Table of Contents | Print this page

Appendix C: Selection of Hearing Protection Devices and De-Rating Schemes

  • Issued: December 5, 2016
  • Content last reviewed: December 2016

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Methods for Selecting Hearing Protection

The following elaborates on the four methods briefly mentioned in this Guideline. These methods for selecting Hearing Protection Devices (HPDs) are also set out in section 9.3 of CSA Standard, Z94.2-14, “Hearing Protection Devices- Performance, selection, care and use”.

1. Single Number Reporting Method

This method provides a value of attenuation for a (HPD) in decibels. The Noise Reduction Rating (NRR) is a single-number descriptor computed from laboratory measurements involving experienced users. The SNR (SF84) is a single-number descriptor computed from laboratory measurements involving inexperienced users.

Noise Reduction Rating or NRR method

The NRR of a HPD is computed from laboratory measurements involving optimum-subject fit data based on testing according to ANSI Standard S3.19 (1974), “Method for the Measurement of Real-Ear Protection of Hearing Protectors and Physical Attenuation of Earmuffs”, which tests subjects under “laboratory conditions.” This method is commonly used by manufacturers to report attenuation on HPDs.

Single Number Rating (subject fit 84th percentile) or SNR (SF84) method

SNR (SF84) is a value that theoretically should be achieved in a workplace with a well- run hearing loss prevention program by approximately 84% of the user population. It is based on testing according to ANSI/ASA Standard 12.6 (2008), “Methods for Measuring the Real-Ear Attenuation of Hearing Protectors”, Method B, hearing protection attenuation test. The Method B data is considered to be more representative of “actual field performance values” for “groups of inexperienced users”. The SNR (SF84) results are more accurate and approximate “real world” attenuation results.

2. CSA Class Method

This method involves the assignment of HPD classes based on octave-band attenuation values measured according to ANSI S3.19. CSA Standard Z94.2-14, “Hearing protection devices - Performance, selection, care and use”, pre-assigns HPDs into classes according to defined attenuation ranges. A listing of classes (A/AL, B/BL, or C) assigned to HPDs based on the octave band attenuation values measured according to ANSI Standard S 3.19 are provided in Table 4 of CSA Standard Z94.2-14. Dual protection (e.g. a combination of ear muffs and ear plugs) is recommended for noise exposure exceeding Lex, 8 of 105 dBA.

3. Octave Band Computation Method

OB method

This is most complicated method of selecting HPDs and provides the maximum accuracy as long as the noise levels are representative of the entire worker shift noise and assuming individual fit is identical to the fit obtained during the testing.

It requires the measurement of the un-weighted workplace sound levels in the 125, 250, 500, 1000, 2000, 4000, and 8000 Hz octave bands and the octave band attenuation data for the HPD being assessed. A full description of the method is described in clause 9.6.6 and in Appendix B of CSA Standard Z94.2-14, “Hearing protection devices - Performance, selection, care and use”.

Below is an example of how to estimate the effective noise level by this method when wearing a particular HPD.

Selection of Hearing Protection Devices and De-Rating Schemes
Octave-band Centre frequency (Hz) 125 250 500 1000 2000 4000 8000 Overall level
Workplace noise spectrum
(octave band sound pressure level)
85 88 93 90 89 87 86 98
A-weighting correction -16.1 -8.6 -3.2 0 +1.2 +1.0 -1.1 n/a
Unprotected A weighted sound level
(octave band sound pressure level minus A- weighting correction)
68.9 79.4 89.8 90 90.2 86 84.9 96
Mean attenuation of HPD
(from manufacturer's data)
12 15 20 26 31 37 35 n/a
Standard deviation of attenuation 2.8 3 4 3.7 4.9 5.9 4.0 n/a
Assumed protection values
(mean attenuation minus standard deviation of attenuation)
9.2 12 16 22.3 26.1 31.1 31.0 n/a
Effective A-weighted (dBA) sound level when HPD is worn
59.7 67.4 73.8 67.7 64.1 56.9 53.9 76.0

The estimated protected exposure level is calculated using the following equation:

Overall protected exposure level Leq= 10 log (10 0.1SPLi + …..+ 10 0.1SPLn)

in which

Leq, is the equivalent sound pressure level in dBA

i is a discrete activity of a worker exposed to a sound level

n is the total number of discrete activities in the worker’s shift.

SPLi is the Leq for the ith activity in dBA

Overall protected exposure level Leq = 10 log (105.97 + 106.74 + …..+ 105.39) = 76.0 dBA

CSA Standard Z94.2-14, “Hearing protection devices - Performance, selection, care and use” (i.e. Clause 9.6.6.2) requires use of this method for exposures above an Lex, 8 of 105 dBA.

