Table of Contents | Print this page

Appendix B: Determining Noise Exposure and Calculating Lex,8

  • Issued: December 5, 2016
  • Content last reviewed: December 2016

Disclaimer: This resource has been prepared to help the workplace parties understand some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and regulations. It is not legal advice. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations. For further information please see full disclaimer.

Equivalent sound exposure level (Leq)

An “equivalent sound exposure level” (Leq) is the continuous sound pressure level (SPL) of noise averaged over time which contains the same amount of energy as that generated by the actual and varying sound levels being measured.

If a worker’s exposure to noise throughout a shift can be characterized by a number of Leq measurements for distinct noise activity periods, the measurements can be combined into a full shift Leq using the equation:

Leq, shift = 10 Log [(1/T) {(ti x 100.1SPLi ) + ……. .+ (tn x 100.1SPLn)}]

in which

Leq, shift is the full shift equivalent sound pressure level

T is the shift length in hours and equal to sum total of all activities from i=1 to i=n

i is a discrete activity of a worker exposed to a sound level

ti is the duration in hours of i,

n is the total number of discrete activities in the worker’s shift.

SPLi is the Leq for the ith activity in dBA

Calculation of Lex,8

Lex,8” is the equivalent sound exposure level (Leq) of noise averaged over 8 hours, the length of a typical work shift. It can be calculated using the equation above, where T is equal to 8, or by the mathematical equation or formula given in the Noise Regulation (O. Reg. 381/15) below.

Image of the mathematical equation for determining the equivalent sound exposure level over eight hours that contains the same total energy as that generated by the actual and varying sound levels to which a worker is exposed in his or her total work day.

in which,

Lex,8 is the equivalent sound exposure level in 8 hours,

∑ is the sum of the values in the enclosed expression for all activities from i = 1 to i = n,

i is a discrete activity of a worker exposed to a sound level,

ti  is the duration in hours of i,

SPLi is the sound level of i in dBA,

n is is the total number of discrete activities in the worker’s total workday.

For example, if a worker’s exposure consists of two distinct exposure periods, 3 hours at an Leq of 84 dBA and 5 hours at an Leq of 88 dBA, then:

Lex,8 = Leq, 8 = 10 Log [(1/8){(3 x 100.1 x 84) + (5 x 100.1 x 88)}] = 86.9 dBA

Determination of Lex,8 for Non-Standard Work Shifts

Method 1

For a shift length greater or less than 8 hours, the Lex,8 may be calculated using the equation:

Lex,8= Leq, T +10 Log (T/8), where T is the shift duration in hours.

For example, an Leq for a 10 hour shift would be converted to a Lex,8 as follows:

Lex,8= Leq, 10 + 10 Log (10/8) = Leq, 10 + 1 dBA

Therefore, if a worker is exposed to a measured level of 88 dBA Leq for a period of 10 hours, the Lex,8 would equal 88 dBA + 1 dBA, or 89 dBA.

Method 2

The same result can be obtained using the following chart and table, which show the correction in dBA to be made to the Leq for different shift durations.

Nomograph showing the correction in dBA to be made to the Leq for different shift durations in order to calculate Lex,8

In this chart the numbers below the line represent the actual shift duration in hours and the numbers above the line are the corresponding correction factor to be added to the shift Leq to convert it to an Lex,8.

Data Table: Correction in dB to be made to the Leq for different shift durations
Correction (dB) -3 -2 -1.3 -0.6 0 0.5 1 1.4 1.7 2 2.4 2.7 3
Shift duration (hours) 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

This table is provided for convenience only. It does not provide for the determinations of shifts or exposures for fractions of hours, such as shifts of 7.5 hours.

For a 12-hour shift, both the chart and the table show a 1.7 dBA correction (or more appropriately, a 2 dBA correction since measurement accuracy of better than +/-1 dBA is unlikely). Thus a worker exposed to 83 dBA for 12-hours would have an Lex,8 exposure of 83 + 2 = 85 dBA. Another way of looking at this is to consider the 12-hour shift Leq (or Lex, 12) limit to be 83 dBA.

Method 3

Where a worker’s noise exposure can be easily split into discrete activities during which sound levels are steady, the following table may be used to determine the Leq for the shift.

Table of Equivalent Noise Exposures
Steady Sound Level (dBA) Duration
82 16 hours
85 8 hours
88 4 hours
91 2 hours
94 1 hours
97 30 minutes
100 15 minutes
103 7.5 minutes
106 3.75 minutes
109 1.88 minutes
112 0.94 minutes
115 28.12 seconds

Where a worker is exposed to a steady sound level throughout their shift, the exposure duration must not exceed the value for that sound level in the above Table. Once the worker has reached the permissible duration for that sound level, the worker’s noise exposure has reached 100% of the permissible daily noise dose. For example, if a worker is exposed to a steady sound level of 91 dBA, the maximum permissible daily exposure duration is 2 hours.

