinal discs and the vertebrae.

Another source of force on the body comes from working with hand tools that have hard or sharp edges, i.e. resting the forearms on the hard edge of a desk, can also potentially cause damage to tendons, muscles, blood vessels and nerves under the skin. This is often referred to as contact stress.

The following parameters are important to understand the impact of force:

  • Weight of objects
  • How long a forceful effort has to be exerted
  • How many times in a given period it has to be exerted
  • The posture the body is in

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer  Imprimer cette page

Comprendre la force

  • Diffusion : décembre 2009
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2009

La force est l’effort exercé par les muscles. Dans toutes les tâches de travail, les travailleurs doivent utiliser leurs muscles pour exercer une certaine force. Cependant, lorsqu’une tâche les oblige à exercer une force trop grande pour un muscle en particulier, elle peut endommager le muscle ou les tendons et articulations associés et les autres tissus mous. Ces dommages peuvent être causés par un seul mouvement ou action qui oblige les muscles à produire une très grande force. Cependant, le plus souvent, les dommages sont causés lorsque les muscles produisent à plusieurs reprises une force modérée ou intense pendant une longue période et/ou pendant que le corps est dans une posture peu naturelle.

Parmi les activités qui nécessitent souvent une force intense, mentionnons :

  • Lever, abaisser ou transporter des charges
  • Pousser ou tirer
  • Agripper et manipuler des objets

Certaines tâches imposent des charges importantes à différentes parties du corps. Par exemple, le fait de soulever une charge lourde qui est loin du corps accroît la charge sur le bas du dos. Ceci peut endommager les disques intervertébraux et les vertèbres.

Une autre source de la force exercée sur le corps est le travail avec les outils à main qui ont des bords durs ou tranchants. Par exemple le fait de laisser reposer les avant-bras sur le bord dur d’un bureau peut causer des dommages aux tendons, aux muscles, aux vaisseaux sanguins et aux nerfs situés sous la peau. On appelle souvent ce phénomène le stress de contact.

Il importe de tenir compte des paramètres suivants pour comprendre l’impact de la force :

  • Poids des objets
  • Durée de l’effort exercé
  • Combien de fois au cours d’une période donnée il a été exercé
  • La posture du corps

précédent | suivant