4. Field attenuation estimation system (FAES)

This method involves individual users and implements fit-testing using field attenuation estimation systems (FAES). Unlike the above three methods (where group attenuation is obtained), this objective method helps to determine personal attenuation ratings (PAR). The trend is to use both the individual (fit-testing) and group attenuation approaches to obtain a more conservative estimate of a hearing protection device’s attenuation and worker’s protected exposure.

De-Rating of HPDs

Much of the sound attenuation data in use today is still from ANSI S3.19-1974, “Method for the Measurement of Real-Ear Protection of Hearing Protectors and Physical Attenuation of Earmuffs”, including the NRRs (Noise Reduction Ratings), that manufacturers print on their packages of HPDs.

Noise Reduction Rating (NRR) and De-Rating

Since the NRR is a laboratory test involving experienced users and may not reflect real-world results, HPDs must be “de-rated” to account for the significantly reduced protection provided under “real world” conditions. CSA Standard Z94.2-14, “Hearing protection devices - Performance, selection, care and use”, recommends de-rating NRRs by the following multiplicative factors:

  • 70% (0.7) for earmuffs
  • 50% (0.5) for earplugs; and
  • 65% (0.65) for dual protection.

Use With A- weighted Sound Measurements

The NRR method was designed for use with C-weighted data as follows:

Predicted A-weighted exposure = C-weighted exposure - NRR

To determine the exposure in dBA, CSA Standard Z94.2-14, Hearing Protection Devices- Performance, selection, care and use, suggests that the NRR may be applied to A-weighted sound level data in place of C-weighted data, by adding a +3 dB correction factor to the A-weighted sound level to estimate the C-weighted sound level as set out in the formula below.[1]

Predicted A-weighted exposure = A-weighted exposure + 3dB – NRR

Taking into account both, the de-rating of NRRs for the various types of HPDs, and the adjusting for the difference between C-weighted and A-weighted sound level measurements, a determination may be made of the predicted A-weighted exposure when the HPD is worn.

This approach is reflected in the scheme set out in Table 2 of CSA Standard Z94.2-14, “Hearing Protection Devices- Performance, selection, care and use”.

Noise Reduction Rating (NRR) and De-Rating
Device Type % of NRR Achieved Predicted dBA effective at the ear
Earplugs 50% Leq – [NRR (0.5) – 3]
Earmuffs 70% Leq – [NRR (0.7) – 3]
Dual Protection 65% Leq – [NRR+5 (0.65) – 3]

The following example illustrates the use with A-weighted sound measurements. If the user wishes to apply the NRR to an A-weighted sound level, then the NRR is to be reduced by 3 dB after the de-rating, based on the type of HPD, is applied.

For a measured A-weighted Leq of 94 dBA, and earplugs (with a labelled NRR of 28), the predicted A-weighted effective Leq is calculated as follows:

Leq – [NRR (0.5) – 3] = XX dBA

94 dBA – [28 (0.5) – 3] = 94 – 11 = 83 dBA

If the user wishes to apply the NRR to a C-weighted sound level, then the NRR remains the same after the de-rating is applied. For a measured C-weighted Leq of 94 dBC, and earplugs (with a labelled NRR of 28), the predicted A-weighted effective Leq is calculated as follows:

94 dBC – [28 (0.5)] = 94 – 14 = 80 dBA

Previous | Next


[1] CSA Standard Z94.2-14, “Hearing Protection Devices – Performance, selection, care and use”, cites the works of Gauger and Berger (2004) as the basis for 3 dB correction factor.

ISBN 978-1-4606-9207-3 (HTML)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Annexe C : Sélection des protecteurs auditifs et systèmes de déclassement

  • Diffusion : le 5 décembre 2016
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2016

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Méthode pour sélectionner les protecteurs auditifs

Le texte qui suit décrit les quatre méthodes brièvement mentionnées dans les présentes directives. Ces méthodes de sélection des PA sont également énoncées à l'article 9.3 de la norme Z94.2-F14, « Protecteurs auditifs : performances, sélection, entretien et utilisation » de la CSA.

1. Méthode de déclaration à nombre unique

Cette méthode fournit une valeur d'atténuation en décibels pour un PA. L'indice de réduction du bruit (IRB) est un descripteur à nombre unique calculé à partir de mesures de laboratoire comportant des utilisateurs expérimentés. Le SNR (AS84) est un descripteur à nombre unique calculé à partir de mesures de laboratoire comportant des utilisateurs inexpérimentés.

Méthode de l'indice de réduction du bruit ou IRB

L'IRB d'un protecteur auditif est calculé à partir de mesures de laboratoire comportant des données sur l'ajustement optimal pour le sujet, lesquelles reposent sur des essais réalisés conformément à la norme S3.19 (1974), « Method for the Measurement of Real-Ear Protection of Hearing Protectors and Physical Attenuation of Earmuffs » de l'ANSI en vertu de laquelle les essais sur les sujets se font dans des « conditions de laboratoire ». Les fabricants utilisent couramment cette méthode pour déclarer l'atténuation sur les protecteurs auditifs.