Where the daily noise exposure is composed of two or more periods of noise exposure of different levels, the following equation may be used to determine if the overall exposure exceeds the allowable noise exposure limits:

(C1/T1 + C2/T2 + …. Cn/Tn) x 100 = % of exposure limit

Where

C = total duration of exposure at a specific noise level, and

T = total duration of exposure permitted at that level (Refer to “Table of Equivalent Noise Exposures” above)

The 85 dBA Lex,8 exposure limit is exceeded when the dose, calculated using the above formula exceeds 100%.

Example:

A worker is exposed to 85 dBA for 4 hours and 91 dBA for 1.5 hours.

Therefore using above calculation:

(4/8 + 1.5/2) x 100 = 125%

In this case the worker has exceeded his/her allowable noise exposure and therefore measures must be implemented to protect the worker’s hearing. If the exposure duration at 91 dBA were reduced to 1 hour, the combined exposure would be at 100% of the permissible daily noise dose, provided the worker’s exposure is at or below 80 dBA for the rest of his/her shift.

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-9207-3 (HTML)

Disclaimer: This web resource has been prepared to assist the workplace parties in understanding some of their obligations under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) and the regulations. It is not intended to replace the OHSA or the regulations and reference should always be made to the official version of the legislation.

It is the responsibility of the workplace parties to ensure compliance with the legislation. This web resource does not constitute legal advice. If you require assistance with respect to the interpretation of the legislation and its potential application in specific circumstances, please contact your legal counsel.

While this web resource will also be available to Ministry of Labour inspectors, they will apply and enforce the OHSA and its regulations based on the facts as they may find them in the workplace. This web resource does not affect their enforcement discretion in any way.

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Annexe B : Détermination et calcul du niveau d'exposition au bruit (Lex, 8)

  • Diffusion : le 5 décembre 2016
  • Dernière mise à jour : décembre 2016

Avis de non-responsabilité : Cette ressource a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il ne se veut pas un avis juridique et ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail et les règlements qui y sont associés. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir l'avis de non-responsabilité intégral.

Niveau d'exposition sonore équivalent (Leq)

Un « niveau d'exposition sonore équivalent » (Leq) correspond au niveau de pression acoustique continu moyen, au fil du temps, qui comporte la même quantité d'énergie que celle produite par les niveaux sonores réels et variables mesurés.

L'exposition au bruit d'un travailleur pendant la durée de son quart peut être calculée en mesurant plusieurs niveaux de pression acoustique équivalents (Leq) pendant des périodes d'activités distinctes, et ces mesures peuvent être combinées pour obtenir le niveau de pression acoustique équivalent pendant toute la durée du quart grâce à l'équation suivante :

Leq, quart = 10 log [(1/T) {(ti x 100,1 SPLi ) + ……. .+ (tn x 100,1 SPLn)}]

où :

Leq, quart correspond au niveau de pression acoustique équivalent pendant toute la durée du quart

T correspond à la durée du quart en heures et équivaut à la somme de toutes les activités,
de i = 1 à i = n

i correspond à une activité distincte d'un travailleur exposé à un niveau sonore

ti correspond à la durée de i exprimée en heures

n correspond au nombre total d'activités distinctes pendant le quart du travailleur

SPLi correspond au Leq pour l'activité i, exprimé en dBA

Calcul de Lex, 8

« Lex, 8 » est le niveau d'exposition sonore équivalent moyen sur une période de huit heures, soit la durée habituelle d'un quart de travail. On peut le calculer à l'aide de l'équation ci-dessus, où T équivaut à 8, ou en utilisant l'équation ou la formule mathématique ci-après fournie dans le Règl. de l'Ont. 381/15 (Bruit).

Image de la formule mathématique servant au calcul du niveau d’exposition sonore équivalent sur une période de huit heures qui comporte la même quantité d’énergie que celle produite par les niveaux sonores réels et variables auxquels est exposé le travailleur pendant toute sa journée de travail

où :

Lex, 8 correspond au niveau d'exposition sonore équivalent pendant huit heures

Σ correspond à la somme des valeurs figurant dans l'expression entre parenthèses pour toutes les activités, de i = 1 à i = n

i correspond à une activité distincte d'un travailleur exposé à un niveau sonore

ti correspond à la durée de i exprimée en heures

SPLi correspond au niveau sonore de i exprimé en dBA

n correspond au nombre total d'activités distinctes pendant la journée de travail entière du travailleur

Par exemple, si l'exposition d'un travailleur comporte deux périodes différentes, 3 heures à un Leq de 84 dBA et 5 heures à un Leq de 88 dBA, on obtient alors :

Lex, 8 = Leq, 8 = 10 log [(1/8){(3 x 100,1 x 84) + (5 x 100,1 x 88)}] = 86,9 dBA

Détermination de Lex, 8 pour les quarts de travail non conventionnels

Méthode 1

Si le quart dure plus ou moins de 8 heures, le Lex, 8 peut être calculé à partir de l'équation suivante :

Lex, 8 = Leq, T + 10 log (T/8), où T est la durée du poste en heures

Par exemple, le Leq d'un poste de 10 heures sera converti en Lex, 8 comme suit :

Lex, 8 = Leq, 10 + 10 log (10/8) = Leq, 10 + 1 dBA

Par conséquent, si un travailleur est exposé à un niveau mesuré de 88 dBA Leq pendant 10 heures, le Lex, 8 équivaudrait à 88 dBA + 1 dBA, soit 89 dBA.

