Table of Contents | Print This Page

The Review Process

  • Issued: April 15, 2015
  • Content last reviewed: April 2015
  • See also: Addendum

To ensure the Review was informed by public and stakeholder views as well as empirical data, the Chief Prevention Officer created a highly consultative and transparent process that included:

  1. An Advisory Group comprised of key mining stakeholders from employer and labour organizations and relevant health and safety organizations. Members were chosen for their demonstrated commitment to occupational health and safety in the mining sector, and their roles as recognized leaders within their professional / organizational communities.
  2. Twelve public consultations with individuals and organizations who are most affected by and knowledgeable about the mining sector, including mining community stakeholders and partners (both labour and employers), academic experts, educators / trainers, community organizations, government workers and other relevant groups and individuals. In total, 150 people participated in the public consultations, and the Review received 35 formal presentations and 64 written submissions.
  3. Four site visits to mines that represented different hard and soft rock mining environments, where the Chief Prevention Officer and members of the Advisory Group could observe first-hand a variety of mining techniques including bulk mining, cut-and-fill mining and room-and-pillar mining. The Review appreciated the invitation to visit and, most importantly, the chance to talk with the men and women who work underground at these mines: Nickel Rim South Mine, Glencore; Coleman Mine, Vale; Lockerby Mine, First Nickel in Sudbury; and Ojibway Mine, Windsor Salt in Windsor.
  4. Extensive research into best practices in mining safety, prevention and enforcement in Ontario and around the world, which provided information on initiatives that have been successful in improving mining health and safety.
  5. A risk assessment to help the Review fully understand the risks workers face in underground mining. The results of the risk assessment will also help employers and workers as well as their representatives, the Ministry of Labour and Health and Safety Associations (HSAs) work together to mitigate risks and reduce the incidence of injury, illness and death in Ontario mining workplaces.
  6. Six working groups, with representatives from labour and employers, to address key issues identified by the Advisory Group. The working groups used a variety of sources of information including consulting subject matter experts, reviewing recommendations from previous inquiries and inquests, and feedback from the public consultations.
  7. A resource group of subject matter experts who provided information to the working groups on an as-needed basis.

The Review was coordinated by a secretariat in the Ministry of Labour and supported by the Ministry’s Prevention Office, Health and Safety Policy Branch, Operations Division and Legal Services Branch in consultation with mining stakeholders. Additional support was provided by the Ministry of Northern Development and Mines and Workplace Safety North.

Previous | Next

Table des matières | Imprimer cette page

Processus d'examen

  • Diffusion : 15 avril 2015
  • Dernière mise à jour : avril 2015
  • Voir aussi : Addenda

Afin que l'Examen tienne compte à la fois des opinions du public et des intervenants, ainsi que des données empiriques, le directeur général de la prévention a élaboré un processus hautement consultatif et transparent qui comprenait :

  1. Un groupe consultatif composé d'intervenants clés du secteur minier, notamment des représentants des employeurs et des travailleurs ainsi que des organismes de santé et de sécurité concernés. Les membres du groupe ont été choisis pour l'engagement qu'ils ont démontré envers la santé et la sécurité au travail dans le secteur minier ainsi que leur rôle de chef reconnu dans leurs milieux professionnel et institutionnel.
  2. Douze consultations publiques auprès des personnes et des organismes les plus touchés par le secteur minier et les mieux informés à son sujet, dont des intervenants et des partenaires de la communauté minière (travailleurs et employeurs), des experts universitaires, des éducateurs/formateurs, des organismes communautaires, des fonctionnaires, ainsi que d'autres personnes et groupes concernés. Au total, 150 personnes ont pris part aux consultations publiques, et les responsables de l'Examen ont assisté à 35 présentations officielles et reçu 64 commentaires écrits.
  3. Quatre visites dans des mines représentant différents milieux d'exploitation minière en roche dure et tendre, où le directeur général de la prévention et les membres du groupe consultatif ont pu observer directement diverses techniques du secteur minier, y compris l'abattage non sélectif, l'abattage par chambre remblayée et l'abattage par chambres et piliers. Les responsables de l'Examen ont été heureux qu'on les invite à visiter les mines Nickel Rim South de Glencore, Coleman de Vale, Lockerby de First Nickel (à Sudbury) et Ojibway de Windsor Salt (à Windsor), et plus heureux encore d'avoir la chance de s'entretenir avec les hommes et les femmes qui travaillent sous terre.
  4. Des recherches approfondies relativement aux pratiques exemplaires en matière de sécurité, de prévention et d'application de la loi dans les mines de l'Ontario et d'ailleurs sur la planète, qui ont fourni de l'information sur les initiatives ayant permis d'améliorer la santé et la sécurité dans les mines.
  5. Une évaluation des risques qui permettrait aux responsables de l'Examen de mieux comprendre les risques auxquels s'exposent les travailleurs dans les mines souterraines. Les résultats de l'évaluation des risques aideront aussi les employeurs et les travailleurs ainsi que leurs représentants, le ministère du Travail et les associations de santé et de sécurité à travailler ensemble pour atténuer les risques et réduire l’incidence des blessures, des maladies et des décès dans les lieux de travail miniers de l’Ontario.
  6. Six groupes de travail réunissant des représentants des travailleurs et des employeurs qui se sont penchés sur les principaux enjeux cernés par le groupe consultatif. Ces groupes de travail ont eu recours à différentes sources de renseignements, y compris à des experts en la matière, aux recommandations formulées dans le cadre d'enquêtes antérieures et aux commentaires reçus lors des consultations publiques.
  7. Un groupe de ressources composé d'experts en la matière qui a fourni des renseignements aux groupes de travail suivant leurs besoins.

L'Examen a été coordonné par un secrétariat du ministère du Travail et appuyé par le Bureau de la prévention, la Direction des politiques de la santé et de la sécurité, la Division des opérations et la Direction des services juridiques du ministère, en collaboration avec des intervenants du secteur minier. Un soutien supplémentaire a été prodigué par le ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines et Sécurité au travail dans le Nord (en anglais seulement).

précédent | suivant