Méthode de l'indice à nombre unique (ajustement pour le sujet dans le 84e percentile) ou SNR (AS84)

Le SNR (AS84) est la valeur que l'on devrait obtenir dans un lieu de travail, en théorie, grâce à un programme de prévention de la perte auditive bien géré pour environ 84 pour 100 de la population des utilisateurs. Il repose sur les essais réalisés conformément à la méthode B de la norme ANSI/ASA 12.6 (2008), « Methods for Measuring the Real-Ear Attenuation of Hearing Protectors» portant sur les essais d'affaiblissement de la protection auditive. On considère que les données tirées de la méthode B représentent mieux les « valeurs de rendement sur le terrain réelles » pour des « groupes d'utilisateurs inexpérimentés ». Les résultats obtenus à partir du SNR (AS84) constituent des données d'affaiblissement plus précises et approximatives en « conditions réelles ».

2. Méthode de classification de la CSA

Dans le cadre de cette méthode, des classifications sont attribuées aux PA selon les valeurs d'affaiblissement du bruit par bande d'octave mesurées conformément à la norme ANSI S3.19. La norme Z94.2-F14, « Protecteurs auditifs : performances, sélection, entretien et utilisation » de la CSA répartit préalablement les PA par classifications conformément à des plages d'affaiblissement définies. Le tableau 4 de la norme Z94.2-F14 de la CSA donne la liste des classifications (A/AL, B/BL ou C) attribuées aux PA selon les valeurs d'affaiblissement du bruit par bande d'octave qui sont mesurées conformément à la norme ANSI S 3.19. Une double protection (p. ex., une combinaison de serre-tête antibruit et de bouchons d'oreilles) est recommandée pour les expositions au bruit dont le Lex, 8 est supérieur à 105 dBA.

3. Méthode de calcul par bande d'octave

Méthode par bande d'octave

Il s'agit de la méthode la plus compliquée pour choisir des PA, mais elle offre une précision maximale pourvu que les niveaux de bruit soient représentatifs du bruit entier du quart des travailleurs et que l'ajustement individuel soit identique à l'ajustement obtenu durant l'essai.

Elle nécessite la mesure des niveaux sonores non pondérés du lieu de travail dans les bandes d'octave de 125, 250, 500, 1 000, 2 000, 4 000 et 8 000 Hz et les données d'atténuation par bande d'octave pour le PA évalué. La disposition 9.6.6 et la norme Z94.2-14, « Protecteurs auditifs : performances, sélection, entretien et utilisation » de la CSA contiennent une description complète de la méthode.

Le tableau qui suit explique comment évaluer le niveau de bruit réel en utilisant cette méthode lorsque l'on porte un certain type de PA.

Sélection de protecteurs auditifs et systèmes de déclassement
Fréquence centrale de la bande d'octave (Hz) 125 250 500 1000 2000 4000 8000 Niveau global
Spectre de bruit sur le lieu de travail
(Niveau de pression acoustique par bande d'octave)
85 88 93 90 89 87 86 98
Correction de pondération A -16,1 -8,6 -3,2 0 1,2 -1 -1,1 sans object
Niveau acoustique pondéré A sans protection
(Niveau de pression acoustique par bande d'octave moins correction de pondération A)
68,9 79,4 89.,8 90 90,2 86 84,9 96
Atténuation moyenne du PA
(provenant des données du fabricant)
12 15 20 26 31 37 35 sans object
Écart-type de l'atténuation 2,8 3 4 3,7 4,9 5,9 4,0 sans object
Valeurs de protection présumées
(Atténuation moyenne moins écart-type de l'atténuation)
9,2 12 16 22,3 26,1 31,1 31,0 sans object
Niveau acoustique (dBA) pondéré A réel lorsque le PA est porté
(Niveau acoustique pondéré A sans protection moins valeurs de protection présumées)
59,7 67,4 73,8 67,7 64,1 56,9 53,9 76,0

On calcule le niveau d'exposition avec protection estimé au moyen de l'équation suivante :

Niveau d'exposition global avec protection Leq = 10 log (10 0,1 SPLi, + …..+ 10 0,1 SPLn)

où :

Leq est le niveau de pression acoustique équivalent en dBA

i correspond à une activité distincte d'un travailleur exposé à un niveau sonore

n correspond au nombre total d'activités distinctes pendant le quart du travailleur

SPLi correspond au Leq pour l'activité i, exprimé en dBA

Niveau d'exposition global avec protection Leq = 10 log (105,97 + 106,74 + …..+ 105,39) = 76,0 dBA

La nome Z94.2-14, « Protecteurs auditifs : performances, sélection, entretien et utilisation » de la CSA (c.-à-d. la disposition 9.6.6.2) exige l'utilisation de cette méthode pour les expositions au-delà d'un Lex, 8 de 105 dBA.