Méthode 2

On obtiendra le même résultat en utilisant le graphique et le tableau qui suivent où figurent les corrections en décibels à apporter au Leq selon les différentes durées de quart.

Nomographe présentant les corrections en décibels apportée au Leq pour des durées de quart de travail différentes

Dans ce graphique, les chiffres du bas (sous la ligne) représentent la durée réelle du quart et ceux du haut, les indices de correction correspondants à ajouter au Leq du quart pour obtenir le Lex, 8.

Tableau de données : Correction en dB apportée au Leq pour des durées de quart de travail différentes
Correction (dB) -3 -2 -1.3 -0.6 0 0,5 1 1,4 1,7 2 2,4 2,7 3
Durée de quart de travail (heures) 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

Ce tableau est fourni à titre indicatif seulement. Il ne permet pas de déterminer les quarts de travail ou les expositions pour les fractions d’heure, comme les quarts de travail de 7,5 heures.

Pour un quart de 12 heures, le graphique et le tableau donnent une correction de 1,7 dBA (ou, plus précisément, de 2 dBA, car il est peu probable que l'on obtienne une mesure plus précise que +/−1 dBA). Par conséquent, un travailleur exposé à 83 dBA pendant 12 heures sera exposé à un
Lex, 8 de 83 + 2 = 85 dBA. On peut aussi dire que la limite Leq d'un quart de 12 heures (ou Lex, 12) est de 83 dBA.

Méthode 3

Si le travail se divise facilement en activités distinctes pendant lesquelles les niveaux d'exposition au bruit sont uniformes, on peut utiliser le tableau suivant pour calculer le Leq du quart.

Tableau des niveaux d'exposition au bruit équivalent
Niveau d'exposition au bruit uniforme (dBA) Durée
82 16 heures
85 8 heures
88 4 heures
91 2 heures
94 1 heures
97 30 minutes
100 15 minutes
103 7.5 minutes
106 3.75 minutes
109 1.88 minute
112 0.94 minute
115 28.12 secondes

Si un travailleur est exposé à un niveau de bruit uniforme pendant son quart, la durée d'exposition ne doit pas dépasser la valeur correspondante indiquée dans le tableau ci-dessus. Une fois que le travailleur a atteint la limite permise pour ce niveau de bruit, il aura atteint 100 pour 100 de la dose de bruit quotidienne permise. Par exemple, si un travailleur est exposé à un niveau de bruit uniforme de 91 dBA, la durée maximale d'exposition quotidienne permise est de 2 heures.

Si l'exposition quotidienne au bruit comprend deux ou plusieurs périodes d'exposition à des niveaux de bruit différents, on peut utiliser l'équation suivante pour déterminer si l'exposition globale dépasse les limites permises :

(C1/T1 + C2/T2 + …. Cn/Tn) x 100 = % de limite d'exposition

Où :

C = durée totale de l'exposition à un niveau de bruit particulier

T = durée totale d'exposition permise à ce niveau (consulter le « Tableau des niveaux d'exposition au bruit équivalent » ci-dessus)

On considère que la limite de 85 dBA Lex, 8 a été dépassée lorsque la dose de bruit, calculée au moyen de la formule qui précède, dépasse 100 pour 100.

Exemple :

Un travailleur est exposé à 85 dBA pendant 4 heures et à 91 dBA pendant 1,5 heure.

En utilisant le calcul ci-dessus, on obtient le résultat suivant :

(4/8 + 1,5/2) x 100 = 125 %

Dans ce cas, la limite d'exposition au bruit permise a été dépassée et il faut prendre des mesures pour protéger l'ouïe du travailleur. Si la durée d'exposition à 91 dBA était diminuée d'une heure, l'exposition combinée atteindrait 100 pour 100 de la dose de bruit quotidienne permise, si tant est que cette exposition soit inférieure à 80 dBA pendant le reste du poste.

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-9209-7 (HTML)

Avis de non-responsabilité : La présente ressource Web a été créée pour aider les parties des lieux de travail à comprendre certaines des obligations que leur imposent la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Elle ne vise pas à remplacer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés. Il convient de toujours se reporter au texte de loi officiel.

Il incombe aux parties des lieux de travail d'assurer le respect de la législation. La présente ressource Web ne se veut pas un avis juridique. Les personnes qui ont besoin d'aide pour interpréter la législation et son application possible dans des circonstances précises devraient consulter un avocat.

La présente ressource Web sera mise à la disposition des inspecteurs du ministère du Travail, mais ceux-ci feront observer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, et les règlements qui y sont associés en se fondant sur les faits qu'ils pourraient relever dans les lieux de travail. La présente ressource Web ne se répercute d'aucune façon sur le pouvoir de décider qu'ont les inspecteurs lorsqu'il s'agit de faire observer les lois et règlements.