4. Système d'estimation d'atténuation sur place

Cette méthode fait appel à des utilisateurs individuels et met en œuvre un essai d'ajustement au moyen du système d'estimation d'atténuation sur place. Contrairement aux trois méthodes ci-dessus (dans lesquelles on obtient une atténuation collective), la présente méthode objective aide à déterminer une valeur d'atténuation personnelle. La tendance consiste à utiliser les méthodes individuelle (essai d'ajustement) et collective pour obtenir une estimation plus prudente de l'atténuation d'un PA et de l'exposition avec protection d'un travailleur.

Déclassement des protecteurs auditifs

La plupart des données d'atténuation acoustique utilisées aujourd'hui proviennent toujours de la norme S3.19-1974, « Method for the Measurement of Real-Ear Protection of Hearing Protectors and Physical Attenuation of Earmuffs » de l'ANSI, notamment pour les IRB (indices de réduction du bruit), que les fabricants impriment sur les emballages des PA.

Indice de réduction du bruit et déclassement

Comme l'IRB est obtenu au moyen d'un essai en laboratoire à l'aide d'utilisateurs expérimentés et qu'il peut ne pas témoigner des résultats du monde réel, il faut « déclasser » les PA afin de tenir compte de la protection considérablement réduite offerte dans des conditions du « monde réel ». La norme Z94.2-14, « Protecteurs auditifs : performances, sélection, entretien et utilisation » de la CSA recommande de déclasser les IRB selon les facteurs multiplicatifs suivants :

  • 70 % (0,7) pour les serre-tête antibruit;
  • 50 % (0,5) pour les bouchons d'oreilles;
  • 65 % (0,65) pour une protection double.

Utilisation avec des mesures acoustiques pondérées A

La méthode de l'IRB a été conçue en vue d'une utilisation avec des données pondérées C comme suit :

Exposition pondérée A prévue = exposition pondérée C – IRB

Pour déterminer l'exposition en dBA, la norme Z94.2-14, « Protecteurs auditifs : performances, sélection, entretien et utilisation » de la CSA suggère que l'IRB soit appliqué à des données de niveau acoustique pondérées A au lieu de données pondérées C, en ajoutant un facteur de correction de + 3 dB au niveau acoustique pondéré A pour estimer le niveau sonore pondéré C comme indiqué dans la formule ci-dessous[1].

Exposition pondérée A prévue = exposition pondérée A + 3 dBIRB

En tenant compte des deux, le déclassement des IRB pour les divers types de PA et l'ajustement aux fins de la différence entre les mesures de niveau acoustique pondérées C et A, il est possible de déterminer l'exposition pondérée A prévue pendant le port du PA.

Cette méthode est reflétée dans les valeurs établies dans le tableau 2 de la norme Z94.2-14, « Protecteurs auditifs : performances, sélection, entretien et utilisation » de la CSA. (Voir ci-dessous.)

Indice de réduction du bruit (IRB) et déclassement
Type de protecteur % d'IRB obtenu dBA réels prévus à l'oreille
Bouchons d'oreilles 50% Leq – [IRB (0,5) – 3]
Serre-tête antibruit 70% Leq – [IRB (0,7) – 3]
Protection double 65% Leq – [IRB + 5 (0,65) – 3]

L'exemple suivants illustrent l'utilisation de mesures acoustiques pondérées A. Si l'utilisateur souhaite appliquer l'IRB à un niveau acoustique pondéré A, il faut alors réduire l'IRB de 3 dB après l'application du déclassement, selon le type de PA.

Pour un Leq pondéré A mesuré de 94 dBA et des bouchons d'oreilles (avec un IRB indiqué de 28), le Leq réel pondéré A prévu est calculé de la façon suivante :

Leq – [IRB (0,5) – 3] = XX dBA

94 dBA – [28 (0,5) – 3] = 94 – 11 = 83 dBA

Si l'utilisateur souhaite appliquer l'IRB à un niveau sonore pondéré C, l'IRB demeure alors identique une fois le déclassement appliqué. Pour un Leq pondéré C de 94 dBC et des bouchons d'oreilles (avec un IRB indiqué de 28), le Leq réel pondéré A prévu est calculé de la façon suivante :

94 dBC – [28 (0,5)] = 94 – 14 = 80 dBA

précédent | suivant

[1]La norme Z94.2-14, « Protecteurs auditifs : performances, sélection, entretien et utilisation » de la CSA cite les travaux de MM. Gauger et Berger (2004) à titre de fondement pour le facteur de correction de 3 dB.

ISBN 978-1-4606-9209-7 (HTML)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.